Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

February 2020 babies club

• 13-06-2019 1:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭

I genuinely can't believe I am starting this thread...

just back from holidays late last night and was expecting Aunt Flo to arrive when I was over there. Did a pregnancy test this morning and 2 big dark red lines came up after less than a minute. Did another home test to be sure, same two lines.

We literally just decided to start trying for a baby weeks ago and have gotten pregnant on our first month of trying. I know it sounds mad but I thought I would have a few months to get my head around it. My head is swimming. By my calculation, I'm about 5w + 2 - still early. We just moved late last year so I don't have a doctor in this area yet and I feel very poorly researched on what I should and should not be doing at this stage. This just feels very big and scary rn.

I haven't told himself yet (probably because I am still reeling from shock) - I know he'll be chuffed as he was broodier than I was - I'm hoping I can hold out until Sunday (Father's Day) and surprise him...

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭DAT64

After a long year and a half of trying, one failed IUI, we finally got a BFP test from naturally trying.
    To say we are over the moon is an understatement!
    We are due 16th Feb as far as I can make out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭GavMan

I genuinely can't believe I am starting this thread...

just back from holidays late last night and was expecting Aunt Flo to arrive when I was over there. Did a pregnancy test this morning and 2 big dark red lines came up after less than a minute. Did another home test to be sure, same two lines.

We literally just decided to start trying for a baby weeks ago and have gotten pregnant on our first month of trying. I know it sounds mad but I thought I would have a few months to get my head around it. My head is swimming. By my calculation, I'm about 5w + 2 - still early. We just moved late last year so I don't have a doctor in this area yet and I feel very poorly researched on what I should and should not be doing at this stage. This just feels very big and scary rn.

I haven't told himself yet (probably because I am still reeling from shock) - I know he'll be chuffed as he was broodier than I was - I'm hoping I can hold out until Sunday (Father's Day) and surprise him...

Do try and hold out. That would be amazing.

I've landed in here because much like you, we decided to try and thankfully it happened very very quickly. Decided to post here again because I found it hugely interesting and engaging after following the July 2018 thread when she was expecting our first.

Really looking forward to this now. We've had the best experience with our first and I am relishing becoming a father again. We waited a while to get started and we don't want to wait around to finish.

My wife is going public again with Holles St. Could not have faulted them first time around. Though, they have changed up their system now and your first appointment is in a clinic off lombard street with no scan at that point. Further appointments take place in Holles St in the Feotal health department

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

Hey! Due Feb 2nd so 6+5. Luckily another rapid success story. Second pregnancy, have a fantastic two year old already. Currently trying to force down some toast before work, morning sickness landed bang on 6 weeks again so feeling fairly ropey. Hope you're all getting on well!

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Pringle0220

I think I’m joining this thread!! 🙈🙈

My heart is pounding with nerves, dread, happiness, excitement and every other emotion. Missed period this week but I’m 42 and had ovary and Fallopian tube removed last year so my chances of falling pregnant were already slim to start.
    I found an expired test (by three years!) yesterday evening and it came back positive. I eventually convinced myself that it was false because of being out of date so long but it’s been playing on my mind all day so took off to chemist for another this afternoon and same result!!
    OH is away on a boat training course, I’m not sure what he’ll make of it, under the circumstances we just didn’t think it might happen.
    I was only at doc last week and blood pressure was up...guess that goes some way to explaining it.
    I’m now thinking of the wine I drank over last few weeks, the antibiotics I was on etc etc 🙈🙈
    Due date working out around mid Feb.
    Please God just let it work out well, this is probably my last opportunity to have a child. 🀞ðŸ»ðŸ€žðŸ»
    Very best of luck to you all.

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭RebelScorned

Huge massive congrats DAT64, GavMan, tiredcity and Pringle0220 and very best of luck to all of you :):):) I have read through countless posts on this forum and it has been so helpful. I'm looking forward to seeing this thread grow over the next few months esp as we have a mix of newbies like myself and seasoned professionals who have been on this baby train before!

Still in a flurry of shock/ disbelief/ major nerves to get that excited yet. I told himself and he is SUPER excited - I had to threaten him to keep the news to himself for now but he is fit to burst, telling the dog he is going to be a big brother. He's entertaining himself researching car seats and baby monitors already.

