Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loyalist groups to march in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

~Leanne~ wrote:
    A bit silly. With thing finally starting to get peacefull on BOTH sides there is no need for marches like this.
    They don't want peace. What they don't want is a peaceful march, lets give them a peaceful march. Can't see that happening in a million years though.

Someone asked why they want to march here. Its pretty obvious to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Red rag to a bull.

TBH I don't know what they plan to accomplish. They are marching in an area where people either don't care or don't want them there.

Personally I think they are going for the following.
    1. Event goes ahead without a hitch and they whine on about how Republicans had no problem them marching through O'Connell street so let them march through areas in NI they are not wanted.

2. They get attacked and then report back how all Republicans are animals.

Personally I'd like to see 1 of 2 things happening.
    1. Event not going ahead. I'm pretty sure having a march that you know is going to incite violence wouldn't get the go ahead.

2. It goes ahead and everyone ignores them and absolutly nothing happens, not even press. Because they are pretty inconsequencial to the ROI.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,359 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Irjudge1 , you seem to be missing the point, what fuppin right do they have to march here in the first place??? , none is the answer.

They are all by choice British citizans..they have no right to disrupt our capitals business any more than I have to go marching around Trafalger square in London waving a tricolour shouting Tiocfaidh Ár Lá ?!! which imho is exactly the equivalent of what they are planning to do.

If they hold Irish passports then thats their right as citizans of this free country, however they aren't and as such imho don't have this right.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

gusto wrote:
    OK then. I live in a Catholic area of Belfast. Religion is not important to me but being an Irish citizen is an important part of who I am. There have been loyalist marches going past my street since I was born. When I was younger I paid little attention to these. A number of years ago five members of this community were murdered by a loyalist death squad.

The first loyalist march after this atrocity had people waving at my community and shouting 5-0. Understandably this did not go down very well within the local community. The community then stood united against these sectarian marches.

Nowadays, whenever one of these marches is forced through our community we have the British Army and PSNI move in the night before. They block of the exits and restrict our movements. We can't get in or out of our area. I've been prevented from going into town to meet friends and I've also been prevented from going to work. It feels like being under house arrest and I've never broken the law in my life.

Is this fair?

No and what sickens me is some of the idiots who come on here saying they couldn't care less about people in the North, all the rubbish about cutting it off and leaving it float out to sea etc. Same people would prob be giving out about injustices in other countries but are "sick" of hearing about problems in the north.They would rather not have to hear about problems on their own doorstep.
    What have they stated as being the reason for the march. Looks like they are out to get themselves noticed, hoping for more trouble.

Longfield wrote:

If they hold Irish passports then thats their right as citizans of this free country, however they aren't and as such imho don't have this right.

They are in the European Union and as such are perfectly entitled to come down here if they want to.
    Also, the Irish constitution says that anyone born on the island of Ireland is an Irish citizen.

Anyways I thought it was a bit strange to hav a march down in Dublin. It does seem like they are trying to rub something in our faces. Consider my cheek turned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

gusto wrote:
    OK then. I live in a Catholic area of Belfast. Religion is not important to me but being an Irish citizen is an important part of who I am. There have been loyalist marches going past my street since I was born. When I was younger I paid little attention to these. A number of years ago five members of this community were murdered by a loyalist death squad.

The first loyalist march after this atrocity had people waving at my community and shouting 5-0. Understandably this did not go down very well within the local community. The community then stood united against these sectarian marches.

Nowadays, whenever one of these marches is forced through our community we have the British Army and PSNI move in the night before. They block of the exits and restrict our movements. We can't get in or out of our area. I've been prevented from going into town to meet friends and I've also been prevented from going to work. It feels like being under house arrest and I've never broken the law in my life.

Is this fair?

No it is completely wrong especially in light of the circumstances and I apologise for my smugness.

But I can't see that they pose any threat whatsoever in Dublin and I think they need to know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Best result I can see from this is a whole load of Dublin's scumbags getting arrested and jailed for assault. I couldn't give a rats ass who wins the scrap tbh. But presumably with all the cameras that'll be out, there shouldn't be much trouble getting a few convictions for assault out of it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

what exactly are they marching for? surely there has to be some decent reason in order to get a permit other then "we need some publicity"

if they expect everyone to line the streets cheering, clapping and waving little union jacks they should have some big surprise. it's like american troops walking into north korea unarmed in a straight line waving flags.

they get what they deserve. i look forward to the show on tv...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/4520408.stm

• Registered Users Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

ronoc wrote:
    I would hope that the march would pass of peacefully, they get their point accross and perhaps show the people of Ulster the more reasonable side of Irelands population.

