Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gardai cricitise paedophile hunters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,846 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

CSA?

My guess would be child sexaul abuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Squatter wrote: »
    I suppose it all depends on how old you are and how far back you remember things!

But take it from me, from time immemorial, morale in all areas of the public service has always been at "an all time low"! Be they teachers, nurses, soldiers, prison officers, bus drivers, probation officers, Tusla workers, university lecturers, GPs, Hospital Consultants or humble "rank and file civil servants" they've never experienced worse times, have never been more badly treated by the government of the day and have never found it harder to make ends meet!

As it was in the beginning, is now, and forever shall be, world without end, amen!

The only group out of that elite that I have any real sympathy for.

Morale is particularly low in An Garda Síochána, well for those that care. For many members of the force it's still a plum job, especially if you get a nice handy country posting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Any links to them?Seem British ones but is there an Irish one now

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There was an incident with a Youtube paedophile hunter in the UK about 5 yrs back.

The nonce in question once confronted drove away and committed suicide.

I want the nonce arrested, jailed and treated for his deviancy in prison, I don't want him dead.

It wouldn't sit easy with me to instigate a man's suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

No child is harmed, but the public is aware of who is a dirty paedo. Sounds like a perfectly good plan to me.
    And what if they get the wrong guy? They're not exactly the types who'd think things through carefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

And what if they get the wrong guy? They're not exactly the types who'd think things through carefully.

they're not the sharpest tools in the shed.

Plus as someone pointed out it could jeopardise ongoing cases.

There's a reason we have a police force and not vigilanties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Vic_08

cos she's a knacker maybe ? doing it to feel better about her crap life?
    It's like prisoners will beat up peadophiles in prisons - yeah cos those murderers and drug dealers are such upstanding moral people.

They know they are **** and just take it out on another form of ****.
    gluppers wrote: »
    Your wan sounds like a tinker

There's some amount of snobbery in this thread.

As soon as you lot heard the accents of these people your opinion of them was fixed based on your absolute hatred of everybody of a lower class.

The idea that some of them may be getting some internet likes from this is infinitely worse than the disgusting messages and images grown men were sending to what they believed to be young children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

That don't matter to the mob.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Your one Louise is an awful weapon of a thing. Some of the UK lads are clowns but they're somewhat professional and non-judgemental, whereas Louise just spends 25 minutes saying 'You're vile scum' to some lad with his face pressed against the ground by one of the heavies.

Are her "security" properly licensed by the state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

There was an incident with a Youtube paedophile hunter in the UK about 5 yrs back.

The nonce in question once confronted drove away and committed suicide.

I want the nonce arrested, jailed and treated for his deviancy in prison, I don't want him dead.

It wouldn't sit easy with me to instigate a man's suicide.

You want the nonce to live in comfort, with other nonces, sharing stories of the stuff they got up to and the fantasies that have/had, medical facilities on tap for free, all paid for by hardworking taxpayers?? I’d rather he be dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

You want the nonce to live in comfort, with other nonces, sharing stories of the stuff they got up to and the fantasies that have/had, medical facilities on tap for free, all paid for by hardworking taxpayers?? I’d rather he be dead.

I want justice not someone to commit suicide to me that's the cowards way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Hard to decide who's worse. Them or you ?

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Garibaldi?

Ignorant, mindless rabble-rousers! They need to leave law enforcement to the professionals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Or if they disturb an investigation into a paedophile ring by spooking suspects.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    There's some amount of snobbery in this thread.

As soon as you lot heard the accents of these people your opinion of them was fixed based on your absolute hatred of everybody of a lower class.
    It's only you who mentioned class and the term "lower class".

This sort of stuff appeals to scumbags (don't care what their class background is) because they get to be violent and let their knee-jerk emotions trump all.

As Hector Savage said, it makes some folk feel better about themselves to take the moral high ground, particularly when it comes to child abuse - the most reviled crime of all.

An extreme example is these two pieces of ****: https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-tyne-18808886

Like they gave the slightest hoot about the girl who was raped. One of them was convicted of murder ffs.

The guy convicted of raping a minor was a piece of sh1t too but what those two guys did was just to fulfill their own fantasies and give themselves some glory. They got it too - loads of idiots praised them, even though one of them had broken into an old folks' home and battered two ladies to death. :rolleyes:

Scum.
    The idea that some of them may be getting some internet likes from this is infinitely worse than the disgusting messages and images grown men were sending to what they believed to be young children.
    I presume you mean "better"? I agree but that doesn't change that some of them are doing it to be violent.
    Discodog wrote: »
    To be fair, give me death wishes on the internet before child abuse any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

So I just typed in "CPA Ireland" and the first thing I see is a 45 minute long video of one guy. They think we're going to watch for 45 minutes for one sting... 45 seconds maybe, but minutes lol?

