Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

My quads gave out on me too. I'd done plenty of hill training in the lead up to it. I think my glute muscles tired first on the day and then the quads took up the slack but couldn't keep it going. I know after the run my glutes were in tatters, but the next day the stiffness migrated to the quads, and in particular, just above the knee

maybe there is a support group we could attend?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭ariana`

Dealerz2.0 wrote: »
    maybe there is a support group we could attend?

Preferably one that meets 2-3 times per week in a stength and conditioning gym!!! I think a lot of us suffer from weak glutes and core due to our sedentary lifestyles. Sitting is the new smoking apparently. And no amount of running before/after work compensates for that lack basic core strength that our forefathers had from living a more active lifestyle. And there is no event quite like a marathon for showing up any weaknesses that are lying dormant. We should of course all be doing s&c more regularly as well as building up mileage more gradually with lots of easy miles etc... Lots to think about for the months ahead!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

I'm on report catch up...had to actually do some work today.
    Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    So here it goes, my race report...

If you told me at the start line that I'd finish in 4:13 I would have been gutted. But at the finish line, I truly didn't care about the time. As I limped over to get my medal I burst into tears, and balled my eyes out as the guy put it around my neck. I've no idea why, as I wouldn't be a very emotional person.

Now, which way is the Training Logs forum?

Well done, I love your positive attitude even if you get the odd strange notion sometimes :eek:

Lovely to meet you...now get over to the Logs!
    I left Dublin disappointed in myself.

31 seconds. **** it anyway.

I'm so sorry this is your initial takeaway - I bet you are the only one disappointed. Well done on your training and your great race - because that's what it was!
    Okay, deep breath, here's my DCM Race Report…

*you might want to grab a cuppa or a biccie cos this is long, sorry*

Oh man - you could have told us to get the tissues too :o

I said before the race, while we chatted, that I was in awe of any parent who managed to juggle training for a marathon into their already busy lives. I meant those with 1 or 2 children.

You're amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Well done to you all :) I'm in awe of every single one of you. Two years ago I said I would do my first marathon in 2019, thinking at the time "ah sure that's ages away." But here we are and tomorrow I will be registered for DCM 2019 and eagerly awaiting the next mentored novice thread.

In preparation for this moment I have kept abreast of this thread and everyone's journey and I have to say, you guys have been great. This thread has painted such an honest picture of the experience and it is this thread that has made me believe that I might just be able to do this!

Thank you and congratulations to you all

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭racersedge

I have had a couple of days to think about how things went on Sunday. I feel that when I posted on Sunday, it was still in the moment of the raw emotion. It probably came off a little defeatist even after it.

A few days have added quite a bit clarity around it. In reflection, I am massively proud of what I and everyone here achieved. When I tell people my time - they are massively impressed. They don't focus on how my final stint of it went off-plan. They just tell me how amazed they are to come in at what I did. On the Sunday night, after the epsom salt bath, I headed into town to join the other Monasterevin runners for a few drinks. I tell ya, those were some of the hardest pints I have ever had to drink! But again, it was all about the congratulations. Focusing on the positives of it. Never the negatives.

Dissecting my own race strategy. Well, I still think it was a sound strategy. I feel, personally, that training had gone well and that what I went for was achievable. I just didn't really factor in for that final six miles and impact it would have. A few here have posted that already and talked about needing to tweak things going forward. I'm no different. I think how I fuel myself works well for distances up to a half marathon and a little beyond. But I think to tackle a marathon again I would need to build a better strategy and try additional fuel sources to get myself better. I also feel that next time I'd need to temper my competitive spirit. I started this journey hoping to get a sub-4. Training runs and and such told me I could go much faster. Hindsight tells me I should have stuck to the original plan.
    A bit like Icarus, I flew too close to the sun. That said, I'm really looking at the positives of it all and how I can adapt for the next time I choose to go. We learn through our missteps and misadventures. This is no different.

Yeah, I said next time. I swore on Sunday never again. Now, I'm much more sanguine about it. It won't be next year though, as tempting as it is. In late February I will be welcoming baby #1. That has to be the priority. Yes, the child would be eight months by next October. But training starts four and half months before that. I did find four runs a week a strain when I consider I lose over two hours a day to travel to work. It could be justifiable if I worked much closer to home and I could use that time I currently use for travelling to run. But yeah, priorities have to be on getting as much time with the future runner as I can! So next year I'm going to look to start to build on all the records I did smash this year. Intend to keep the long runs going, do a few half's and really try to nail some PB's in the shorter distances in the meantime. I also want to try some different things. Going (back) to the Spartan run with my nephew in May for example. I've the Donedea Half lined up January and will be making trips to Roscommon and Kilcock for their 10 Milers again (both great events if anyone is looking for suggestions) while I look out for new places to visit to run. I'd like to incorporate a bit of biking and maybe learn to swim properly. More bows to my string as it were. I might even start a blog here, so I can keep rambling on when this thread eventually goes quiet!

Not all superhero's wear capes - but on Sunday the roads were filled with heroes wearing running tops and shorts. I think we can all be proud of the effort and the physical, mental and emotional journey we each took to get here.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

ChippyRun wrote: »
    My bib number was 11409 and my time was 4:41:21
    I've tried to add a few times but no can do :)
    Now immortalised.. ;)

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11799|Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|4:13:21
    5524|coogy|03:40:00|03:57:01|
    17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|04:46:32|
    9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|04:00:31
    17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|04:46:01|
    2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    11409|Chippyrun|04:30:00|4:41:21
    18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|4:39:51
    14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|4:37:12
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|05:25:27
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|
    3608|imknackered|03:28:00|03:21:05|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|03:49:53|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|04:18:45
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|03:59:33
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|03:26:34|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|03:55:38|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|4:45:18
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|04:55:17
    18033|aloooof|04:25:00|4:26:49
    8187|hedgehoggy|03:43:30|3:38:48
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|4:37:14
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|03:28:13
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|04:23:02
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|04:12:13
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|03:39:52
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    |The man in red and black |03:45:00|
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|03:55:26|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    19428|blueberrypie |04:40:00|04:36:03
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|03:54:23|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|05:01:38
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|04:28:24
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|04:30:23|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|04:01:56

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Hedgehoggy wrote: »
    Thanks!! Absolutely delighted with my time. Will post race report soon!

