Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public/Private worker gap to grow

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Nothing " fantastical" about it

Still not giving a source for your nonsense claims, though. I wonder why...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Hmmm. So, suddenly you were talking about "typical" when you said this:

As has been said, please desist from the decidedly thick arguments.

What's " thick" about the question, il ask again.

When has anyone in the public sector gone to prison for " screwing up"?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

salonfire wrote: »
    How much would a nurse do on an empty stomach?

They certainly wouldn't do much for the wages food and retail staff are on. That's the real wealth gap.

Jesus christ, this attitude is a politician's wet dream.

You do realise that private sector workers can strike as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Just in case anyone forgot what this thread was supposed to be about, here's the OP
    Pkiernan wrote: »
    Public so called workers to get full parental pay for 7 weeks while us idiots in the private sector will just get the dole equivalent.

WTF is this government doing?

In case anyone is interested, there's nothing in the parental leave proposal distinguishing between public or private sector workers.

Apart from that, the thread has flowed along the normal lines of the usual "public sector bad" "private sector good" ramblings. Can we just leave it at, it doesn't matter what each side says, nobody's position is going to change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Or even lost their job or valuable gold plated pension?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Public servants are just better people all round. Harder workers, more contentious, better behaved, more educated, more helpful, the list goes on.

None of this private sector nonsense of 'working' from home then dossing about for the day.

You all should be more grateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,774 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

RWCNT wrote: »
    Jesus christ, this attitude is a politician's wet dream.

You do realise that private sector workers can strike as well?

If they had the balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Unfortunately we don't live in a society of equal opportunities, some will always have poorer opportunities of employment and pay

Of course we do, you mean equality of outcome and that’s not possaible.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,876 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Of course we do, you mean equality of outcome and that’s not possaible.

we dont live in an equal opportunity society, we may never will, we do tell ourselves we do though. a poorer person does not have the same opportunities in life as a more wealthier person

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I joined the public sector a few years ago after 10+ challenging but enjoyable years in the private sector. The pace and demands of the private sector were starting to impact my health. There is honestly no going back now. The work-life balance is constantly good. There must be an election coming if the government are talking about sweeteners.
    Many public servants don't like to discuss the public sector problems openly but I do think the 'productivity' problems are being resolved slowly but surely. It's still very very difficult to adequately manage the 'dossers' which can be frustrating but I also think the calibre of people joining is improving.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

listermint wrote: »
    Nah. It's actually a poor point.

Two reasons.

1. He could get a job in the public sector if he wanted.

2. He could get a job in a private sector company that gives these benefits. Mine gives 8 weeks

His point is stupid. He has choices..as does everyone

But sure look he decided to get angry. That helps .....

Yad swear ya were ordering a pint when it comes to getting a decent job in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Many public servants don't like to discuss the public sector problems openly but I do think the 'productivity' problems are being resolved slowly but surely. It's still very very difficult to adequately manage the 'dossers' which can be frustrating but I also think the calibre of people joining is improving.

People are conflating two issues. The only way to run the public service is to pay a proper rate and expect proper work for it. Instead we get politically determined pay and no real interest in running things properly, politicians preferring be able to "intervene" rather than have a service where that intervention is not necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Augeo wrote: »
    Generally the someones are lacking in intellect, work ethic or motivation..... Quite often all 3.....

Intellect cannot be achieved so doesn't count. It's genetics. To motivate one's self yes and develop good work ethic yes.
    I see the intellect part the biggest draw back with people getting better jobs.
    Amazes me though that as smart as some people are they can't see that and take it for granted.

backspin. wrote: »

None of this private sector nonsense of 'working' from home then dossing about for the day.

I am a public servant and work from home at least once a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,843 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

And you believed varadkar when you said he’d reward the early risers? lol! It’s probably just kite flying. Absolute joke if true, but better than increasing child benefit. Only workers should be seeing improvement from here on!

janfebmar wrote: »

People have been fired, a guard in sligo recently was sent to prison but she was helping criminal gangs, that's hardly mere " screwing up"

• Registered Users Posts: 28,515 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

When has anyone - public or private - gone to prison for 'screwing up' ? Screwing up is not a criminal offence. You go to prison for fairly serious breaches of criminal law, which generally doesn't happen in most work places, public or private.

