Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,950 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

It's only part one of the bans IMO. This was done to stop panic buying of more unregistered CF SA's which were disappearing into the ether before the new bans come in. Watch this space. They have opened a Pandora's box now with saying they will do a buyback and NZ "only" has so few semi-autos...Wonder how the collectors will feel having to sell off Thompsons and Mp44s for the NZ states buyback??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Sent to me, about the 2008 meeting of all shooting, govt and hunting bodies in Mullingar in May 2008.
    Have a read,if you haven't seen this before. There is enough in it for everyone to get upset over the weekend about. Even though it is ancient history now.:p

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Captured on a Noregewigans night vision/thermal firearms mounted optic. They are definitely not infallible devices and mistakes can still be made with them.Of course Sweden being one of the more gun ban-happy EU countries in Europe,this will add more grist to the anti-gun and hunting parties mills.:mad:

http://www.ladbible.com/news/weird-video-footage-shows-hunter-shooting-a-75-year-old-jogger-in-sweden-20190326?source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR2d33_qgdwQGTD-kSJWNV1kXrKXVixJfcjxm917RhO16Bw0aaInOQU0f-g

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Captured on a Noregewigans night vision/thermal firearms mounted optic. They are definitely not infallible devices and mistakes can still be made with them.Of course Sweden being one of the more gun ban-happy EU countries in Europe,this will add more grist to the anti-gun and hunting parties mills.:mad:

http://www.ladbible.com/news/weird-video-footage-shows-hunter-shooting-a-75-year-old-jogger-in-sweden-20190326?source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR2d33_qgdwQGTD-kSJWNV1kXrKXVixJfcjxm917RhO16Bw0aaInOQU0f-g

Gobsh1tee of a hunter. He deserves everything he gets. Even if he was shooting at a deer, a house doesn't make a very good backstop.

https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/news/federal-court-strikes-down-california-gun-magazine-ban

A judge has struck down California's high capacity magazine ban.

Watch this space...Yours truly has been put on notice of impending interviews about the Republics gun laws and how we are getting on??

ttps://zbrojnice.com/2019/04/01/interview-tomasz-w-stepien-in-firearms-united-we-expect-the-eu-to-go-hard-after-legal-gun-owners-in-2020/?fbclid=IwAR1AuvuVTIeclRShvGSDwg5s0We0AzWESEFe17VkO-71ReRZDQ7t8ZMs28Y

Reading this lads,you'll probably think I've lost what few marbles I had, but bear with me...
    Supposing all or as many as possible of us hunters and gun owners as possible voted Green party Ireland in the upcoming general elections in a few years time??

Ok,when you have all finished wiping down your computer or phone screens and managed to get yourselves upright from the laugh and stopped looking for the: phone number for Limericks home for the bewildered to send out two lads with a large butterfly net to take me away...:D:D:D I'll explain...

The Greens are a minority party of about Max 3,000 signed up members going by 2017 statistics. Gun owners and hunters of all types in Ireland are at conservative numbers, taking multiple licenses, etc over 100k!!! That's not including people like the Horsey fox hunting crowd, the Ward Union and all the rest...

See where we are going with this?? If we were to join the GP, [even say 10k worth of us] we become an overwhelming majority by the sheer weight of numbers and then have voting rights and say in the policy of the GP and the Green movement EU wide. It is an established party structure,with all the recognition of a registered political party as well. Just, shall we say "very misguided and misinformed" on field sports and conservation. With pro hunting and field sports and farmers interests now being represented. We actually would have clout in the Dail and even Brussels.

The crusties that are in it will literally die off as they won't be able to manoeuvre politically against a majority, and it would take the huge numbers to match ours to rebalance the party, and they will no doubt split and have to start from scratch with a new organisation which would take decades to rebuild.

It would cut off crowds like AFAR, ICABS, CACS at the neck from any meaningful allies on the political scene. They would be left with the likes of Mc Grath,little boy blue blood Barret,and other such types that no one takes seriously.

While they are not a major PITFH to us, yet. Statements like O Sullivan on the NZ shootings do sometimes get carried to other more powerful political types wanting to score points and as we saw all the times before with gun law in Irish politics its better to be in the tent pissiing in the pot than being outside the tent hoping to hit the pot.

And let the abuse begin...:):D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Interesting idea, the idea of controlling an established political party and possibly having a seat in Government ( in any future coalition) is tempting.
    The perennial problems of course arise.
    1) getting shooters to "pull together" enough to form a cohesive unit,
    2) getting shooters to change the voting habit/preference of a lifetine.

And the fact that Green support is strongest in areas where shooters are least populous means that it would take a very focused campaign to get a shooting candidate into the Green party as a "sleeper" and onto the ticket in one of their more rural seats.

Wouldnt even need to get a sleeper into it. It's simply they want and need bums on seats at their ard feihs,and of course money from membership. We will provide,en masse a membership for them, but not of the type they were expecting.
    Instead of soy boys and women who knitted their undergarments from their husbands' beards.
    They are going to get us, in all our shapes and sizes as card-carrying paid-up green party members who also just happen to be gun owners and hunters and farmers, and anglers and huntsmen, and as such WE then hold the power of who runs for elections by majority vote. Its a simple matter of overwhelming by sheer numbers.

Wouldnt even need to get a sleeper into it. It's simply they want and need bums on seats at their ard feihs,and of course money from membership. We will provide,en masse a membership for them, but not of the type they were expecting.
    Instead of soy boys and women who knitted their undergarments from their husbands' beards.
    They are going to get us, in all our shapes and sizes as card-carrying paid-up green party members who also just happen to be gun owners and hunters and farmers, and anglers and huntsmen, and as such WE then hold the power of who runs for elections by majority vote. Its a simple matter of overwhelming by sheer numbers.

