Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

dixiefly wrote: »
    Delighted to see Shane Lowry getting the recognition for winning the Bridgestone invitational.

It was quite bizarre when Des held up the photo of Lowry :D

A nice touch all the same from TSG to give recognition to Lowry for winning what is a massive tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

aveytare wrote: »
    Yeah the great Meath teams would just stamp on your head instead. It's not "cheating", it's "manly".

Tyrone like to put a slur on one of the players of the Millenium so much so he went up to a game since and he was attacked. Ye are really clutching at straws if you need to pick an incident in 1996 that neutral observers said was an accident.

Are you actually condoning Tiernan McCann's blatant cheating?

It was quite bizarre when Des held up the photo of Lowry :D

A nice touch all the same from TSG to give recognition to Lowry for winning what is a massive tournament.

I agree, great touch. Nice ending to the game after the gutter finish to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I agree, but there were a lot of niggley incidents in both games. They don't have time to show all of them, or comment on all of them. The McCann incident was by far the worst of the lot and deserved to be highlighted imo. RTE are often guilty of putting the so called star players on a pedestal. They'll bang on about them all day long when they do something good, but they rarely focus on the less than favourable aspects of their play. Didn't Murphy have to sit out a game in the league because he picked up so many black cards? Or he was at risk of missing a game if he got another one? And I am not picking on MM here, they give a lot of other big name players similar kid gloves treatment too.

They showed both incidents though.

I was just highlighting the slant on each of them was completely different.

In the first it was 'Keane should know better blah, blah, blah'. Not a word of Murphys part in it or his raised fist that started it. In the second it was Tieran McCanns fault he hit the deck. Not a word about the Monaghan player who should know better.

Thats plain double standard in seeing both incidents the way you want to. Zero objectivity.

Both incidents sickened me btw. Murphys cold, calculating manner and McCanns theatrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Jeez, O'Rourke really hates Tyrone. You'd swear Meath were choirboys when he was playing.

We were not choirboys, we took our belts and gave some too, but feigning injury, falling over holding our heads at the slightest touch was a no no, it only something that has really creeped in since Micky Harte and Tyrone came along, Canavan was doing it in 96 as well. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Nib wrote: »
    Ciaran Whelan "Monaghan were just as culpable"

No, they fucking weren't. Any team is going to react to the shite they were subjected to yesterday. The play acting from Cavanagh and McCann was particularly disgusting to watch. Marty Duffy is a poor ref, he's about 5"5, not exactly intimidating. That game needed a referee like Deegan from Laois, he's not perfect but he takes zero shit in terms of play acting and feigning injuries. I genuinely blushed when Cavanagh hit the deck after McManus had touched him, the size of him FFS!

The U21 final this year was an embarrassment to Tyrone GAA. Tipp wanted to play football but again we had a weak referee who pandered to Tyrone's cynical play. It was sickening to watch Tyrone lift that cup, and I know I'm not alone in saying that.

Is this the direction the GAA want football to go in? We'll have U10s hitting the deck all over the country after witnessing that crap yesterday.

President of the GAA, sort it out now!

This is an interesting point. Now is the time to stamp out diving before it becomes an even bigger problem in GAA. I used to watch the premiership every week. These days, I only watch it sometimes. Why? Because I got fed up of the diving in it. I found it was putting me in a bad mood after watching it because I HATE diving. If the GAA does not do something now, then I can see the same happening to it.

The GAA has an opportunity to prevent diving from becoming widespread in its sport by doing something NOW. McCann should be suspended (regardless of whether he apologises).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Ye are really clutching at straws if you need to pick an incident in 1996 that neutral observers said was an accident.

I'm sure everything that happened in that game was just an accident alright, sure most neutrals agree doncha know.

Flukey wrote: »
    Meath always blamed everyone else. In the 1986 - 1990 period, they blamed Cork and Mayo for being the dirty ones. When Mayo and Cork met in the 1989 final, it was one of the finest and cleanest games of football of that era. So it wasn't Cork or Mayo that were the dirty ones when they played Meath. I was at all of those games, and the aforementioned 1996 encounters too, and also when Meath took out Peter Canavan early in the 1996 semi-final. Meath had some fine footballers, so it was a pity they had to have so much of the rough stuff.