Why don't you tell us who specifically do you reckon should have gone to prison and for what offence?
    janfebmar wrote: »
    When has anyone in the public sector ever been stripped of their pension, never mind sent to prison for " screwing up"?
    Public sector staff are fired all the time, in low numbers;
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/health/hse-sacks-eight-for-discipline-breaches-124775.html
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/four-hse-staff-sacked-for-abuse-of-sick-leave-226647.html
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/health/hse-sacks-eight-for-discipline-breaches-124775.html

But what is this thirst for firing all about? A firing generally means that others screwed up - either those who recruited the person or managed the person. A high level of firings points to a dysfunctional organisation - a badge of shame not a badge of honour.

And pensions are private property - you can't take pensions off people, any more than you can take their car or their house. If you want to take a court case against them, maybe you could, but that doesn't tend to happen in public or private sector.
    People are conflating two issues. The only way to run the public service is to pay a proper rate and expect proper work for it. Instead we get politically determined pay and no real interest in running things properly, politicians preferring be able to "intervene" rather than have a service where that intervention is not necessary.

There is a some truth in this, though it's not fair to see there is no real interest in running things properly. Most public sector managers at all levels have very real interest in running things properly, and have pride in the public services they provide.
    Idbatterim wrote: »
    And you believed varadkar when you said he’d reward the early risers? lol! It’s probably just kite flying. Absolute joke if true, but better than increasing child benefit. Only workers should be seeing improvement from here on!
    Eh, perhaps you missed the OP explaining that this is a benefit for workers?
    Yes indeed, rte portray public sector strife as a far greater national crisis than if any number of small businesses close, in the mind of RTE, working for the state is inherently more honourable, the market is inherently machivelian
    Perhaps that's because a closed hospital or school generally has a bigger impact on people's lives than a closed coffee shop or closed electrician?
    The Government should do it though, it's a win win situation because people from India and The Phillipines would be coming to work in well paid jobs compared to their own countries and there would be no more whinging from the unions about staff shortages.
    The HSE HAVE done this, but it is far from a win-win for the targeted countries, who have invested in training their specialist staff to find them whipped away. There is an international ethical issue here, akin to the stripping of minerals and natural resources that was done in earlier times.
    Basic pay when it comes to guards is meaningless to a unique degree, even guards who own a house get an accommodation allowance, they even get boot polish allowance
    Having a house in Carrickmacross isn't much use to you when you've been stationed in Dun Laoghaire or Bray. That's why Gardai get an accommodation allowance, to recognise the costs that result from being moved around the country.

There is no 'boot polish' allowance. There is a boot allowance, because they provide their own boots. No conspiracy, not gold plating - just a standard approach of an employer paying for essential equipment.
    Well console yourself in the fact that you have RTE to defend public sector honour every day of the week.
    Do you listen to RTE much? Did you hear Joe Duffy spend two or three weeks detailed the desperate experiences of mothers in childbirth recently? Do you hear SOR or Tubridy or Darcy sneering about public services at every opportunity?

Public servants are just better people all round. Harder workers, more contentious, better behaved, more educated, more helpful, the list goes on.

They operate from a higher moral plain, I know this because RTE keep reminding me when they report on public sector industrial action in solemn tones

When has anyone - public or private - gone to prison for 'screwing up' ? Screwing up is not a criminal offence. You go to prison for fairly serious breaches of criminal law, which generally doesn't happen in most work places, public or private.

Why don't you tell us who specifically do you reckon should have gone to prison and for what offence?

Public sector staff are fired all the time, in low numbers;
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/four-hse-staff-sacked-for-abuse-of-sick-leave-226647.html

But what is this thirst for firing all about? A firing generally means that others screwed up - either those who recruited the person or managed the person. A high level of firings points to a dysfunctional organisation - a badge of shame not a badge of honour.

And pensions are private property - you can't take pensions off people, any more than you can take their car or their house. If you want to take a court case against them, maybe you could, but that doesn't tend to happen in public or private sector.

There is a some truth in this, though it's not fair to see there is no real interest in running things properly. Most public sector managers at all levels have very real interest in running things properly, and have pride in the public services they provide.

Eh, perhaps you missed the OP explaining that this is a benefit for workers?

Perhaps that's because a closed hospital or school generally has a bigger impact on people's lives than a closed coffee shop or closed electrician?

The HSE HAVE done this, but it is far from a win-win for the targeted countries, who have invested in training their specialist staff to find them whipped away. There is an international ethical issue here, akin to the stripping of minerals and natural resources that was done in earlier times.