I read their constitution (some of it anyway before I felt myself losing the will to live). You don't get voting rights straight away. It takes a minimum of 6 months and even longer, and if they think you have other ideas (e.g. a member of another political party), then they can kick you out.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

It would be much simpler to create a new political party..;) Doesnt take a whole lot im sure theres plenty of lads who would be willing to give a fellow shooter a vote in local and general elections especially when they know they've got a Representative who will actually do their job.. represent their constituents

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I read their constitution (some of it anyway before I felt myself losing the will to live). You don't get voting rights straight away. It takes a minimum of 6 months and even longer, and if they think you have other ideas (e.g. a member of another political party), then they can kick you out.

send us a link?

It would be much simpler to create a new political party..;) Doesnt take a whole lot im sure theres plenty of lads who would be willing to give a fellow shooter a vote in local and general elections especially when they know they've got a Representative who will actually do their job.. represent their constituents

The whole idea is to destroy or control the opposition by taking over its system and organs,,and use those to our benefit not to get into forming new political parties, which will be no-hopers and not going anywhere on single issue tickets. Not to mind, it's an utterly rigged shop to get a new party registered and expensive too in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭tac foley

Seámus O'Rourke at it again....'We want a hard border' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93RI7Z3HhZk

tac foley wrote: »
    Seámus O'Rourke at it again....'We want a hard border' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93RI7Z3HhZk

That sweet feeling when the Customs officer pulled in the car in front of you, and waved you on.
    And you with a new stereo and a VHS recorder down behind the car seat, and a months shopping in the boot, along with 4 big box's of Ariel washing powder .....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

BattleCorp wrote: »
    https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/news/federal-court-strikes-down-california-gun-magazine-ban

A judge has struck down California's high capacity magazine ban.
    A fairly serious ruling.

Not only does it overturn the ban, but enforces the fact that such mags are constitutionally protected. Opens the door for other items that were banned.
    And let the abuse begin...:):D
    /deep inhale

Who are you and what have you done with Grizzly_45. Either that or worse troll ever.

Seriously though what the lads said above is spot on about not being as simple as that, and this:
    It would be much simpler to create a new political party..;)
    Is a much simpler and effective way to go.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Two years ago a friend of ours who lives in NORCAL bought four 50-round Ruger mags here in UK off a fellow shooter. He paid him the new UK price for a bunch of old, but perfectly working, magazines and one of those spiffy loading devices. What a turnaround!! An American buying stuff in UK!!

Wouldn't be the first time...;)

Cass wrote: »

BUT not for long!!! Better get that order to CA by 5pm pacific time.:(:mad:

Did ye think it would be THAT easy in Commiefornia??

https://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2019/04/04/california-magazine-ban/?fbclid=IwAR2WLIB43B_buq5GM_pZI5_Yhe5Bl5gZXPCB6PlV_GWoDPQzYR3vv3aqmZM

May be upheld under review by the 9th circuit.

In other news all i've heard for the last few days was the drugs, weapons and monkey haul in Dublin.

It both amazes and dumbfounds me that with a few machine guns/pistols, ammo, and €126k of drugs seized the only thing people are talking about is the fecking Monkey.

Better still, sense the sarcasm, more people are outraged about the treatment of the Monkey from it's illegal import to how it was kept in a cage than they are about the illegal weapons (and yes, in this instance they are weapons), the ammo for them and the sh*t ton of drugs found that was destined for someone's kid(s).

Have we slipped so far down that social justice scale that a Monkey's well being is off more importance than the illegal drugs and guns (which i'm sure legit gun owners will be punished for once again)?

The amazing thing, to my way of thinking anyway, is that the 3 people arrested have been released without charge.
    A file is to be sent to the DPP.

Was the drugs and guns found in a building, or on a "site"?
    Obviously the Guards can't link the people to the illegal stuff found, because the sentence for having an unauthorised firearm is 10 years mandatory.

Found on a halting site. Nuff said.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Cass wrote: »
    In other news all i've heard for the last few days was the drugs, weapons and monkey haul in Dublin.

It both amazes and dumbfounds me that with a few machine guns/pistols, ammo, and €126k of drugs seized the only thing people are talking about is the fecking Monkey.

Better still, sense the sarcasm, more people are outraged about the treatment of the Monkey from it's illegal import to how it was kept in a cage than they are about the illegal weapons (and yes, in this instance they are weapons), the ammo for them and the sh*t ton of drugs found that was destined for someone's kid(s).

Have we slipped so far down that social justice scale that a Monkey's well being is off more importance than the illegal drugs and guns (which i'm sure legit gun owners will be punished for once again)?

Nobodys noticed that .357 which appears to be a colt python will be getting the hacksaw job soon, a shame their not handed into dealers.

The Holy hand grenade of Antioch has been found!

Remember the instructions for use...

First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin, then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less.

Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three.

Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three.

Five is right out.

Once the number three, being the third number, be reached,
    then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thy foe, who being naughty in My sight, shall snuff it."[

https://www.thevintagenews.com/2018/02/18/grenade-found/?fbclid=IwAR03Bqxf7S_85aZPqD_Z_hQxGb8zQMpsQJuobUUgdle6O8fnu-93PYelAFI

STOP PRESS NOTRE DAME CATHEDRAL PARIS DESTROYED IN DEVASTATING FIRE - WATCH NEWS NOW!!!!!