Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Running Chaos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

martyboy48 wrote: »
    THe 10k the was postponed a couple of weeks back is rescheduled for 24 Jan.... I will do sub 40 there... I will....

Well, sweet taste of sub 40?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

tang1 wrote: »
    Well, sweet taste of sub 40?

Bitter taste of closer to 41 :eek::eek:

Trouble login in on desktop so will post a catch up now :)

Monday 18/01/2016 5 miles @ 8:15

Tuesday 19/01/2016 7 miles @ 7:49

Wednesday 20/01/2016 10 miles @ 8:10

Thursday 21/01/2016 6 miles @ 8:12

Friday 22/01/2016 20 miles @ 8:21

Saturday 23/01/2016 Rest

Sunday 24/01/2016 6.2 miles @ 6:34 (BDN 10k)

Monday 25/01/2016 Rest

Tuesday 26/01/2016 7 miles @ 8:19

Well, that's where I am now. Not much to nota apart from the 10k last Sunday. Felt good going into it but by 5k I could feel the lack of go in the legs... Effort level was high and I kept battling throughout but just didn't have it in the legs... Kept pushing to the end and passed a couple in the last 100mtrs or so, but that's about it. 40:50 chip time... Good bit off target but still believe I'm there or thereabouts, I just need to get out of this dip in form.
    I'm chalking it down as a good workout if nothing else.

Priorities still stand at joining a club and Rotterdam marathon...
    Closing in on both......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Go on & sign up with the club! Consistent intervals & speed work will have you looking at sub 38/39 in 12 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Marty, ya ran 20 miles 2 days before the race!!! Ffs obvs you weren't gonna be on the top of your game! You're not superman! Put into context it's a super result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Ososlo wrote: »
    Marty, ya ran 20 miles 2 days before the race!!! Ffs obvs you weren't gonna be on the top of your game! You're not superman! Put into context it's a super result!

+1 and you knocked out a good 20miler, chin up. Have you gone along to try a session with any clubs yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Neady83 wrote: »
    +1 and you knocked out a good 20miler, chin up. Have you gone along to try a session with any clubs yet?

another + 1 to this, no race taper?! that's a great result given no taper & a 20 miler, well done MB :)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Go on & sign up with the club! Consistent intervals & speed work will have you looking at sub 38/39 in 12 months.
    It's becoming clearer as the months pass how much of a benefit the club scene is. Bit ambitious with your sub 38/39 though methinks :)
    Ososlo wrote: »
    I AM SUPERMAN... Or batman, or whatever :D:D I have costumes for all occasions :D:D:D
    Cheers S :), not to down about that result at all. It told me what I already knew about where I am :) .
    Haven't been to any clubs yet. Plan is to do it this week. Athenry or Galway city harriers.... I'm swayed towards one, but timing issues may come into play.... Stay tuned :)
    Firedance wrote: »
    another + 1 to this, no race taper?! that's a great result given no taper & a 20 miler, well done MB :)

Thanks A, I'm not a believer in tapering for short races, maybe I should have ran the previous run as a true easy run or even recovery, idk.
    But I'm sure I'd still be off the pace to some degree :)

All good now though, feel like i'm getting somewhere :)

Wednesday 27/01/2016 7 miles @ 8:04

Thursday 28/01/2016 5 miles @ 8:26

Friday 29/01/2016 Rest

Saturday 30/01/2016 7 miles @ 7:36

Sunday 31/01/2016 20 miles @ 8:30

That's it for now... Nothing of note except Thursdays run didn't happen until nearly 10:30pm.... Felt weird going out that hour or two later :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

I AM SUPERMAN... Or batman, or whatever :D:D I have costumes for all occasions :D:D:D

Now why doesn't that surprise me ha ha :D

Monday 01/02/2016 Rest

Tuesday 02/02/2016 10 miles @ 8:08

Another late run this evening. Some strong gusts still about, plus some cold stinging rain for good measure :)

I've just registered for your local Half Marathon, jayzis prices are much higher that side of the country :D and what's with all the hills????
    The early miles of the half marathon are a series of gentle uphill sections leading to the first major right hand turn and the most scenic part of the course. There’s a steep hill at around mile 11 but its a looped course so where there’s an up there’s a down!

where are the down bits!!??? :D

I've just registered for your local Half Marathon, jayzis prices are much higher that side of the country :D and what's with all the hills????

Highjack ...... you're coming to Kinvara? yeaeeeeeeeeeee. It's a brilliant run, I couldn't recommend it enough. Sconhome gave me a sage piece of advice before this last year- keep it steady until after the hill at mile 11 then give it socks and empty the tank and he was so right.

I'm thinking of doing the half- a boardsie reunion West of the Shannon :)

Highjack ...... you're coming to Kinvara? yeaeeeeeeeeeee. It's a brilliant run, I couldn't recommend it enough. Sconhome gave me a sage piece of advice before this last year- keep it steady until after the hill at mile 11 then give it socks and empty the tank and he was so right.

I'm thinking of doing the half- a boardsie reunion West of the Shannon :)

ha ha thanks Neady! yep, heading west for the half!! think there's a few Rotterdam crew doing it, a boardsie outing sounds like a super plan!!

Whoohoooo :D:D

Will you not get a nose bleed when you cross the Shannon though with the culture shock :D:D

It really isn't that hilly at all, there's the on at 11 miles alright, but you'll be over it before you know it :D:D

Wednesday 03/02/2016 5 miles @ 8:30

Thursday 04/02/2016 7 miles @ 7:43

Friday 05/02/2016 10 miles @ 7:05

Saturday 06/02/2016 4 miles @ 8:20

Sunday 07/02/2016 15 miles @ 8:19

Monday 08/02/2016 5 miles @ 8:49

Still plugging away... Brought Sundays long run back to 15 miles
    in anticipation of donadea next weekend. Looking forward to it now..

Small bit of a bug at the moment, nothing major just a dickie tummy, so I'm minding myself this week.

Read the Rotterdam thread the last night and got into a bit of a panic myself as I hadn't booked flights or accommodation.
    So, as I was well fuelled with beer, I went and booked everything in a half arsed kinda way :D:D

Staying in the Art hotel about 3 miles down the road.... Because I'm like... Arty...... :D

Wednesday 03/02/2016 5 miles @ 8:30

Thursday 04/02/2016 7 miles @ 7:43

Friday 05/02/2016 10 miles @ 7:05

Saturday 06/02/2016 4 miles @ 8:20

Sunday 07/02/2016 15 miles @ 8:19

Monday 08/02/2016 5 miles @ 8:49

Still plugging away... Brought Sundays long run back to 15 miles
    in anticipation of donadea next weekend. Looking forward to it now..

Small bit of a bug at the moment, nothing major just a dickie tummy, so I'm minding myself this week.

Read the Rotterdam thread the last night and got into a bit of a panic myself as I hadn't booked flights or accommodation.
    So, as I was well fuelled with beer, I went and booked everything in a half arsed kinda way :D:D

Staying in the Art hotel about 3 miles down the road.... Because I'm like... Arty...... :D

How will I recognise you Saturday to cheer(abuse)? Helping ultraman1 out with a bit of marshalling.

What's an ultraman1 :p:p

I'm not sure what ensemble I'll go with yet but I'll post my
    decision on Friday :D:D

Fair play for marshalling, hopefully a dry day for ye :)
    What's an ultraman1 :p:p

A Godlike creature :D

Tuesday 09/02/2016 7 miles @ 7:33

Wednesday 10/02/2016 Rest

1st mile on Tuesdays run was a bit of a dodgy reading but thankfully
    the reading settles down after it.
    Enjoyable run though, and I seem to be getting over this bug so all good.

Just sorting out a few last minute jobs before Saturdays trip east, looking forward to it.

Tuesday 09/02/2016 7 miles @ 7:33

Wednesday 10/02/2016 Rest

1st mile on Tuesdays run was a bit of a dodgy reading but thankfully
    the reading settles down after it.
    Enjoyable run though, and I seem to be getting over this bug so all good.

Just sorting out a few last minute jobs before Saturdays trip east, looking forward to it.

Go knock it out of the park tomorrow Martyboy and most of all, enjoy :) Looking forward to a report :)

+1 to that! I'll be there for a while tomorrow, hopefully get a chance to hook up, will bring some home made banana bread although I can't promise there'll be any left for the participants :D

Cheers neady, not racing it as far as I know, final plan will be made up around 9:50 :-D
    Firedance/ tang / anyone else come say hi..
    Blue runners green laces black gloves athenry 10k hat, dodgy Japanese import car with blacked out Windows....

I'm the quiet good looking young fella with some hair :-D :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Cheers neady, not racing it as far as I know, final plan will be made up around 9:50 :-D
    Firedance/ tang / anyone else come say hi..
    Blue runners green laces black gloves athenry 10k hat, dodgy Japanese import car with blacked out Windows....

I'm the quiet good looking young fella with some hair :-D :-D

Hmm, runners, gloves & hat ?? You might want a bit more or you'll freeze ;)

Best of luck tomorrow Marty - enjoy it :)

Well done today!!! Great to finally meet you :pac: roll on (see what I did there?...) Kinvara :D

Fup sake Marty, 4.09 for 50k on a training run for Rotterdam, crazy man you are but nothing but admiration for you for doing it, fair play to you.

Fup sake Marty, 4.09 for 50k on a training run

:eek: :eek: hats off to you, that's fair going. Um, did you race it or was that just a training run?

Well done today!!! Great to finally meet you :pac: roll on (see what I did there?...) Kinvara :D

It'll be over before we know it :D
    Fup sake Marty, 4.09 for 50k on a training run for Rotterdam, crazy man you are but nothing but admiration for you for doing it, fair play to you.

Cheers B, thanks for the support again. I think that run will help me as much as hinder me. Even though I was fairly tired towards the end, I'm feeling positive about how it went and how I feel now.
    Kinvara in a little over 2 weeks will be a right revelation in either direction, but I've noticed my love of running coming back after leaving me for a bit :)
    :eek: :eek: hats off to you, that's fair going. Um, did you race it or was that just a training run?

Thanks Neady, you all set for Kinvara yourself??
    Loose plan was go in gently for about 10 miles, throw in about 10 faster miles, and then an easyish 10.
    I was open to change it a little but not a whole lot. Main aim was to complete it and get those faster miles in the mid section.
    The last few "easy" miles were tough going though but was glad to get it done and dusted :)