Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

pjohnson wrote: »
    When they are also terrified of the idea of being tracked by the government you are right at Gemma and John levels of alternate reality.

The general disregard for law, law enforcement, and calling those who follow the law Nazi's hints at something else. I do hear that some dealers are starting to struggle.

This thread is packed full of Johns and Gemmas unfortunately calling everyone Nazis and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,477 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

road_high wrote: »
    I can assure all I’m no Gemma Doherty type, I despise all cracked pot conspiracy theorists with equal measure but there’s no way in a democratic society the kind of measures going on for the past 6 weeks are in any sustainable beyond the current without a lot deeper scrutiny than is currently the case

Well aren't we lucky we have heroes like yourself complaining on the internet, that'll change things. You're just as much a part of this as the rest of us lockdown larrys and bunker brigades. Go out and protest like the Americans if you mean business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

After listening to RTE radio this morning, I'm concerned that there may not be too much change at all to the restrictions for 5th May - traffic has spiked over the last few days and more people out and about.....and still another week of current restrictions before May 5th....:rolleyes: I really hope people cop on and don't reverse the great progress that has been made in suppressing the virus in the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

leahyl wrote: »
    After listening to RTE radio this morning, I'm concerned that there may not be too much change at all to the restrictions for 5th May - traffic has spiked over the last few days and more people out and about.....and still another week of current restrictions before May 5th....:rolleyes: I really hope people cop on and don't reverse the great progress that has been made in suppressing the virus in the community.
    I'm actually using Nolan as a guide here and he said we should expect higher numbers for a number of days. The CMO/government will always be blunt and demand that we continue to toe the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭poppers

They don't have a number for Jonny that's the problem, it's not their fault, it's not blaming the contract tracing staff, it gave an example of someone that had it yet didn't know they had. Seems to be falling down at the testing part.
    Simple solution would be to text the person getting tested with a code and get them to confirm the code before submitting the test also lock them them the feck up until they have a result.
    It's made a balls of the whole thing if that report is correct.

they advise person getting tested to quarintine. Its the people the met in the days prior to testing they are teying to contact not who they meet after testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

is_that_so wrote: »
    I'm actually using Nolan as a guide here and we should expect higher numbers for a number of days. The CMO/government will always be blunt and demand that we continue to toe the line.

Yes, but what are your views on the traffic....I've even noticed it around my area and I only go out for a half hour walk in the morning and the last few days it's been busier....not manic now.....but a good few more cars I thought.

Decisions are always going to be taken on medical advice and yesterday seen the highest number of recorded new cases nationwide so at the minute no chance of a relaxation of anything. People have had the chance to be responsible but they've ruined it for everyone by not being.

Varadkar will now be asking for another 2 weeks imo and will plead with people to actually stay home. He may well ask the army to help with the measues as it's become clear the Gardai aren't capable enough or haven't got the respect of the general public to enforce the measures.

Sad times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

Yes, but what are your views on the traffic....I've even noticed it around my area and I only go out for a half hour walk in the morning and the last few days it's been busier....not manic now.....but a good few more cars I thought.

What difference does it make if there's more cars? People have nowhere to go except the very few places they are still allowed to go. They're not all driving around going to visit their families.

I'm not sure where you live but where I am there are gardai everywhere and permanent checkpoints setup. You wouldn't get away with going for "spins" and tbh if you did somehow manage to sneak past one and go to the beach it's not gonna do any harm or cause the virus to spread.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Decisions are always going to be taken on medical advice and yesterday seen the highest number of recorded new cases nationwide so at the minute no chance of a relaxation of anything. People have had the chance to be responsible but they've ruined it for everyone by not being.

Varadkar will now be asking for another 2 weeks imo and will plead with people to actually stay home. He may well ask the army to help with the measues as it's become clear the Gardai aren't capable enough or haven't got the respect of the general public to enforce the measures.

Sad times.

Reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Yep, I think the problem is that everyone is expecting to get their restrictions lifted, when in reality it may be people like builders/DIY stores, etc. If you work from home you'll keep doing it, if you work in tourism/hospitality/etc there'll be no change, I dont even think they'll lift the 2k unless they just say 3k, but that wont mean much to most.

It really seems like a lot of people expect business as usual from the 5th.

Hoping there may be some social aspect to it, groups of 2 or 3 or something, but they'll need to build in the buffer as people will inevitably inflate that number and start having get togethers.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

Correct, there are a lot more cars about. I hope people do not reverse the progress that has been achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I find the traffic and people thing to be very mixed. More cars for sure at times but who knows what they are doing. They could just be taking the car out for a spin. Footfall seems to be higher but social distancing by almost everyone I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

addaword wrote: »
    Correct, there are a lot more cars about. I hope people do not reverse the progress that has been achieved.