Have only spotted this now, was dying to know how you did. Incredible time, delighted for you. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭yido1882

Just signed up for DCM 2019. Still can't walk properly from Sunday but the more I think back and reading all your race reports here, it was a brilliant thing to be part of and I need to do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|05:25:27
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|
    3608|imknackered|03:28:00|03:21:05|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|03:49:53|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|04:18:45
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|03:59:33
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|03:26:34|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|03:55:38|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|4:45:18
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|04:55:17
    18033|aloooof|04:25:00|4:26:49
    8187|hedgehoggy|03:43:30|3:38:48
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|4:37:14
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|03:28:13
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|04:23:02
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|04:12:13
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|03:39:52
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    9799|The man in red and black |03:45:00|03:42:19
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|03:55:26|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    19428|blueberrypie |04:40:00|04:36:03
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|03:54:23|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|05:01:38
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|04:28:24
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|04:30:23|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|04:01:56

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Just caught up with the thread now. The race reports have all been amazing, so much so that I hate to single one out, but AppleGirl, that was amazing, had me in bits! You can be beyond proud of yourself!

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Alorra

ariana` wrote: »
    Preferably one that meets 2-3 times per week in a stength and conditioning gym!!! I think a lot of us suffer from weak glutes and core due to our sedentary lifestyles. Sitting is the new smoking appatently. And no amount of running before/after work compensates for that lack basic core stength that our forefathers had from living a more active lifestyle. And there is no event quite like a marathon for showing up any weaknesses that are lying dormant. We should of course all be doing s&c more regularly as well as building up mileage more gradually with lots of easy miles etc... Lots to think about for the months ahead!

What is this grads plan people talk about? Is there background to it, who suitable for etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Apologies in advance, this has turned into an absolute tome! This is really just for me when I want to look back over it in future, so the short version is "Marathons are tough, and people, not least boardsies, are legends".

So, Oct 28th. Or what I seem to have been referring to as "The Big Day" since I signed up in March. I had followed previous years' Mentored Novices threads and I knew joining in here would give me the best chance, so was delighted when I saw it re-appear earlier in the year.

Pre-race
    I had managed to avoid the worst of the maranoia in the week leading up. Solid sleep on Saturday night, waking only once during the night. Alarm went at 6:30am, and the OH asked how I was feeling. Happily, "good" was an honest answer!

Had everything prepped the night before, so downed the breakfast, got ready and was into a taxi on the dot of 7:30 as planned. (As a side note, I've yet to meet a taxi man in Dublin who hasn't run a marathon :pac:). Met with the fellow boardsies beforehand to say a quick hello and wish them good luck, and then I was off to meet some friends. Bag drop, portaloo, chat to random strangers around me and before long we were off, a fair bit back from the 4:30 pacers, with a 4:25 paceband at the ready.

Mile 1-6 (10:47, 10:05, 10:29, 10:27, 10:29, 10:42)
    It felt amazing to finally cross that start line after all the prep. (For a long time a few years ago I never imagined I'd be able to even get myself to the start of a marathon). I must've had a permanent grin on my face for the first 5 miles or more. It took me a couple of miles to warm up but I remarked to a friend I had started with that "this is fair class".

On the North Circular, I got the first of many shouts from my support crew that were at various spots throughout. The OH even had colourful balloons done up so I wouldn't miss her, gave me such a buzz seeing her shouting me on. (Just another in a long list of supportive things she's done for me over the last 18 weeks).

Was conscious to keep it slow during all of this part of the course. Quick pitstop in the park at mile 3.5 or so, and when I re-joined I was just behind the 4:40 pacers. Decided I'd stay in behind them til the top of Castleknock, even tho I was 2 mins behind my negative-split paceband. Figured this wasn't the part of the course to try make up time.

Got a great shout from my cousin and his family at mile 5 as well, and took the first of my 4 gels here. My gel-opening technique still needs a bit of work! :). I had heard about the infamous crowds and noise in Castleknock and they didn't disappoint!

Mile 7-12 (10:28, 9:56, 9:50, 9:41, 10:04, 10:02)
    Got to mile 7 and the paceband indicated it was time to up the pace. Mile 8 was my first sub 10 min mile and I remember thinking that I still felt very comfortable. Passed the 4:40 pacers on the downhill of Tower Road.

It was around here I noticed I had managed to lose 2 of my gels along the way. I had planned on taking them at 5,10,15 and 20, so quick change of plan. I'd take the remaining one at 12 miles, and meet the OH at mile 19 as arranged to get a spare. Thankfully I had some Clif Shot Bloks as well with me for every couple of miles in between. I was keeping an eye out for the 4:30 balloons in the distance at this point. No sign yet, but I knew their pace would be around 10:20 a mile, which I was ahead of.

Got to mile 11 and attempted another pitstop at the portaloos in Kilmainham. Queues for this one tho, delayed a little but decided to carry on to the next one.

Mile 13-18 (9:53, 10:29, 9:45, 9:45, 9:50, 9:53)
    On the road out to Crumlin I could see the yellow 4:30 balloons a fair distance up ahead. I set about slowly roping them in. Had the postponed portaloo stop here at mile 14 as well, which accounts for the drop in pace on that mile.

Went through half-way at 2:16:06. It was at this point I was getting sick of cross-checking the pace band at every mile marker. It was becoming a bit of a chore, and I just wanted to concentrate on running. All the remaining miles were largely around 9:55 (which I knew was 4:20 pace) so I figured if I could maintain that, it'd give me a 2:10 2nd half and I'd come in around 4:26. Also here, I started to notice that I was passing far more people than were passing me.

Some of the support through this section was amazing as well. Got so many shout outs, and tried to say thank you to as many as possible. Caught the eye of one gent while saying thanks and he gave me a big wink and a smile. Tried to high-five as many kids as possible too. Something about the marathon really seems to bring the best out of people!

