Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

February 2020 babies club

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Rockiemalt

Hope everyone is doing well. Had my scan the other week and all went well. my placenta is at the back so getting regularish kicks. baby had hiccups the other week i think which was weird!

I Had to start iron tablets as I got tested and my iron was low. i get a few kicks when I take the tablets with orange juice, (helps absorption) think baby likes the sugary juice too.
    Has anyone got their flu/whooping cough injections yet? I’m getting mine on thursday and not looking forward to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Rockiemalt wrote: »
    Has anyone got their flu/whooping cough injections yet? I’m getting mine on thursday and not looking forward to them.

I got both of mine a couple of weeks ago. My arm was a bit sore for a day or two after but overall it was grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Ca_va

So lovely to hear everyone's scans have been good! I'm getting lots of definite kicks now, it is such a nice feeling!

I'm struggling to get my head around all the buggy options out there so started a thread in the newborns and toddlers forum looking for advice. There are some great tips there if there are any other clueless first time Mams like me!

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=111599792#post111599792

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Itching ......

I'm 25+6 and my bump is itching like crazy for the last few days - there's no rash and it's not raised so I guess it's from the skin stretching.

It seems to get particularly bad at night. I'm doing my best not to scratch it and I've tried bio-oil, Vitamin E and moisturiser. Anyone else experiencing the same? or have any remedies?

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭paulers06

Neady83 wrote: »
    Itching ......

I'm 25+6 and my bump is itching like crazy for the last few days - there's no rash and it's not raised so I guess it's from the skin stretching.

It seems to get particularly bad at night. I'm doing my best not to scratch it and I've tried bio-oil, Vitamin E and moisturiser. Anyone else experiencing the same? or have any remedies?

I had that a few of weeks ago. I put it down to stretching and just kept rubbing creams and oils in which gave temporary relief. It passed within a week. I think it was just down to a growth spurt. Annoying as hell!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Not so much the bump, but if your hands and/or feet become itchy, tell the doctor.It may be a sign of a liver condition that can occur during pregnancy.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Nottellingyet

Neady83 wrote: »
    Itching ......

You should visit your GP for simple blood test to rule out a particular liver condition that might need attention. Highly unlikely to be related to that but you should rule ot out to be on the safe side

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Chelle_C

I went to the GP this morning for my scheduled check-up. All is grand although it took her a while to find the heartbeat which was a bit nerve wracking!

Anyway, whilst she was having a feel she says to me, I won't be checking the baby's position today, it's pointless as whatever way they're laying now, they'll probably be laying a different way a minute later. Babies don't settle into position for birth until around 37 weeks'.
    Grand.

So after finding the heartbeat and confirming all is well, I sat up and she goes through all the normal questions.
    Then says to me 'Based on where I found the heartbeat today, it seems your baby is head up which is breech so you may want to be prepared that you're likely to need a C-section'

Erm...OK well that makes no sense based on what you said earlier and the fact that I am 22 weeks, the baby is the size of a red pepper so surely there's room to be doing cartwheels in there??
    I questioned it and she totally changed what she'd said earlier and told me that being breech now is an early indication of a C-Section so I should prepare myself to be offered to have the baby turned later in the pregnancy which is very painful or I can have a section which she'd advise me to take.

Luckily I'm a very calm person, there are some women who might be told this and get very upset and spend the next 18 or so weeks worrying.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 clarnimhurchu

Wow, Chelle_C, she completely contradicted herself! It doesn't make sense that a baby won't move itself after 23 or so weeks. There are loads of exercises that you can do to help get babies into the correct position, anyway.

My sister in law recently had a baby, and it was breech from the 28 week check to about 35 weeks, when baby turned around. She was also told to prepare herself for a C-Section. I don't know if medical professionals just like to scare new mothers, or if they are trying to prepare you for the worst. However, telling someone who is at 23 or 24 weeks that they could be breech seems crazy. GPs don't always have specialist knowledge in childbirth, so a midwife or obstetrician might be best to get advice from about that.

Wow, Chelle_C, she completely contradicted herself! It doesn't make sense that a baby won't move itself after 23 or so weeks. There are loads of exercises that you can do to help get babies into the correct position, anyway.

