Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Deise189

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Did we try something that didn't work ??

Couple of changes at half time and the forwards withdrew a little. More to do with the forwards not offering much as opposed to negative tactics. Lots of mistakes from both sides in the second half no doubt aided by the cold (and snow at times). Meaningleas match but it would have been nice to get the result.. Any chance to beat the rebels! Lots of positives though dunford excellent before being taken off at HT, Kieran Bennett quite in the second half but had a great first half same goes to colm Roche but quite second half due to being the isolated forward surrounded by two cork lads. Thought Kearney had a good game playing as a sweeper/Jamie Barron type role.. Ran all night although at times that wasn't a good thing as he could have passed it to a better position. Could be a good back up to Jamie Barron though. Most other players didn't stand out but can't really be judged on a match at this time of the year with the conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Deise189 wrote: »
    colm Roche but quite second half due to being the isolated forward surrounded by two cork lads.

That makes no sense to me, in a Waterford Crystal game in January what is the point giving a young lad his chance when effectively you are giving him no chance? Did we show any signs of adopting a more attacking approach from last year or was it just more of the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 924 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Deise189 wrote: »
    Couple of changes at half time and the forwards withdrew a little. More to do with the forwards not offering much as opposed to negative tactics. Lots of mistakes from both sides in the second half no doubt aided by the cold (and snow at times). Meaningleas match but it would have been nice to get the result.. Any chance to beat the rebels! Lots of positives though dunford excellent before being taken off at HT, Kieran Bennett quite in the second half but had a great first half same goes to colm Roche but quite second half due to being the isolated forward surrounded by two cork lads. Thought Kearney had a good game playing as a sweeper/Jamie Barron type role.. Ran all night although at times that wasn't a good thing as he could have passed it to a better position. Could be a good back up to Jamie Barron though. Most other players didn't stand out but can't really be judged on a match at this time of the year with the conditions.

Mentioned Kearney as a back up to Barron here previously, think he could grow into the position nicely if given time in these sort of games. Would be nice to have alternatives for a few of our important players like Barron if we can. Don't think he missed a competitive game last year, hopefully that's the case again this year but good practice to prepare a replacement.

Although the result would be slightly disappointing by the sounds of it there is a few positives to take from it, which if we were honest is all one wants from such outings. Kieran Bennett showing potential is encouraging, Dunford as a midfielder as oppossed to his previous forward / roaming roles, Thomas Ryan scoring 2 points.
    Being a young inexperienced team such a night wouldn't have suited the team obviously when up against a more physical, experienced Cork side.

How did McNulty and Gleeson play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,903 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Clare are taking this comp very seriously from what I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    That makes no sense to me, in a Waterford Crystal game in January what is the point giving a young lad his chance when effectively you are giving him no chance? Did we show any signs of adopting a more attacking approach from last year or was it just more of the same?

I heard you had no forward in Cork's half at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

1. Paddy Cooke (Ballygunner)
    2. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
    3. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)
    4. Ross Browne (Colligan)
    5. Shane Ryan (Fourmilewater)
    6. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore)
    7. Frank McGrath (Roanmore)
    8. Harley Barnes (Ballygunner)
    9. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
    10. Míchéal Harney (Bunmahon)
    11. Thomas Ryan (Tallow)
    12. Seamus Keating (Ardmore)
    13. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin)
    14. Craig Guiry (Fourmilewater)
    15. Brian Nolan (Roanmore)

Team to face Clare on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Flynner, Sean Power, Cogs O'Gorman and Tony Browne in charge of the U21s for this year.

The best of luck to them.

It would be big bonus to have a good year in this grade after the terrible performances of the past few years.

I agree. He was being marked by mark Ellis and IMO won that battle hands down in the first half but he didn't have a ️hope in the second half. He could be someone to watch out for later in the year though if he gets a chance in the league. We were against the wind in the first half but still played either a two or three man full forward line with mikey Kearney dropping out around half forward or midfield. For the most part we had a four man half forward line and colm roche and Tommy ryan inside. In the second half though it more resembled our 2014 tactics with very little up front and all at the back but cork still managed to poke holes and found plenty of space.

