Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Really enjoyed yesterday. The whole performance was based on patience in both attack and defense. Jim obviously got this in to the team during the week and they bought into it.

Thought Kilkeeny was particularly excellent in the first half. His link up play was a joy to watch and some of his scores were outrageous. Considering he had such a serious knee injury last year it's great to see him put in a performance like that. Future player of the year imo.

Can't wait for the final. Kerry's forwards will ask different questions to today but their defense isn't as good as Mayo's. Should be a belter.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I thought it was similar in many ways to last week but the other way around.

Mayo lost midfielder to a black card then their other two went off. When Parsons and B Moran were off I knew we had a great chance. Fenton showed more vision for a Dublin midfielder yesterday than I've seen in years. Overall he was up on SOS, I think SOS was poor by his own high standards yesterday, many would disagree but I've huge admiration for him he has it in him to really hurt us, but he was held back a bit watching Fenton.
    I was very surprised with his reaction to Coopers shoulder off the ball. He must take 20 of them in a game.
    All that said it looked bad on the day and on the Sunday game, suggesting he was holding the collar are far from accurate. Shows how light Cooper is all the same. I dont think it was a black card though it was yellow or red, but this year they are calling any drag down as black. I just assumed you had to have the ball when you were dragged down, or at least trying to get involved with the attack.

I thought keegans shot at goal was similar to Flynns glory shot last week. Both were when the teams were up and needed to stretch the lead and both were selfish decisions.

Interestingly we adjusted the short kick out strategy, the commentators didn't pick up on it, but we doubled up on the second man to receive the ball. It was too much for the Mayo forwards to chase, they did chase it but unlike last week they got nothing from it, but it was a tactic worked in from last week.

M Fitzsimons was very good. His addition was excellently timed, he's a cool experienced head, underrated by many but he has his medal from 2011 he's been here before and he is a tidy tackler, taking off Cooper, who ran his legs off was the right decision for many reasons.

MDMA, great to have him back. I disagree with people saying Bastic struggled, as per usual with Denis, his man was struggling too.

Mcmanamon is 100% an impact sub, I dont care what anyone says. His run up the line towards the end of the game showed how hard it is to get the ball off him.

That incident, he got a free from it was a clear black card imo. You couldn't see it on the TV, but he had an open run to the goal and Jack McCaffery was joining in.

I do feel sorry for Mayo, their new formation were tested on interior teams. AOS is one of the best players in the country, I think he scored one point from play over the two games, so his position has to be closer to the middle where he can run at teams and COS (lucky man again yesterday) can pop over frees he wins, he should possibly try to be more like Sean Cavanagh than Donaghy.

We showed a little more confidence in our midfield yesterday. They did ok considering Flynn and Connelly were not helping as much as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Great game, very proud of the lads as it was slipping away from us at one point. There's really feck all between those 2 teams.

The severely underrated Andrews was fantastic, I thought him and Kilkenny carried the forward line until subs came on. Both were brilliant. Bernard didn't play well, Flynn was average again, Connolly...the less said the better. We'll just assume all the fuss in the week affected him.

I don't think Rock should start the final. Probably our best fk taker but there are far better players from open play. His fk takings been bad the last 2 games as well.

Fenton..our find of the summer. Thought he was great yesterday. McAuley was great off the bench but I'd use him similarly again in the final.

Defence was good although they started getting run through early in the 2nd, they play on the edge a bit. Philly was very clever with some if his runs forward.

Kev Mc, I keep saying it he should start. I know he's a brilliant impact player but we don't have good enough forwards to use him as that luxury. I'd start him the next day or even Alan.

Kerry are far stronger in the forwards, clearly weaker at the back and around the same in the middle compared, to Mayo. Fitz will have his side set up well though plus they gave better depth. Bernard and Connolly should get more room but I'm not sure who picks up JOD, or who we have capable of picking him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Miccoli

Rock simply cannot play the final he offers nothing positive .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

Gooooood luck!

Absoulte buzzing great heart and passion and been 4 down I was afraid the heads would drop been boom!

Philly mac our new 13?? Super scoring haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bambi wrote: »
    these two games have silenced a lot of his critics, massive performances. Dare we whisper "all star"?
    Stoner wrote: »
    I'd say you could whisper that all you want.
    Don't think he'll get one. Guys still going on about a headbut that wasn't.