My sister in law recently had a baby, and it was breech from the 28 week check to about 35 weeks, when baby turned around. She was also told to prepare herself for a C-Section. I don't know if medical professionals just like to scare new mothers, or if they are trying to prepare you for the worst. However, telling someone who is at 23 or 24 weeks that they could be breech seems crazy. GPs don't always have specialist knowledge in childbirth, so a midwife or obstetrician might be best to get advice from about that.

The funny thing is, she used to be a midwife!

It was such a strange thing to say, the more I think about it all.

Anyway, I'm luckily not a worrying type of person so I took it all with a pinch of salt.
    The baby has to come out somehow and if that's through a vaginal birth or via section, it's all the same once the baby is OK.
    I would prefer a vaginal birth but I may not be saying that when the contractions start :p

Are any of you planning on getting a bouncer or are they a waste of time? Was thinking of picking one up at the black friday sales if on offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

paulers06 wrote: »
    Are any of you planning on getting a bouncer or are they a waste of time? Was thinking of picking one up at the black friday sales if on offer.

My friend has one of these and swears by it. Was thinking of picking up on Thursday.

Hope you are all doing well. I've booked a midwife for a home birth and I'm really delighted that I'll hopefully be able to deliver at home! My Mam is a bit apprehensive as it is my first but it feels like the right option for me.

Ca_va wrote: »
    Hope you are all doing well. I've booked a midwife for a home birth and I'm really delighted that I'll hopefully be able to deliver at home! My Mam is a bit apprehensive as it is my first but it feels like the right option for me.

Oh wow Ca_Va, that's so cool!
    Good for you.
    I'll be looking forward to hear of your experience in a few months :)

• Registered Users Posts: 43 clarnimhurchu

Ca_va wrote: »

That's great, Ca-Va! I will hopefully be doing a homebirth too, on the Domino Midwife scheme with Holles Street. My mother doesn't really mind, it's my partner who is the most apprehensive! I haven't even mentioned it to his family! I am very excited though, and I hope we are going to get on great!

Ah great! My Mam is being supportive but is just concerned as it is my first and I don't know how I'll react to everything. I suppose the Mammy worry never goes away! My husband has been great. We did a hypnobirthing course together and I think the process all made sense to him. Hopefully he stays that way when it all gets going!

Hey all

FYI, Tesco have a 20% off sale on all baby wear for a couple of days :)

Ladies, are any of you experiencing shortness of breath?

I'm not particularly big bump wise, everyone is saying how 'neat' I am, however I am finding in the past week or so after a little growth spurt that I am constantly short of breath.

Even sitting at my desk at work.

Not sure if it's something I should go to the GP about or something that is totally normal?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

It is very normal, I would always have this when pregnant.And as the baby grows,it's pushing up more into your lungs.So you do have to slow down.When the baby drops in the third trimester you won't know yourself!That being said, I would mention it at the next appointment anyway, no harm.I think on my second I had slightly low iron and BP and slight breathlessness was part of that too.

shesty wrote: »
    It is very normal, I would always have this when pregnant.And as the baby grows,it's pushing up more into your lungs.So you do have to slow down.When the baby drops in the third trimester you won't know yourself!That being said, I would mention it at the next appointment anyway, no harm.I think on my second I had slightly low iron and BP and slight breathlessness was part of that too.

Thank you.
    I've been so well up until now, no complaints whatsoever.
    Then this week BOOM I feel like an old woman. It's horrible!

I read that a hormonal change during pregnancy can cause breathlessness too. I was marathon training when I got pregnant and couldn’t climb the stairs without some recovery time for a few weeks in the first trimester!

Marathon training whilst pregnant :eek:
    I can barely make it up the stairs at 25 weeks haha

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭RebelScorned

Can't say I've noticed such shortness of breath Chelle_C at all yet but I do feel very tired after any sort of moderate activity, kind of old woman-esque as you put it. Definitely mention it at your next check-up to put your mind at ease but it sounds like it's a completely normal consequence of growing a human. I think I'm definitely feeling that second trimester buzz, I'm not as sick or tired as I was in first trimester, I finally have a proper bump and don't just look like a chubbier version of myself and so far I seem to have avoided any backaches, hip pains, heartburn + indigestion, etc. (the usual complaints!) The only issue I've had is faint spells - not actual fainting but some near misses. Never happened to me before but neither GP nor midwife were very concerned when I mentioned it.:o