But in reality I think there could be trouble.
    their point is that they want to piss people off. last year or so ian paisley said the only barrier to peace was that the ira wouldnt decommission. now they have and he looks like the bigotted pr!ck that he is. the point of this march is to test just how decommissioned they are.
    mike65 wrote:
    Eh? They are not English, they are Ulster Irish and consider themselves by birth and heritage British. They can't stand the English.

Let them march, its a free country and are'nt we supposed to be BIG enough to allow alternative points of view these days?

Mike.

it is a free country, but its not their country. they think they're english, so let them march through london, except they're not wanted there either.
    if they expect everyone to line the streets cheering, clapping and waving little union jacks they should have some big surprise.

they don't expect that. the point of the march is to piss people off. just like every other march through catholic areas.
    They are in the European Union and as such are perfectly entitled to come down here if they want to.
    Also, the Irish constitution says that anyone born on the island of Ireland is an Irish citizen.

not any more it doesn't. they had a referendum about it last year because of all the 9 month pregnant foreigners who kept coming into the country and leeching off the state

i hate the ira scum just as much as i hate the loyalist scum and i've made a point not to take sides until now. i think tony blair would make a far far better taoiseach than bertie ahern but if they do come to dublin and wave that union jack on my streets there'll be trouble. i know thats what they want and they're going to get it

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm surprised it hasnt been mentioned yet, but does anyone remember the planned Orangemen march down Dawson St on May 28th just 5 years ago?
    No?
    It was cancelled by the Orange order, despite it being given the go-ahead by the Gardaí and Council.
    Why?
    There simply didnt seem to be much fuss over it... of course, they didnt want to admit it, but it sure seems that way.

Let them march and let them do it freely and openly.
    It's a free country and we've seen many groups and organisations march down O'Connell Street.
    (As long as no illegal organisations get involved).
    I've no problem with it as long as they regard our laws and abide them.

Tbh, some of the remarks on this thread about those who want to march are the exact reasons they want to come here.... to get you aggitated, and it seems they're doing a pretty good job.
    Can't you see why they are marching in the first place? They are starting to acknowledge a United Ireland is ever closer and are afraid for their own future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

Personally I can't say I'd be too upset if there was violence. It would add fuel to these loyalists' argument that a united Ireland is a bad thing; and as far as I'm concerned it is. As much as I like the idea in theory, I don't want to share my country with these people. Leave them up North and let them live their sad, bitter, bigotted lives and let us get on with being one of the strongest economies on earth. Any peaceful people on either side of the religious divide in Ulster that want to come down and live in peace are more than welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

Bambi wrote:

:v: <Ulster says atari jaguar!

Good sir, I salute you! I very nearly pissed myself laughing at that. :D

As for the march, they can f*ck right off. I'll stay well away from them...

• Registered Users Posts: 45,558 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

the_menace wrote:
    Any peaceful people on either side of the religious divide in Ulster that want to come down and live in peace are more than welcome.

Actually with the recent shootings due to the drug gangs in Dublin, right now it would be probably safer up there. I don't know the figures but I'm sure more people have died from the shootings in Dublin than from paramilitaries in the North...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

AFAIK, the cops havent given permission for the march as of yet. But imagine them starting the march up at Parnell Square outside the Sinn Fein HQ...(it'd be funny to send them up Parnell St and straight up to Summerhill!)
    Personally and seriously, I think its a short sighted approach to their issue by the Orange order, and they are doing it to get as much attention as possible.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

That makes no sense.
    Why would they march in Dublin? Do they think marching here will make Irish Republicans say "hang on, maybe we shouldn't have an all island republic"? Do they think that would matter, given that such a decision will be up to the people of Ulster if it were ever to be a possibility at all?
    Seems like they want trouble to me, I'm all for marches discouraging peace and encouraging co-operation, but why come to Dublin to tell people you don't like them? Go to London and tell the government you feel let down or something.

It won't happen (or else it will be messy). Is this just (as hobbes points towards) an excuse to make us look bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭the_menace

Actually with the recent shootings due to the drug gangs in Dublin, right now it would be probably safer up there. I don't know the figures but I'm sure more people have died from the shootings in Dublin than from paramilitaries in the North...

Maybe this year but not over the last few years. That's for sure. At any rate, shootings down here are almost exclusively criminal on criminal and anyone who wants to live in peace and devoid of bigotry are free to do so. They're totally uncomprable circumstances to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,253 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

agree with much you say but:
    it is a free country, but its not their country. they think they're english, so let them march through london, except they're not wanted there either.

