Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail on 14%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

McMurphy wrote: »
    Well shagging put me on ignore so, it would be less idiotic than following me from thread to thread having to get your ass handed to you.

The ignore function - when you run out of comeback is always a handy rock to hide under though.

As I already said to you, every thread on here, its the same dribble from you and Francie. No person can have a thread about any party without the two of you on it with the same posts.

This is a FF thread, but your on it. The Green thread you are on it, the FG thread you are on it. Posting the exact same thing on each thread. Nothing different.

Nobody is following you around but if you bombard every thread with the exact same post everyday yes you are going to find the same posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭pgj2015

First Up wrote: »
    You vote based on speeches?

I vote based on actions - and results.

He talked like the world was about to end, zero hope, I wouldnt be surprised if people took their own life after hearing the paddys day speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

pgj2015 wrote: »
    He talked like the world was about to end, zero hope, I wouldnt be surprised if people took their own life after hearing the paddys day speech.

Jaysis the hyperbole

• Registered Users Posts: 8,969 ✭✭✭pgj2015

That is how a lot of people feel about the speeches.

• Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: @Shefwedfan - take 24 hours off from the thread to reconsider your posting style.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,336 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Although she was caught out voting for other TDs I still think Lisa Chambers was a big loss to FF, she was the FF version of Helen McEntee and would be the person who was always wheeled out to debate for the party.

Now all they have is Anne Rabbitte who isn't as good a debater.

blinding wrote: »
    Weirdly the Greens will destroy Rural Ireland because of their Mad Green Policies.

The Greens won’t be happy until Rural Ireland is completely de-populated ! ! !

The turf cutters are up in arms over this end about the prospect of the Greens in power, a lot of these guys were traditional FF voters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The turf cutters are up in arms over this end about the prospect of the Greens in power, a lot of these guys were traditional FF voters.
    The Greens won’t allow any Petrol or Diesel for Cars. With One Car per 30 households, the Country People can push the car every time bar that one time in 30 that they get to sit in the Car:eek::eek::eek:

Anyway how can you release the Wolves with People in the Countryside. I suppose each Wolf will get an allowance per year of country people the Wolf can eat. 1 Person per month would keep the Wolf in pretty good shape !:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Wasn't Ming out canvassing for McHugh.

A few weeks after cheerleading for the turf cutters.

Go figure.

Go figure.
    Weed man ! Weed ! ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

pgj2015 wrote: »
    That is how a lot of people feel about the speeches.

You probably need lighter curtains on the windows inside your bubble then !

Go figure.

He was actually in my area a few years ago when 4 lads got in trouble for cutting on disputed bogs and were going to be prosecuted.

Seems to have changed his tune.

The Greens won’t allow any Petrol or Diesel for Cars. With One Car per 30 households, the Country People can push the car every time bar that one time in 30 that they get to sit in the Car:eek::eek::eek:

Anyway how can you release the Wolves with People in the Countryside. I suppose each Wolf will get an allowance per year of country people the Wolf can eat. 1 Person per month would keep the Wolf in pretty good shape !:eek:

And Ryan drives a diesel car himself, not only is he an idiot talking about wolves but a hypocrite as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Well whether or not folks like it the day of the bog and turf is drawing to a close so they may as well prepare now for that instead of breaking down the house.

Dan.

And Ryan drives a diesel car himself, not only is he an idiot talking about wolves but a hypocrite as well.
    The Greens seem to hate the People that actually live in the Green Countryside.

Tis Weird but that is the way it is !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Michaél Martin in action about Sovereignity. Selling his Country for 13 Pieces of Silver.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akkPu-FJyiA&t=67s&frags=pl%2Cwn

His speech sounds very Nationalistic/Republican in tone, but with the realisation that in the modern world out 'lot' is with the EU and its vast resources, no longer can we be an old world little Ireland. He goes on to criticise Britain and their old fashioned ideas of sovereignty!

Michael is a true Republican (for the modern era).

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The Greens seem to hate the People that actually live in the Green Countryside.

Tis Weird but that is the way it is !

And the bizzare claim some of their supporters on here seem to rally behind is that farmers should live in towns and villages so they have access to a bus for their once a week trip to the city but commute to the farm every day...

You can really tell the people who have never lived rurally that they think a bus is wanted or that commuting to the farm is feasible.

And the bizzare claim some of their supporters on here seem to rally behind is that farmers should live in towns and villages so they have access to a bus for their once a week trip to the city but commute to the farm every day...

You can really tell the people who have never lived rurally that they think a bus is wanted or that commuting to the farm is feasible.
    When People try to be Experts in things they Know Little About. They make Absolute Fools of Themselves:eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I think it would be fair to say there is fairly significant opposition to going in with the Greens amongst Fine Gael members and even within the party.