I remember getting to 18 miles thinking I was still feeling relatively comfortable here (or rather, as comfortable as you can be after running 18 miles!) and knew my OH would be up the road which would give me an added boost.

Mile 19-22 (9:50, 10:00, 9:59, 10:17)
    Round about mile 19 I edged passed the 4:30 pacers. And then a huge highlight of the day for me. Approaching Milltown, I could see my OH, with the gel as promised, but also sporting one of my beloved Munster jerseys! Gave me a massive smile when I could feel myself beginning to slow. I took the gel, shouted a quick "H'on Munster" and was back at it. It's amazing the silly things that can spur you on.

Purposefully slowed on the hill up Milltown, and then the right onto the road to Clonskeagh. For me, this was by far the most difficult part of the course. By mile 25, I was in worse knick but knew I was going to finish. Whereas this was still too far away from home to be getting any notions like that. Really had to dig in here as people around me had slowed, many walking, and it was tempting to join them. Kept on pushing forward tho, passing many out, and determined to keep on moving forward.

Mile 23 - Finish (10:12, 10:12, 10:19, 10:05, 0.39 @ 8:44)
    Roebuck Road. Just kept on moving, one foot in front of the other here with the head down, and I was at the top of it before I knew it. It's a bit of a stretch to call Fosters Avenue "some respite" but I was glad to be going downhill.

Got a huge cheer from a friend here, gave her a big high-five and tried to power on. Up the UCD flyover and I had resorted to the "repeatedly count to 100" trick. My uncle was at the top of the flyover, which I wasn't expecting at all. Tried to wave. I think.

On the far side of the flyover, another runner tried to start talking to me, but it was throwing me off completely, so I tried to edge ahead as best I could. Sorry Mr Randomer; we all have strategies to help get us to the end, but talking definitely wasn't one of mine.

Still counting to 100, incrementing every 4 paces, just keep it moving! On mile 25, I started to get a pain in my toes but it wasn't going to slow me down now I'd gotten this far! Huge crowds at this point, and I tried to up the pace, amazed in myself that I had some form of a kick. Was fighting back the tears for the last half mile or more, clenching my fist, knowing I was going to do it. And then the glory of the blue carpet and crossing the line!

Time came in as 4:26:49. All the humming and hawing in the previous week about my goal time, what pacers I would follow etc. seemed trivial now. For me, the glory was about finally being able to complete it. And knowing that this whole process has been one of the most rewarding things I've ever done.

Afterwards:
    Hobbled up to the barriers to steady myself and soon limped on up to get my medal, t-shirt and goodie bag; in what order, I have no idea. Made sure I thanked some of these volunteers for their efforts today as well.

Made it to McGrattans very briefly, where I met my friends for a race re-cap on how we all got on. One of those friends (diego_b from around these parts) congratulated me and said a few things that will stay with me for quite awhile. Got a photo of the 3 of us as well which I absolutely love.

Got to stick my head in to say thanks to 2 of the mentors, but had to scarper pretty quickly after. The only downside to the day was I didn't get to stay longer to chat to some of my fellow novices.

The marathon really is a different animal tho. In ways, it feels like you have to run 20 miles before the real race starts. It seemed to range from an almost out-of-body experience, back to a very much in-body, feeling-every-aching-pain experience. Absolutely thrilled tho, and managed to negative split by 5 mins 15!

And finally, I can say I'm a marathoner. "The Big Day" turned into a big, huge, feckin massive day. I've been lucky enough to have a few of them this year, so this is in good company.

Would only be right to end with a massive thanks to the mentors, and my fellow novices for all the advice, encouragement and general craic over the last while. I know some of ye didn't have the day ye were hoping for, but ye are all legends in my eyes. This whole process has really given me the bug, and I'd like to think I'll bump into ye at other "big days" in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

Lazare wrote: »
    Have only spotted this now, was dying to know how you did. Incredible time, delighted for you. :)

Thanks Lazare. Still buzzing after the whole experience. I've enjoyed reading all off the other race reports so much... So, heres my own.

The build up to the marathon started for me when I met up with some of the other boardsies for the last long run. Had a lovely morning chatting and running through the fabulous phoenix Park. My plan actually had 12miles for that day but as I was still feeling a lot of tiredness I thought I would benefit from cutting down on the miles. In the following days I also did fewer miles than recommended. Finally on Friday and Saturday I started to feel rested and very jittery and excited for the big day ahead.

Got a lift into the race with some of OHs running friends. Discussed our goals on the way in and said I was hoping for a 3.45 or a bit faster, but I was still harbouring hopes of a 3.40. We all headed off to our different waves and I queued for ages and ages for a portaloo... So long I missed the start of the wave but luckily I got there as everyone was moving off and pushed up a bit to get past the 3.50 pacers. I had expected to be in huge crowds for the first while but it wasn't like that at all. Actually felt very strung out and was trying to get in touch with a group so ended up doing the first two miles a bit too fast. I cop onto myself though and slow it down. Got through the first 10k in about 52mins or so, then put in a few faster miles on the downhill sections. Have been kinda stalking a pair of runners at this point as I was happy with the pace they were doing but I slow right down at the big hill after chapelizod and they pull way ahead of me. I keep plugging away and get through halfway at 1.51 and still feeling comfortable.

I don't remember too much over the next few miles but the crowd in general were fantastic and I high five a few kids and grab some jellies as well. Things started to get more difficult around mile 18 but no pains or cramps which slowed me down. I hit mile 22 at 3.05 and I knew after that it was all down to grit. I told myself to be brave and repeated that to myself a few times over the last leg. I slowly reel in the 3.40 pacers. I finally catch them somewhere around mile 25 and suddenly I'm passed them and in bonus territory. I finally see a sign saying 800m to go and I run as fast as I can.....delighted to cross the finish line and pick up my medal!

I'm absolutely thrilled with my time and bowled over by the whole experience. The crowds and atmosphere were amazing and we got so incredibly lucky with the conditions. Enjoyed every single step of the way!

