Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Where in the hell is the rest of this ESPN interview? They've been showing women's baseball for the past 4 hours.

Unless there's some huge revelation in the remaining parts, they're really tearing the arse out of it.

this is the only other segment Ive seen come out, theyre really making a meal out of it alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Where in the hell is the rest of this ESPN interview? They've been showing women's baseball for the past 4 hours.

WUT? They're not still pretending to show it are they? :eek:
    Depp wrote: »
    this is the only other segment Ive seen come out, theyre really making a meal out of it alright!

severe mma had 3 youtube clips on their site earlier. As I wasn't sure if that was it and the fact I'd rather wait for someone to put them together, I didn't watch them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Seems that Diaz is looking for more money than Conor! He must be learning from McGregor on how to negotiate. I think that the UFC now faces this scenario before every fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

eddie73 wrote: »
    Seems that Diaz is looking for more money than Conor! He must be learning from McGregor on how to negotiate. I think that the UFC now faces this scenario before every fight.

How strong is his negotiating position really though, besides Conor really wanting the rematch?

The UFC have never seemed that keen on a rematch, and there are plenty other opponents that they can throw Conor in with that will generate big revenue. Maybe they feel, like a lot of posters on here, that Conor cannot beat Nate anyway.

I thought the deal had already been done and dusted for UFC 200 before the whole "retirement" saga. So, what has changed for Nate?

Nate's star has risen much higher since the win over Conor. Maybe at the back of his mind he's thinking he has already a win over Conor, why risk the rematch? Sort of like Marquez's win over Pacquaio at the 4th attempt. Why go back and risk losing the rematch when you have a highlight reel win already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

How strong is his negotiating position really though, besides Conor really wanting the rematch?

The UFC have never seemed that keen on a rematch, and there are plenty other opponents that they can throw Conor in with that will generate big revenue. Maybe they feel, like a lot of posters on here, that Conor cannot beat Nate anyway.

I thought the deal had already been done and dusted for UFC 200 before the whole "retirement" saga. So, what has changed for Nate?

Nate's star has risen much higher since the win over Conor. Maybe at the back of his mind he's thinking he has already a win over Conor, why risk the rematch? Sort of like Marquez's win over Pacquaio at the 4th attempt. Why go back and risk losing the rematch when you have a highlight reel win already?

He doesn't, Conor's the one who brings the money. If Nate turns this down it's back to fighting for a brand new Toyota Corolla each fight. He'll realise this right before the UFC pull him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,783 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

Lukker- wrote: »
    He doesn't, Conor's the one who brings the money. If Nate turns this down it's back to fighting for a brand new Toyota Corolla each fight. He'll realise this right before the UFC pull him.

lets see how much money he brings when he gets smashed again. Fight fans are fickle

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I liked the interviews he was back to his more natural self and that's good to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

This seems to the complete version now. Couple of extra minutes in it anyway.

Back in April when news broke that Conor wanted to miss the early Vegas presser and accompanying interviews, I posted the following:
    Cathy.C wrote: »
    My call on this is that Conor was just in no damn mood nor frame of mind to go to Vegas and be 'Conor McGregor the trash talking UFC fighter' so close to Joao Carvalho's death.

He's had the media all over him the past two weeks wanting him to explain himself over comments he made after a fight which resulted in a fighter's death. He cheered on Charlie in that fight and seen Joao walk to his dressing room, then to an ambulance and we all know what happened afterwards. He hasn't given an interview since. That is highly unusual for Conor and speaks volumes for why he went to Portugal and is now in Iceland.

Don't you think that he knows full well that as soon as he enters a press conference, that without a shadow of a doubt, an Irish reporter will stand up and the first question he will be asked is does he still stand over his comments he made that the referee in the Joao fight should have stopped it earlier, and also no doubt pry further and ask him how he felt after seeing that happen.

IMO, he and his camp and just trying to chill for a while, focus on the training and avoid the media for another month or so until his head is sorted and he can deal with those sort of questions.

Wasn't just me saying the above of course as many other users posted similar. Well, in the ESPN interview with Kenny Mayne it seems that Conor (reluctantly) confirmed that this did indeed play a large part in where his head was at at the time and for some reason they haven't aired that portion of the interview (as of yet at least). Here's the relevant excerpt from the transcript:
    "I had f
    journalists knocking down my mother's door, you know what I mean?"

"That's not what I signed up to do -- have people knocking on my mother's door, talking about a kid dying.

"It's not nice to see a kid die like that. It does something to you.

