Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    52 people were killed in a prison riot in Mexico today. Another 5 with possibly life threatening injuries. And in Ireland we've had 2 gangland killings in the last couple of weeks.

The only thing we're the world capital of is overreacting.

So we are not shipping millions of euros worth of cocaine into Ireland for distribution to the rest of Europe?

Ok so we had two killings, ah sure we are all fine then my mistake.

Go put your head back into the sand son.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

The police in spain have a lot to answer imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

Post ftw so far is "jobsbridge the feck out of them" love it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Gamebred wrote: »
    The police in spain have a lot to answer imo.
    Spain have pretty tough police by most accounts but they do not make much of a job of policing drug gangsters.

Gangsters in Ireland or Spain do not get away with as much as they do without Corrupt Police Officers.

I suppose there are elements political and otherwise that like the colour of their money even if its just in the economy (not direct criminality) this money is welcomed with open arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Well he is ment to be the man in charge isnt he ?

He is the one who signed off at the end of the day on the systemic destruction of the nations justice system and took no positive steps to fix the massive problem that now exists

He is the leader of the government isnt he ?

All this stuff didnt happen on its own you know.

So presumably then before Enda K there was no such thing as drugs, no such thing as gangland?

Jesus wept....yes he's in charge but use a bit of common sense! You can not blame the government for every little thing that goes wrong. It's petty and childish and absolves those truly at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

So presumably then before Enda K there was no such thing as drugs, no such thing as gangland?

Jesus wept....yes he's in charge but use a bit of common sense! You can not blame the government for every little thing that goes wrong. It's petty and childish and absolves those truly at fault.

Enda is our longest serving TD since 1975 - breathe that in .....that's 1970 fcuking 5 longer than I've been born -
    by default above all in the Dail he would have the most time to influence policy on drugs and organised crime or at a minimum speak about it.

Correct me if I'm wrong he has never spoken in favour of legalisation which would cut the cash cow that is drugs from the criminal underworld. Criminals smuggle drugs because there is money there....they will move onto something else but perhaps with less profits there will be less criminals and less bloodshed.

bar a few soundbites has Kenny ever offered a solution to why young people within certain areas gravitate toward crime or how he would intend to limit crime ...no....he is all bluster.

so if politics has any blame for crime (which I believe the state does) then enda kenny is front and centre of that blame.
    Yes he was in opposition for many years but I don't recall any impassioned speech a la joe higgins or tony gregory on crime and drugs from enda.
    None

nineteen seventy five....
    That's 40 years in Dail eireann...at age 24 you think he would be bursting with ideas ...but fcuk me he is just a glorified career civil servant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

What are the those standing for election promising to do about crime ? I dont hear much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

arayess wrote: »
    Enda is our longest serving TD since 1975 - breathe that in .....that's 1970 fcuking 5 longer than I've been born -
    by default above all in the Dail he would have the most time to influence policy on drugs and organised crime or at a minimum speak about it.

Correct me if I'm wrong he has never spoken in favour of legalisation which would cut the cash cow that is drugs from the criminal underworld. Criminals smuggle drugs because there is money there....they will move onto something else but perhaps with less profits there will be less criminals and less bloodshed.

bar a few soundbites have Kenny ever offered a solution to why young people within certain areas gravitate toward crime or how he would entend to limit crime ...now....he is all bluster.

so if politics has any blame for crime (which I believe the state does) then enda kenny is front and centre of that blame.
    Yes he was in opposition for many years but I don't recall any impassioned speech a la joe higgins or tony gregory on crime and drugs from enda.
    None

nineteen seventy five....
    That's 40 years in Dail eireann...at age 24 you think he would be bursting with ideas ...but fcuk me he is just a glorified civil servant.

How long has Gerry been in politics or Michael or Joan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Clutching at more straws than a scarecrow having a ****.

It was a tongue in cheek remark. I was under the impression this was after hours.

We have a school teacher from mayo running the country what do you expect I wouldnt let him look after my dog never mind a country,Im not saying all business experts are never wrong but you can be damn sure a proper ceo would run the country like a business and not have it in ruins the way it is today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

JustTheOne wrote: »
    How long has Gerry been in politics or Michael or Joan?

loads and loads of years - wikipedia has the answers.
    although joan is only in the dail since 1997 (i think ) which is about half the time of our glorious leader.

but it's all whataboutery - Enda has had the power the longest or at least the platform .

In fairness to Gerry , the shinners were are the forefront of anti-drug marches years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

arayess wrote: »
    loads and loads of years - wikipedia has the answers.
    although joan is only in the dail since 1997 (i think ) which is about half the time of our glorious leader.

but it's all whataboutery - Enda has had the power the longest or at least the platform .

In fairness to Gerry , the shinners were are the forefront of anti-drug marches years ago.

Gerry, along with John Hume and many others helped bring peace to Ireland with the GFA.

What exactly are Endas achievements in office??

Edit: Question not directed at arayess, just following on regarding his point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Yeah the whole "due process" thing is just way overrated. Bring back internment and be done with it.

