Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

He lives in Clontarf, is married to a Dublin GAA Club Treasurer and works in Dublin.
    Its farcical that he should referee any match involving Dublin.

And yet all the Kerry posters seem okay with it.

Could it be, could it be that he's fair and one of the top refs in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I had a lovely hangover on Sunday morning :)

And i think i've got tickets for the final too.

And yet all the Kerry posters seem okay with it.

Could it be, could it be that he's fair and one of the top refs in the country.

Wonder why ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I know most here dont agree , but I'm convinced Rock profited from O'Gara being injured. He played in the full foward line since O'Gara was injured.
    I genuinely think his size is required or desired in there.
    He's had two poor games, but he played better on Saturday. I think he was always going to struggle on the Mayo defenders, but he is more suitable to playing Donegal and possibly Kerry.
    We will have more frees closer to the Kerry goal than Mayo afforded us due to their tackling forwards, so we'll need him .

Wrt McManamon. The only player I see him as interchangeable with is Andrews.
    B Brogan, Kilkenny , Flynn , Connelly would all start before him. If Rock is the free taker than he's ahead too.

I'd hope Flynn will come good, we'll need his energy for Walsh.

So why start Kevin? The physiological advantage of having him on the bench is huge.

With ten minutes to go who would you rather have as a fresh sub Andrews or Kevin?
    For me its Kevin all the way. A Brogan and O'Gara are good off the bench but Kevin Mac is a joke at this stage. The Kerry lads are sick of the sight of him regardless of what they say .

Isn't it mad all the same that we have
    McCarthy
    McCaffery
    A Brogan
    B Brogan
    Rock
    All with fathers who won AIs. It shows all the same that the traditional catchment areas are very prominent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ah jaysis we're in trouble . The FIL a confirmed anti Dub ( in a non hostile way) - dropped in today ..I've never heard him tip Dublin - he says we'll put 6-8 points on the kingdom I gave him a cuppa and we talked about wallpaper. .I can't face the expectation just yet :D

DoctaDee wrote:
    Ah jaysis we're in trouble . The FIL a confirmed anti Dub ( in a non hostile way) - dropped in today ..I've never heard him tip Dublin - he says we'll put 6-8 points on the kingdom I gave him a cuppa and we talked about wallpaper. .I can't face the expectation just yet

Don't mind them old FILs I've a Donegal one and half Mayo MIL.

Good job I'm Ringsend/Stoneybatter myself, I need the resilience. This time of year I bring my tea in a flask when I visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Fancy a date with Marty....and Grainne and Des?

Apply for Up For The Match tickets here.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/upforthematch.html

You had me at Marty.

Swoooon

You won't be the first and you certainly won't be the last !

Up for the Match or Ireland v Canada to distract from the nerves of the following day?

Hmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Up for the Match or Ireland v Canada to distract from the nerves of the following day?

Hmmmm...

I'd watch Tonga V Georgia if it meant I didn't have to watch Up for the Match. I feckin detest it

Paulzx wrote: »
    I'd watch Tonga V Georgia if it meant I didn't have to watch Up for the Match. I feckin detest it

It's one of those "uniquely Irish" things that I wish would die a slow miserable boil infested that. Along with Marian Finucane's radio career.

EDIT: In fact, France-Italy clashes with it. Cracker.

Are you talking about rugby?
    Im not very happy with this, if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Slattsy wrote: »
    Are you talking about rugby?
    Im not very happy with this, if so.

People talking about Up for the Match should be making you much unhappier.

I can picture it already. Footage of sheep painted in green and yellow and banger Honda civics painted blue.*shudders*

So no one wants to spend their Saturday night, watching Marty Morrissey dressed up as a leprecaun and/or Molly Malone, while the fair Grainne tries not to hurl?

And you call yerselves Irish people?

For shame ya'll...for shame !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

ProudDUB wrote: »
    no one wants to spend their Saturday night, watching Marty Morrissey !

fixed that

Ha.

Funny thing is, I had to edit my own post, as it originally read.....watching Marty Morrissey dressed up as a leprecaun under Molly Malone...oops....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Ha.

Funny thing is, I had to edit my own post, as it originally read.....watching Marty Morrissey dressed up as a leprecaun under Molly Malone...oops....:o

might have watched that, she has some pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The only time I watched pp for the match Gráinne was wearing a black leather gúna. So obviously its not all bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Went down to the open evening down in Parnell there with the little brother. Fair play to the players, I'm sure they can't look forward to having hundreds of kids dragging out of them for autographs and photos but they were all really nice and courteous. Poor auld Bernard and Flynn and a few others were swamped but the brother got Fentons signature on his shirt, all he wanted really being a Raheny man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Went down to the open evening down in Parnell there with the little brother. Fair play to the players, I'm sure they can't look forward to having hundreds of kids dragging out of them for autographs and photos but they were all really nice and courteous. Poor auld Bernard and Flynn and a few others were swamped but the brother got Fentons signature on his shirt, all he wanted really being a Raheny man ;)

Great night all around. Where else would you rather be on a balmy night in September, than slapping a bunch of Dubs players on the back & wishing them the best of luck on Sunday week? Fair play to all the lads for giving so much of their time and energy, when I'm sure a lot of them would prefer to be at home with their feet up.

However, it could do with being organized a bit better, especially for the players who are going to draw the biggest crowds of kids. It must have been 10 deep around Berno, MDMA & Kev Mc, with players, grown ups & kids all pushed up against the wall, and the little kids usually coming out the worst of it. I saw more than one of them in floods of tears, at being stuck in the crush & more than one very worried mammy. All the pushing and shoving can't have been all that comfortable for the players either. These are some of the biggest sports stars in the country, so a wee bit of thought and planning might not go amiss, in how these open nights are conducted.

What's peoples opinion on the Blue dude who goes to the championship games.

I don't go to the hill but I was there in 2013 for the team welcoming and was near enough to him.

What blue dude, the one with the wig, who dresses up as a Smurf?

Never met him personally, but he looks great in pix. Think he had a couple of kids with him last weekend, also painted in blue. Gotta admire the effort.

Cian O'Sullivan will be fit for the final according to JG

Get the **** in !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

I was hoping it was just cramp at first, not great prep for a final but good to hear he should be fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Great night all around. Where else would you rather be on a balmy night in September, than slapping a bunch of Dub players on the back and wishing them the best of luck on Sunday week. Fair play to all the lads for giving so much of their time and energy, when I'm sure a lot of them would prefer to be at home with their feet up.

However, it could do with being organized a bit better, especially for the players who are going to draw the biggest crowds of kids. It must have been 10 deep around Berno, MDMA & Kev Mc, with players and grown ups & kids all pushed up against the wall, and the little kids usually coming out the worst of it. I saw more than one of them in floods of tears at being stuck in the crush & more than one very worried mammy. All the pushing and shoving can't have been all that comfortable for the players either. These are some of the biggest sports stars in the country, so a wee bit of thought and planning might not go amiss in how these open nights are conducted.

I completely agree. In terms of the kick about at the start I thought they should have organised a couple of things like a penalty shootout or a crossbar challenge. Just something for a bit of a laugh.
    You're absolutely right about meeting the players as well. Myself and the brother spent about 20 minutes trying to get to Bernard but every time someone left from the front it just seemed like more people would shove ahead of us so we eventually gave up. Should have been organised a bit better.
    As you say though it was nice to be back in Parnell (bring our league games back please!) on a lovely evening and to get to see the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭corny

Stoner wrote: »
    What's peoples opinion on the Blue dude who goes to the championship games.

I don't go to the hill but I was there in 2013 for the team welcoming and was near enough to him.

Wasn't he in green the other night at the soccer?

Had his kid there too. Looked a little like a young Bruce Banner. Disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Slattsy wrote: »
    Cian O'Sullivan will be fit for the final according to JG

Get the **** in !!

For the players sake I hope he is fit but do you really think that JG was going to say any different? Its very touch and go imo as a hamstring injury can take anything up to 6 weeks to fix (obv depending on the level).

careca wrote:
    For the players sake I hope he is fit but do you really think that JG was going to say any different? Its very touch and go imo as a hamstring injury can take anything up to 6 weeks to fix (obv depending on the level).
    I don't think it was a hamstring injury though was it, I read nothing after the game to say it was, I heard it was a soft muscle injury.

We'd need him alright, give him 75 minutes on gooch this time not 35.