Any chance of a link to Meath blaming everyone else?

Meath certainly had players that lived on the edge. The Tyr supporters slur the wrong players though. I condemned Coyler and Cormac Murphy several times as they went overboard just like players from Dublin, Kerry etc also did those days. Coyle was a dirty player no denying that.

However cheating like yesterday never went on, O Rourke and Lyons took some hits vs Dublin and Cork in various games and just got on with it. No lying down there.

Anyway lets hope they throw the book at McCann.

Flukey wrote: »
    Meath always blamed everyone else. In the 1986 - 1990 period, they blamed Cork and Mayo for being the dirty ones. When Mayo and Cork met in the 1989 final, it was one of the finest and cleanest games of football of that era. So it wasn't Cork or Mayo that were the dirty ones when they played Meath. I was at all of those games, and the aforementioned 1996 encounters too, and also when Meath took out Peter Canavan early in the 1996 semi-final. Meath had some fine footballers, so it was a pity they had to have so much of the rough stuff.

ha ha ha, you are nearly as funny as Des, everyone knows that Mayo were so soft in that final that Cork won without stepping out of 1st gear, it was one of the worst contested finals in years, as Mayo rolled over.

As for Canavan,I was there too, and I witnessed him falling down in the square beside Darren Fay trying to claim he was struck when he wasn't, as far as I am concerned he deserved what he got from McDermott that day. Canavan feigned injury for most of his career, something that I think sullied his reputation as being one of the all time great forwards.

I'm sure everything that happened in that game was just an accident alright, sure most neutrals agree doncha know.

What about yesterdays game, are you proud of McCann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

This is an interesting point. Now is the time to stamp out diving before it becomes an even bigger problem in GAA. I used to watch the premiership every week. These days, I only watch it sometimes. Why? Because I got fed up of the diving in it. I found it was putting me in a bad mood after watching it because I HATE diving. If the GAA does not do something now, then I can see the same happening to it.

The GAA has an opportunity to prevent diving from becoming widespread in its sport by doing something NOW. McCann should be suspended (regardless of whether he apologises).

I was a massive soccer fan until about 10 years ago, now I rarely watch it for the same reason, watching extremely fit, strong athletes rolling around on the ground feigning injury acting like spoilt children is sickening.

It's so embedded in the game now that fans and commentators simply accept it and as long there is some semblance of 'contact' the behaviour is excused.

I'd hate the GAA to end up like that

What about yesterdays game, are you proud of McCann?

No, it was a shameful action.

He had a chance to apologise today, if he had apologised last evening or today I wouldnt suspend.

An apology tomorrow would be just to avoid suspension if the GAC decide to charge him with bringing the game into disrepute as recommended by Colm O'Rourke..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

We were not choirboys, we took our belts and gave some too, but feigning injury, falling over holding our heads at the slightest touch was a no no, it only something that has really creeped in since Micky Harte and Tyrone came along, Canavan was doing it in 96 as well. ;)

I'd rather have an opponent give me verbals or try and wind me up than get punched or kicked like the old days. The games moved on from O'Rourke's day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

ha ha ha, you are nearly as funny as Des, everyone knows that Mayo were so soft in that final that Cork won without stepping out of 1st gear, it was one of the worst contested finals in years, as Mayo rolled over.

Didn't Anthony Finnerty not have a goal chance in the closing stages, that would have put Mayo in front ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I was a massive soccer fan until about 10 years ago, now I rarely watch it for the same reason, watching extremely fit, strong athletes rolling around on the ground feigning injury acting like spoilt children is sickening.

It's so embedded in the game now that fans and commentators simply accept it and as long there is some semblance of 'contact' the behaviour is excused.

I'd hate the GAA to end up like that

Exactly, this is my problem with soccer. Embedded is the word I was looking for. The GAA needs to act now before it becomes embedded into gaelic football and hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I'd rather have an opponent give me verbals or try and wind me up than get punched or kicked like the old days. The games moved on from O'Rourke's day.