Peoples inherent bias outside the county (and some within) shouldn't detract from what I feel was the most influential display from a Dub over the 2 games. He came out the far side of an physically inferior matchup restricting AOS to 1 point from play, bagging 1-2 himself.

Never mind an All Star, I just hope over the next while that there will be a growing acceptance amongst Dublin supporters that Philly (performing as he's done the last 2 games) is every bit as integral to the team as those that presently have that respect... and yeah I would love to see him cutting out the needless shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

I'd like to be able to say 'whatever 15 we put out will do a job' But as said here earlier, I Cannot see what Rock offers from open play, even his free taking was ropey yesterday...

Kerry are the best team in the country atm but a fully functioning Dublin firing on all cylinders should and could beat them.

Just like to add Brogan is absolute class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

I thought Bernard was sloppy but he popped up for the crucial, albeit a bit flukey goal. He'll get more time and space off the Kerry backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Peoples inherent bias outside the county (and some within) shouldn't detract from what I feel was the most influential display from a Dub over the 2 games. He came out the far side of an physically inferior matchup restricting AOS to 1 point from play, bagging 1-2 himself.

Never mind an All Star, I just hope over the next while that there will be a growing acceptance amongst Dublin supporters that Philly (performing as he's done the last 2 games) is every bit as integral to the team as those that presently have that respect... and yeah I would love to see him cutting out the needless shíte

Yeah won me over. Prior to the semi I mightn't have have bat an eyelid had Fitz started in his place.

Brilliant yesterday and exemplified Dublin's change of mindset. Stopped worrying about what Mayo had to offer and took the game to them. AOS was bunched following him.

Good man Corny that's 2 of us, only 49,998 to go! I'd like to think that it's a standard he can attain in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Philly McMahon win an All Star? :eek:

Are you all TRYING to break the entire internet?

ProudDUB wrote: »

Ive just had a vision of Phillys bum hanging out in a black party dress..surely that's not right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Whilst I try and compose myself from that unbelievable match yesterday, interesting to see the reason for the final appeals success was video evidence not being made available for Connelly's defence.

Look forward to reading the full finding in two weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,783 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Dublin showed great resilience and composure to win yesterday. Thought we were going to lose it when we went 4 points down but the never die attitude and hunger came through. The options of the bench won it for us. MDM and Michael Fitzsimons worked their socks of when they came on. Alan Brogan was class as usual. His passing is sublime and what can you say about KMac. He has a great balance and quick feet (nightmare for defenders) and for his height hes as strong as an ox. He has to remain an impact sub for the next day. Dean Rock has not done anything to deserve a start. He only contributes with his free taking. Alan Brogan doesn't have the legs to start the next day and last 70 mins so he should remain an impact sub aswell. I would probably pick the same starting side as yesterday but take Dean Rock of at half time if his general play is still poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,673 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Hopefully in two weeks time we will be on here looking at threads about splitting Dublin in two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Brusna

GAAman wrote: »
    Whilst I try and compose myself from that unbelievable match yesterday, interesting to see the reason for the final appeals success was video evidence not being made available for Connelly's defence.

Look forward to reading the full finding in two weeks...

When I heard Diarmuid was free to play I was relieved that it was on a technicality. The red card was not rescinded which in my opinion was correct. Our guy Lee got off last year on a technicality as well so we can have no complaints.

Thought the booing of Diarmuid, Lee and Cillian was bad form.

It was great that the players were able to put it all behind them and play a good game with hand shake's before and after. These guys deserve a lot of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭SeanJ09

Anyone on the hill notice after the match the very minor altercation between O' Shea and Philly Mc Mahon? Looked like Mc Mahon was approaching O Shea to shake his hand but O' Shea was having none of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

SeanJ09 wrote: »
    Anyone on the hill notice after the match the very minor altercation between O' Shea and Philly Mc Mahon? Looked like Mc Mahon was approaching O Shea to shake his hand but O' Shea was having none of it.

I saw it as well,not too sure what was the reason behind it. Probably something silly.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done lads, great performance. Probably one of the best halves of football I have seen in the 1st half.
    I'm sick as a house and head is down, but we will be back I am sure!!

