Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    You can throw in Eoin Murphy from the Shamrocks as well Archie, not bad going at all.

Thought myself that Shane Fives was in with a real shout this year as well, he had a great year.

God I completely forgot Eoin Murphy. Apologies to any Shamrocks posters on here,there was no intention on my behalf to leave him out. I'm sure Kevin Tobin in Abbeyside would have reminded me anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

lads what odds on Tadhg winning young hurler? I thought Mannion had that in the bag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Deise_2012 wrote: »
    lads what odds on Tadhg winning young hurler? I thought Mannion had that in the bag

5/1 before the all ireland semi, at which point Aussie was fav at 6/4.

33/1 after That game, when Mannion got 5 from play and was 1/5 to win it.

And then 3/1 after the all ireland final when Mannion was subdued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Deise_2012 wrote: »

Just heard Tadhg got it.

Hope it's true, absolutely thrilled for the lad if it is.

Just heard Tadhg got it.

Hope it's true, absolutely thrilled for the lad if it is.

Yeah he won it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,435 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Fantastic stuff. Well done tadgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Yeah he won it

Is Tadhg our first YHOTY?

I'd say he is alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,435 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Yep, although he's been claimed by tipp on wiki at the mo
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/All_Stars_Young_Hurler_of_the_Year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Well done to Stradbally. Interesting to hear manager Packo Curran say they're going to celebrate tonight despite having a munster club game 24hrs later. Possibly shows two fingers to whoever fixed the matches like this?

The match is on Sunday, I'd say they know themselves it's all tall order. Didn't expect to see themselves back like this after last year, but beat the other two big guns so well deserved.

3 years since they last won it so every right to celebrate it.

The match is on Sunday, I'd say they know themselves it's all tall order. Didn't expect to see themselves back like this after last year, but beat the other two big guns so well deserved.

3 years since they last won it so every right to celebrate it.

Match is tommorow. never said they dont have the right to celebrate, just thought maybe they wouldnt celebrate tonight with the match being tommorow, but its their decision. i suppose if they lose tommorow anyway it would be a bit of an anti-climax celebrating tommorow. Its the right thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

If anyone didn't see it the News and Star Club team of the year

Shaun O Sullivan

Darragh Lyons
    Barry Coughlan
    Noel Connors

Dermot Ryan
    Philip Mahony - Player of the year
    Shane Walsh

David O Sullivan
    Shane O Sullivan

Craig Guiry
    Thomas Ryan
    Ryan Grey

Brian O Sullivan
    Patrick Curran
    Mickey Kearney

Dunno if Brian and David O Sullivan would be willing to come back to the panel - very good all year. Thomas Ryan maybe but that would at the expence of the favured younger players.

Ye'd wonder why Ryan Grey wasn't on the minor team given his size and the size of the forwards we had.

Ballygunner have a challenge to both see how good they are and stay in the comp till possibly Paudie Mahony is back next year

Ballygunner v Glen Rvrs is on TG4 deferred tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

So Stradbally were predictably beaten out the gate tonight.

Crazy scheduling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Deskjockey wrote: »
    So Stradbally were predictably beaten out the gate tonight.

Crazy scheduling

I tought Cork county board were bad. But Waterford are a joke. Playing a County Final in November ye are a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

I tought Cork county board were bad. But Waterford are a joke. Playing a County Final in November ye are a shambles.

All the talk of burn out in the GAA and yet this is acceptable? Its as farcical as the mighty Cork losing the McGrath Cup to minnows like us at the start of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

Packo was ragging on the radio today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Why did this game need to take place on a Saturday night also!?

The extra night of sleep and recovery with a Sunday game would have a big difference.

hardybuck wrote: »
    Why did this game need to take place on a Saturday night also!?

The extra night of sleep and recovery with a Sunday game would have a big difference.

Think they were on a hiding to nothing anyway. After initially questioning it, and I know you might say its not the same celebrating the night after after losing, but at least it means they were able to get some value out of the weekend before going back to work Monday.

Would a morale defeat have been anymore beneficial than a comfortable defeat in the circumstances?

Think they were on a hiding to nothing anyway. After initially questioning it, and I know you might say its not the same celebrating the night after after losing, but at least it means they were able to get some value out of the weekend before going back to work Monday.

Would a morale defeat have been anymore beneficial than a comfortable defeat in the circumstances?

