Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Trinity Hall thread

• 01-12-2005 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Sandals

Are you in Trinity Hal l/ Thinking of going / Tad any experiences of it,
    then this is the thread for you.

Here we can discuss ;

Who we are,

In which house we live,

What our flat-mates are like,

What we think of the presidents weekly e-mails'

News on upcoming events'

Our disgust at the breaking of Phantomdcc,

The Room-checks

Who is doing who etc.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

/me watches tumbleweed pass by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Sandals

That is extremebly uncalled for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

why are the presidents weekly emails in a trinity hall thread? surely they relate to all and including them there is silly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Actually..there's a girl across the way from my apartment, and two floors down, who's a bit of an exhibitionist. She likes to prance around her room naked and let everyone see, and apparently she was having sex yesterday, also with the blinds and the window open. Fair play to her I say.
    In which house we live,

What our flat-mates are like,

What we think of the presidents weekly e-mails'

News on upcoming events'

The Room-checks

Who is doing who etc.

I'm not saying which house I live in,
    My flatmates are all cool,
    President's weekly emails are funny but annoying in an "I'm paid to do this really cushy job" kind of way,
    The open mic night was last night, it was quite good,
    Phantomdcc was good while it lasted, I'm glad I downloaded as much as I could fit on my harddrive,
    The roomchecks were fine, my room was a tip and they didn't really care,
    I don't know/care who's doing who (except for exhibitionist girl, she's the talk of our entire block).
    why are the presidents weekly emails in a trinity hall thread? surely they relate to all and including them there is silly?
    He's talking about the president of the trinity hall jcr.

ah well see that could've been made clearer. also i'm coming over to see exhibitionist girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

well you left out one important detail, is this exabitionist girl hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭claireoby

Pet-- i think (but I could be completely wrong...) that you live in the flat that was playing the cool loud Christmas music last night? If I'm wrong...there was a flat playing loud cool Christmas music last night..its got me all festive and in a good mood. What house does the exhibitionist girl live in???c'mon i wont know what flat but give me a direction??

I live in 89...its cool. Flatmates are lovely--we get on great.
    I love John's weekly letters...always makes me giggle.
    Everyone going to the Christmas Ball monday? Is 4 Dame Lane good? I've never been.
    My room check is today and I spent last night cleaning my bathroom so I better pass!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

4 Dame Lane is nice, especially if it's not too packed. But is an odd place to find - it just has burning pretend-torches outside, and no sign or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I love the way Roro complains about his cold showers and room checks when he has entertainment far superior to television. All I've got to look at is houses with no naked chicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭fade

/me watches tumbleweed pass by

lol

totally called for, i mean, this is an internet thread for people who live in halls? a bit sad really, why dont you just go get a bottle of bucky and make some new friends!

and anyway, doesnt it really contradicte the lovely sense of security you have when you remain anonymous?

Pet-- i think (but I could be completely wrong...) that you live in the flat that was playing the cool loud Christmas music last night? If I'm wrong...there was a flat playing loud cool Christmas music last night..its got me all festive and in a good mood. What house does the exhibitionist girl live in???c'mon i wont know what flat but give me a direction??

Yes, you are correct! How did you know? I wasn't there at the time (being at the open mic night), but my flatmates got very drunk and danced to christmas music (and apparently one of them put on a striptease too). And the three apartments across from ours were watching, and one (on the first floor) wrote a load of stuff on the window to them (like "eat before drinking" and "keep a bin by your bed tonight"). Exhibitionist girl is in 91 on the first floor, btw.
    I love the way Roro complains about his cold showers and room checks when he has entertainment far superior to television.

Hey, the cold showers cancel out any effect exhibitionist girl might have..

Pet wrote:
    Yes, you are correct! How did you know? I wasn't there at the time (being at the open mic night), but my flatmates got very drunk and danced to christmas music (and apparently one of them put on a striptease too). And the three apartments across from ours were watching, and one (on the first floor) wrote a load of stuff on the window to them (like "eat before drinking" and "keep a bin by your bed tonight"). Exhibitionist girl is in 91 on the first floor, btw.

Wow..ye have some sound system in ye're flat! I know because ye were throwing the water balloons the last week. I went over to put out the recycling(we had our inspection today, putting out the recycling at 10.30 isnt that normal for me...) and your flatmates were staring at me doing it...I think they were saying something but I couldn't make it out over the loud music. I didnt see any striptease though....awh...

I know because ye were throwing the water balloons the last week.

Oh yeah..heheh, that was fun..Yeah there's a big ****-off cd player in the kitchen, I imagine they had it turned up to the max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

Sandals wrote:
    Ixnay on the arez-way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

But, is exhibitionist girl using a water based lubricant?

