BanditLuke wrote: » Decisions are always going to be taken on medical advice and yesterday seen the highest number of recorded new cases nationwide so at the minute no chance of a relaxation of anything. People have had the chance to be responsible but they've ruined it for everyone by not being. Varadkar will now be asking for another 2 weeks imo and will plead with people to actually stay home. He may well ask the army to help with the measues as it's become clear the Gardai aren't capable enough or haven't got the respect of the general public to enforce the measures. Sad times.
addaword wrote: » Correct, there are a lot more cars about. I hope people do not reverse the progress that has been achieved.
leahyl wrote: » Yes, but what are your views on the traffic....I've even noticed it around my area and I only go out for a half hour walk in the morning and the last few days it's been busier....not manic now.....but a good few more cars I thought.
leahyl wrote: » After listening to RTE radio this morning, I'm concerned that there may not be too much change at all to the restrictions for 5th May - traffic has spiked over the last few days and more people out and about.....and still another week of current restrictions before May 5th....:rolleyes: I really hope people cop on and don't reverse the great progress that has been made in suppressing the virus in the community.
is_that_so wrote: » I'm actually using Nolan as a guide here and we should expect higher numbers for a number of days. The CMO/government will always be blunt and demand that we continue to toe the line.
drunkmonkey wrote: » They don't have a number for Jonny that's the problem, it's not their fault, it's not blaming the contract tracing staff, it gave an example of someone that had it yet didn't know they had. Seems to be falling down at the testing part.Simple solution would be to text the person getting tested with a code and get them to confirm the code before submitting the test also lock them them the feck up until they have a result. It's made a balls of the whole thing if that report is correct.
road_high wrote: » I can assure all I’m no Gemma Doherty type, I despise all cracked pot conspiracy theorists with equal measure but there’s no way in a democratic society the kind of measures going on for the past 6 weeks are in any sustainable beyond the current without a lot deeper scrutiny than is currently the case
pjohnson wrote: » When they are also terrified of the idea of being tracked by the government you are right at Gemma and John levels of alternate reality. The general disregard for law, law enforcement, and calling those who follow the law Nazi's hints at something else. I do hear that some dealers are starting to struggle.
poppers wrote: » hardly the contact tracing teams fault if they are given the wrong number for "johhny Murphy"
Diarmuid wrote: » Why isn't there clear goals and plans in place and all being communicated? We have metrics to track this spread so use them. "if the community spread is below x for y days then we enact this plan" "if it's below z for w days then we enact this plan" None of this. All just, great job, keep it up indefinitely. Very frustrating but not surprising.
Polar101 wrote: » I did military service for a year when I was younger. That was basically a lockdown with 160 other idiots while getting told what to do - definitely couldn't go 2km from the barracks even if I had "essential" business. Weekly or fortnightly they'd let us go home for a bit. The food was ****e and some asshole would shout everyone awake at 6am. Now I've been "locked" at home for a month or so, don't have those other idiots living in the same room and I can eat/drink whatever I want. This could be worse. Wouldn't mind getting rid of the 2km limit, though - some variety to daily walks would be lovely.
drunkmonkey wrote: » I read an article in the Irish Times this morning that now seems to have disappeared, it was calling out problems in the contact tracing, wrong phone numbers so they couldn't even contact the person to tell them they had it while these people are roaming free. Basically if they called the number 5 times and no response there was nothing more they could do, also some tests had no phone numbers. It's concerning this is happening at such a basic level, also concerning the article seems to be pulled as it was one of the top storys. Can't see restrictions being lifted if we can't get the simple things correctly in place.
Diarmuid wrote: » Interesting bit in the BBC about the toll the lockdown in Italy is taking on mental health The language on this thread has gone seriously downhill. Nazis, lockdown merchants etc doesn't add to the discussion. I think we are getting to the point where the lack of leadership and clear path is becoming very apparent. Very low community spread and the virus heavily contained to known and well controlled locations (albeit running amok in those areas), this should make the next steps very straightforward. However instead we are being led down the same path of "keep the restrictions with no end in sight" and no plan to backing out of this. I saw a good analogy of the situation. Each country has climbed a ladder, some have gone higher than others. All now need to plan to come back down that ladder, *one step at a time*. But there is no discussion of this. Why isn't there clear goals and plans in place and all being communicated? We have metrics to track this spread so use them. "if the community spread is below x for y days then we enact this plan" "if it's below z for w days then we enact this plan" None of this. All just, great job, keep it up indefinitely. Very frustrating but not surprising.
Cork Boy 53 wrote: » Actually after a good start the Gardai are of late not enforcing the new laws anywhere near as strictly as they should be. To state they are adopting a 1984 approach is complete and utter nonsense and smacks of someone who has issues with paranoia.
gozunda wrote: » Its evident you really understand nothing. Cloud cuckoo land really must be a lovely place to be There's 'belligerent ****' and 'nutters' all right. They're not who you think ...
fin12 wrote: » Was anyone else shocked when they announced the new number of cases today? I was listening to the news on the radio and when the figure was announced I was like what? Like I thought I heard wrong so I went straight onto the Irish examiner to confirm it.