Having a house in Carrickmacross isn't much use to you when you've been stationed in Dun Laoghaire or Bray. That's why Gardai get an accommodation allowance, to recognise the costs that result from being moved around the country.

There is no 'boot polish' allowance. There is a boot allowance, because they provide their own boots. No conspiracy, not gold plating - just a standard approach of an employer paying for essential equipment.

Do you listen to RTE much? Did you hear Joe Duffy spend two or three weeks detailed the desperate experiences of mothers in childbirth recently? Do you hear SOR or Tubridy or Darcy sneering about public services at every opportunity?

All RTE broadcasters are resolutely pro public sector

As for the " going to prison for screwing up" comment

I didn't make it, I responded to it a few times but instead of producing some evidence, the poster preferred to label me " thick"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Brain Whinge

Why not just join the civil service if it's so great in the public sector?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,515 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

They operate from a higher moral plain, I know this because RTE keep reminding me when they report on public sector industrial action in solemn tones

They tend to report on most things in solemn tones, that's how news programmes generally work. The chip seems to be more on your shoulder than theirs.
    All RTE broadcasters are resolutely pro public sector
    So spending three weeks covering great detail of poor experiences of mothers in childbirth on Joe Duffy is part of this 'resolutely pro public sector' attitude?

They tend to report on most things in solemn tones, that's how news programmes generally work. The chip seems to be more on your shoulder than theirs.

So spending three weeks covering great detail of poor experiences of mothers in childbirth on Joe Duffy is part of this 'resolutely pro public sector' attitude?

Within the context of demands for more pay, they are

No one is going to defend sub standard maternity care, not even Liam doran

Not going to respond to the " chip on shoulder" jibe, it's a banal line beloved of the gormless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Pkiernan wrote: »
    I'm very well paid and not in need of this additional free money for civil servants.

It is nonetheless disgraceful that a sector of our workforce gets every gold plated benefit going, while the hard working private sector tax payer foot their bills.

But hey, dont worry, the ultra hard left never let the facts get in the way of their opinion.
    What a load of gobshytery. Obviously critical thinking isn't a requirement of your well paid job.

I work in the private sector and I'm in the centre politically (leaning slightly right economically) and find your whining asinine.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭hurling_lad

The problem with Dan O'Brien articles in the Indo (and most articles that mention 'public sector' in the Indo) is that you need to dig behind the details.

Bland comparisons between UK and Irish public sector staff is comparing apples and oranges. The UK have outsourced many traditional public sector jobs, so prison officers, healthcare staff, school support staff in the UK will often be private sector. So the comparisons don't really hold.

But Dan is quite happy to gloss over this.

This proposal is exactly the same as maternity leave. The state provides a basic level of service, and decent employers (public or private) top this up.

Sorry if the facts don't suit those who want to fuel false division.

It's not clear how outsourcing in the UK skews the public sector pay premium figures. If anything, it might boost the UK pay premium figure, as many of the outsourced jobs would be at lower end of the pay scale.

Don't forget also that the NHS directly employs tens of thousands of GPs, so that would inflate the UK pay premium stats.

I know you are joking but one thing I did notice immediately when I joined the public sector was that people are much more likely to be (a) religious and (b) big supporters of the Irish language. It might have been the demographic in that the long termers tended to be set in their ways and very vocal about both subjects in the work environment. I am neither but I do love the GAA so that got me by! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Doc07

Within the context of demands for more pay, they are

No one is going to defend sub standard maternity care, not even Liam doran

Not going to respond to the " chip on shoulder" jibe, it's a banal line beloved of the gormless.

Painful anecdotes without any moderation on disengenous populist radio show aside, Maternity care in Ireland is not substandard, far from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I am a public servant and work from home at least once a week.

You mean you watch Dr. Phil and Tipping Point and pretend to be busy.

Nonsense!

Judge Judy, The Chase, Maura and Daithi and for a treat, Jeremy Kyle (USA).

• Registered Users Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Nonsense!

Judge Judy, The Chase, Maura and Daithi and for a treat, Jeremy Kyle (USA).

And when they want some solemn tones, the RTE News.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Where does this idea about people working from home dossing come from?

When I'm working from home I'm doing the same as I would in the office, except in my dining room instead of the office. I'm busy and have **** to do.