I have taken 2 more home tests and both came back positive (have I mentioned that I can't quite believe it yet?!) I feel completely normal apart from sore boobs and at times very mild cramping (as if Aunt Flo was due to arrive). Oh and the fatigue is something else. Last week I thought it was just because I was back from holidays but I cannot sit on a couch or bed without being overcome with sleepiness and if I do drift off, I am out for the count for hours. No queasiness or food cravings or aversions yet.

I guess next step is to arrange to go to a GP to get them to confirm and set the ball rolling with next steps. What can I expect from my first visit - I think it's just a blood test to confirm and general form filling stuff like medical history etc. Would I be best to wait until I am a little further along (will be 6 wks tomorrow by my own calculations). And do I have to have decided what hospital and whether we are going private/semi or public by the time I visit my GP? I have seriously no idea what hospital to pick - I live in Co.Kildare so I am guessing it will be one of the Dublin hospitals. We're also contemplating getting an early scan in a few weeks - mostly because I feel like if I see lil Peanut that it will make it feel more real to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Cole30

Just found out I am also pregnant! Very shocked and can't believe I am writing this as this is my first post. Over the last few months I've been watching the threads and considering it's too early to tell anyone, even writing it is so surreal!...
    I had been using an app to monitor period etc but it seems I may have ovulated a week later and here I am!
    This is my first pregnancy so unsure as of what to do next but I'm assuming a gp visit is the first port of call. I quickly glanced over the domino care scheme so hopefully I qualify for that.
    Hope everyone is keeping well ðŸ€

Huge massive congrats DAT64, GavMan, tiredcity and Pringle0220 and very best of luck to all of you :):):) I have read through countless posts on this forum and it has been so helpful. I'm looking forward to seeing this thread grow over the next few months esp as we have a mix of newbies like myself and seasoned professionals who have been on this baby train before!

Still in a flurry of shock/ disbelief/ major nerves to get that excited yet. I told himself and he is SUPER excited - I had to threaten him to keep the news to himself for now but he is fit to burst, telling the dog he is going to be a big brother. He's entertaining himself researching car seats and baby monitors already.

I have taken 2 more home tests and both came back positive (have I mentioned that I can't quite believe it yet?!) I feel completely normal apart from sore boobs and at times very mild cramping (as if Aunt Flo was due to arrive). Oh and the fatigue is something else. Last week I thought it was just because I was back from holidays but I cannot sit on a couch or bed without being overcome with sleepiness and if I do drift off, I am out for the count for hours. No queasiness or food cravings or aversions yet.

I guess next step is to arrange to go to a GP to get them to confirm and set the ball rolling with next steps. What can I expect from my first visit - I think it's just a blood test to confirm and general form filling stuff like medical history etc. Would I be best to wait until I am a little further along (will be 6 wks tomorrow by my own calculations). And do I have to have decided what hospital and whether we are going private/semi or public by the time I visit my GP? I have seriously no idea what hospital to pick - I live in Co.Kildare so I am guessing it will be one of the Dublin hospitals. We're also contemplating getting an early scan in a few weeks - mostly because I feel like if I see lil Peanut that it will make it feel more real to me.

Congrats to you too! It’s so exciting!
    I’m 5 weeks + 2. I booked an early scan for 7-8 weeks for my own peace of mind to hear a heartbeat before I tell close family.
    I booked with babyscan.ie it’s €95
    Heading to the GP tomorrow to see what the story is with bloods and hospitals (private/public) I’m in cork.

Hope your doc appointment went well DAT64!

I won't tell family until first 12 weeks have passed - will be first grandchild on both sides so i know as soon as news is out that both sets of grandparents will be besides themselves with excitement. I'm too superstitious to say anything just yet.

I tried to make a GP appointment yesterday but because I am new to the area I live in, I have to register with the practice and a doctor will not see me until they have my records from my previous GP and they are going to send them a letter requesting them.

I think we will definitely do an early scan too - I'm only 6 weeks today by my own calculations so I need to hold out for another 2 weeks realistically. Patience was never a strong trait of mine :cool:

Finding it so hard to concentrate on work etc. Also contemplating organising some kind of shotgun wedding - we've been engaged for years and have never really been motivated to formalise but I feel strangely compelled to tie the knot before Lil Peanut arrives ;) I'm blaming pregnancy hormones!

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

Congratulations to everyone! I just found out I’m pregnant too, nervous and excited and happy doesnt begin to describe it! From the online calculators I’m due late February. Will get to doctors next week but fingers crossed everything is ok :)

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭misslemon

Hi all!