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Mentioned Kearney as a back up to Barron here previously, think he could grow into the position nicely if given time in these sort of games. Would be nice to have alternatives for a few of our important players like Barron if we can. Don't think he missed a competitive game last year, hopefully that's the case again this year but good practice to prepare a replacement.

Although the result would be slightly disappointing by the sounds of it there is a few positives to take from it, which if we were honest is all one wants from such outings. Kieran Bennett showing potential is encouraging, Dunford as a midfielder as oppossed to his previous forward / roaming roles, Thomas Ryan scoring 2 points.
    Being a young inexperienced team such a night wouldn't have suited the team obviously when up against a more physical, experienced Cork side.

How did McNulty and Gleeson play?

McNulty was quite enough took a good slap of a Hurley to his shin which forced him off for a while and he was even quiter when he came back on.. Still made some good catches and blocks though. Thought Gleeson had a good game and was rarely caught out. But he went on a lot of aimless runs from corner back as a lot of puck outs were going to either corner back. Lost the ball a good bit on these runs and gave away two points as a result. Apart from that he was good though.

The footballers made a fairly dismal defence of their mcgrath cup title after a pasting off cork last night. It paints a fairly bleak picture of the year ahead. With the Stradbally lads on strike and look at conor gleeson, probably the most talented young footballer the county has produced in many years opting for the hurlers, where in reality he will be a pamel playerr. Its hard to see us winning a meaningful match anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The footballers made a fairly dismal defence of their mcgrath cup title after a pasting off cork last night. It paints a fairly bleak picture of the year ahead. With the Stradbally lads on strike and look at conor gleeson, probably the most talented young footballer the county has produced in many years opting for the hurlers, where in reality he will be a pamel playerr. Its hard to see us winning a meaningful match anytime soon.

Be thankful for it robo, it is unrealistic for a county like Waterford to be any way competitive in both codes, a reality my own county (Tipp) seem unable to grasp and the result will inevitably be that we will become also rans in both codes and with a debt the size of Greece!

tuesdays MHL limerick game moved to the Gaelic Grounds Limerick for some reason. looking forward to going to a mid week game in carriganore myself :(:(:(

Expectations not too high for today's game but with home advantage might count for something. Have Clare named their team? Waterford not showing too much to them at this stage of the year.

Clarke 1-20 Waterford 1-9 FT.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

Expectations not too high for today's game but with home advantage might count for something. Have Clare named their team? Waterford not showing too much to them at this stage of the year.
    Maybe it's time to start calling a spade a spade. Waterford management is only making a skit out of the Waterford Crystal Cup. I am all in favour of trying out new talent. However throwing in large numbers of inexperienced players at the one time is silly and only damages confidence of those players when they sustain bad beatings in games. At least seven or eight of the more experienced players should have started today. Are certain players going to be wrapped in cotton wool while the fools go out in the slush and muck and are dispensed with as the weather improves? Waterford management needs to wake up. The National Hurling League is starting in a few weeks time. Lose the first two matches and Waterford is in trouble. This is no way to prepare for the NHL.
    Rest assured Davy is well aware of what is going on in Waterford.

Footballers beat limerick 2-7 to 0-7 in the McGrath Cup.

Clear from today then a miserable day in the middle of January that the hurlers face relegation from the Liam McCarthy while the footballers will challenge for Sam...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,117 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

culbaire wrote: »
    Maybe it's time to start calling a spade a spade. Waterford management is only making a skit out of the Waterford Crystal Cup. I am all in favour of trying out new talent. However throwing in large numbers of inexperienced players at the one time is silly and only damages confidence of those players when they sustain bad beatings in games. At least seven or eight of the more experienced players should have started today. Are certain players going to be wrapped in cotton wool while the fools go out in the slush and muck and are dispensed with as the weather improves? Waterford management needs to wake up. The National Hurling League is starting in a few weeks time. Lose the first two matches and Waterford is in trouble. This is no way to prepare for the NHL.

i agree with this , the league is only 5 games long before the play offs take place , it dose'nt give much time to settle a squad so with a couple of games left in pre season you would imagine management would start to settle the squad slightly , clare were without maybe 7 first team players today , judging by that waterford team ye were without nearly 15 which is too much

i wouldnt panic at this early stage of the year but it would be fair to say waterford are not getting the same out of the munster league then other counties

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭randd1

Kilkenny tried out experimental U21 sides in the Walsh Cup and lost their two games. Don't think trying out players is going to damage their league aspirations.