I had my Glucose Tolerance Test this morning - I had been dreading it but it (the drink pouch) wasn't actually as bad as I thought it would be - it was like cold undiluted orange Miwadi. Have to wait to see now if I get a call tomorrow with news - no call is good news so fingers crossed. I did feel mighty queasy and faint waiting for the second blood test in particular (i.e. first test post glucose drink) and I asked the midwife if this was a bad sign (i.e. does an adverse reaction to that drink mean that I have GD) and she said lots of ladies feel a bit sickly after it and it could simply be down to the fasting before the test. If any of you have the GTT over the next few weeks, I would strongly recommend bringing a bottle of water and some cheese/protein snacks so that you can eat something the minute the last drop of blood is taken. I'll prob keel over from fright if I get a call from an unknown Dublin number in the morning :eek:

Rebelscorned I'd keep saying that and question your bloods and BP...they should redo bloods around 28 weeks.

As I said in a previous post, I had the same thing on my second baby, slight breathlessness, amd dizzy spells, and it was only when I got to 35 weeks and asked to be signed off work, they told me oh your BP and your iron are both slightly low so the combination of the two is causing that.I was annoyed they had not mentioned it before then,because I had had a few near misses on packed commuter trains, and was quite stressed about my work commute everyday as a result.

Chelle_C wrote: »
    Marathon training whilst pregnant :eek:
    I can barely make it up the stairs at 25 weeks haha

The training is long dead in the water!

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Yellowmac

As the others have said Chelle_C it's most likely just bump squashing your lungs (lung capacity decreases in pregnancy) but shortness of breath can defo be a sign of low iron so just keep an eye out for any other symptoms and get it checked out at your next appt! My iron is fine but I just cannot get a deep breath no matter how much I try- there just isn't space as I'm a small person and it feels like baby is taking up my whole body!! My heavy panting is starting to attract some strange looks on the bus etc 😂 morto!

Yellowmac wrote: »
    As the others have said Chelle_C it's most likely just bump squashing your lungs (lung capacity decreases in pregnancy) but shortness of breath can defo be a sign of low iron so just keep an eye out for any other symptoms and get it checked out at your next appt! My iron is fine but I just cannot get a deep breath no matter how much I try- there just isn't space as I'm a small person and it feels like baby is taking up my whole body!! My heavy panting is starting to attract some strange looks on the bus etc �� morto!

Yes I'm small myself, 5'2 and I have noticed my bump has really grown in the past 2 weeks. Which is when the breathlessness began, so it makes total sense that my lung capacity has decreased due to being squashed!
    All this at 25 weeks. I'm going to be a mess by 39 :P

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭RebelScorned

Thanks so much @shesty for sharing your experience, I'm visiting my GP in 2 weeks so will definitely mention it then again. I'm only on iron tablets for the last two weeks - I thought everything was included in Pregnacare and because the GP didn't mention it and all my blood levels came back completely normal, I didn't think I had to take iron. I also bought the wrong tablets - Feroglobin instead of Ferrograd C (there is about 16/17 times the amount of iron in the latter) so I could very well be deficient in iron and just not realise.

@Chelle_C - I am only just about 5ft tall so I too feel like I will be as wide as I am tall by the time 39 weeks rolls around.

Also, to my great relief and joy, no phone call today re results of Glucose Tolerance Test so I'm taking it that I am in the clear. I've been half avoiding my phone all day just in case :pac:

We went baby shopping today as want to get as much as possible sorted before wedding in 2 weeks and Christmas - got the cot, changing table and drawers in Ikea and then stopped into Mothercare on way home and ended up biting the bullet and ordering the Uppababy Vista travel system bundle. Feels like progress but still plenty more to do! Himself is up assembling all the furniture now so I'm looking at other newborn essentials - hope to pick up a few things over the Black Friday weekend so need to compile a list. What a minefield...

Yes I suppose it was never really mentioned to me until about 35 weeks when the midwife said I needed to stop work and the levels were a bit low.I wouldn't normally take iron in pregnamcy myself unless told to, but she put me on them then and I was great after that.Still do get some breathlessness all thrpugh pregnancy though.Stairs are a killer!

How’s everyone getting on? Coming up on 28 weeks now and exhaustion is setting in again. Getting weekly B12 shots and may have to get iron also. It’s been a pretty easy pregnancy outside of fatigue so won’t complain.

Have most of the baby items now. Going to tackle the box room over Christmas and turn into a nursery. Is currently full of crap!