But Tyrone were punching and kicking as well.

He had a chance to apologise today, if he had apologised last evening or today I wouldnt suspend.

An apology tomorrow would be just to avoid suspension if the GAC decide to charge him with bringing the game into disrepute as recommended by Colm O'Rourke..

While it was embarrassing and he should be ashamed, why should he be suspended unlike Michael Shields against Kerry, O'Donoghue in last year's all-ireland final, or countless other examples over the years (I include Tyrone players in that)? Is this the first time a dive's brought the game into disrepute?

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Didn't Anthony Finnerty not have a goal chance in the closing stages, that would have put Mayo in front ?

In 1988, Meath beat Mayo in the AI semi final, everyone remembers McHale having a great finish to the game and Mayo unlucky not to get a result, what they forget is that Meat kicked them off the pitch for 60 minutes, easiest semi final i ever saw meath play, yet they could have been caught out at the end, similar outcome for cork in 89, cruising and took foot off of pedal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Exactly, this is my problem with soccer. Embedded is the word I was looking for. The GAA needs to act now before it becomes embedded into gaelic football and hurling.

.... and because it's embedded in the game you have to find a euphemism to describe it.. because diving is cheating ... but simulation well that's something completely different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Well Tiernan McCann has learned his lesson and won't dive again. It'd ruin his hair.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,448 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

While it was embarrassing and he should be ashamed, why should he be suspended unlike Michael Shields against Kerry, O'Donoghue in last year's all-ireland final, or countless other examples over the years (I include Tyrone players in that)? Is this the first time a dive's brought the game into disrepute?

Not the first time but something has to be done. The GAA must make a stand because if nothing is done on the basis that nothing was done the last time a fella dived or feigned injury, then the GAA might as well come out and condone these types of actions as part of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Kilkenny, once again, got away with some amount of stuff today.

Clearly, there's a different rulebook when they play.

The amount of slapping, dragging and other stuff going on.
    All aided and abeted by the referee.

I wait now for the backlash.
    Despite being in a pub surrounded by club hurlers, after a club game who all agreed that Kilkenny games are refereed differently

Pathetic, absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

corny wrote: »
    Not a mention of Michael Murphy not getting booked or trying to get a player sent off and yet Tiernan McCann should publicly apologise.

Tyrone are pack of ******** alright but its a complete double standard singling them out.
    How in under Jaysus was Murphy trying to get a player sent off??
    He got punched in the face. The vast majority of players take the verbal and 'innocent' physical abuse that's handed out during a game without going to the red or umpires but getting a punch in the jaw is crossing the line.

If there was Tyrone blood in him, he'd still be rolling around the pitch......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Tyrone are a disgrace to their county and to the sport as a whole, they take cheating to a new and disgusting low, Brolly was bang on about Kavanagh a few years back, great player he may be but as a man he's a disgrace. As for the other disgrace McCann ban him for the rest of the season the cheating scumbag. God i really hope Kerry destroy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Lol. I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

As for Canavan,I was there too, and I witnessed him falling down in the square beside Darren Fay trying to claim he was struck when he wasn't, as far as I am concerned he deserved what he got from McDermott that day. Canavan feigned injury for most of his career, something that I think sullied his reputation as being one of the all time great forwards.

Well, at least you admit it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Pathetic, absolutely pathetic.

you are in denial, my kilkenny friend

ask the rest of the hurling community how they feel
    we were commenting that we wouldn't get away, in club games, with a quarter of the stuff Kilkenny do in every game.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    you are in denial, my kilkenny friend

ask the rest of the hurling community how they feel
    we were commenting that we wouldn't get away, in club games, with a quarter of the stuff Kilkenny do in every game.

Kilkenny push the boundaries, but they do not get away with more than other teams, every other county would like to think that's why they win so many all Ireland's, but it really has all to do with their skill and determination, if you think that what Kilkenny do to win is foul play, then maybe you should take up another sport like hockey.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

^^ Agreed, Kilkenny are just better at the art of tackling like they are at most other skills of the game