Simon Coveney's comments on Friday are far from unique to him, and we had it reported over the weekend that all the Junior Ministers are against the 7% target.

There was some opposition to Fianna Fáil (the Councillors in Cork and Mayo are quite against it) but overall I think FG would do a deal with FF without too much fuss, as the critics would point out, there isn't that much difference between the two parties, FG is really a much more competent version of FF.

Also, FG members aren't stupid, I think they'd quite like another election and are hoping against hope the Green membership will say no to any deal.

FG needs to have a special delegate conference before any Programme for Government can be approved. You won't find too many members approving anything that sells the party out to all its voters in rural Ireland although the Parliamentary Party has a much greater say than any other wing (50% of the votes).

Worth pointing out that FF has a one member one vote on a Programme for Government, so I would not at all be confident that that will pass (especially when they're on just 14%) even though it just requires a simple majority to the Greens' 2/3rds majority.

https://www.rte.ie/news/politics/2020/0412/1130156-government-formation-covid-19/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭boardise

This is it wrote: »
    I've no idea where you're getting "74% think they're toxic" sure that means all that didn't vote FG think theyre toxic, and all that didn't vote FF think they're toxic, which clearly isn't the case.

I've no idea what point you're trying to make, whatever it is you're doing a horrendous job of getting it across.

Anyone acquainted with recent history will understand why many are slow to turn to SF and regard them as 'toxic' or untouchable ( for a simple example just think -what other party has TDs who would shout 'Up the 'RA'? ).
    SF condoned and supported the political slaughter campaign of the PIRA and still operate within its general penumbra. They are a qualitatively different party from all the others.

boardise wrote: »
    Anyone acquainted with recent history will understand why many are slow to turn to SF and regard them as 'toxic' or untouchable ( for a simple example just think -what other party has TDs who would shout 'Up the 'RA'? ).
    SF condoned and supported the political slaughter campaign of the PIRA and still operate within its general penumbra. They are a qualitatively different party from all the others.
    Aren’t Ffg the Real Beneficiaries of Earlier Good Work by the IRA.

They should really be Celebrating the IRA after all the IRA did for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Although she was caught out voting for other TDs I still think Lisa Chambers was a big loss to FF, she was the FF version of Helen McEntee and would be the person who was always wheeled out to debate for the party.

Now all they have is Anne Rabbitte who isn't as good a debater.

I half agree. But I would get the underlying feeling that Lisa Chambers is a last gasp attempt by FF to get some women back in the party. Is her heart really really in it? I honestly doubt it and the people of Mayo saw through her. They don't have it and it really just stinks of tokenism.

Women TD's

Sinn Féin 11/37
    Fine Gael 6/35
    Fianna Fáil 5/37
    Greens 2/12
    SD's 4/6
    PBP 1/5
    Ind 5/20

In hindsight the big losers of the election were Mná Na hÉireann. Of the 34 women elected only 13 will have an influence over the running of this country for the next 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

This poll shows the SF vote holding up and fickle FF voters departing FF over to FG as they perceive FG making a good show of the current crisis.

It was always the same. There is a core vote of a few hundred thousand that has always and certainly in the modern era, transferred between FF & FG.

FF being squeezed out leaving a healthy choice between two big parties. The dilemma now for FF is if it gets into bed with FG it could be voting itself out of existence. So, Martin may become an FF Taoiseach after all, but also its last one.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I half agree. But I would get the underlying feeling that Lisa Chambers is a last gasp attempt by FF to get some women back in the party. Is her heart really really in it? I honestly doubt it and the people of Mayo saw through her. They don't have it and it really just stinks of tokenism.

Women TD's

Sinn Féin 11/37
    Fine Gael 6/35
    Fianna Fáil 5/37
    Greens 2/12
    SD's 4/6
    PBP 1/5
    Ind 5/20

In hindsight the big losers of the election were Mná Na hÉireann. Of the 34 women elected only 13 will have an influence over the running of this country for the next 5 years.
    The Shinners are way up on the Women there.

Sure there was Great Women in Cumann Na Mban including my Grand Mother. Great Woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Women TD's

Sinn Féin 11/37
    Fine Gael 6/35
    Fianna Fáil 5/37
    Greens 2/12
    SD's 4/6
    PBP 1/5
    Ind 5/20

Playing the gender quotas game was always going to produce a lot of losers, women pushed to the ballot too early and faultering and losing interest in ever running again , women getting elected through virtue signalling and burning out too early due to a lack of experience . The excercise has been a complete failure and has done more to hurt the development of women in politics. Its easy for the looney left to make quotas as with SF as they all read off a hymn sheet handed down from above and are managed , it doesnt work for the real parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

The Greens are being led to the slaughter but have two options.

1. Dont go into government now and be slaughtered in due course for "abandoning the country in a time of need"
    2. Go into government and be slaughtered in a few years time.
    Either way they are goners

F.F. options.