I'm not arguing for internment without trial, I'm arguing for a mandatory minimum sentence of at least ten years for any conviction of violent, gang-related crime. I don't believe in mitigating circumstances where gangland is concerned. If you're involved with a violent criminal gang, regardless of your circumstances, you're a scumbag who knows exactly what you're doing and how it is impacting on the lives of ordinary citizens.

We should also have cascading sentences for previous convictions. In other words, the violent scumbag arrested for possession of a gun should get a higher sentence upon discovery of a long criminal record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

We have a school teacher from mayo running the country what do you expect I wouldnt let him look after my dog never mind a country,Im not saying all business experts are never wrong but you can be damn sure a proper ceo would run the country like a business and not have it in ruins the way it is today.

Except that it's not a business, it's a country. Running a business is easy - money in, money out.

Running a country is a bit different. You don't get to control demand. You don't decide how many people get sick, or how many people will crash their car, or how many will be born.

You're in control of people's lives, not selling them a product or service. It's a different league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

I can't take people who come up with this nonsense seriously.

Enda Kenny was a school teacher for 4 years over 40 years ago. You may as well tell us that we have a school child running the country it was that long ago.

In any case, why is having a previous job as a school teacher seen as a negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Is there anything to be said for letting them all kill each other if they promise to be careful with the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,942 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Iang87 wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for letting them all kill each other if they promise to be careful with the public

Drop them all off on Spike Island and have our own version of Battle Royale. It would be a ratings hit if nothing else.

How's that theory working out for the people of Flint, Michigan? Oh yeah, they all have lead poisoning.

I simply cannot understand people's attitude to the government. You're not electing a God, you're not electing someone to massively and directly change your life and make you rich and happy. You're electing people to manage the day to day boring stuff, whose hands are usually tied by existing forces such as unions etc.

The sad part of this all is that our electorate must once again be bought off, not even a decade after the crash, the worst effects of which came from this ideology, and people are baying for more handouts.

Once again, you're not electing a daddy, how you live your life or succeed is up to you. We need long term stability and common sense in this country, not the whims of petulant children to be addressed day after day like they're the be all and end all.

All the Enda supports out in force today,the man is a puppet farmer that shouldnt be let in control of a country complete cowboy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

All the Enda supports out in force today,the man is a puppet farmer that shouldnt be let in control of a country complete cowboy.

So you're saying he's a teacher that grows puppets.

Ok then.

Valetta wrote: »
    So you're saying he's a teacher that grows puppets.

Ok then.

Don't forget that he's also in control of a cowboy (a country complete one, no less).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I'll never, for the life of me, understand why people expect Enda Kenny to simply click his fingers and solve all the country's problems in one go.

It took 20 odd years for us end up in a recession, things aren't to go back to where they were in 5 or 6 or 7 years. It takes time and tough decisions whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'll never, for the life of me, understand why people expect Enda Kenny to simply click his fingers and solve all the country's problems in one go.

It took 20 odd years for us end up in a recession, things aren't to go back to where they were in 5 or 6 or 7 years. It takes time and tough decisions whether you like it or not.

What's tough about telling judges not to let gangsters walk free from court without even so much as a stern talking to? :confused:

EDIT:
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/retired-judge-slams-number-criminals-6683412
    Former district court judge Michael Patwell said he cannot see any reason for judges reducing jail terms – especially for offenders with dozens of previous convictions.

Looking at a recent burglary case where a 20-year term was reduced to 12, Mr Patwell said suspended sentences should only be used when the individual has a hope of reform.

He said: “To my mind, you only suspend a sentence for people you hope have learned their lesson and will come out and try to go straight.

“A fella with 120 previous convictions has proven he has no interest in going straight.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,942 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

What's tough about telling judges not to let gangsters walk free from court without even so much as a stern talking to? :confused:

EDIT:
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/retired-judge-slams-number-criminals-6683412

because judges dont answer to politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

FYP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

EDIT:

I agree. We seem to have a problem prosecuting serious criminals in this country. I can't understand how these gangs have been allowed to become so powerful. I wonder if we might actually prosecute a banker at some point in the future too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭benny79

I am by know means a FG supporter or like Enda,. I voted labour in the last election more foul me! but FG/Enda have got this Country out of a recession weather you like it or not. One in which FF but us in...

But I mostly think they are as bad as each other. But running a Country calls for tough decisions not to everyone's likening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Anyone have Garda checkpoints page liked on Facebook? They just (16 mins ago) posted this:

Garda Checkpoints Dublin
    16 mins ·
    (((Checkpoint))
    outside Regency hotel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Tilly wrote: »
    Anyone have Garda checkpoints page liked on Facebook? They just (16 mins ago) posted this:

Garda Checkpoints Dublin
    16 mins ·
    (((Checkpoint))
    outside Regency hotel.

Fairly standard procedure, I would have thought.

A week to the day after the shooting they will try and find people who travel that road on a weekly basis in the hope of getting some more info on the happenings last Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You think the Taoiseach should have the power to tell the judiciary what to do?