But they don't think they are English - they consider themselves British - just as a Welshman or Scot will consider himself British, but still not like the English.
    not any more it doesn't. they had a referendum about it last year because of all the 9 month pregnant foreigners who kept coming into the country and leeching off the state

I think that was about people born in Ireland to non-EU parents. Totally different thing - as I understand it, anyone who would qualify for British citizenship in Norn Iron can also qualify for Irish citizenship. Though I can't see anyone in the Orange Lodge applying for an Irish passport...

Edit: Another thought is that there may well be many people living in Ireland who do support the Unionist view, and would therefore have as much right as anyone else to march in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,558 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

the_menace wrote:
    Maybe this year but not over the last few years. That's for sure. At any rate, shootings down here are almost exclusively criminal on criminal and anyone who wants to live in peace and devoid of bigotry are free to do so. They're totally uncomprable circumstances to be honest.

A man was shot dead in Ballymun flats yesterday morning. A 23 year-old man is in critical condition today after being shot in a pub in Cabra. Whether it's criminals engaging in it is irrelvant.

You portray Dublin as some sort of utopian society when people are dying left, right and centre...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Nightwish wrote:
    Personally and seriously, I think its a short sighted approach to their issue by the Orange order, and they are doing it to get as much attention as possible.

Yeh, not just Orange Order in these love ulster marches.
    Did you see the one on utv weekend news bulletin in belfast, it was full of loyalist terror scum with paramilitary slogans, these are no ordinary unionist folk marching.
    I'll be there protesting with my proud tricolour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Ajnag

It piss's me off as much as any here so lets give em our best modern Irish welcome:
    Screw em for every last penny in their pockets,
    Provicate them in to attacking us and then sue them back to britain.

Bring yer camera's.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

The very fact that they want to march in Dublin is an admission of defeat in a way. The Irish govt. will have a big role in the future of NI whether they like it or not. Whether I like it or not too.

I suppose they have as much right to have their pathetic march as the falun-gong/falun-dafa heads have to protest about the Chinese Govt. on the streets of Dublin. After all, the "Unionist pehpol" can have citizenship here - if it wouldn't poison them to accept it!:D :D
    Zillah wrote:
    always thought that the north can fck right off.

Ha Ha, Couldn't agree more! I think alot of people of a certain age in the Republic feel like that.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Should be a very entertaining march regardless. I would say the scumbags will be out in force to meet and greet them.

I find it hilarious how they say that they are representing the people of Ulster. Has it not dawned on them that Northern Ireland makes up only two thirds of Ulster?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Even if Love Ulster is really doing this in the name of peace, it's obvious that plenty of people there are looking for trouble, just read the forum page posted on page 1.
    I just don't understand what the message is, it's not extending a hand to Republicans as some claim, why would they say come and join us in our fight against you lot?

SO they're marching to protest against decisions made by, mainly, the British government? Muppets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

actually they still haven't received a permit for the march...they've applied for one and are awaiting for the Gardai to reply..this is from the horse's mouth today on the Matt Cooper show..anyway one of the mates is a cop in Dublin and I'm about 150% sure that right at this moment he's practising all his batton moves..I for once won't be complaining about over handed gardai this time around

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Should be a very entertaining march regardless. I would say the scumbags will be out in force to meet and greet them.

To be honset, that'd be a shame pornapster. I'd rather they marched, and there was /nobody/ there to give two flying f*cks. Think of the absolute ego-burster that would be?

They're bigots. Much like the scumbags who'd be out to "greet" them are. F*ck the lot of them. They only do it to say "hey look at me. I'm in a uniform. I have power. I'm great".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

so it is ok for republicans to march in northern ireland waving tricolours,but not ok for loyalists to march in the south waving union flags,thank god there will never be a united ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

county wrote:
    so it is ok for republicans to march in northern ireland waving tricolours,but not ok for loyalists to march in the south waving union flags,thank god there will never be a united ireland
    Republicans up there march where they are welcome and likewise for loyalists in loyalist areas.
    Loyalists are not welcome to march in any nationalist area and like wise they are not welcome to march in dublin. The cost of policing this and the trouble that will arise is not worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ehh..point being loyalists want absolutely nothing to do with the other 26 counties on this island and their six county entity was created for that express purpose, so their reasons for sharing their "culture" with us lot are disingenious. When they're fully signed up irish citizens I'll be delighted to see them bang their drums down o'connell street. NI Republicans on the other hand were born in the 6 counties and still want a 32 county republic. If the shinners were trecking over to London to wave tricolours and sing Sean South your analogy might have made sense. Sorry bout that.

:v: < we should have the gardai water cannons blessed and at the ready to mass baptise 'em as dirty papists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Resistance

I can see the CIRA trowing a few pipe bombs at them

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Good sir, I salute you! I very nearly pissed myself laughing at that. :D

:v: <dont be givin bambi credit for my lines..Im the brains in this outfit!