She's being confident, and being herself ;)

I dunno, I'd have to get binoculars to check that..

pics tbh!

How have the room checks been going>? do they happen the day they say?

Bad, and yes. A gob****e in my flat who will remain unnamed (not me) didn't clean the cooker and we failed, but apparently it's been sorted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Our apartment was checked last week. We were instructed to clean the floor. We didn't do it. The inspectors came back, and we passed. Hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

Ours didn't happen till the Wednesday, and they were supposed to be checked on monday. As you can imagine, we hadn't taken out the bin, and the place was not as clean as it had been on Monday - washing up not done, surfaces not wiped down..
    We passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Wtf!?
    Didn't realise they did this.

Bleedin saps (admin, not you's). I'd not pay to live in college accomodation after hearing that.. Get a flat next year. Closer to town for same price and good standards.

Look, for all the people that love to moan about the rules..It's a small price to pay for living in what is (as far as I can see) the best student residences in Dublin. They're new, modern, well-tended, the onsite facilities are great, they treat you well and it's all very well-thought-out. If you don't like the rules, either stop being a ****ing dirty immature slob and move back home to mammy who will do all your cleaning, or shut the **** up and get on with it.

Pet - have you seen the griffith college apartments? pretty much on par with halls (fewer people, smaller kitchen/ living room) and security are dead on. i prefer em to halls tbh.

Did anyone read the article about Halls in the TNT? I was pretty pissed off! I love living here...she called it a prison instead of her home and practically complained for the entire article. Look if your going to be loud when you have unsigned guests in your flat, your going to get found out! A bit of cop on and its all grand!

My room inspection was a bit of a joke--the two ladies literally peered in from the door and said grand and walked out. We passed with no bother and no fuss really. And my room was clean for a while-whats there to complain about that???

I agree. I read that article..that moany bitch needs to shut the **** up and join the real world.

Neil: yes I've seen Griffith college apts, but do they have music rooms and games rooms and a gym and such onsite? I doubt it..

While i was reading the piece in TN i was wondering - how on earth did she get caught so often? I lived in House 7 in Front Square, about as close as you could get to security when they all used to be based out of front arch and i never had any bother having people over and the like. Don't bother them and they don't bother you....

But, i did agree with her annoyance at the sometimes cavalier attitude college staff have to letting themselves into your room. I came back one day to find a man (yes, mum, i lied to you. there was a man, just once, in my room in college that year), hanging curtains. It was hardly an emergency situation, and if i'd known someone would have been coming in that day/week i'd have given the place a bit of a tidy. The poor guy had to clamber over a pile of washing that was resting in that corner, and navigate his way around the mini mountains of notes i had arranged all over the floor.

Also, i think that having maintenance wandering unannounced and singly through rooms is putting the staff themselves in an unfair situation - they're left open to accusations regarding money/stuff going missing and potentially hysterical students ('man! in my room! where's the pepper spray mum gave me for times like these!').

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

I don't get the houses in Trinity hall. Is there really more than 90 and why are some called after people like Cunningham?

No, it's a continuation of the numbering scheme used for on-campus residences. And Cunningham House predates the numbers (because the building was there before the major expansion in the last ten years), so the name has stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Cunningham House is also known as House 79.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I don't get the houses in Trinity hall. Is there really more than 90 and why are some called after people like Cunningham?
    To honour Ireland's dear old Centre-Half, Kenny. Such a player will never grace the turf of Selhurst Park again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Cantab.

Trinity Hall sux cos:

- 8 months = at least €3,400 = €425pm
    - No privacy especially with regards to room inspections, overnight guests and unannounced security visits
    - subject to ridiculous rules and regulations via badly punctuated A4 notices left right and centre
    - Archaic 'conditions of occupancy': you haven't even got the same rights as a tenant
    - is extremely noisy and rowdy, esp. at weekends
    - random summonses to the Junior Dean. I was summonsed once and asked to account for disturbances in my rooms, yet I wasn't even there at the time.
    - worst of all is that you are treated like a 15 year old kid in boarding school, when in fact almost everyone there is an adult and full-time students of the university. It's us that should be putting the security attendents in their place and not the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The prices for Front Sq. are reasonable enough, ~€3,300 for the academic year. Does anyone know are they going to up the price post-renovation? Hope not :(. I could afford €3,300; but probably not the 4k they're charging for GMB etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Cantab. wrote:
    As has been said before, if ye don't like it move out, plenty of other apts ye could rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

If any of you have a strong opinion either way about living in Trinity Halls or on campus, would you drop me an email? For the next edition of TNT, we're doing a balanced look at accommodation in Trinity, rather than just one person's experience, like in the last edition.

The Accommodation Office have answered loads of questions for us on stuff like why it costs so much, why campus residents have to move out before exams are over (or else face paying a lot of money) and why you've to pay for the data connection, whether you use it or not, so I want to put in some people's views on living on campus to go with this.