Ditto Waterford. You could go down the Clare route and play a multitude of first teamers for what amounts to challenge matches in sh*t weather and win games pulling up, or prepare for the league behind closed doors while trying out experimental teams.

Just to point out Tipp haven't even entered the competition as they felt it was pointless. Kilkenny and Galway are playing experimental sides in the pre-seasons, as have Waterford.

It seems to me the teams with new management or low in confidence after last year are the ones taking the pre-seasons seriously, with the genuine trophy contenders just happy to wait for the league to start to get going (still a month (and a months preparation) away after all).

randd1 wrote: »
    Kilkenny tried out experimental U21 sides in the Walsh Cup and lost their two games. Don't think trying out players is going to damage their league aspirations.

Ditto Waterford. You could go down the Clare route and play a multitude of first teamers for what amounts to challenge matches in sh*t weather and win games pulling up, or prepare for the league behind closed doors while trying out experimental teams.

Just to point out Tipp haven't even entered the competition as they felt it was pointless. Kilkenny and Galway are playing experimental sides in the pre-seasons, as have Waterford.

It seems to me the teams with new management or low in confidence after last year are the ones taking the pre-seasons seriously, with the genuine trophy contenders just happy to wait for the league to start to get going (still a month (and a months preparation) away after all).

tipp and kilkenny would be alt further down the road as far as team and squad selections would be concerned , waterford would have to approach the league and championship in a compleatly different manner you would think with such a young squad

Ideally you would think they would, but look at the amount of hurling the Waterford young lads have done over the past few years, last year especially.

Going for wins in January is hardly going to help them. Look how wrecked Clare have been after going to win Waterford Crystals the last two years, no point flogging young lads, especially when you know yourself how good they are and what they're capable of.

Better to try out different lads in the games that don't matter to try and improve the squad for the year than drag out the year for the current squad and drag out the year before the games that do matter.

Waterford could have played 7/8 more experienced players against Cork in Mallow and then played a different 7/8 more seasoned players today. It would give young inexperienced players a chance to settle in. I am not in the least concerned about winning the Waterford Crystal Cup. However if a team is entered, some effort should be made to benefit from participation.
    Kilkenny won the All Ireland final in 2015. I can well understand Brian Cody's approach. A lot of celebration will have gone on and players need to recharge their batteries.
    In Waterford each year the hurling championships are held up at the behest of the senior hurling management committee. It is damaging club hurling. It is time to put a stop to this. Contrast that with what goes on in Kilkenny each year. No wonder Kilkenny is so successful. No wonder club hurling standards in Kilkenny are higher than in Waterford. When injuries arise there are no excuses from Brian Cody. He just improvises. Just wish we had him in Waterford.

Most significant news from today is that Stephen Daniels and Martin O Neill won't be involved in the squad this season due to travel commitments

Waterford could have played 7/8 more experienced players against Cork in Mallow and then played a different 7/8 more seasoned players today. It would give young inexperienced players a chance to settle in. I am not in the least concerned about winning the Waterford Crystal Cup. However if a team is entered, some effort should be made to benefit from participation.
    Kilkenny won the All Ireland final in 2015. I can well understand Brian Cody's approach. A lot of celebration will have gone on and players need to recharge their batteries.
    In Waterford each year the hurling championships are held up at the behest of the senior hurling management committee. It is damaging club hurling. It is time to put a stop to this. Contrast that with what goes on in Kilkenny each year. No wonder Kilkenny is so successful. No wonder club hurling standards in Kilkenny are higher than in Waterford. When injuries arise there are no excuses from Brian Cody. He just improvises. Just wish we had him in Waterford.