Would like to finish with a heartfelt thanks to the mentors for all their advice and support and thanks and congratulations to all of the (new) marathoners here. It has been such a huge source of inspiration for me and I know I wouldnt have gotten to this point, nor enjoyed it as much, without your wealth of knowledge and the sharing of your experiences.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

Jeez made a big mistake and didn't read the thread since Saturday night. 2 hours and 5 minutes later I am caught up. Some incredible reports. Well done to everyone.

Was very happy on Sunday. Only decided to run it in March after doing a couple of runs in Feb starting from scratch. Training went well. Built up slowly from March to be ready to start the 16 week plan from the 2011 article on the DCM website. Of the 6 days a week for 16 weeks only missed 5 days in total and, crucially for me, completed some of my longest LSR's while in terrible shape in the middle of wedding/stag weekends. This stood to me mentally when the going got tough.

Thanks to great advice from the mentors here decided to start with the 3:50 pacer and see how I got on rather than start with the 3:40 and potentially not be able for the pace.

Miles 1-7. Started with the 3:50 pacer to keep me honest. Was running on the very left hand side of the road, found the surface very uneven and steep camber on the road plus was stuck in the middle of the bunch and not enough room to stride properly at 6'4" so developed a pain in my foot at the front of my ankle. Never had this before. Had to ignore it. Was happy with the pace and didn't feel it was slow.
    Going through the phoenix park I was beside one of the pacers, he heard my phone, which was strapped to my arm, calling out my time and average pace at mile 4 approx and laughed that that was my idea of pacing. I replied that the phone had a lovely voice and kept going. :D

Kept it slow up the hills and gradually started to very slowly pull away from 3:50 pacer at 7 miles.
    Decided on gels every 4 miles. 1 gel down.

8:43, 8:19, 8:55, 8:18, 8:32, 8:39, 8:41.

Miles 8-12
    Gel at 8 miles. Picking it up gradually. Finding it much easier out on my own. Taking in scenery. Atmosphere super. Went to college in Dublin and used to hurl with Realt Dearg in Terenure so heading to more familiar teritory allowed the mind to wander and distract me. Foot not nearly as sore now I am taking proper strides not stuck in bunches. Still taking it easy up any hills to save energy. Gel at 12 miles.

8:17, 8:37, 8:19, 8:43, 8:32.

Miles 13-17.
    Gel at 16 miles. Trying to keep the pace steady now I've picked it up. Disappointed that my foot felt sore earlier and wonder if I have overestimated my capabilities as I feel more tired than I did doing the 15 mile race in Cork 4 weeks previously and still a long way to go. Starting to take jellies from the crowds. Paranoid about running out of steam. Want to keep it steady here and pick it up more at 18 if possible. Finding it hard to remember how I felt and matching it to locations.

8:22, 8:32, 8:29, 8:40, 8:29.

Miles 18-22.
    Now for the gamble. Upped the pace again. Gel at 18 miles and again at 21 miles. Really in areas I know from college now which is a huge help as I recognise houses I went to parties in, remembered running by Ashtons pub in fancy dress twice in college during a pubrun(timed race while drinking pints). Great to distract me from the pain slowly building in my legs. Taking lots more jellies from crowd to gear up psychologically for the final burst. Had to spit out a couple of the really hard jellies as actually hadn't the energy in my jaw to chew them while running :rolleyes: Saw another friend somewhere around 20 miles which was a great boost.

8:19, 8:16, 8:06, 7:50, 8:33.

Miles 23-26.7.
    This is it. Took two bottles of water at all the remaining water stations and splashed them on my face plus guzzled lots. Feeling the burn coming around the turn onto Roebuck road. Shouted at myself that this is what the training at the wedding/stag weekends was for and that nobody around me would have been out running 20 miles in Killarney in the dark with a head torch at 5.30am after getting home from a wedding at 5am so this is the time to push on. No doubt looked like a loon.
    Up the hill in good time and on around UCD which I was looking forward to as I knew I could let my mind be distracted by daydreams about college days. Passing a serious amount of people now. Encourage anyone I see walking. Met a friend on the fly over. He shouts encouragement and is videoing me. He catches up at me as I run down the fly over because he forgot to hit record and wants to put it up in whatsapp group :D:D Keeping the pace up and telling myself it's nearly the home straight now. Really feeling the burn going down Nutley lane at mile 24 roughly. Take a jaffa cake from a child but spit it out, too dry, not used to them, might cramp. Turn the corner onto Merrion road and say this is it. Keep it going. Great noise coming into town after a quite spell around UCD/N11 in fairness. My friend from 20 miles pops up again around 24-25miles shouting support. This really is it. Put the foot down and go for it time. Go as hard as I can. Support is unreal in town, crowds roaring at us. Sprint flat out for the finish.

8:10, 7:46, 7:55, 8:00, 6:49*
    (*between 26 and 26.7miles. Not a full mile).

finished in 3:42:19. Delighted.

Could hardly walk after getting across the finish. The goodie bag actually felt like it weighed a ton. Really like the finishers top. Tried walking in a straight line and went directly sideways to my left. Person beside me asked was I ok and suggested it was a speed wobble ;) Met friends then made it to McGrattans.

Felt great to finish strong. Might have slight thoughts about if I had dropped the pace a bit sooner would I have been able to catch the 3:40 pacer but I would rather 3:42:19 and finish accelerating than to have blown up because I started with 3:40 pacers.

Sorry about the essay. It's been a great journey training for this. I didn't think I would like running having never run properly before. Surprised myself and really enjoy it now and want to keep it up as a hobby. Enjoyed the marathon so couldn't rule out another one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

Jeez made a big mistake and didn't read the thread since Saturday night. 2 hours and 5 minutes later I am caught up. Some incredible reports. Well done to everyone.

Was very happy on Sunday. Only decided to run it in March after doing a couple of runs in Feb starting from scratch. Training went well. Built up slowly from March to be ready to start the 16 week plan from the 2011 article on the DCM website. Of the 6 days a week for 16 weeks only missed 5 days in total and, crucially for me, completed some of my longest LSR's while in terrible shape in the middle of wedding/stag weekends. This stood to me mentally when the going got tough.