I’m super early, only 5 weeks. Due late February according to the calculators :)

It’s been a year of waiting so I can’t believe it’s finally happened! Looking forward to reading about how you all are doing!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Some lovely stories in here, good luck to you all :-)

Thanks Shesty and welcome to the February train Rockiemalt and misslemon. Hope the next few weeks and months go swimmingly well for you.

I had my doctor's appointment to confirm pregnancy last week - brought a urine sample with me in case of stage fright :o and got the ball rolling. I have to go back to her and confirm whether I am going to go public or private in the Coombe and I have been throwing that around all weekend long and exhausting pretty much every board and thread on the subject. When we found out, I was convinced we would go private but the more I look into it, the harder I am finding it to justify, and in case anybody else in this thread is having a similar dilemma, I've just highlighted my thoughts below. I also had a really great conversation with a secretary of a private consultant in the Coombe that I contacted and she was absolutely brilliant at spelling out the differences.

Private consultants fees are between €3-5k around the country and at the top end of that for the Dublin hospitals. I have private health insurance with VHI so would get a small contribution of €350 towards those fees and cover for 3 nights in hospital in private room if one is available (not clear about position if you need to spend longer than 3 nights in hospital after delivery). You can claim 20% of fees back through Revenue. You would attend one consultant and all going well, that consultant would be present at the birth also. You will likely not have to wait very long for appointments and will get mini-scans at each check up with bigger scans at wks 12, 20 and later on in pregnancy as required. You are not guaranteed a private room after delivery but would get one if available and, in my case, I would have to attend all appointments in the consultant's own suite in the Coombe (instead of availing of satellite clinic in Naas which would be a major plus for me).

My GP was very frank about her views on semi-private - she said in her experience and to the best of her knowledge, the standard of care is the exact same as going through the public system and she said the standard of care going through the public system is so high that she could not justify semi-private fees (about €1,000 + scans from what I can gather). After delivery, you could likely expect to be in a 4 bed semi private ward instead of a 5 bed public ward.

Re public - there are an overwhelming number of positive accounts of this route on both Boards and other forums. I kind of feel guilty for initially immediately discounting it but that was based on my preconception that all public healthcare in Ireland is a shambles. You would likely be dealing with midwives at your earlier appointments and would be referred to consultant led care if some issue arose or you or baby needed specialist care. The birth itself would be led by midwives and a consultant would only be present if there was some pressing need. If eligible for the Domino scheme, you would be looking at more midwifery-led care. After delivery, you would be in a 5/6 bed ward.

I thought about the things that are really important to me : first and foremost obviously is safe delivery of healthy baby, followed by getting home with said baby as soon as possible after delivery. I would also really like to attend the satellite clinic in Naas and there is no consultant from the Coombe taking private patients there as far as I am aware BUT the consultant who does attend the Naas clinic pretty much attends them all so even though continuity is not guaranteed, it can [unofficially) be expected, and this particular consultant no longer takes private patients but by all accounts according to his secretary, he treats public patients as if they were private. The secretary that I spoke to advised me that if her daughter was pregnant in the morning and needed to chose a route, that she would have no qualms in recommending going public in the Coombe, especially if she could attend the Naas satellite clinic, and that has really held a lot of weight in my mind all weekend as I have been researching and mulling it over. Even if I did not qualify for the Domino scheme or Naas satellite clinic, the disadvantages that I can tell are lack of continuity in attending same doctor (but my medical record would be there), having to wait longer at appointments (but I could bring a book to pass the time) and having to share a room with up to 4/5 others when baby is born (and hopefully get out of hospital asap after delivery).

I guess it is very difficult to call it without ever having had any experience of pregnancy and delivery and postnatal care (none of my colleagues or pals or friends have either so I have no in person accounts one way or another). I mean obviously I hope and expect that everything will go well and I will be able to deliver baby naturally and get home as soon as possible. I have no pre-existing health conditions or pregnancy related concerns, apart from being an anxious first timer. We are not rich by any means but we could afford to go private, but given that the public standard of maternity care seems to be so high anyway, I just don't know if I can justify the private fees especially with all the other expenses in becoming first time parents, especially when I would be looking to take the full unpaid maternity leave at the end of my paid maternity leave.

So I am still mulling it over and considering all options (have to decide over next day or so to get my registration form in asap) but I just thought putting it on paper might help if you are considering the same. If you have any strong views one way or another based on your own experience or any accounts you have from reliable sources, please help a gal out and share :)

• Registered Users Posts: 43 clarnimhurchu

Hello all you strong ladies!