Wha'? We're never getting to 0 cases, that horse has bolted. Whatever happens, this is a minimum number of cases/deaths we have right now. Any relaxation of measures will see an increase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Sad times.

Classic! Sure why not fire up the ovens and lash all the dissenters in there!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Drove into Dublin city centre from Bray this morning, a few more cars on the road but nothing majorly noticable for 8am compared to last week. Buses driving past with 1 or 2 on them and that's it. I'd compare it to a Sunday morning in terms of driving. That journey at 8am could take anywhere from an hour to 90 minutes depending on traffic. 20 mins this morning door to door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭facehugger99

He may well ask the army to help with the measues as it's become clear the Gardai aren't capable enough or haven't got the respect of the general public to enforce the measures.

Sad times.

536aec7d06dede35bcdc7781d5196c02.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭growleaves

The big problem is they are listening to medical experts and that only.

If you ask them how do we contain, flatten this etc then they only look it at it through that lens

For instance they'll say lockdown and do this that and the other but don't take into account or even realize I'd say money for welfare or hospitals drops to nothing after X amount of lockdown or when their proposed series of lockdowns I've heard mentioned

So I'd hope they are also bringing in financial and indeed maybe social experts as well as mental health experts behind the scenes at least

To be honest I'm very worried at this stage of all the work so far being completely and utterly bolloxed if we get financially bolloxed enough that we can't even pay dole or provided hospitals with only 10% of needed supplies

A subset of medical experts, yes.

They are specialists and so they will give advice related to their specialism. They deserve praise.

However for our leaders make medical advice the only criteria for governing the country, and how everyone lives their lives, is a kind of monomania. It can't go on forever.

536aec7d06dede35bcdc7781d5196c02.jpg

You win the internet today 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭poppers

Not directly their fault but a system fault. What’s the point of everything shutting down and people (locked down) if we can’t get the basics right.

There should be three points of contact for each person very easily

Phone number, Address , And referring GP details in most cases.

If it’s true we only taking phone numbers and giving up after 5 failed attempts to contact the whole thing is a farce.

id say the ammount of people not traced in the community is pretty low. We are being told the R0 has dropped to between 0.4 and 0.7 this seems to hold up when you see number in hospitals/ICU.

IMO the problem at the moment is in nursing homes which unfortunaley is going to lead to a lot of cases and deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The increase yesterday is because they started widespread testing in nursing homes.
    They're due to relax the criteria for getting tested today, which will see case numbers rising again.

This doesn't mean cases are actually rising, it means we're getting a better grip on it. The experts behind this aren't taking a simplistic "cases up, stay indoors" approach, they have complex statistical models that can account for increased testing and wider criteria, and still keep track of what direction cases numbers are taking.

Even at a simplistic level, yesterday's number represented a 5.6% increase in cases. Two weeks ago the daily increase was around 9%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Hooked

A dog with a mallet up its' arse knows that we can't stay physically locked down for much longer...

What's needed is a "Lockdown" frame of mind...

Where we keep up the physical distancing, PPE wearing in supermarkets, etc... good cough/sneeze etiquette and proper hand hygiene - UNTIL WE REACH VACCINE TERRITORY - i.e. for the rest of this year, and into next year!

The hard part - is getting all these fuppin' MORONS to buy into it.

We can live (an albeit limited) life - balanced - with the coronavirus!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 Unelected CMO

Sad times.

This is easily the greatest parody account on boards. These council housed, SF voting lockdown merchants are hilarious.

Bandit, what are you going to do when this is all over? The amount of empty time on your hands will be difficult to fill!

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭Birdy

Aren't we just delaying the inevitable? They have to start gradually reopening on May 5th. People are already ahead of them. To most it seems like this is only affecting healthcare workers and nursing homes.

It feels shortsighted to extend this lockdown when we'll probably have to do it again when cases spike and a worse wave could come in the winter.

I don't blame people for saying **** it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

Hey Folks

For those interested it defo looks like construction is back after the 5th - great news. We got an update this morning. Not in construction myself ::)

all going well of course

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭rusty the athlete

Hooked wrote: »
    - UNTIL WE REACH VACCINE TERRITORY - ' MORONS
    It's rather bad mannered to resort to upper-case characters and quite often leads to the message being dismissed as being from somebody who is unable to express themselves adequately and whose opinion is not therefore worthy of consideration. We can all read lower case and without bold italics. It's the equivalent to shouting directly into someone's face.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Birdy wrote: »
    Aren't we just delaying the inevitable? They have to start gradually reopening on May 5th. People are already ahead of them. To most it seems like this is only affecting healthcare workers and nursing homes.

It feels shortsighted to extend this lockdown when we'll probably have to do it again when cases spike and a worse wave could come in the winter.

I don't blame people for saying **** it.

It's inevitable that most of us will get it but it's about how many might die. The death rate increases significantly when the health system is under strain.