Thanks to great advice from the mentors here decided to start with the 3:50 pacer and see how I got on rather than start with the 3:40 and potentially not be able for the pace.

Miles 1-7. Started with the 3:50 pacer to keep me honest. Was running on the very left hand side of the road, found the surface very uneven and steep camber on the road plus was stuck in the middle of the bunch and not enough room to stride properly at 6'4" so developed a pain in my foot at the front of my ankle. Never had this before. Had to ignore it. Was happy with the pace and didn't feel it was slow.
    Going through the phoenix park I was beside one of the pacers, he heard my phone, which was strapped to my arm, calling out my time and average pace at mile 4 approx and laughed that that was my idea of pacing. I replied that the phone had a lovely voice and kept going. :D

Kept it slow up the hills and gradually started to very slowly pull away from 3:50 pacer at 7 miles.
    Decided on gels every 4 miles. 1 gel down.

8:43, 8:19, 8:55, 8:18, 8:32, 8:39, 8:41.

Miles 8-12
    Gel at 8 miles. Picking it up gradually. Finding it much easier out on my own. Taking in scenery. Atmosphere super. Went to college in Dublin and used to hurl with Realt Dearg in Terenure so heading to more familiar teritory allowed the mind to wander and distract me. Foot not nearly as sore now I am taking proper strides not stuck in bunches. Still taking it easy up any hills to save energy. Gel at 12 miles.

8:17, 8:37, 8:19, 8:43, 8:32.

Miles 13-17.
    Gel at 16 miles. Trying to keep the pace steady now I've picked it up. Disappointed that my foot felt sore earlier and wonder if I have overestimated my capabilities as I feel more tired than I did doing the 15 mile race in Cork 4 weeks previously and still a long way to go. Starting to take jellies from the crowds. Paranoid about running out of steam. Want to keep it steady here and pick it up more at 18 if possible. Finding it hard to remember how I felt and matching it to locations.

8:22, 8:32, 8:29, 8:40, 8:29.

Miles 18-22.
    Now for the gamble. Upped the pace again. Gel at 18 miles and again at 21 miles. Really in areas I know from college now which is a huge help as I recognise houses I went to parties in, remembered running by Ashtons pub in fancy dress twice in college during a pubrun(timed race while drinking pints). Great to distract me from the pain slowly building in my legs. Taking lots more jellies from crowd to gear up psychologically for the final burst. Had to spit out a couple of the really hard jellies as actually hadn't the energy in my jaw to chew them while running :rolleyes: Saw another friend somewhere around 20 miles which was a great boost.

8:19, 8:16, 8:06, 7:50, 8:33.

Miles 23-26.7.
    This is it. Took two bottles of water at all the remaining water stations and splashed them on my face plus guzzled lots. Feeling the burn coming around the turn onto Roebuck road. Shouted at myself that this is what the training at the wedding/stag weekends was for and that nobody around me would have been out running 20 miles in Killarney in the dark with a head torch at 5.30am after getting home from a wedding at 5am so this is the time to push on. No doubt looked like a loon.
    Up the hill in good time and on around UCD which I was looking forward to as I knew I could let my mind be distracted by daydreams about college days. Passing a serious amount of people now. Encourage anyone I see walking. Met a friend on the fly over. He shouts encouragement and is videoing me. He catches up at me as I run down the fly over because he forgot to hit record and wants to put it up in whatsapp group :D:D Keeping the pace up and telling myself it's nearly the home straight now. Really feeling the burn going down Nutley lane at mile 24 roughly. Take a jaffa cake from a child but spit it out, too dry, not used to them, might cramp. Turn the corner onto Merrion road and say this is it. Keep it going. Great noise coming into town after a quite spell around UCD/N11 in fairness. My friend from 20 miles pops up again around 24-25miles shouting support. This really is it. Put the foot down and go for it time. Go as hard as I can. Support is unreal in town, crowds roaring at us. Sprint flat out for the finish.

8:10, 7:46, 7:55, 8:00, 6:49*
    (*between 26 and 26.7miles. Not a full mile).

finished in 3:42:19. Delighted.

Could hardly walk after getting across the finish. The goodie bag actually felt like it weighed a ton. Really like the finishers top. Tried walking in a straight line and went directly sideways to my left. Person beside me asked was I ok and suggested it was a speed wobble ;) Met friends then made it to McGrattans.

Felt great to finish strong. Might have slight thoughts about if I had dropped the pace a bit sooner would I have been able to catch the 3:40 pacer but I would rather 3:42:19 and finish accelerating than to have blown up because I started with 3:40 pacers.

Sorry about the essay. It's been a great journey training for this. I didn't think I would like running having never run properly before. Surprised myself and really enjoy it now and want to keep it up as a hobby. Enjoyed the marathon so couldn't rule out another one.

Great report and fantastic time too. Sounds like you really enjoyed that whole experience!
    Well done again!!

Hedgehoggy wrote: »
    Lazare wrote: »

Thanks Lazare. Still buzzing after the whole experience. I've enjoyed reading all off the other race reports so much... So, heres my own.

The build up to the marathon started for me when I met up with some of the other boardsies for the last long run. Had a lovely morning chatting and running through the fabulous phoenix Park. My plan actually had 12miles for that day but as I was still feeling a lot of tiredness I thought I would benefit from cutting down on the miles. In the following days I also did fewer miles than recommended. Finally on Friday and Saturday I started to feel rested and very jittery and excited for the big day ahead.

Got a lift into the race with some of OHs running friends. Discussed our goals on the way in and said I was hoping for a 3.45 or a bit faster, but I was still harbouring hopes of a 3.40. We all headed off to our different waves and I queued for ages and ages for a portaloo... So long I missed the start of the wave but luckily I got there as everyone was moving off and pushed up a bit to get past the 3.50 pacers. I had expected to be in huge crowds for the first while but it wasn't like that at all. Actually felt very strung out and was trying to get in touch with a group so ended up doing the first two miles a bit too fast. I cop onto myself though and slow it down. Got through the first 10k in about 52mins or so, then put in a few faster miles on the downhill sections. Have been kinda stalking a pair of runners at this point as I was happy with the pace they were doing but I slow right down at the big hill after chapelizod and they pull way ahead of me. I keep plugging away and get through halfway at 1.51 and still feeling comfortable.