Good luck in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

How much is a Premium Level seat at Croke Park ? I know you can get one for 3,5 or 10 years. The website never told me how much it'd be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

SeanJ09 wrote: »

There's some pictures of it on this page > match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin have used 26 players in 6 Championship game.Appearances+Subs for 2015 Championship
    Brogan, Bernard 6
    Cluxton, Stephen 6 (3 Clean Sheets. Conceded 4 Goals)
    Connolly, Diarmuid 6
    Cooper, Jonny 6
    Fenton, Brian 6
    Flynn, Paul 6
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 6
    McCaffrey, Jack 6
    McMahon, Philip 6
    Rock, Dean 6
    Andrews, Paddy 3+3
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 3+3
    McManamon, Kevin 3+3
    Small, John 2+4
    Brogan, Alan 0+6
    Fitzsimons, Michael 0+6
    O’Carroll, Rory 5
    O’Sullivan, Cian 5
    McCarthy, James 4+1
    Bastick, Denis 3+2
    Brady, Tomas 0+3
    Lowndes, Eric 0+3
    Daly, Darren 1+1
    Byrne, David (Olafs) 1
    Costello, Cormac 0+1
    O’Conghaile, Emmett 0+1

Dublin have scored 18-106 and conceded 4-74 in 6 Championship games. Scorers 2015 Championship Games

Brogan, Bernard 6-19
    Rock, Dean 2-21
    Connolly, Diarmuid 4-10
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-18
    Andrews, Paddy 0-11
    Flynn, Paul 2-4
    McManamon, Kevin 2-4
    McMahon, Philip 1-5
    Brogan, Alan 0-5
    McCaffrey, Jack 1-1
    Fenton, Brian 0-3
    McCarthy, James 0-2
    Brady, Tomas 0-1
    Lowndes, Eric 0-1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0-1

Dublin have used 35 players in 9 League games.Appearances+Subs for 2015 League Games

Cooper, Jonny 9
    McManamon, Kevin 9
    Rock, Dean 9
    McCaffrey, Jack 8+1
    Brady, Tomas 7+2
    Bastick, Denis 8
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 6+2
    McMahon, Philip 6+2
    O'Carroll, Rory 7
    Brogan, Bernard 5+2
    Small, John 5+2
    Costello, Cormac 3+4
    Fenton, Brian 3+4
    Cluxton, Stephen 6 (4 Clean Sheets. Conceded 3 Goals)
    Culligan, Eoin 6
    McCarthy, James 3+3
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 2+4
    Connolly, Diarmuid 5
    Flynn, Paul 4+1
    Daly, Darren 3+2
    O'Gara, Eoghan 3+2
    O'Sullivan, Cian 3+2
    Andrews, Paddy 1+4
    Fitzsimons, Michael 2+2
    Byrne, Davy (Ballymun) 1+3
    Currie, Sean 3 (2 Clean Sheets. Conceded 1 Goal)
    Carthy, Shane 2+1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 2+1
    Byrne, David (Olafs) 1+2
    Devereux, Nicky 1+2
    Lowndes, Eric 1+2
    Reddin, Ciaran 0+2
    Deegan, Michael 0+1
    McHugh, Conor 0+1
    Ryan, Philip 0+1

Dublin have scored 8-131 and conceded 4-101 in 9 League games. Scorers 2015 League Games

Rock, Dean 1-52
    Brogan, Bernard 2-8
    McCaffrey, Jack 1-7
    Brady, Tomas 0-8
    McManamon, Kevin 0-8
    Connolly, Diarmuid 1-5
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 0-7
    Fenton, Brian 1-3
    Flynn, Paul 0-5
    McMahon, Philip 0-5
    Costello, Cormac 1-2
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 0-4
    O'Gara, Eoghan 0-4
    Bastick, Denis 1-1
    Andrews, Paddy 0-3
    Byrne, Davy (Ballymun) 0-2
    Carthy, Shane 0-2
    Cooper, Jonny 0-2
    Deegan, Michael 0-1
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0-1
    Ryan, Philip 0-1

Dublin have used 34 players in 5 O'Byrne Cup games.Appearances+Subs for 2015 O'Byrne Cup