Our deaths per capita are worse than the US and that's with strict lockdown, imagine what we would be like without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

woldometer shows over 9k recovered in Ireland, yet seems in another thread its still being pilled on, which is good news overall- with all the scaremongering going on.

the nursing homes is total $hit show how government couldn't see it coming when it was wiping out people in Italy and then, oh we left out most vulnerable group is a joke.

overall looking at stats that we have it seems everyone is blowing it out of proportion, yes we did nearly 2 months isolation, not much else can be done, we could go full NK style and live on carboard bread and milk, anyone sick gets shot, but in reality its about time we slowly move back into normal as deaths will be daily part for probably years to come, but this virus isnt end of world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,131 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

GooglePlus wrote: »
    It's inevitable that most of us will get it but it's about how many might die. The death rate increases significantly when the health system is under strain.

Our deaths per capita are worse than the US and that's with strict lockdown, imagine what we would be like without them.

We are reporting all recorded deaths in all settings and even suspected ones.
    We even had to delist 10 deaths this week as it turned out that they had been wrongly recorded as Covid 19.

Other countries simply have no idea of the total number of deaths and are not counting ones outside of hospitals.

If we are using the same rules as UK and USA for example our death rate would be about 60% lower.

Listening to Simon Harris on Pat Kenny a little while ago suggests there won't really be any changes come May 5th. I'd say some types of work will reopen but socially I doubt we'll see much different, but who knows.

Hey Folks

For those interested it defo looks like construction is back after the 5th - great news. We got an update this morning. Not in construction myself ::)

all going well of course

Source?

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭rusty the athlete

Our deaths per capita are worse than the US .

At least we are not trying to manipulate the numbers by failing to include care home and deaths that have not occurred in hospital, like some of our nearest neighbors. And with trump in charge I would be most skeptical of any statistics coming from the US right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Hooked

It's rather bad mannered to resort to upper-case characters and quite often leads to the message being dismissed as being from somebody who is unable to express themselves adequately and whose opinion is not therefore worthy of consideration. We can all read lower case and without bold italics. It's the equivalent to shouting directly into someone's face.

No... it really isn't...

Why would this site (and others) have the function to use bold, italic and yes ALL CAPS, if it wasn't for the benefit of stressing certain parts of a sentence/statement.

I'm a designer. I've degree in visual communication. It doesn't make me a shouter. It means that I like to add emphasis to a written post, in the absence of tone, emotion, etc...

But - I do see your point. Like me, and everyone else on here - you are perfectly entitled to it. Assuming that I am "somebody who is unable to express themselves adequately" is bad mannered. Not that you said that directly.

Far too much going on in the world for me to have a spat with a stranger on the inter webs. Stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,032 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Source?

We are dependent on one of the biggest ones in the countries and we are back already. Everyone back the 6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭gauchesnell

Source?

my work - dont to name them sorry.

Im public sector and we have construction onsite aswell (major project). We received an update this morning advising that it is planned to resume pending best medical advice/where social distancing can be achieved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭trapp

Sad times.

Dear oh Dear my poor man you really haven't a clue do you.

Funny also that every time one of your napoleonic nonsenical posts is taken apart you never reply.

Still waiting for your response to the fact that, unlike as you suggest, the virus has more impact on older people than children?

You're too negative my poor friend.

Strict lockdown? In Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭growleaves

Strict lockdown? In Ireland?

These young people they don't know the meaning of the word lockdown.

When I was being held hostage in Tehran we were only given food every other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,279 ✭✭✭ongarite

Building sites will be back open on 5th May with additional guidelines as required.
    The biggest building project in the state is ramping up trades on site already and will be starting again at full capacity after bank holiday weekend.
    Losing 5-6 weeks on a critical build while all your competitors are still open is a disaster for their current project management schedules.

Even with stay at home orders in US and Israel, Intel sites construction still open.
    NY city with biggest US outbreak, building sites still operating at near full capacity.
    https://thecity.nyc/2020/04/construction-exceptions-keep-many-nyc-building-sites-open.html

Shutting down massive build projects for much longer isn't going to happen.

growleaves wrote: »
    These young people they don't know the meaning of the word lockdown.

When I was being held hostage in Tehran we were only given food every other day.

Lucky you. Some here are starving and are forced into an almost Islamic state style existence due to the harshness of the lockdown. It's not like going to the park, jogging on footpaths, shopping as many times as you want etc.. are allowed is it, oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Hey Folks

all going well of course

I'm wondering will the ancillary business that the construction sector relies on all be open too? I can't see how it will work properly otherwise. I'm talking about builders providers, Joinerys, kitchen suppliers, flooring, etc, etc...

I hope so anyway. Time to end this nonsense and get the country out of this slumber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭donaghs

Listening to Simon Harris on Pat Kenny a little while ago suggests there won't really be any changes come May 5th. I'd say some types of work will reopen but socially I doubt we'll see much different, but who knows.