I don't remember too much over the next few miles but the crowd in general were fantastic and I high five a few kids and grab some jellies as well. Things started to get more difficult around mile 18 but no pains or cramps which slowed me down. I hit mile 22 at 3.05 and I knew after that it was all down to grit. I told myself to be brave and repeated that to myself a few times over the last leg. I slowly reel in the 3.40 pacers. I finally catch them somewhere around mile 25 and suddenly I'm passed them and in bonus territory. I finally see a sign saying 800m to go and I run as fast as I can.....delighted to cross the finish line and pick up my medal!

I'm absolutely thrilled with my time and bowled over by the whole experience. The crowds and atmosphere were amazing and we got so incredibly lucky with the conditions. Enjoyed every single step of the way!

Would like to finish with a heartfelt thanks to the mentors for all their advice and support and thanks and congratulations to all of the (new) marathoners here. It has been such a huge source of inspiration for me and I know I wouldnt have gotten to this point, nor enjoyed it as much, without your wealth of knowledge and the sharing of your experiences.

What a performance, that was unreal running and a really well managed race!!
    Lap it up, you totally deserve it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 philroche

I've been a lurker on this thread all along and I am loving the race reports.. better than netflix :)

I posted this already over on https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=108492336 and folks seem to be using it so for anyone interested I have updated my scrape tool from 2016 DCM which lets you download a zip file with all the low resolution watermarked versions of your finisherpix.com marathon photos. See http://finisherpixdownloader.tinyviking.ie/

finisherpix.com have measures in place to stop you downloading your photos easily without taking screenshots so this tool side steps those measure. I hope you find it useful.

Same disclaimer as when I posted in 2016: I do not wish to take away from the great work finisherpix.com do, this is just a simple way to get the low resolution images for preview before purchase of the high resolution ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Just a quick note to say hi! Not a DCM novice (and don't plan on ever being one). But the DCM Novice threads have been some of my favourite threads on Boards these past few years. I've enjoyed following peoples training and progress and finally caught up on the race reports so far, they are well written, might be a tear or two shed. Well done, you did it!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭Rossi7

You only get out of the marathon what you put into the training, the beast owes you nothing......

Having missed 2 weeks of training for holidays and prety much October wiped out with a niggly injury and illness I knew that I wasn't going to achieve 3.45 that my race times had indicated. So with that I decided to go with 3.54:59 with a Plan B of 4.05 if things went a miss

I tucked in about 150 yards behind the 4hr pacer with a mate who was hoping to run a similar time and off we went. Went through 10k at 56.34 & coming throught the gates of Castleknock I felt my legs a bit heavy. Looking back it may be the result of a pit stop entering the park and speeding up to get back with my mate to stay of pace. First experience of the "Dublin Roar" was class.

As we approached the first "hill" coming under the flyover at Chapelizod the pacers started roaring and the echo from it 150 yards back was unreal, one of many memories that will stick with me. Coming back into the park I had to stop off for another pit stop ( granny bladder ) but luckily my mate stopped off too so wasn't a mad scramble to get back the time so I decided to slowly real the pacers back in. As we got to Dolphins Barn the place was hopping and was the best support on the route for the noise. Came under the half way mark in 1.59.36 and at that point my mate told me to head on. 

Crumlin Rd wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, tucked in when I could but largely exposed but managed to get back to the 150 yards gap to the 4hr pacers. Approaching Walkinstown roundabout I felt like Marco Pantani coming over the Alps with the crowd sprawled on the road. Met most of friends and family at this point and felt really good, not much effort at this point. I caught up with Ariana and Kellygirl in Terenure with a quick hello and trotted on passing 30k in 2.50:25 and still feeling good.

As I approached Roebuck Rd it was like someone flicked a switch ( the wall ), the first hill I eased going up and as I was about to pass two lads walking they started running then back to walking I'd catch them again only for them to start running again. Rinse and repeat x4. Mentally I think this killed me, walked at the Lucozade station to drink from the cup, looked at my last gel and threw it away. Plan B it is then, the sadistic in me this was probably my favorite part of the race. My legs felt good, just had little energy and a headache. Zoned out and stirred the ship towards home, nearly missed my Dad which was a pretty cool moment. A 2.36 man in his day, the smile on his face safe in the knowledge his record was safe as the brother ran 2.56 :D

Got home in 4.05:31, what a day it was. Not the time I wanted but I'll put that right next year. Not sure what went wrong at the end, fueling undertrained or a sports massage on the Monday ?? 
    Just want to say a special thanks to Ariana Skyblue and Kellygirl for all the help over the past 18 weeks. Personally I wouldn't of been where I am now without their help both on the thread and messages. Also a thank you to RayC Lazare Swashbuckler Wubble Wubble and the rest of boards for your invaluable advice

If someone could update the table with my no. 12133 and time 4.05.31 that would be much appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭ariana`

Rossi7 wrote: »
    You only get out of the marathon what you put into the training, the beast owes you nothing......

Having missed 2 weeks of training for holidays and prety much October wiped out with a niggly injury and illness I knew that I wasn't going to achieve 3.45 that my race times had indicated. So with that I decided to go with 3.54:59 with a Plan B of 4.05 if things went a miss

I tucked in about 150 yards behind the 4hr pacer with a mate who was hoping to run a similar time and off we went. Went through 10k at 56.34 & coming throught the gates of Castleknock I felt my legs a bit heavy. Looking back it may be the result of a pit stop entering the park and speeding up to get back with my mate to stay of pace. First experience of the "Dublin Roar" was class.