I too am due in late February, currently 5 weeks, pregnant with my second child. I visited the GP on Friday for confirmation, and today I rang the Domino midwives for Holles Street, to book care with them. I was with them for my first pregnancy, and the care is excellent, so they were definitely my first choice. I might even go with a homebirth this time! I also decided to book a scan for when I'm 8 weeks, with Evie, just for my own peace of mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭red petal

Hi Ladies, I am going to join in here too- although a little hesitant! I got a positive test last week and would be due the end of Feb, all going well. I have had 2 miscarriage in the last year so I won't feel 100% until I see a healthy scan.

Having done the domino scheme with The Coombe when pregnant with my 5yr old, I couldn't recommend it enough. I got lots of extra scans and had a few of my appointments locally. Definitely worth applying for if you're eligible. I considered going private on my first and so glad I didn't. I got great care on the public and was kind of put off the idea by most people, nurses included. Apparently the care is not much different and you are not guaranteed the consultant etc. will be there.

Hope you are all doing OK!

Welcome All! Going by dates I think I'm approx 6w3d. I also visited the doctor and got the letter for the hospital. I'm definitely hoping to apply for the domino scheme like most first timers I have not stopped googling/researching the options! Hope everyone feeling well!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭GavMan

red petal wrote: »
    Hi Ladies, I am going to join in here too- although a little hesitant! I got a positive test last week and would be due the end of Feb, all going well. I have had 2 miscarriage in the last year so I won't feel 100% until I see a healthy scan.

Having done the domino scheme with The Coombe when pregnant with my 5yr old, I couldn't recommend it enough. I got lots of extra scans and had a few of my appointments locally. Definitely worth applying for if you're eligible. I considered going private on my first and so glad I didn't. I got great care on the public and was kind of put off the idea by most people, nurses included. Apparently the care is not much different and you are not guaranteed the consultant etc. will be there.

Hope you are all doing OK!

We just had a scan today in Ultrascan in Ballymount. All looking well. My wife wanted some piece of mind. 99 quid and worth every single cent when we heard the heart beat.

Might be early for you but I'd 100% recommend in a few weeks time

This group is getting bigger! It’s fantastic to read everyone’s stories, congrats everyone.

An update from me, visited GP last week confirmed the news and got my bloods and BP checked.
    I’m Cork based and after thinking about it for the last couple of weeks we have decided to go private, weighted it up and we know a consultant in Cork so I would love her to be my doctor, so I bit the bullet and rang the clinic today to book in and asked my GP to send on the referral letter. It’s costing €3k, I have private Health insurance which will give me back €500 and you get 20% back through taxes. Given that up until a few weeks ago we thought we would be having IVF I’d prefer to see my €€ going to my pregnancy instead :)
    I have no doubt I would get excellent care as many of my friends and family have via the public route but this is just our choice.

Looking forward to my early scan next week. I’m currently in week 7 day 3.

How is everyone doing? I’m a bit nauseous and still have tender breasts, also can’t believe the tiredness, I have a new appreciation to the ladies who are pregnant and have small kids! How do ye do it!

@GavMan - you're making me really excited now to get an early scan, I'm trying to hold out to 8 wks and it's so hard when you're impatient. :rolleyes: I feel like seeing Lil Peanut will make it feel more real. I am chuffed for you both and glad it went well!

@DAT64 - absolutely brilliant that you're all sorted with your consultant etc. Must be great peace of mind. I am still noodling over what direction to go - is indecision an early pregnancy symptom?

Aside from my inability to make a decision, I'm feeling okish. Main complaint is that I am unbelievably tired esp in early afternoons - I mean literally struggling to keep my eyes open or to sit upright. You are so right - first baby for us so I have the luxury of taking it easy but I take my hat off to those of you who already have little 'uns - you are warriors. I think my tiredness is compounded by the fact that I've been waking at 4/5am for the last week and I cannot go back to sleep. My boobs are still pretty tender and I'm getting a bit of what feels like pre-menstrual cramping a couple of times a day. For the last couple of days, I have felt very mildly queasy - not enough to actually be sick - but I hope this is just a passing phase and doesn't get any worse.

Thankfully I work from home 4 days a week so I can manage tiredness / queasiness quite well but I feel for ladies who have to commute and spend a day in the workplace feeling unwell but unable to tell anybody why just yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭charcosull

Hi All and congratulations.

So we went for an 8 week scan on Monday. My wife has had 5 miscarriages over the last 3 years so we were really expecting the same as our previous scans, Baby measuring small with low heart rate.