1. Go into government now with F.G. and Greens. Martin gets to be Taoiseach first in a revolving Taoiseach role with F.G. In two years time Martin hands over the job to F.G. and resigns as leader. F.F. elect a leader who will deal with S.F.

2. If the Greens walk away now F.F. still have options, some less likely than others
    (a) FF FG and get a group of Independents together
    (b) FF talk to S.F. (with or without Martin) and pull a government together with Soc Dems.
    (c) Another election (also known as committing hari kari)

F.G.
    Similar as F.F. except I cannot see F.G. dealing with S.F.

S.F. Options

Obviously wait and see. Also start shown a bit of belief in T.D.s other than the Dublin clique of McDonald O Broin and O Reilly
    Brian Stanley in Laois Offaly did very good work last week highlighting the Covid issue in the meat factories. Matt Carthy is another good operator and less whinging from Pearse Doherty would help also.

Interesting times ahead

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭boardise

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Was just looking at PP odds for next FF leader
    Dara Calleary 5/2
    Jim o'Callaghan 5/2
    Michael McGrath 4/1

Id say Jim o'Callaghan is a banker there at 5/2, out of the three of them he strikes me as the most politically astute. Calleary is a charisma free zone and McGrath doesnt exude any leadership qualities. I'd nearly back Big Jim as it looks like free money to me but it could be a fair wait for a pay out if Michael gets his turn as Taoiseach.

Anyway that poll by the SBP is a bit of a shocker for FF. Its obviously just a single poll and has a +/- of 3% so they could be sitting on anywhere between 11% and 17%. But if you're Michael Martin looking at that a fresh election is a frightening prospect, better to get into the safety of government now

MM has been lucky that there's no obvious successor in waiting.
    Of the three 'front-joggers' -while all seem able ,they lack any modicum of charisma.
    McGrath is rather wooden , Calleary on the dour side and O'Callaghan possible a little too academic.( I'm referring to media appearances and general ability to attract or enthuse an audience.)
    O'Callaghan being from Dublin might swing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Cal4567 wrote: »
    This poll shows the SF vote holding up and fickle FF voters departing FF over to FG as they perceive FG making a good show of the current crisis.

It was always the same. There is a core vote of a few hundred thousand that has always and certainly in the modern era, transferred between FF & FG.

FF being squeezed out leaving a healthy choice between two big parties. The dilemma now for FF is if it gets into bed with FG it could be voting itself out of existence. So, Martin may become an FF Taoiseach after all, but also its last one.

If you got off your arse and looked into this you would find the opposite, it doesn't work that way.

FF dissenters go directly to SF, they identify with the nationalist ideals there. They also then do not transfer well, the bulk of the Sinn Fein increase has come from direct swing FF votes. Sinn Féin voters transfer to other left wing groups, they don't transfer to FF. Similarly FF voters don't transfer to SF either, but neither do they transfer to FG. Most FF voters have a hardline loyalty going on. There will be exceptions but not significant ones.

Any FF or FG transfers go to faffy independents or some to labour or other moderate socialists. But they tend to not transfer to left wing ideals. But FF and FG do not transfer well between each other, you are wrong there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

The Greens are being led to the slaughter but have two options.

1. Dont go into government now and be slaughtered in due course for "abandoning the country in a time of need"
    2. Go into government and be slaughtered in a few years time.
    Either way they are goners

F.F. options.

1. Go into government now with F.G. and Greens. Martin gets to be Taoiseach first in a revolving Taoiseach role with F.G. In two years time Martin hands over the job to F.G. and resigns as leader. F.F. elect a leader who will deal with S.F.

2. If the Greens walk away now F.F. still have options, some less likely than others
    (a) FF FG and get a group of Independents together
    (b) FF talk to S.F. (with or without Martin) and pull a government together with Soc Dems.
    (c) Another election (also known as committing hari kari)

F.G.
    Similar as F.F. except I cannot see F.G. dealing with S.F.

S.F. Options

Obviously wait and see. Also start shown a bit of belief in T.D.s other than the Dublin clique of McDonald O Broin and O Reilly
    Brian Stanley in Laois Offaly did very good work last week highlighting the Covid issue in the meat factories. Matt Carthy is another good operator and less whinging from Pearse Doherty would help also.

Interesting times ahead

boardise wrote: »
    MM has been lucky that there's no obvious successor in waiting.
    Of the three 'front-joggers' -while all seem able ,they lack any modicum of charisma.
    McGrath is rather wooden , Calleary on the dour side and O'Callaghan possible a little too academic.( I'm referring to media appearances and general ability to attract or enthuse an audience.)
    O'Callaghan being from Dublin might swing it.
    This was very close to being about Doggers and Swingers :eek: