Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭flanna01

Pablo fella - I agree, the Limerick bunch were not the sharpest tools in the box.

None-the-less... 24/7 in your face is the answer.

No citizen in this country (Let alone the capital), should live in fear of coke fuelled wannabe gangsters - That's just not happening.

Why do people fear these idiots? Are they hard men? Men of power?

In truth, they are a bunch of reprobates that couldn't hack the ethics of working society... They chose to be runners, dealers, enforcers, mules for the rich that didn't want to take the risk.... It really is as simple as that.

The guys that went into the Regency hotel didn't go there off their own bat... They were instructed to go there, by the the men with the millions that couldn't give a hoot if they spent the rest of their lives in prison.... And if they talked, they too, would be rubbed out... Pleeease..!! If they can't see they are nothing but cannon fodder what hope is there for them??

A real 'hard man', is a man with a family, working 50hrs+ a week on minimum pay, with his job in the balance... He lies awake most nights trying to figure out how to make ends meet....!

Gangsters = Hard men my arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

flanna01 wrote: »
    The guys that went into the Regency hotel didn't go there off their own bat... They were instructed to go there, by the the men with the millions that couldn't give a hoot if they spent the rest of their lives in prison.... And if they talked, they too, would be rubbed out... Pleeease..!! If they can't see they are nothing but cannon fodder what hope is there for them??

I don't think these guys were cannon fodder though. Two of them were photographed near the hotel and they have been identified as known republicans from the border area, South Tyrone, if I remember correctly. Looks like a man and woman from the pics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Pablo fella - I agree, the Limerick bunch were not the sharpest tools in the box.

None-the-less... 24/7 in your face is the answer.

No citizen in this country (Let alone the capital), should live in fear of coke fuelled wannabe gangsters - That's just not happening.

Why do people fear these idiots? Are they hard men? Men of power?

In truth, they are a bunch of reprobates that couldn't hack the ethics of working society... They chose to be runners, dealers, enforcers, mules for the rich that didn't want to take the risk.... It really is as simple as that.

A real 'hard man', is a man with a family, working 50hrs+ a week on minimum pay, with his job in the balance... He lies awake most nights trying to figure out how to make ends meet....!

Gangsters = Hard men my arse!

What gets me is the way they're in the papers all of the time and still swan about in the best of cars tanned to the hilt from trips to Spain. Not a bother on them.

You would think they would just sit back and enjoy the millions out of the way somewhere, but they don't know when to stop. It's usually greed that gets them in the end, one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

RainyDay wrote: »
    I agree, to an extent. I'm not sure that as a society, that we are really ready for the solution you propose. We'd need to be building one or two more prisons, and all the associated cost and manpower. Do we really want this?

I don't think we need to. There are a lot of people in both youth and adult prisons doing time for petty non-violent and victimless offences who could be released, and also I have suggested house arrests and electronic tagging as an alternative to prison - my point simply being that by whatever means, somebody who is a known scumbag should not enjoy all the freedoms of an innocent person, whether in prison or out of it.

EDIT: Let's suppose I'm a "gangland figure well known to the Gardai". If I can't be jailed, why can't I be electronically tagged so that a Garda can log on to PULSE at any time and see my GPS location, such that if there is a major crime (like the Tipp burglary I have referenced), once it is reported to the Gardai, a Garda can straight away log on to PULSE and pull up that location at the time of the offense, and get an immediate readout of every known, tagged scumbag who was present at the location at that time? In this day and age, that wouldn't even be all that costly to implement. And if I were to tamper with or otherwise bamboozle said device, then I would be looking at a mandatory prison term.

There are plenty of possible solutions. But allowing people to continue to live entirely freely after they have spend the majority of their adult life making others' lives a misery is not one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Berserker wrote: »
    I don't think these guys were cannon fodder though. Two of them were photographed near the hotel and they have been identified as known republicans from the border area, South Tyrone, if I remember correctly. Looks like a man and woman from the pics.

Where did you read their known republicans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Larsso30

Seriously.... This thread is getting over run by the finger pointers, do gooders, and moral high ground merchants..

For clarity - No politician is going to make an ounce of difference to Dublins gangland and the country's drug trade (Once people understand that very basic principle, we can move on)

If the Garda did this, or did that... Or if more money was available, or maybe not shutting down so many Garda stations...Blah, blah, blah....