But.......... NOT THIS TIME. Measuring fine with a strong steady heart rate of 146 bpm.

Still hasn't sunk in and has felt like forever to get to this point.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Ah lads.Congratulations.Really, lots of good luck baby dust in here.Hoping for happy healthy pregnancies for you all. :-)

charcosull wrote: »
    But.......... NOT THIS TIME. Measuring fine with a strong steady heart rate of 146 bpm.

Wonderful news, congratulations! I'm hoping for a similar outcome in 3 weeks time, when I'll have my 8 week scan.
    My booking in appointment was arranged today, for when I will be 13 weeks along. Everything feels like such a long wait.
    With my first, I was so excited that I told my family immediately upon finding out. Now that this is number two, and with my brother expecting in September, I don't want to tell until I'm certain everything will work out. Although I am equally excited, I am mainly distracted with work and trying to look after a busy two year old.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭red petal

GavMan wrote: »
    We just had a scan today in Ultrascan in Ballymount. All looking well. My wife wanted some piece of mind. 99 quid and worth every single cent when we heard the heart beat.

Might be early for you but I'd 100% recommend in a few weeks time

Thanks a million! I did that on my last 2 pregnancy’s and it was very hard as they couldn’t see what was expected and the hospital wouldn’t see me unless I was bleeding heavily. I have been pushing to get an appt with the early pregnancy unit for confirmation over the last week but no luck yet. Am definitely feeling worried now as I’m not “feeling” pregnant again. Hopefully it’s nothing and I can get confirmation either way pretty soon. Delighted all went well for you! It’s an exciting time!

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭misslemon

Had my first doctors appointment yesterday, she did the another test so it feels more “real” now! I have to decide which hospital I want now, I have no idea!!! 😂

I've decided to go Public in the Rotounda just checking in to see how long people waited for their booking app?

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭BriarPatch

Cole30 wrote: »
    I've decided to go Public in the Rotounda just checking in to see how long people waited for their booking app?

Popping in from January thread, I got my appointment 2 days after I contacted them and I'll be 13 weeks on the appt day hope that helps!

Cole30 wrote: »

Yes, I got my appointment arranged for about 13 weeks, but with a community midwife in a HSE centre. I think it's normally 12-14 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭tiredcity

Just wanted to join the reassuring chorus of "public actually very good!" if anyone's dithering. Really wanted to go with Domino first time around. Sadly got turned down but that's a brilliant option if it's available to you. Only real downside to public OPD was the waiting but I always enjoyed people watching so never minded. Truth is if all goes to plan on D day, the midwives will handle most/all of it. And if stuff goes really askew the most senior members available of the obs team will be there in a flash and in that case nobody cares if you're public or private, just there's a good outcome. Private is lovely for the continuity of care, particularly if you've any complications and the room could be a great perk. But definitely not essential. Best of luck with the next few weeks one & all!

Thanks so much BriarPatch, Clarnimhurchu & tiredcity! X

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Chelle_C

Hi all, I’m here to join the party if you don’t mind!

I’m a long time user but created a new account as it’s early days (6 weeks today).

This is my first, came as a complete shock and I’ll be doing this alone - well, with the help of my family anyway :)

I have my first docs appointment today. I’m assuming she will just do things like weigh me etc?

I’m experiencing mild cramping the past 2 days which is completely freaking me out even though I know it’s normal. Just can’t shake the fear though, I’m honestly scared to go to the toilet.
    I wish I could stay in bed, not moving, until week 12!

Welcome to all the new joiners - it's great to see this thread growing bigger and bigger :)

So after agonizing for weeks and constant back and forth weighing up pros and cons etc., we finally decided to go down the public route. I sent away my patient registration form to the Coombe on Tuesday and got my booking appointment/dating scan times in the post this morning. I'll be either 12wks on the dot (first day of LMP) or 11+4 (date of ovulation). I can't believe the appointment came so fast - it's also a 9.30am appointment so I hope that means that I won't have to wait too long on the day.

When I sent away the patient registration form, I also attached a post it and asked if at all possible, could I get as many appointments as possible in the Naas satellite clinic (to avoid having to trek into the city as much) and the lovely person in the Coombe included a handwritten note in my letter this morning saying that it was not possible to do the first appointment in Naas but I can have my follow up appointments in Naas. That would be unbelievably handy for me. I've heard parking in the Coombe is a nightmare so would like to avoid that pain if at all possible.

It's weird really - it's all getting very real now :p