Bleurgh, I'm ridiculously inarticulate tonight, can't string a sentence together. If that made some sense, mail me at bohanc[AT]tcd.ie

I think the key thing to remember is that it's NOT rented accommodation, so people should stop complaining about lack of tenant rights and such. If you want to throw parties and hang posters and make loads of noise and be a mad little rebel, then move out and get your own place. Moving out has its own advantages and disadvantages. Halls is not rented accommodation, it's college-owned residence. And yes, there are lots of rules, but there are lots of facilities and services that you just don't get if you're living in a house in Ranelagh, or indeed any other college residence in Ireland. That said, there are things I don't like about the place either, but they're quite minor and of little consequence.

Things I don't like about halls:

-The aforementioned rules, which are quite strict and numerous, but at least they tell you why.
    -Security being a bit heavy-handed (let's not exaggerate, they're nice people and they just do their jobs)
    -The cost, which IS a bit much, especially considering the distance from college.
    -The lack of hot water at reasonable hours!
    -The lack of a dishwasher in each kitchen. I mean, when you're installing appliances into ~300 kitchens (each kitchen being shared by 6 people), why not put a dishwasher in? If you're buying that many, along with all the fridges and cookers and such, you'd get them very cheap, and it would make keeping the place clean SO much easier.
    -Same-sex apartments. In my experience, when men and women have to share apartments, they both tend to behave much better.
    -The fact that there is a load of crockery, cutlery, blankets etc all locked away in each apartment, but only the people who stay here in summer get to use them.
    -Oh yes, and the JCR are largely useless, they don't seem to do a whole lot.

Things I DO like about halls:

-The facilities: music room, games room, gym, tv lounge, sports hall, etc
    -The grounds. It used to be a botanical gardens/arboretum so it's all very nice and green.
    -The apartments themselves (they are pretty sweet)
    -The people. There's a great mix of people from all over the country, and plenty of international students too.
    -Broadband internet in every room. It's quite handy.
    -The location. It's close to the Luas (and hence Dundrum for shopping), Rathmines, and you can even walk home from town if you want (although it takes about 40mins). Plus there are more Chinese/Indian/Italian takeaways (most of which deliver to your door) than you can shake a stick at!

Pet, good point about the dishwashers. And, it's not like they're putting washing machines (which have a tendency to flood the place out when abused in the slightest), if i were living in Halls i'd be so grateful to have a dishwasher that i'd treat it with TLC.

There are really cute mini dishwashers, they take about half the load of a normal family sized one and would work really well in a shared apartment.

40 minutes walk my ass - more like 30. takes me an hour to walk out to mine and its definitely about 30 to halls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

40 minutes walk my ass - more like 30. takes me an hour to walk out to mine and its definitely about 30 to halls.
    Yeah but you're a pepped up comp-sci hack with springs in your shoes. Have you ever seen ronan walk? He's still got that whole "I'm a beatnik rocker, I dont need to conform to your frenzied consumer-driven lives" thing hangin onto his heels from when he was 16..

I have a variety of different walks, depending on my mood. According to some, I walk like the T-1000 from Terminator 2, or Robocop..And I can walk damn fast too.

Crash (you'll always be crash to me!), maybe I overestimated. It is about 30 mins, but I'm used to walking from Whelan's, so I had to guess.

I saw exhibitionist girl on wednesday night naked...looking at herself in the mirror!!..for ages. odd.

I was pretty dissapointed when I found out the flats were same sex flats. Loads of student accomodation places mix their flats...they seem to get on better. My friend is staying on UL campus...her place is sweet. Mixed guys and girls--no overnight guest rules, double beds and leather comfy sofas!!!

Oh--cant wait--we're getting Sky Movies in Oldham house for the new year!!cool....:)

was she.... was she hot?

Yeah she is...long hair, thin. Well from far away she looks pretty.(Her body anyway...personally think that the face and personality of a person makes them "hot"). Me and my flatmate are nearly sure it was one of the (two)girls at the Christmas party that was dancing on a table thrusting away with all the guys looking up her tiny skirt. Pretty she is, but she has absolutely no rhythm! (and no shame.)

claireoby wrote:
    (and no shame.)

We gathered that already!

*hops on the 15c towards rathmines to walk down to dartry and call on claireoby and pet*

IMA COMING EXHIBITIONIST GIRL!!!

IMA COMING

In every possible way. Ew.

I saw exhibitionist girl on wednesday night naked...looking at herself in the mirror!!..for ages. odd.

Apparently she does that a lot, but we've never seen her do it because of the angle..

has she been sighted lately?

ok sandals, we know you're not getting any, but down boy.