Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,944 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BMJD wrote: »
    Communities, trust, etc. Not rocket science.

well i would hope that people are not stupid enough to harbour and protect criminals just because the gardai attended an IW protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

JustTheOne wrote: »
    There was a patrol car there within 60 seconds of 999 call.

Do you really think a station still been open would stop these lads?

They don't care either way. Gangland shootings have been happening for years.

230 since 1996.

There was more during the boom when there was the highest amount of gards and stations ever.

But don't let that stop you trying to score points for your party sf by blaming the guberment.

Yeah gangsters tend not to try pull off massive hits on the doorsteps of a copshop.

They're cautious like that.

Sin Fein are my party? lol My enemies enemy chief...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

well i would hope that people are not stupid enough to harbour and protect criminals just because the gardai attended an IW protest.

It is not that difficult to understand is it??

If you were having a particularly bad day and you met a stranger at a bus stop, would you tell them all about it?? No

If you were having a particularly bad day and you met someone you knew and trusted, would you tell them about it?? Yes.

It's the same basis with Gardai, if they are known and trusted they'll pick up info in passing and can build on that. Low level intelligence gathering is vital to an police force, it's why countries around the world try to implement "community policing" schemes.

If they are rarely seen in an area, and only when harassing water protesters, dragging 16yos out of bed at 6am it causes resentment and puts a wedge between communities and the Gardai. We can debate whether it should or not, but the fact is that it does.

It is not that difficult to understand is it??

If you were having a particularly bad day and you met a stranger at a bus stop, would you tell them all about it?? No

If you were having a particularly bad day and you met someone you knew and trusted, would you tell them about it?? Yes.

It's the same basis with Gardai, if they are known and trusted they'll pick up info in passing and can build on that. Low level intelligence gathering is vital to an police force, it's why countries around the world try to implement "community policing" schemes.

If they are rarely seen in an area, and only when harassing water protesters, dragging 16yos out of bed at 6am it causes resentment and puts a wedge between communities and the Gardai. We can debate whether it should or not, but the fact is that it does.

Oh its not difficult to understand. You would have to be intellectually deficient to think that way but there is no shortage of people like that in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Bambi wrote: »
    Yeah gangsters tend not to try pull off massive hits on the doorsteps of a copshop.

They're cautious like that.

Sin Fein are my party? lol My enemies enemy chief...

As someone said earlier there was 2 lads shot seconds after walking out from blanch garda station few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

BMJD wrote: »
    Communities, trust, etc. Not rocket science.

I sincerely hope that the Irish public is not so stupid and petty as to hide away violent gangs just because they don't like Irish Water or the fact that the Gardai were at the protests about it, doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

As someone said earlier there was 2 lads shot seconds after walking out from blanch garda station few years ago.

I remember it was down the road that day , they were actually still on the steps and ran back in

The cop shop argument is not a valid one. A shooting takes seconds it takes cops a few minutes to be notified and get active. Criminals esp on a motorbike are a few miles up the road by then provided they are not dumbasses
    Even having cops nearby doesn't always stop them if they have local knowledge and the desire to succeed.

This killer was on a bicycle in the height of the sherrif street feud and still never caught
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/two-held-over-dublin-gang-killing-1.861007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,406 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Taking the armed Gardai away from Dundalk and N. Louth areas to Dublin.

http://talkofthetown.ie/2016/02/11/armed-gardai-transferred-from-louth-to-dublin/

People are not happy with this in Dundalk as the area has been relatively quiet with all the armed checkpoints in the area. Feck it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭benny79

On prime time tonight following the aftermath of recent shootings 21.00.

The problem in this country is withnesses & prison. No withness is going to stand trial in a gangland murder as they are putting themselves in danger & its well know by the guards and they are powerless to stop it. Take some of the cases in the Limerick feud for example.

Plus prison in this country is a joke, time spent and doing the time with tellys playstations high end gyms etc.. The likes of the Larry Murphy's should be giving life sentences not let back out... (just an example)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭benny79

The problem in this country is withnesses & prison. No withness is going to stand trial in a gangland murder as they are putting themselves in danger & its well know by the guards and they are powerless to stop it. Take some of the cases in the Limerick feud for example.

Plus prison in this country is a joke, time spent and doing the time with tellys playstations high end gyms etc.. The likes of the Larry Murphy's should be giving life sentences not let back out... (just an example)

benny79 wrote: »

that is why we have the Special Criminal Court

Gardai have ample resources to take on these people.
    They have ERU, sophisticated surveillance techniques, helicopters and masses of informers.
    Boosting their resources wouldn't have stopped any of this.

Where they have failed inexplicably though is in not having any intelligence gathering units at this weigh in.
    We're talking about a massive cartel.
    One of the biggest criminals in Ireland broadcast that he would be there.
    Him being someone who it seems sets foot here fairly rarely.
    The special branch used to religiously stake out every republican event there was
    Watching this event would have seemed to be a forefone conclusion.
    Lack of resources can't be blamed here.
    This was a Garda fcuk up no matter what.

That's not to mention round two.
    Showy armed checkpoints everywhere, except close enough to the main reprisal target's family home.
    This is basic stuff and hard to understand how it wasn't done right.