Brady, Tomas 5
    Culligan, Eoin 5
    Devereux, Nicky 5
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 5
    Rock, Dean 5
    Small, John 5
    Daly, Darren 5
    Fitzsimons, Michael 4+1
    Bastick, Denis 4
    O'Gara, Eoghan 4
    Hannigan, Graham 3+1
    Ryan, Philip 2+2
    Carthy, Shane 1+3
    Scully, Niall 0+4
    Costello, Cormac 3
    McManamon, Kevin 3
    Molloy, Lorcan 3 (1 Clean Sheet)
    Collins, Niall 2+1
    O'Carroll, Rory 2+1
    Cooper, Jonny 1+2
    Dawson, Harry 1+2
    Lowndes, Stuart 0+3
    Currie, Sean 2 (1 Clean Sheet)
    McCaffrey, Jack 1+1
    Dunleavy, Craig 1+1
    Deegan, Michael 0+2
    Kavanagh, Ian 0+2
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 0+2
    O'Higgins, Paddy 0+2
    McCarrick, Alan 0+1
    McGowan, Ross 0+1
    McGuire, Conor 0+1
    McLoughlin, Diarmuid 0+1
    McMahon, Philip 0+1

Dublin have scored 3-80 and conceded 3-43 in 5 O'Byrne Cup games. Scorers 2015 O'Byrne Cup Games

Rock, Dean 0-38
    O'Gara, Eoghan 2-7
    McManamon, Kevin 1-6
    Brady, Tomas 0-7
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 0-6
    Carthy, Shane 0-5
    Ryan, Philip 0-3
    Costello, Cormac 0-2
    Deegan, Michael 0-2
    Cooper, Jonny 0-1
    Culligan, Eoin 0-1
    McLoughlin, Diarmuid 0-1
    Scully, Niall 0-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Bret Hart wrote: »
    How much is a Premium Level seat at Croke Park ? I know you can get one for 3,5 or 10 years. The website never told me how much it'd be.

think it was like 8k for 10 years, the prices where up last year. think might be 1500 for one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ciaran Whelans on the band wagon now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Great game, very proud of the lads as it was slipping away from us at one point. There's really feck all between those 2 teams.

The severely underrated Andrews was fantastic, I thought him and Kilkenny carried the forward line until subs came on. Both were brilliant. Bernard didn't play well, Flynn was average again, Connolly...the less said the better. We'll just assume all the fuss in the week affected him.

I don't think Rock should start the final. Probably our best fk taker but there are far better players from open play. His fk takings been bad the last 2 games as well.

Fenton..our find of the summer. Thought he was great yesterday. McAuley was great off the bench but I'd use him similarly again in the final.

Defence was good although they started getting run through early in the 2nd, they play on the edge a bit. Philly was very clever with some if his runs forward.

Kev Mc, I keep saying it he should start. I know he's a brilliant impact player but we don't have good enough forwards to use him as that luxury. I'd start him the next day or even Alan.

Kerry are far stronger in the forwards, clearly weaker at the back and around the same in the middle compared, to Mayo. Fitz will have his side set up well though plus they gave better depth. Bernard and Connolly should get more room but I'm not sure who picks up JOD, or who we have capable of picking him up.

I can't agree that Kevin mc should start.

His pace against tiring defenders is the main reason he is so effective when he comes on. I suspect that is why Dublin often leave it as late as possible to bring him on. It's harsh on him but his greatest strength is coming off the bench for last 20 minutes.

I'd start Alan brogan ahead of Rick and leave the other 5 forwards in situ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Bambi wrote: »
    Ciaran Whelans on the band wagon now :D

he's 1/14 if you fancy a bet, only David Moran has shorter odds at 1/20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭JRant

There's some pictures of it on this page > match

Jaysus, Christy looks like death warmed up in those pictures.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

JRant wrote: »
    Jaysus, Christy looks like death warmed up in those pictures.

he looked alot worse a couple of years ago , a proper tough man great to see him on the mend probably disappointed with the hurling today think he is a galway man originally could be wrong

just on the topic of salmocab's comment maybe if the people of meath westmeath , laois ect..... bothered there arse to reinvest in the football programs they had going through the mid 2000's there would be a far more competitive championship in leinster , clare and dublin have won thee exact amount of all irelands in either code in the last 20 years , i dont hear too many complaining about spliting clare into two for next years championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,049 ✭✭✭Floppybits

What has happened to Cormac Costello?

Nothings happened him other than the fact he appears to be down the pecking order ... still a young lad and there's no huge rush on him