People would have followed that live. That is what they live for. The likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭AllForIt

AllForIt wrote: »
    So there is a doc on VM1 tonight at 10pm. Irish woman only nonce hunter group apparently. Never heard of them. Might be worth a giggle but an hour is a bit on the long side to be listing to ppl with thick accents from a lower working class background taking about how nobody is doing anything to catch the paedos.
    Lackey wrote: »
    I’m watching it ...don’t think there’s anything to giggle at
    sick fu€s messaging kids graphically

This is what happens when the judiciary and law does very little to protect society...people will take the law into their hands.

To be honest post says more about you than about ‘lower class working background ppl with thick accents’ that you look down on.

I don't normally reply to ppl who make personal remarks about myself but I will make an exception this time. Also because I don't think you understood my point which is forgivable because of the way I worded it. So let me clarify where I'm coming from.

I made my remarks before the doc was broadcast. Here is a random remark about the class of the woman in the doc after it was broadcast.
    gluppers wrote: »
    Your wan sounds like a tinker

So I predicted that this hunter group would be of a lower working class demographic - as these vigilantes all appear to be without much exception. That was my point, not to disparage the whole of the lower classes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I see in Norn Iron that some of the self styled paedo hunters have been found guilty and sentenced to harassment of a reporter up here (for the bbc I think)

So it’s easy to catch and convict people trying to out predators but a lot harder to convict nonces. Sort of figures in our society nowadays.

I’m not even saying that some of the hunter guys weren’t pricks or their methods debatable. However I really have zero sympathy for those that try to exploit underage children. Zero.

A lot of the people they outed would never he been known until those guys did what they did. One of the guys exposed was a kids private music tutor ffs. How wld you feel if this piece of **** had been alone with your wean?

Yeah I don't think anyone would object to a child abuser being caught, but there are risks to such an approach which could potentially get a case thrown out and the nonce freed, or an innocent person being targeted.

If you were waiting on the police to catch the nonces you would be waiting a long, long time. There wld never have been a case.

I would be more concerned about an innocent person being targeted but the ones I saw were down to contact via phone and social media
    and a specific place to meet up with a supposedly underage child so it wld be highly unlikely any innocent person would be caught.

AllForIt wrote: »

So I predicted that this hunter group would be of a lower working class demographic - as these vigilantes all appear to be without much exception. That was my point, not to disparage the whole of the lower classes.

You weren't far wrong, but I got the impression most had kids at school and were at a loose end and addicted to facebook/ social media. Some of those featured claimed to be mums wanting to protect kids but could sit around on their phones all day and drive to **** knows where to confront the perps with no thought to leaving their own kids with whoever was minding them.

and drive to **** knows where to confront the perps with no thought to leaving their own kids with whoever was minding them.

All parents leave their kids to be minded by someone else at some stage and in some cases for quite a lot of time.

I really don’t know what you’re getting at there.

The thought I would have if it’s so easy for a small group of amateurs to ensnare these nonces then why in the name of feck aren’t the police employing the same tactics. And before anyone starts spouting about the legal aspect then if thats the case maybe the law needs to be changed.

Write to your local DUP MLA/MP if you want the law changed. ;)

These vigilantes are exposing people to the danger of violence without any due process. Why do we have a legal system if this sort of reckless rabble -rousing and incitement to aggression is being permitted? Do these people have a case to answer if their actions lead to someone being assaulted or even killed? The legitimate forces of law and order are bound by restrictions for the protection of citizens. These people make allegations which may or may not be based in reality. Not alone do they put possibly innocent individuals in peril.They incite others to violence thereby laying them open to criminal charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The people who set themselves up as paedophile hunters are the same kind of people as these https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

I want justice not someone to commit suicide to me that's the cowards way out.

Paedos are cowards. A dead one is no threat to children.