From a player welfare point of view, playing two games within 24 hours of each other is more than just a joke, it's dangerous. 48 hours - not ideal, but at least they've some chance of recovery.

The more I think of it they probably shouldn't have togged on Saturday night at all. They've been treated very poorly as players and as a club, and they shouldn't be messed around like that.

The more I think about the messing around that's going on down there fixtures wise the madder I get. It's simply not good enough.

From a player welfare point of view, playing two games within 24 hours of each other is more than just a joke, it's dangerous. 48 hours - not ideal, but at least they've some chance of recovery.

The more I think of it they probably shouldn't have togged on Saturday night at all. They've been treated very poorly as players and as a club, and they shouldn't be messed around like that.

The more I think about the messing around that's going on down there fixtures wise the madder I get. It's simply not good enough.

Same story all told across the Country. Think the GAA need to take the lead.

Happened with Portlaoise this year, and Cratloe two years ago. Not good enough. Agree the probably shouldn't have bothered togging out, fairplay to them for doing so though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

Don't be ridiculous. That should not have happened in Waterford and was not ideal preparation but to call it dangerous is very far fetched. It's only an hour long, there are guys who train to run marathons daily!

Any comparison between footballers and marathon runners is completely null and void. Incomparable.

Recovery and injury are intrinsically linked however.

In fact we're in future years only begin to fully understand the damage caused to GAA players by lack of recovery time in their schedules.

Ht Glen 0-8 Ballygunner 0-3. Philip Mahony sent off, gunners in trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭5948ai

Tide has turned in second half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,622 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Big congrats to Ballygunner Paul Foley is looking down on them .the final will be tough with possibly the all Ireland favourites in the other semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

Any comparison between footballers and marathon runners is completely null and void. Incomparable.

Recovery and injury are intrinsically linked however.

In fact we're in future years only begin to fully understand the damage caused to GAA players by lack of recovery time in their schedules.

Bla, bla, bla (no pun intended). On a once off basis, games on consecutive days are a threat to nobody health-wise. It's a disgrace, but it ain't dangerous. If it was, I certainly couldn't condone Stradbally's "celebration" that buffered the two games, surely that was just making a bad situation worse?

If you want me to give you an example that's closer to home, intercounty training camps are infinitely more intense, they might include full-length games on consecutive days in addition to other training all within a 48 to 72 hour period, minus the mid-interval drinking session of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Gary Gurny

3ships wrote: »
    If anyone didn't see it the News and Star Club team of the year

Shaun O Sullivan

Darragh Lyons
    Barry Coughlan
    Noel Connors

Dermot Ryan
    Philip Mahony - Player of the year
    Shane Walsh

David O Sullivan
    Shane O Sullivan

Craig Guiry
    Thomas Ryan
    Ryan Grey

Brian O Sullivan
    Patrick Curran
    Mickey Kearney

Dunno if Brian and David O Sullivan would be willing to come back to the panel - very good all year. Thomas Ryan maybe but that would at the expence of the favured younger players.

Ye'd wonder why Ryan Grey wasn't on the minor team given his size and the size of the forwards we had.

Ballygunner have a challenge to both see how good they are and stay in the comp till possibly Paudie Mahony is back next year

Ballygunner v Glen Rvrs is on TG4 deferred tomorrow

Absolutely amazed at darragh Lyons inclusion.! That chap seems to be on every team in the county but don't know how or why.

Bla, bla, bla (no pun intended). On a once off basis, games on consecutive days are a threat to nobody health-wise. It's a disgrace, but it ain't dangerous. If it was, I certainly couldn't condone Stradbally's "celebration" that buffered the two games, surely that was just making a bad situation worse?

If you want me to give you an example that's closer to home, intercounty training camps are infinitely more intense, they might include full-length games on consecutive days in addition to other training all within a 48 to 72 hour period, minus the mid-interval drinking session of course.

Have you been on one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Not a BG man but fair play to them, hopefully they go all the way. Can't do any harm for the inter county panel for a lot of the younger BG players to get some big games under their belts. With a bit of luck a few might put in strong cases for Derek McGrath to have a look at them early 2016.

Any word with Paudie Mahony? Read elsewhere he was doing the water bottles from the line yesterday. Would it be too early to say he'll be back for the league in Feb? He's surely capable now of doing gym work and I'd have no doubt he's now back practising his frees since he's up and moving around which can only be good news.