I get you, but at the same time I'd reckon McGrath wouldn't be too concerned with trying out experienced players this early in the year.

The league will be a war of attrition this year, risking injury and tiredness for ultimately meaningless matches would be silly, better keep them in training and try out other lads. Waterfords biggest problem last year was a lack of options on the bench, the good thing about the pre-season games is a chance to see if lads can improve the panel. The best way to do that is to see how they go on their own.

Think myself Waterford are doing the right thing in not taking this too seriously. They already have a good team, all they need is a good panel, the best way to do that is try out lads.

Ideally you would think they would, but look at the amount of hurling the Waterford young lads have done over the past few years, last year especially.

Going for wins in January is hardly going to help them. Look how wrecked Clare have been after going to win Waterford Crystals the last two years, no point flogging young lads, especially when you know yourself how good they are and what they're capable of.

Better to try out different lads in the games that don't matter to try and improve the squad for the year than drag out the year for the current squad and drag out the year before the games that do matter.

i would never be too interested in wining these pre season competitions but i think the current league system is too short , so these type of games are great preparation for the league its self

Agree. Think myself that they should amalgamate 1A and 1B altogether and go week for week from 1st weekend in February to April. Top 8 in quarters, bottom 4 in relegation playoffs, who you play depends on your final standing (1st plays 8th, 2nd play 7th) etc.
    Knockouts are week by week as well. League finishes in May, and players and managers get plenty of games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Clare will win the Munster League, and then their first game, and the talk that already surrounds them with the appointment of Cusack will reach overdrive.

Last year, Waterford played 4 challenge games in December and didn't win a single one. In some quarters, this was cause to write them off ludicrously for the year ahead. Look how that panned out. Realistically, we are not going to win the league two years in a row. It was great last year but to be honest I wouldn't lose sleep over not winning it this year.

There's a lot of self belief in this team, possibly more than their ever has been. Also the most competitive panel in Waterford hurling history. Places are scarce, a good 20 are probably guaranteed places so there's a big fight for the rest of which the 30 or so lads playing the last two games are competing for.

If the league, traditionally the breeding ground for up and coming talent is now a dogfight to avoid relegation and demands essentially your championship 15, and now people are saying there needs to be a strong spine to the team in the pre season challenges, when exactly are lads going to be tried out?

As for the comment from the above poster on giving out about the club championship being postponed to suit the needs of the County management, this comment is pretty irrelevant to the topic at hand and I would also question the accuracy of it considering the criticism of 2014 for the fact that 2 championship games were played and inter county training was postponed in the build up to the Cork game with Eoin Kelly saying 4 weeks or whatever it was wasn't enough time to prepare for championship.

I would imagine said poster is currently walking down the road, picking up sticks with which to beat Derek McGrath.

How many of the players who played today will get on the league panel ??

If we go out early in the championship dis year than we could use the 2017 Munster league more seriously.

Surly Davy will be using his connections in Waterford to get information. A league knockout game wud be interesting against them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Can someone post up the starting 15 and substitutes? I saw the line up during the week, were there any changes to it?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

team that was named started. 2 subs used were Eoin madigan and Tommy Waring

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0117/760884-cats-legend-calls-for-pre-season-changes/

Eddie Brennan warning against player burn out from these competitions, personally I agree and have no issue with McGrath's approach. Of course the likes of culbaire will take any chance they get to have a dig in, while good old PTH2009 will be pessimistic regardless of what the team and management do.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Most significant news from today is that Stephen Daniels and Martin O Neill won't be involved in the squad this season due to travel commitments

A pity but not catastrophic. O'neill has had his injury problems. Hes been knocking around the panel a few years now but just not quite good enough to be honest. Daniels on the other hand was good enough before his injury but just hasnt been the same since. Good luck to them both

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2016/0117/760884-cats-legend-calls-for-pre-season-changes/

Eddie Brennan warning against player burn out from these competitions, personally I agree and have no issue with McGrath's approach. Of course the likes of culbaire will take any chance they get to have a dig in, while good old PTH2009 will be pessimistic regardless of what the team and management do.
    It seems that some people don't want alternative points of view. Burn out from playing eight experienced players in one game and an alternative eight in another? So one game in the competition for each experienced player will cause burn out will it? You must be joking. In a few weeks time Waterford faces a tough battle to remain in the top flight of the league. A little match practice would not go amiss. Burn out is much more likely to occur from over intensive winter training in the gym.