Discodog wrote: »

You got me there. A child raping nonce or someone who wants them removed from the gene pool. :rolleyes:

Yeah those "which is worse?" things are always about things that aren't remotely worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The people who set themselves up as paedophile hunters are the same kind of people as these https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society
    Yes, this is the sort of beetle-brained thug you tend to see involved in these things.
    You got me there. A child raping nonce or someone who wants them removed from the gene poola group of illiterate braying asses running around with weapons dispensing "justice" on a, at best, highly arbitrary basis. :rolleyes:

FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I always find myself laughing at the questions they always ask the pedos on these vids.

"Why are you messaging kids?"

Probably cos they're a pedophile, jesus love, keep up.

It's a reasonable mistake though - obviously all paedophiles advertise that they are paedophiles in their place of work.

Yes, and I've lost count of the number of times I've mixed up a specialist registrar in paediatric medicine at a hospital with a paedophile, and I'm not a complete window-licking blithering idiot. :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yes, this is the sort of beetle-brained thing you tend to see involved in these things.

FYP.

What groups use weapons?? I've never seen a video of the groups attacking anyone. They film it live and pass the info onto the Gardai. Have you got a link to one of these armed gangs??

A pleasant bunch:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5876149/Disturbing-truth-Britains-growing-army-self-appointed-paedophile-hunters.html

If you watch any of the CPA videos, you will see that the Gardaí never arrest any of the suspects as no actual offence has been committed.
    But don't let that get in the way of getting likes and virtue signalling.

If you watch any of the CPA videos, you will see that the Gardaever arrest any of the suspects as no actual offence has been committed.
    But don't let that get in the way of getting likes and virtue signalling.

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the nonces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jimgoose wrote: »

That picture of the pedo-hunter "mum" sucking a lolipop - straight out of Brass Eye!

Seriously though: they want to play the pedo hunter? Fine. They tell me it's not about ego? Ok - then DON'T publish confrontation videos and just hand t e evidence over to the police force and I'll believe them.

If it's not about ego, then we wouldn't have heard about them in the first place.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

That picture of the pedo-hunter "mum" sucking a lolipop - straight out of Brass Eye!

You couldn't even make this up - their head of security is a convicted one

Incredibly, Michael Terry had won the trust of Huntz 2 Exposure, setting himself up as the group’s ‘head of security’.

This was despite the fact he’d been described as a ‘dangerous sexual predator’ by a judge.

He had been convicted at Liverpool Crown Court in 2014 of indecent exposure and inciting a girl under 16 to engage in a sexual act, and given a five-year Sexual Offences Prevention Order.

It prevented him from having any contact with children under 16.
    Then, in February 2016, he was jailed for 12 months at Preston Crown Court when he breached the order by befriending a vulnerable woman who had a six-year-old son and staying overnight with them in Blackpool.

Terry, 43, breached the order again after he joined the Lincolnshire-based Guardian Angels, and became close to its director Mandy Bradley — staying over at her house on several occasions, despite her having three children under 13

I wonder has anyone organised a counter set-up to play these lowlifes at their own game. Pretending to be a weirdo, leading them on, and then laughing hysterically when they show up with their virtue-signalling s****:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    I wonder has anyone organised a counter set-up to play these lowlifes at their own game. Pretending to be a weirdo, leading them on, and then laughing hysterically when they show up with their virtue-signalling s****:D:D:D

Bit risky, but yeah... has it ever happened that two pedo-hunter groups have shown up to inadvertantly catch each other? I'm guessing that's one that never made it onto youtube for some reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭granturismo

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the alleged nonces.

FYP

Bit risky, but yeah... has it ever happened that two pedo-hunter groups have shown up to inadvertantly catch each other? I'm guessing that's one that never made it onto youtube for some reason...

If a number of law abiding people got together and launched a plan to set these people up it would not be so risky. These individuals need to be reined in. Some people in the community are just waiting for a reason to be violent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the nonces.

With no evidence, no proof and no due process. Just the word of some internet vigilantes.

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    If a number of law abiding people got together and launched a plan to set these people up it would not be so risky. These individuals need to be reined in. Some people in the community are just waiting for a reason to be violent!

No problem, they can beat the living crap out of each other then. Really hard to see anyone who loses out in that scenario to be honest.

FYP

If someone is grooming what he suspects is a child, sending pics of his appendage and wanting to meet up for sex he is a nonce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭granturismo

If someone is grooming what he suspects is a child, sending pics of his appendage and wanting to meet up for sex he is a nonce.

Allegedly.

With no evidence, no proof and no due process. Just the word of some internet vigilantes.

In any video I’ve seen the dirty nonce admits it once parts of the transcripts are read to him. They know they are caught and try to make excuses.