As we approached the first "hill" coming under the flyover at Chapelizod the pacers started roaring and the echo from it 150 yards back was unreal, one of many memories that will stick with me. Coming back into the park I had to stop off for another pit stop ( granny bladder ) but luckily my mate stopped off too so wasn't a mad scramble to get back the time so I decided to slowly real the pacers back in. As we got to Dolphins Barn the place was hopping and was the best support on the route for the noise. Came under the half way mark in 1.59.36 and at that point my mate told me to head on. 

Crumlin Rd wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, tucked in when I could but largely exposed but managed to get back to the 150 yards gap to the 4hr pacers. Approaching Walkinstown roundabout I felt like Marco Pantani coming over the Alps with the crowd sprawled on the road. Met most of friends and family at this point and felt really good, not much effort at this point. I caught up with Ariana and Kellygirl in Terenure with a quick hello and trotted on passing 30k in 2.50:25 and still feeling good.

As I approached Roebuck Rd it was like someone flicked a switch ( the wall ), the first hill I eased going up and as I was about to pass two lads walking they started running then back to walking I'd catch them again only for them to start running again. Rinse and repeat x4. Mentally I think this killed me, walked at the Lucozade station to drink from the cup, looked at my last gel and threw it away. Plan B it is then, the sadistic in me this was probably my favorite part of the race. My legs felt good, just had little energy and a headache. Zoned out and stirred the ship towards home, nearly missed my Dad which was a pretty cool moment. A 2.36 man in his day, the smile on his face safe in the knowledge his record was safe as the brother ran 2.56 :D

Got home in 4.05:31, what a day it was. Not the time I wanted but I'll put that right next year. Not sure what went wrong at the end, fueling undertrained or a sports massage on the Monday ?? 
    Just want to say a special thanks to Ariana Skyblue and Kellygirl for all the help over the past 18 weeks. Personally I wouldn't of been where I am now without their help both on the thread and messages. Also a thank you to RayC Lazare Swashbuckler Wubble Wubble and the rest of boards for your invaluable advice

If someone could update the table with my no. 12133 and time 4.05.31 that would be much appreciated

I'm still baffled how you knew it was us :confused: You seemed so relaxed at that point, like you were out for a little jog!

Well done on a very decent first marathon! Great attitude and I've no doubt you will be back and smash that next time ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Just a quick note to say hi! Not a DCM novice (and don't plan on ever being one). But the DCM Novice threads have been some of my favourite threads on Boards these past few years. I've enjoyed following peoples training and progress and finally caught up on the race reports so far, they are well written, might be a tear or two shed. Well done, you did it!!!

Would you not consider it? It's an amazing thing to be able to say: "I ran a marathon", even if the time wasn't in the same league as some others. Honestly, I think we're about the same level from what I've read of your parkruns, and if I can do it so could you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

ariana` wrote: »
    I'm still baffled how you knew it was us :confused: You seemed so relaxed at that point, like you were out for a little jog!

Well done on a very decent first marathon! Great attitude and I've no doubt you will be back and smash that next time ;)

I’m still laughing at that one. Random fella coming up putting his arms around us and turns out he know our names and neither of us know how :D Apparently my running skirt was the give away I found out in the pub after!

Great report Rossi. Your Dad must be some runner. He must have been very proud on Sunday.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭kittyclaws

I wanted to wait until I was at a computer to write my race report, I'll try keep it short-ish!

I went to bed at 10 on Saturday thinking I'd be lucky to get 2-3 hours sleep as I was so nervous - I was surprised when my alarm went off at 6 and woke me :D
    Bodyglide everywhere, KT taped my heels and hips and then got dressed.
    Brekkie, same as I always eat before a run - overnight oats made with oats, chia seeds, blueberries, natural yogurt and honey. I got a bit caught up reading the excitement of the morning on the boards page and FB and I think the excitement hit me a bit too much - I couldn't keep my breakfast down :o
    My lift was collecting me at 7 and it was already 6.55 so I was a bit panicked - i dug a bagel out of the freezer and toasted it. I nibbled it for the next hour, I was finding it really hard to keep anything down.

My club had hired a bus which dropped us to The Conrad hotel where we could sit in the lobby and keep warm for as long as possible - I stayed there instead of going to The Shelbourne to meet the other boardsies.
    At 8.30 we went to the bag drop and then to our corrals. I was wave 4 so I had a lot of time to hang around, I popped into the Spar and got a banana and a breakfast bar to try get some more carbs into me. Luckily my stomach was a lot better so it all stayed down.

9:30 - I went and slotted in behind the 4:50 pacers. I kept Ariana's words in mind and mentally prepared to let them go ahead - I had a pace band and was going to follow that. I had the time 4:48:00 in my mind and was going to try my best to hit it, the plan was go easy until Cromwellsfort road and then go for it.

Miles 1-7 (10:56, 10:35, 10:54, 10:53, 10:40, 10:53, 10:40)
    As expected the pacers soon left me in their dust! I kept a close eye on my paceband but always seemed to be 10-20 seconds ahead of it despite holding back a lot. I decided to just go with it, I was feeling good. I had in my mind the words from the mentors that the first 7 miles would make or break my marathon, so I waved goodbye the the pacers and said see you in a few hours :D
    The first 7 miles just glided past, no issues - lots of support in the park from clubmates who seemed to pop up everywhere!

Miles 8-13 (10:09, 10:30, 10:09, 10:26, 10:08, 10:26)
    I took advantage of the downhill and let my legs go. It felt good to stretch them out. I still felt great, these miles passed quickly. Back into the park, then out the gates thru Chapelizod. I knew the bypass incline was coming up, this is where my hip went on my previous attempt at the marathon, I'd had to run/walk from here onwards so I took the hill very easy, then took off again at the top.
    The pacer group had split into two groups, I passed the first guy in Kilmanham, then the second approaching the half-way arch. I knew I was ahead of schedule now and prayed it would not come back to bite me :P

Miles 14-20 (10:42, 10:33, 10:47, 10:33, 10:22, 10:27, 10:12)
    My favourite section! My family, club mates and friends were all over these miles! I took my 2nd caffeine gel, took some little chocolates from the crowd, kept taking water at every water station and drinking at least half - it was all going to plan. Brilliant support and I glided past bushy park, then Orwell and then downhill past the Dropping Well and up towards Milltown. I was still flying along feeling amazing - until I wasn't.