If we get relegated to 1b what effect will it have ???

I think the approach taken to this competition is fine. The players who we expect to see in action come the summer are probably training heavily at the moment. It was clear to see last year that some of the young players needed to bulk up a bit after the Kilkenny game especially. I would imagine that's exactly what some of them are trying to do, without losing focus on general fitness etc. Hurling at this time of the year won't benefit them hugely. I think having them working away quietly on bulking up is more beneficial. We may not see immediate results in them but over a few years they will grow as a result of it. Playing games while trying to do this could well lead to injuries which nobody wants.
    I'm sure come the league we will see experienced teams with a sprinkling of new bodies perhaps.

Any body here at the game today? It went along expected lines really but did anyone put there hand up for a place on match day panels? Tommy Ryan top scored with 7 but presume was on frees, think was mentioned on twitter that he also set up Andy Molumby for a goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

It seems that some people don't want alternative points of view. Burn out from playing eight experienced players in one game and an alternative eight in another? So one game in the competition for each experienced player will cause burn out will it? You must be joking. In a few weeks time Waterford faces a tough battle to remain in the top flight of the league. A little match practice would not go amiss. Burn out is much more likely to occur from over intensive winter training in the gym.

That's a real defeatist attitude and it's holding the County back. I'm glad the players won't see it that way. Can you tell me why exactly you are talking about a tough battle to remain in 1A when we are league champions?

Sure we'd be facing games against the likes of mayo and Roscommon akin to the dark times of the 80's within 3 years. Similar to what happened last time we were relegated. Oh wait....

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

That's true i was told that before Christmas,
    David O Sullivan is also going travelling this year and has opted out. He was probably Ballygunners best player all year.

I wouldnt be at all worried by the teams we're sending out in this meaninless league, it's January on waterlogged pitches relax guys its a marathon not a sprint. Questioning the motives of a management team that delivered the absolute unexpected last season without Paudie Mahony deserves more respect.Why should we be showing our hand or gettin too serious too early. Their leaving no stone unturned in the search for talent all clubs throughout the county must be pleased by this. Young Jordan Henley & Andy Molumby wouldn't get a sniff if we used 8 experienced players its a good thing to use these lads and I'm sure them 2 lads & their families are beaming at the minute with pride that'll bring them on leaps an bounds in confidence.

That's a real defeatist attitude and it's holding the County back. I'm glad the players won't see it that way. Can you tell me why exactly you are talking about a tough battle to remain in 1A when we are league champions?
    Victories last year mean nothing this year. You are only as good as your next victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

What effect did it have last year???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

1A is very competitive to be fair, last year the reigning league champions nearly got relegated. Waterford winning from 1B showed however it's not the end of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭carter10

It will allow you to wallow in pessimism a while longer

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

To improve the strength of the panel from last year is vitally important. When it comes to behind closed doors training matches, the stronger the panel the stronger the team. You don't want a few players on the panel that are significantly poorer than the rest. You want the players that are outside the top 15 to be pushing the first 15 for a starting place as much as possible, this will only push the starting 15 to a higher level. This of coarse is all obvious stuff but to follow on from this i would say that the end goal here is getting to and winning Munster and all Ireland final. Maintaining div 1a status is secondary and it didn't do us any harm last year to be in div 1b and it wont do Clare any harm this year, even if they don't get back into div 1a they will still get a minimum of 3 tough games in the league before the start of the championship.
    As has been mentioned already i think the top 20-25 players are probably finishing up a weight/speed etc programme at the moment and pulling them out of this to play a game in sh*t* conditions is of zero benefit to them especially as they would need a few days to properly recover from it. The young players that are playing in the Munster league games in January are getting their chance to put their hand up and stake a claim for a spot on the panel. The conditions are terrible for hurling but if a player is really serious about not just being on the panel but trying to make the starting 15 they have to come prepared, they have to be in proper shape and frame of mind at this time of year which take alot of discipline over the christmas period. There is a lot of good young players coming through and they deserve a few games in a row to stake that claim.