I'd be fairly confident if there was one or two undercover gardai at the scene, they wouldn't have been able to do anything. Handguns vs ak's just doesn't cut it.
    The commissioner will hardly come out & say there was or wasn't undercover gardai there.

'Special Branch' do monitor Republican events, this was not one of them.

It's fairly lazy to just blame gardai for people committing crime.
    And maybe this ocg are very organised, only trust people they know they can, keep things tight? You can hardly blame gardai for criminals managing to keep their mouths shut.

There are many reasons why people get involved in crime & why these criminal gangs feel like they are invincible.
    Gardai are not perfect, but you cannot blame this on a Garda **** up.

How the NDU wasn't there in any shape or form is beyond belief.

NDU?

bubblypop wrote: »
    NDU?

NDU = National Detective Unit

LOL.
    No such thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

National Drugs Unit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

National Drugs Unit

still no such thing

there used o be a GNDU Garda National Drugs Unit

but they got rid of it and folded the remainder into DOCB Drugs and organised Crime Unit with vastly reduced numbers and resources

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drugs_and_Organised_Crime_Bureau

All hail Enda !

mynamejeff wrote: »
    still no such thing

there used o be a GNDU Garda National Drugs Unit

but they got rid of it and folded the remainder into DOCB Drugs and organised Crime Unit with vastly reduced numbers and resources

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drugs_and_Organised_Crime_Bureau

All hail Enda !

Was waiting for someone to blame enda for the shootings.

Is there anything in this country people don't blame enda Kenny on?

Maybe the weather.

Was waiting for someone to blame enda for the shootings.

Is there anything in this country people don't blame enda Kenny on?

Maybe the weather.

Well he is ment to be the man in charge isnt he ?

He is the one who signed off at the end of the day on the systemic destruction of the nations justice system and took no positive steps to fix the massive problem that now exists

He is the leader of the government isnt he ?

All this stuff didnt happen on its own you know.

yes I blame him for the increasing rise in demand for bland 70's middle aged haircuts, the ill fitting suit trend and rise in ventriliquism!!

itsd one thing to sound like a dummy but to look, dress and act like a marionette is a skill in itself!! now who's really pulling the strings.

watch him tonight on tv3, CIA training stuff. the shallow breath after every sentence..

Well he is ment to be the man in charge isnt he ?

He is the one who signed off at the end of the day on the systemic destruction of the nations justice system and took no positive steps to fix the massive problem that now exists

He is the leader of the government isnt he ?

All this stuff didnt happen on its own you know.

So there was never gangland shootings before him?

Actually gangland shootings are down since he has been in charge.

Ff closed templemore because of the recession.

So there was never gangland shootings before him?

Actually gangland shootings are down since he has been in charge.

Ff closed templemore because of the recession.

AAAAaahhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaa are you actually suggesting that enda kennys government contributed to a reduction in gangland murders ?????

What did enda do to help the justice system ?

less gardai less stations less resources and now ireland cannot protect itself from organised criminals

that is why we have the Special Criminal Court

Which is why the beardy terrorist wants it abolished!
    It takes away the right to intimidate someone who is using the law to tell lies about someone!

AAAAaahhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaa are you actually suggesting that enda kennys government contributed to a reduction in gangland murders ?????

What did enda do to help the justice system ?

less gardai less stations less resources and now ireland cannot protect itself from organised criminals

No but are you suggesting Ireland didn't have a problem with gangland murders before enda took charge?

What about Shane geoghan or Anthony Campbells murders?

They happened before enda, the then government weren't doing much to protect society from criminals then were they?

I'm just saying blaming enda for Irelands gangland murders is ridiculous. They have been happening for years. Remember Veronica Guerin? 1996?

No but are you suggesting Ireland didn't have a problem with gangland murders before enda took charge?

They happened before enda, the then government weren't doing much to protect society from criminals then were they?

I'm just saying blaming enda for Irelands gangland murders is ridiculous. They have been happening for years. Remember Veronica Guerin? 1996?

What about Jerry McCabe, Brian Fitzgerald, Roy Collins and the list of about 200 ganglands other victims?
    Enda is a dick, but it's got nothing to do with a reduction in policing that has caused already well armed gangsters to do what they've always done, which is laugh at the Gardai.

What about Jerry McCabe, Brian Fitzgerald, Roy Collins and the list of about 200 ganglands other victims?
    Enda is a dick, but it's got nothing to do with a reduction in policing that has caused already well armed gangsters to do what they've always done, which is laugh at the Gardai.

Spot on.

your not understanding my point

What has enda done to make the situation better ?

what positive actions has the leader of

as leader of the nation what has enda done to ensure the safety of the population ?

your not understanding my point

What has enda done to make the situation better ?

what positive actions has the leader of

as leader of the nation what has enda done to ensure the safety of the population ?
    What do you suggest?
    Load up on Ak47s and go sort it?
    Or should he hire the Expendables?

Which is why the beardy terrorist wants it abolished!
    It takes away the right to intimidate someone who is using the law to tell lies about someone!

Sometimes it is really hard to tell when somebody is being sarcastic :D