"And there's been show after show canceled in Ireland since that.

"It's f
    up to be a part of it, and I didn't want to bring it back up and put it more on a public scale.

"After all that, I did not want to be put in front of a camera and made to dance. I just wasn't feeling it."

Hopefully they will air the full interview at some point.

or they have but you've just linked to another 1 of the many clips doing the rounds. I've seen longer sections than the vid you've posted but as yet nobody has edited together the full interview.

As for the rest of your post heres a *pat on the back*....I think thats what your after? :pac:

Devastator wrote: »
    As for the rest of your post heres a *pat on the back*....I think thats what your after? :pac:

Ahem.
    Wasn't just me saying the above of course as many other users posted similar.

Point being that it was sheer idiocy to suggest that Conor didn't want to attend the pressers because he was afraid to fight Nate.

It was quite obvious why he wasn't in the frame of mind to go to Vegas. To some of us at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Ahem.

*Double pat on the back*

Ahem.

and as soon as the other posters search back and quote themselves in a "I told you so" post I'll give them a pat on the back too :D

Worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

Ahem.

Point being that it was sheer idiocy to suggest that Conor didn't want to attend the pressers because he was afraid to fight Nate.

It was quite obvious why he wasn't in the frame of mind to go to Vegas. To some of us at least.

You are so far up McGregor's arse I'm surprised you have got an internet connection to post this sh1te,

If his motivation for not doing the presser's was fear he would never admit it anyways so I don't see why your so smug.

Mod note: warned for being uncivil/personal abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

Conor didn't attend the pressors because he got his big mouth shut by Nate, and all of a sudden the constant s**t he spews was useless, because what could he say to a guy who put him away after all his mouthing off.

That's the other end of being cocky, it backfires

Simple...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

pone2012 wrote: »
    Conor didn't attend the pressors because he got his big mouth shut by Nate, and all of a sudden the constant s**t he spews was useless, because what could he say to a guy who put him away after all his mouthing off.

That's the other end of being cocky, it backfires

Simple...

We get it you don't like McGregor Jesus Christ your like a broken record posting the same shiite over and over again we got it the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

ASOT wrote: »
    We get it you don't like McGregor Jesus Christ your like a broken record posting the same shiite over and over again we got it the first time.

I do like McGregor and I think he is dead right. How could McGregor do a press conference with Nate...what would he say...every single question fired at him would basically be insinuating that he can't back up what he says...it would be a disaster for his brand and his ego.
    Ahem.

Yea sure. If there was a McGregor-Mayweather 200 million dollar fight taking place in July do you think he would have passed up an obligatory press conference in April and be willing to miss out on that fight? Like f*ck he would!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I do like McGregor and I think he is dead right. How could McGregor do a press conference with Nate...what would he say...every single question fired at him would basically be insinuating that he can't back up what he says...it would be a disaster for his brand and his ego.

Yea sure. If there was a McGregor-Mayweather 200 million dollar fight taking place in July do you think he would have passed up an obligatory press conference in April and be willing to miss out on that fight? Like f*ck he would!

He would simply say nate one the first one congrats, now we go again and will see.

No big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭jigglypuffstuff

ASOT wrote: »

I do like him tbh, but people defending or making up alternate stories just shy away from the truth...Conor has has to take a good hard look at himself after his mouth was closed for him....If you dont like it, Im sorry, but that doesnt change it

Exactly this

A lot of people seem to forget, or are just ignorant, to the fact that Nate was a late replacement and there really was no big sh*te talking buildup. Their 1st presser was only on the Wednesday(maybe Tuesday?) before the fight in a gym. Both were giving as good as they got and at 1 stage McG started laughing, clapped and was saying "come on" when Nate was firing back barbs. Their 2nd presser was the next day in the MGM, during which McG said he "liked Nick and his little brother" and they had the face off, hand slap incident.

Anyone who thinks this was anymore than just pure late hype for a late notice, non title, headline fight is just nuts. Both the lads have an obvious respect for eachother, more I think since the fight, which is why I've not been a fan of a rematch from the start. I think they should keep them apart for a while, let the dust settle, have a few more fights then reignite the flame.

Its great to know we have so many sports psychologists on boards. They'll be able to tell you the inner thoughts of a man from just a single tweet or throw away comment. Seriously, if in a presser someone like Gareth A Davies said to Conor "We don't believe anyting you say anymore because you got beat last time" he would be laughed out of the building!

You are so far up McGregor's arse I'm surprised you have got an internet connection to post this sh1te

It's not 'shite'. It's obvious. He was pumped for the rematch from mid March to mid April, giving interviews regarding it. Then he went to see Charlie fight, where he was the usual Conor in the post fight interview and then everything changed after that. He gave no further interviews to the Irish media, the one he gave that night was pulled from online. Joe Duffy alluded on his radio show, twice, that they had been trying to contact him and his camp for comment without success and then we see it reported that he had gone to Portugal / Iceland to train. It was there that Conor was in communication with UFC and asked for that leeway with regards to promotion. Just because you can't understand why he might not feel in the right frame of mind to promote a fight after what occurred that week, does not make it shite when others can. You now have Conor himself saying what happened affected him. Not sure what more it would take for you to see the truth in what's been said there.
    If his motivation for not doing the presser's was fear he would never admit it anyways...

Fighters, MMA or otherwise, don't pull out of fights down to fear, particularly fights they have sought out themselves. What utter baloney to suggest that fear played any role whatsoever in Mcgregor not wanting to go to Vegas.
    How could McGregor do a press conference with Nate...what would he say...every single question fired at him would basically be insinuating that he can't back up what he says...it would be a disaster for his brand and his ego.

But he agreed to do the New York presser and all those from mid-June. So what would make Vegas so special he would have such fear of it compared to the others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

It's not 'shite'. It's obvious. He was pumped for the rematch from mid March to mid April, giving interviews regarding it. Then he went to see Charlie fight, where he was the usual Conor in the post fight interview and then everything changed after that. He gave no further interviews to the Irish media, the one he gave that night was pulled from online. Joe Duffy alluded on his radio show, twice, that they had been trying to contact him and his camp for comment without success and then we see it reported that he had gone to Portugal / Iceland to train. It was there that Conor was in communication with UFC and asked for that leeway with regards to promotion. Just because you can't understand why he might not feel in the right frame of mind to promote a fight after what occurred that week, does not make it shite when others can. You now have Conor himself saying what happened affected him. Not sure what more it would take for you to see the truth in what's been said there.
    Joe Duffy dedicated a whole programme the day the fighters passing became known as an I told you so to his audience, why would Conor give him the time of day particularly when he played a clip of Conors comments following the fight in which Joe then made a mockery of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Joe Duffy dedicated a whole programme the day the fighters passing became known as an I told you so to his audience, why would Conor give him the time of day particularly when he played a clip of Conors comments following the fight in which Joe then made a mockery of.

that joe duffy show was one of the scummiest things ive ever heard on radio, it was as if he was delighted with himself it was disgusting!

also just saw somewhere floyd is a reebok guy aswel and apparently reebok are prepared to put down money to make the fight happen, probably bollocks but itd make sense to have the two of em in there be good exposure for the brand! hope this fight doesnt happen but its starting to look more and more likely which is absolutely crazy!

LFNkpVU.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭jones 19

Quote: Cathy.C
    It's not '****e'. It's obvious. He was pumped for the rematch from mid March to mid April, giving interviews regarding it. Then he went to see Charlie fight, where he was the usual Conor in the post fight interview and then everything changed after that. He gave no further interviews to the Irish media, the one he gave that night was pulled from online. Joe Duffy alluded on his radio show, twice, that they had been trying to contact him and his camp for comment without success and then we see it reported that he had gone to Portugal / Iceland to train. It was there that Conor was in communication with UFC and asked for that leeway with regards to promotion. Just because you can't understand why he might not feel in the right frame of mind to promote a fight after what occurred that week, does not make it ****e when others can. You now have Conor himself saying what happened affected him. Not sure what more it would take for you to see the truth in what's been said there.

Cathy C. Can you show some of those interviews of Mc Gregor pumped for the rematch . Mc Gregor said the death of the Portuguese fighter affected him. But days after when he was dicking around on Twitter with that other tool Kavanagh he was having fun with the whole episode. It seems strange behaviour and disrespectful from a guy not in the frame of mind after the death of a fellow fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

How are we looking for getting Conor back on UFC 200 in some capacity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

The UFC 200 ship sailed a long time ago.

Most "reputable" journos are saying the talks are ongoing for 202

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Folks keep it civil - some of you turn into a bunch of 10 year olds when there is any Conor McGregor news. Have a snickers and calm down or warnings will progress to bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

JustTheOne wrote: »
    He would simply say nate one the first one congrats, now we go again and will see.

No big deal.

Yeah, he's the best talker in the UFC, he could make something out of it. It's also not as if McGregor is the first ever trash talker to be beaten and then given a rematch...