Waterford v Limerick

1. Ian O'Regan (Mount Sion)
    2. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore)
    3. Shane Fives (Tourin)
    4. Noel Connors (Passage)
    5. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)
    6. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
    7. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
    8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
    9. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
    10. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
    11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
    12. Jake Dillion (De La Salle)
    13. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
    14. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
    15. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

Looks more like the championship side from 8 to 15. Probably Shane Roche to fullback, Fives to corner back and Prendergast to wing back.

Waterford (v Clare)
    1. Ian O'Regan (Mount Sion)
    2. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore)
    3. Shane Fives (Tourin)
    4. Noel Connors (Passage)
    5. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)
    6. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
    7. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
    8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
    9. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
    10. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
    11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
    12. Jake Dillion (De La Salle)
    13. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
    14. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
    15. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

Looks more like the championship side from 8 to 15. Probably Shane Roche to fullback, Fives to corner back and Prendergast to wing back.

That's a bit more like it. the way Clare are approaching this competition we could have got an awful hiding with what was basically our intermediate team and it wouldn't have done us any good at all. Competition for places now up for grabs for the league aswell so good to see management have finally opted for a stronger side.

Limerick are a much fitter looking team this year than last year. I couldn't believe how unfit some of their players were last year. I think they will be a totally different prospect this year. I know its still very early in the year but you'd have to think that Limerick, Clare, Cork and Tipp the latter two under new management, should all be considerably better than last year. This years Munster championship will be cut-throat!!

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

I read where McGrath mentioned that there were 5 or 6 lands playing for both WIT and UCC. It was a little unfair for the manager to expect that team to go out and compete against that starting Clare team. That Clare team had five or six championship starters whilst there was probably nobody who will start championship on the team we named. It would have been very difficult for the younger lads to have made any impression in that game.

Another defeat last night by Limerick 3-16-1-17. Much stronger team out too.

Why was the game moved to the Gaelic grounds ??.

Waterford play Kerry in Fitzgerald stadium on Saturday. A must win game if we are to make a statement going into the league

Another defeat last night by Limerick 3-16-1-17. Much stronger team out too.

Why was the game moved to the Gaelic grounds ??.

Waterford play Kerry in Fitzgerald stadium on Saturday. A must win game if we are to make a statement going into the league

Must win game.. Against Kerry.. Seriously?

Limerick are further down the road in their preparation for this year than we are I think. Weren't fit last year and are clearly out to set that right and incorporate some of their u21s into the side.
    Lot of our lads made their first appearance last night. Made a good comeback too by the sounds of it and Limerick got back on top after Waterford made a few changes it seems.
    Interesting to see Gleeson was named corner forward, probably operated further out the field though I imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Must win game.. Against Kerry.. Seriously?

Limerick are further down the road in their preparation for this year than we are I think. Weren't fit last year and are clearly out to set that right and incorporate some of their u21s into the side.
    Lot of our lads made their first appearance last night. Made a good comeback too by the sounds of it and Limerick got back on top after Waterford made a few changes it seems.
    Interesting to see Gleeson was named corner forward, probably operated further out the field though I imagine.

17 wides hit, might be rustiness but unfortunately I'd imagine alot more than Gleeson played further out the field having seen that stat. Gleesons goal was from 30 yards like!
    The only thing we lacked last year was a goal threat, early days I know but it looks like we're still sitting very deep and shooting from distance so how are we going to improve from last year?

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

Anyone know where i can see the latest Waterford Club Transfers online?