Typically.... Every armchair punter knows best (knows where to point the finger..) - If this, if that...... If the Queen had ball's she'd be the King!!

Let me propose a tried and tested solution... Surely everybody still remembers Limerick and their gangland problems??

The City put 24/7 in your face, around the clock surveillance on all the gangs leadership.... The ERU was waiting for them on their doorsteps every morning, were they were duly searched and followed for the rest of the day.

Eventually, word got around that they were under intense Garda scrutiny, the associates stopped calling, the suppliers stopped supplying, and the whole gang imploded in a matter of weeks....

Problem solved!!

The same should happen in the big smoke... 24/7 in your face!! Let them all bugger off to Spain, Amsterdam, England, the North Pole - Who Cares!!!

No more pussy footing around - No more talking, time to do what's right!!

but thats the thing, the main players all have buggered off abroad, but still rule the roost from there ordering murders like its pizza

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I am surprise that the government haven't suspended electioneering as a mark of Respect to the Gangsters !

They certainly don't make much effort to inconvenience the Gangsters generally.

If your general behaviour is to stand back and admire gangsters in Action then surely you should give "Respect" to Gangster funerals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I am surprise that the government haven't suspended electioneering as a mark of Respect to the Gangsters !

They certainly don't make much effort to inconvenience the Gangsters generally.

If your general behaviour is to stand back and admire gangsters in Action then surely you should give "Respect" to Gangster funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

EDIT: Let's suppose I'm a "gangland figure well known to the Gardai". If I can't be jailed, why can't I be electronically tagged so that a Garda can log on to PULSE at any time and see my GPS location, such that if there is a major crime (like the Tipp burglary I have referenced), once it is reported to the Gardai, a Garda can straight away log on to PULSE and pull up that location at the time of the offense, and get an immediate readout of every known, tagged scumbag who was present at the location at that time? In this day and age, that wouldn't even be all that costly to implement. And if I were to tamper with or otherwise bamboozle said device, then I would be looking at a mandatory prison term..

I'm certain I heard a discussion on the radio in recent days that provisions for electronic tagging already exist in legislation, but for some reason nobody can be arsed implementing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

I don't think we need to. There are a lot of people in both youth and adult prisons doing time for petty non-violent and victimless offences who could be released,
    Are you sure about this? Given that they didn't have room for Mick Wallace and Clare daly, I'm not sure that there are loads of folks inside for petty offences.
    Iand also I have suggested house arrests and electronic tagging as an alternative to prison - my point simply being that by whatever means, somebody who is a known scumbag should not enjoy all the freedoms of an innocent person, whether in prison or out of it.

EDIT: Let's suppose I'm a "gangland figure well known to the Gardai". If I can't be jailed, why can't I be electronically tagged so that a Garda can log on to PULSE at any time and see my GPS location, such that if there is a major crime (like the Tipp burglary I have referenced), once it is reported to the Gardai, a Garda can straight away log on to PULSE and pull up that location at the time of the offense, and get an immediate readout of every known, tagged scumbag who was present at the location at that time? In this day and age, that wouldn't even be all that costly to implement. And if I were to tamper with or otherwise bamboozle said device, then I would be looking at a mandatory prison term.

I don't think you can tag somebody 'just in case', Maybe it could be done as part of extended probation terms, or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,941 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BMJD wrote: »
    I'm certain I heard a discussion on the radio in recent days that provisions for electronic tagging already exist in legislation, but for some reason nobody can be arsed implementing it.

but you must first either find them guilty of an offence or they must be currently on bail.

well there's no shortage of either, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,941 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BMJD wrote: »
    well there's no shortage of either, is there?

Is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I'd say the wake of todays funeral will be tense to say the least ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I'd say the wake of todays funeral will be tense to say the least ..

It'll one of the safest places in the country right now. Wonder how much all this costs the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Walked past it on the way into college.

A great day to rob a bank cos I think every armed guard in the country was in the proximity of the funeral.

It was like something out of The Wire.

Is there?

Multiple convictions, many people on bail, loads on TR...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Berserker wrote: »

Did witnesses not say that they were shouting at people to move in Dublin accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭stoller

Tilly wrote: »
    It'll one of the safest places in the country right now. Wonder how much all this costs the state.

