Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai cricitise paedophile hunters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Yeah I don't think anyone would object to a child abuser being caught, but there are risks to such an approach which could potentially get a case thrown out and the nonce freed, or an innocent person being targeted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Yeah I don't think anyone would object to a child abuser being caught, but there are risks to such an approach which could potentially get a case thrown out and the nonce freed, or an innocent person being targeted.

If you were waiting on the police to catch the nonces you would be waiting a long, long time. There wld never have been a case.

I would be more concerned about an innocent person being targeted but the ones I saw were down to contact via phone and social media
    and a specific place to meet up with a supposedly underage child so it wld be highly unlikely any innocent person would be caught.

AllForIt wrote: »

So I predicted that this hunter group would be of a lower working class demographic - as these vigilantes all appear to be without much exception. That was my point, not to disparage the whole of the lower classes.

You weren't far wrong, but I got the impression most had kids at school and were at a loose end and addicted to facebook/ social media. Some of those featured claimed to be mums wanting to protect kids but could sit around on their phones all day and drive to **** knows where to confront the perps with no thought to leaving their own kids with whoever was minding them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

and drive to **** knows where to confront the perps with no thought to leaving their own kids with whoever was minding them.

All parents leave their kids to be minded by someone else at some stage and in some cases for quite a lot of time.

I really don’t know what you’re getting at there.

The thought I would have if it’s so easy for a small group of amateurs to ensnare these nonces then why in the name of feck aren’t the police employing the same tactics. And before anyone starts spouting about the legal aspect then if thats the case maybe the law needs to be changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

Write to your local DUP MLA/MP if you want the law changed. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Garibaldi?

These vigilantes are exposing people to the danger of violence without any due process. Why do we have a legal system if this sort of reckless rabble -rousing and incitement to aggression is being permitted? Do these people have a case to answer if their actions lead to someone being assaulted or even killed? The legitimate forces of law and order are bound by restrictions for the protection of citizens. These people make allegations which may or may not be based in reality. Not alone do they put possibly innocent individuals in peril.They incite others to violence thereby laying them open to criminal charges.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The people who set themselves up as paedophile hunters are the same kind of people as these https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I want justice not someone to commit suicide to me that's the cowards way out.

Paedos are cowards. A dead one is no threat to children.

Discodog wrote: »
    Hard to decide who's worse. Them or you ?

You got me there. A child raping nonce or someone who wants them removed from the gene pool. :rolleyes:

Yeah those "which is worse?" things are always about things that aren't remotely worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The people who set themselves up as paedophile hunters are the same kind of people as these https://www.theguardian.com/uk/2000/aug/30/childprotection.society
    Yes, this is the sort of beetle-brained thug you tend to see involved in these things.
    You got me there. A child raping nonce or someone who wants them removed from the gene poola group of illiterate braying asses running around with weapons dispensing "justice" on a, at best, highly arbitrary basis. :rolleyes:

FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

I always find myself laughing at the questions they always ask the pedos on these vids.

"Why are you messaging kids?"

Probably cos they're a pedophile, jesus love, keep up.

It's a reasonable mistake though - obviously all paedophiles advertise that they are paedophiles in their place of work.

Yes, and I've lost count of the number of times I've mixed up a specialist registrar in paediatric medicine at a hospital with a paedophile, and I'm not a complete window-licking blithering idiot. :pac:

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yes, this is the sort of beetle-brained thing you tend to see involved in these things.

FYP.

What groups use weapons?? I've never seen a video of the groups attacking anyone. They film it live and pass the info onto the Gardai. Have you got a link to one of these armed gangs??

A pleasant bunch:

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5876149/Disturbing-truth-Britains-growing-army-self-appointed-paedophile-hunters.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

If you watch any of the CPA videos, you will see that the Gardaí never arrest any of the suspects as no actual offence has been committed.
    But don't let that get in the way of getting likes and virtue signalling.

If you watch any of the CPA videos, you will see that the Gardaever arrest any of the suspects as no actual offence has been committed.
    But don't let that get in the way of getting likes and virtue signalling.

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the nonces.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,040 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jimgoose wrote: »

That picture of the pedo-hunter "mum" sucking a lolipop - straight out of Brass Eye!

Seriously though: they want to play the pedo hunter? Fine. They tell me it's not about ego? Ok - then DON'T publish confrontation videos and just hand t e evidence over to the police force and I'll believe them.

If it's not about ego, then we wouldn't have heard about them in the first place.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

That picture of the pedo-hunter "mum" sucking a lolipop - straight out of Brass Eye!

You couldn't even make this up - their head of security is a convicted one

Incredibly, Michael Terry had won the trust of Huntz 2 Exposure, setting himself up as the group’s ‘head of security’.

This was despite the fact he’d been described as a ‘dangerous sexual predator’ by a judge.

He had been convicted at Liverpool Crown Court in 2014 of indecent exposure and inciting a girl under 16 to engage in a sexual act, and given a five-year Sexual Offences Prevention Order.

It prevented him from having any contact with children under 16.
    Then, in February 2016, he was jailed for 12 months at Preston Crown Court when he breached the order by befriending a vulnerable woman who had a six-year-old son and staying overnight with them in Blackpool.

Terry, 43, breached the order again after he joined the Lincolnshire-based Guardian Angels, and became close to its director Mandy Bradley — staying over at her house on several occasions, despite her having three children under 13

I wonder has anyone organised a counter set-up to play these lowlifes at their own game. Pretending to be a weirdo, leading them on, and then laughing hysterically when they show up with their virtue-signalling s****:D:D:D

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    I wonder has anyone organised a counter set-up to play these lowlifes at their own game. Pretending to be a weirdo, leading them on, and then laughing hysterically when they show up with their virtue-signalling s****:D:D:D

Bit risky, but yeah... has it ever happened that two pedo-hunter groups have shown up to inadvertantly catch each other? I'm guessing that's one that never made it onto youtube for some reason...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭granturismo

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the alleged nonces.

FYP

Bit risky, but yeah... has it ever happened that two pedo-hunter groups have shown up to inadvertantly catch each other? I'm guessing that's one that never made it onto youtube for some reason...

If a number of law abiding people got together and launched a plan to set these people up it would not be so risky. These individuals need to be reined in. Some people in the community are just waiting for a reason to be violent!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,321 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The Gardai may not be making any arrests, but the public are becoming aware of the nonces.

With no evidence, no proof and no due process. Just the word of some internet vigilantes.

Garibaldi? wrote: »
    If a number of law abiding people got together and launched a plan to set these people up it would not be so risky. These individuals need to be reined in. Some people in the community are just waiting for a reason to be violent!

No problem, they can beat the living crap out of each other then. Really hard to see anyone who loses out in that scenario to be honest.

FYP

If someone is grooming what he suspects is a child, sending pics of his appendage and wanting to meet up for sex he is a nonce.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭granturismo

If someone is grooming what he suspects is a child, sending pics of his appendage and wanting to meet up for sex he is a nonce.

Allegedly.

With no evidence, no proof and no due process. Just the word of some internet vigilantes.

In any video I’ve seen the dirty nonce admits it once parts of the transcripts are read to him. They know they are caught and try to make excuses.