Miles 21-23 (10:47, 10:59, 11:32)
    Coming up to Roebuck hill I hit - i wouldn't say the wall, but there was definitely a fence :o Out of nowhere I started feeling really nauseous and dizzy, one minute I was running and the next I realised I was walking. I was raging, I had promised myself I wouldn't walk - so I took off at a granny paced jog. I knew if I could get to the top of heartbreak hill there was a nice downhill section where I could recover. I got halfway up and slowed to walking pace again. Two of my clubmates were there and started cheering for me, I was so embarassed that they seen me walking so I took off again. That was it, only 5 miles to go, sure I do that on my lunch break - I wasn't stopping again. I tried to take another gel but the thought of it made me feel sicker, so I sipped the bottle of lucozade I brought with me and kept going. Another club mate met me on Nutley Ave, she ran a mile with me and I felt so much better for seeing her right when I needed someone the most. By the time i passed James hospital the nausea had passed.

Miles 24-26.2 (10:40, 10:52, 10:20)
    The home stretch, only a park run to go. I could see the 4:40 pacers ahead in the distance so knew if I could keep running I'd definitely be well under my goal. The support was absolutely unreal, I was so happy I had my name on my top - it seemed everyone was calling me along here. I met Juke just past the RDS, she looked fresh and happy :D
    It felt like a long long road, at this point my feet were in bits and my hip was lettimg me know it wasn't happy, but the crowds were unreal so I kept my legs moving.
    I seen the 800 metre sign, then 6 miles later the 400 metre sign. Oh God the finish line was still so far away, I could see it in the distance. I put my head down and went for it, trying to get ahead of just one more person, then another.
    When the blue carpet came into view the tears started, I crossed the line and stopped my watch - it said 4:39:39 :eek:
    Officially my time came in as 4:46:01 so I don't know what happened, I spent more time looking at my watch than the road and it wasn't on auto - pause, but I still came under my goal of 4:48 so I'm not complaining!

I got my medal and then tried to walk to get my bag, but my hips went on me. I used the barrier to pull myself along, I was in so much pain but delighted with life! I collected my bag and took my recovery drink. I needed help to walk back to my hotel, I'd try walk one direction but my legs would go in another! I'm sorry I didn't make McGrattans, I had planned on it but my body had completely given up. I showered in the hotel and just about made it to the bar to meet my boyfriend.

Thank you so much to the wonderful mentors, you answered all my stupid questions and training went absolutely perfectly! Thank you to the other boardsies, it was great to see how your training went, how I wasn't the only one doubting myself and suffering :D

4 days later and the only things still hurting are my quads and sides of my shins. I'm waiting until the weekend and then i'll try a little run.
    I'm still on a high, so much so that as soon as the priority booking email came thru for next years marathon - I booked it!

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Aoifemcc19

Fabulous race reports, have had a lovely hour & half with a cuppa (& Krispy Kreme :rolleyes:) catching up on them all!!

Applegirl's hit me the biggest, probably because we were similar on training runs and my kids were out in Castleknock too but you have me BAWLING!!!

Gutted to hear about any of your disappointments, its so hard when you have an aim engraved in your brain but YOU DID IT!! You are a LEGEND, a marathoner!!! Loving that most of you that didn't have your best run (in your head) are talking about signing up next year!! I had a great race, loved it but too terrified to sign up again as I know everything went so well on the day it could never be that good again!! Thinking I should bow out on a high!!

It's funny my Dad is so chuffed that he has a marathoner daughter that he keeps calling me the athlete:D, I barely considered myself a runner (more a shuffler) before Sunday! But this group, these chats, the strava links and the whole day on Sunday has made me realise that whether you do a 3 hour marathon or a 6.5 hour one it is a HUGE achievement and we are all AMAZING!!! The only way is up and I wish you all the very very best of luck with whatever you choose to do next!

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

Great race reports! Im reliving my marathon as I read all about all of yours!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

quickbeam wrote: »
    Would you not consider it? It's an amazing thing to be able to say: "I ran a marathon", even if the time wasn't in the same league as some others. Honestly, I think we're about the same level from what I've read of your parkruns, and if I can do it so could you.
    It would be class to say I did a marathon and to experience it!! But I just don't know if I can commit to that level of training. I found it tough enough training for a half, and then straight back into it for another half a few weeks later - by the time it was all done I'd had enough of training really. I can't imagine how tough it is to knuckle down for a full marathon. Just not sure if that want is in me (yet).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Well done again to everyone; the race reports have been pretty epic and so enjoyable to read! 
    My own day went badly with a DNF. My stomach felt all wrong from the start and despite my best efforts to ignore it, it just got worse and to the point that I didn't want  to / couldn't finish.. hard to know which is the correct wording there if I'm honest. 
    If I hadn't put myself through a hard first marathon already, I think I might have suffered it for longer and maybe finished but I just couldn't do it again. Impressed with those who finished despite feeling unwell or suffering bad cramps; much stronger mental resolve than myself!
    Thanks again to ariana, Kellygirl and skyblue46 for all the words of wisdom and guidance here. Everyone involved has been so grateful for this as a resource, and yizzer all champs in our eyes!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

I just went to look up last year's novices thread from this time last year to see what people did in terms of recovery/when to start back running etc, and look what I found from a certain 2017 novice:
    I'm putting this up here mainly for 2018 novices who might read back on this thread. Your mentor and his/ her merry group of collaborators will most likely drill it into you the importance of sensible pacing. Do not let this fall on deaf ears. It should be the bedrock of your race.
    Now who do you think said that??

*cough* skyblue46 *cough* :D
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105163526&postcount=5647

eyrie wrote: »
    I just went to look up last year's novices thread from this time last year to see what people did in terms of recovery/when to start back running etc, and look what I found from a certain 2017 novice:
    Now who do you think said that??

*cough* skyblue46 *cough* :D
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=105163526&postcount=5647

I dunno, I still think the whole 'pacing' thing could have been made a little clearer to us......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

No prob. :)