This is whats on my mind. All these resources tied up in one area to protect a low life funeral of a scummer who was shot in a gang war. let these idiots kill eachother. The less of them on the streets the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

stoller wrote: »
    This is whats on my mind. All these resources tied up in one area to protect a low life funeral of a scummer who was shot in a gang war. let these idiots kill eachother. The less of them on the streets the better.

Think of all the innocent people with no involvement in crime attending the funeral, especially the women and children. They can't run the risk of another atrocity occuring in public.

RainyDay wrote: »
    Are you sure about this? Given that they didn't have room for Mick Wallace and Clare daly, I'm not sure that there are loads of folks inside for petty offences.

Well if we reformed our drugs laws so that buying and selling in and of themselves (without associated violence, hitman enforced debt collection etc) were no longer crimes, I'd suspect we could release a lot of people. There are plenty of dealers who never actually get involved in the drive by shootings side of things but still get jailed under our archaic "your body is not entirely yours" laws. Also, folks who get jailed for contempt over non payment of fines etc - sure, there needs to be a method of enforcement but if that kind of sh!te means that the guy who is going around beating people up for the craic can't be put behind bars, then our priorities are f*cked.
    I don't think you can tag somebody 'just in case', Maybe it could be done as part of extended probation terms, or similar.

Well we could draft new laws. Think of it like a life sentence but not actually in custody, just a life sentence (or just of many years) of being under electronic surveillance, due to one's known propensity for scumbaggery. And you could design the system such that the Gardai couldn't keep tabs on you by looking you up by name - rather, when a crime is reported, they could pull up the location and time of that crime on the map, and get a list of all known scumbags who were present at that location. So for instance, if I'm a known gang member and there's a shooting in a particular city pub, they can pull up that pub's GPS co-ordinates and see that I was there at the time of the shooting. At the very least, that would be enough to make me a "person of interest" to the enquiry. But it would also protect your privacy, since they couldn't just look at you specifically by name and make a list of every hookup you have and every night out you go on.

Also finally bear in mind that I'm not suggesting any of this for people who are first time or small time offenders. I would bet every cent I have to my name that the people who partook in the two Dublin shootings last week were not people who have never come to the attention of the Gardai before. These are the people we need to be keeping a semi-permanent tab on.

stoller wrote: »
    Think of all the innocent people with no involvement in crime attending the funeral, especially the women and children. They can't run the risk of another atrocity occuring in public.

This. My college is on the same road that funeral was taking place on, not to mention this guy's family and childhood friends who are more likely innocent civilians than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

Anyone invited to the 'afters'?

Pity the poor pub owner that has to house that bunch of knackers for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

McGowans in Harold's Cross is very unfortunately situated...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Anyone invited to the 'afters'?

Pity the poor pub owner that has to house that bunch of knackers for the night.

I've drank there.
    Very surprised to be honest. Usually they are only too keen to keep undesirables away.

Apparently it's surrounded by cops at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

A mate of mine that drinks in the belgard heard at the weekend it was on there. Now I've heard from two separate people that there's a lot of police and check points around the belgard this evening. Whether it's the wake or something else going on we'll find out soon enough. It seems very far away for them but you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

I'd say there'll be about dozen pubs in various locations around Dublin tonight were people are hearing through the grapevine that the wake is being held in there local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Duvetdays wrote: »
    A mate of mine that drinks in the belgard heard at the weekend it was on there. Now I've heard from two separate people that there's a lot of police and check points around the belgard this evening. Whether it's the wake or something else going on we'll find out soon enough. It seems very far away for them but you never know.

Yep, heard the same.
    A lot of Gardai swarming around the Belgard housing estates at the moment.

I'm surprised they allowed it. I've heard of them closing their doors when other 'rough' funerals are coming into the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

Yep, heard the same.
    A lot of Gardai swarming around the Belgard housing estates at the moment.

I'm surprised they allowed it. I've heard of them closing their doors when other 'rough' funerals are coming into the area.

Ya, armed Gardai have sealed off all approaches to the pub since 1400 today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Where did you read their known republicans?

In the I love Fg Labour thread, That's the media spin on it. Never told anyone that they're dissidents. Let the public make the connection to SF, sure they said in the Sunday business post, that they were going to terrify us for the next 10 days.

Go team Ireland, and no , I'm not a shinner, just sick of the rubbish. Enda Kenny mentioned FF 43 times in their manifesto...??? JESUS CHRIST??

Why don't we ask Maria Cahill about these people since she was a dissident republican, and is now a Labour senator.