Pathetic that they can't outline a phased exit strategy. Its easier to keep the lockdown going. Less risk to their career, covid deaths/cases fall, they still get paid.

Lucky you. Some here are starving and are forced into an almost Islamic state style existence due to the harshness of the lockdown. It's not like going to the park, jogging on footpaths, shopping as many times as you want etc.. are allowed is it, oh wait...

When you resort to writing this kind of nonsense it's obvious you are a parody account. You were doing so well but the pace is obviously getting to you. Take a break for a few days lad, recharge the batteries, prepare yourself for one more week of it before your character becomes irrelevant.

old-man-yells-at-cloud-35835672.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭JoeA3

When you resort to writing this kind of nonsense it's obvious you are a parody account. You were doing so well but the pace is obviously getting to you. Take a break for a few days lad, recharge the batteries, prepare yourself for one more week of it before your character becomes irrelevant.

old-man-yells-at-cloud-35835672.png

Has to be a parody account. ~2K posts since registering barely 2 months ago. The keyboard must be in bits.

Bandit, open the curtains, go out and get some air...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

This is what the brigade who constantly claim that Ireland is in strict lockdown can`t or won`t acknowledge. If the same measures were implemented here as in China, Singapore etc. they might have a point. We are not now nor are likely to be in strict lockdown no matter how high the rise in deaths and ICU cases. Also some posters on the forums here clearly have issues with conforming with rules and regulations along with the usual cohort of trolls and wind up merchants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Breezin

This is what people who constantly claim that Ireland is in strict lockdown can`t or won`t acknowledge. If the same measures were implemented here as in China, Singapore etc. they might have a point. We are not now nor are likely to be in strict lockdown no matter how high the rise in deaths and ICU cases.

Anyone who considers the current regulations as not strict must have lived a very constrained existence to start with. Our whole society has been effectively closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

theres every day few extreme ones that bundle up here, to gloat with their doom, when people should be thinking how can we make this work and go back to easing up, few select seem they will really need to be dragged out of their houses eventually, as they are happy to see some gloom news of further continuation from government, but imagine once government says here get out, as virus will be here for years, they will be ones boycotting on some thread how government is irresponsible, in short you cant win with such types of people, they will scour entire web to find some crap, or compare Ireland to Japan or S.Korea countries who are decades advanced to Ireland but whatever floats their misery i guess.
    best ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭HBC08

So this thread is firmly divided into "lock down nazis" and "open everything tomorrow merchants"
    Thank feic its a weird,exaggerated, aggressive version of the majority of actual people in Ireland.
    The lockdown is a massive burden on everybody and from a purely personal point of view im beginning to find it very tough mentally.
    At the same time (if you were to take this thread as an example) its shocking to see people crumple at the first sign of adversity.
    I'm not a fan of the current government but they are doing a decent job on this.When I say decent job I mean they are just doing what they are told by the experts and the data.Nothing too exceptional in that you might think but you don't have to look too far to see other governments who couldn't even mange that (with disastrous and ongoing consequences)

The bottom line is people can bicker over and back on here,have meltdowns,thread bans etc and be continually wound up.The result will be the same,restrictions will continue until the medical experts say otherwise.
    It's like the seven stages of grief,a lot on this thread seem disproportionately stuck in the anger and denial phase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,574 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

my work - dont to name them sorry.

Im public sector and we have construction onsite aswell (major project). We received an update this morning advising that it is planned to resume pending best medical advice/where social distancing can be achieved.

Through work as well have also seen plans for certain public sector workplaces (currently working from home) to be back in on the dot of May 5th at 50% capacity - i.e. people working alternate days etc. They'll all be classified as essential workers (which they're not) if necessary.

HBC08 wrote: »
    The lockdown is a massive burden on everybody and from a purely personal point of view im beginning to find it very tough mentally.
    At the same time (if you were to take this thread as an example) its shocking to see people crumple at the first sign of adversity.

To think we managed to get through the emergency during WW2 where electricity and food were scarce.
    I think as you were saying, it's 2 extremes on these threads. I don't know anyone who isn't just mostly complying with the rules right now and getting on with things with little complaint. My parents are in proper lockdown for weeks abroad and didn't get to meet their only grandchild for the first time because of all this, and have no idea when they will now, but they're not complaining, they're getting on with things.
    You would think we're all a bunch of whiney soft mentally ill people going by these threads.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I think the warnings yesterday might have given some people a wake up call.

On the TII website you can check the traffic counters on national routes. Busy spots of the m50 for example are today at good friday traffic levels at peak 8am. Some down 5-600 vehicles an hour on corresponding times this week.

Could be a friday effect or maybe the warnings did give people a scare yesterday.