Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Stoner wrote: »
    Great post Boom Boom. I want to highlight a couple of things before I head back to the general forum. :)

I think the league is an excellent competition. However if you look at some of the more impressive Cork wins.

Firstly the win against Dublin, it was the poorest squad we'd seen up to that. There was nobody on the bench. It was a deserved win but a poor Dublin side.

Kerry didn't want to know.

On the second game v Donegal they didn't want to know, their supporters seemed to not want the game as they have such a small squad and were focused on the championship.

Monaghan , Mayo and Tyrone were two good results, but there there or four wins were where the opposition were blooding too many new players .

My position that Kerry wanted a wake up call in the first game and how they went about getting it were possibly correctly called crazy here. However I stand by my thoughts that TOS deliberately got the Cork lads backs up. Kerry would rather have lost a tough game against Cork than win a handy game, their eye is on the AI and we saw the real Kerry on Sunday

Wrt to Masterclass in management, I think Fitzmaurice made some excellent changes, Cork made none. When the two boys couldn't get the ball inside nothing significant was changed to address it.
    I didn't see any masterclass from O'Rourke. He selected a team that we expected, they picked up who we thought they'd pick up. They were in better shape and deserved it, nearly lost it in the end they were flat out and beginning to look a little lost. Had McBreartys point gone over at the end the decisson to leave Clerkin off for so long could have come back on him.

But Cork have the players to do better IMHO. I know O'Connor played very well when he came back for the first game. But he is no more mobile now than when he was when he left two years ago. He should definitely be around the squad, just like Clerkin is , playing some, close out sub for some games but the top teams know how to nullify him a good bit now IMHO. Bringing him back as a starting option was a bit of a bandaid move.
    It appears from the outside to need a shake up , new ideas, interest from the county and a bit more of the famous Cork cuteness on the line.

Good luck lads. ðŸ‘
    Tip top post spot on

I said this after may league games
    I'm glad we have outside posters saying it as when I say it apparently I have agenda

When kerry Dublin man calls it clear dawn break day problem cork have seen by many
    Problems imo cork can see it too they just don't want to

Best of luck in the hurling sunday

Cork played clare missing five top class forwards still conceded lot and clare four goals chances
    Cork team played clare thirteen starters team played sunday and close it ist day bar enforced change
    Cork doesn't change much so on that basis I'd expect little change tonight
    Gould probably be recalled and management could drop Kevin Driscoll
    Which would be poor call

Just cause you play well means nothing this set up
    Dorman despite unbalanced back line played well yet dropped ruthlessly

Fair enough but others aren't served the same diet
    That's why fans get frustrated

As for hurling I'm expecting no change but huge huge call lorchan or Lawton
    Lorchan flying fit and would have expirence and temperament mark canning in deep midfield sweeper role and legs following him all over plus ability break up field score like Dublin two years ago three points

Lorchan no good against tight midfield in confined space as can't break tackle and blown out contact
    He's ideal sweeper and outstanding v Kilkenny three years ago knowldn park being brilliant half back option puck outs and sweeping

Here he's be ideal in pick him midfield play him Lawton role
    I thought he wasn't fit but he is

Tough tough call as Lawton showed dog resolve want desire and great simplicity two games role suits him

Do you play him in he's improving every game and allow him chance improve again

Do you go for lorchan who expirence and battle hardened seems perfect fit
    It's tough as only way Lawton will get expirence is by games and battle hardened

Would said earlier lorchan every day week but Lawton has done all asked and more be fair
    Tough call probably better have lorchan as sub but last cork have small bit option off bench defence with him o Neill

Match up will be crucial

Galway hard judge in you never know them as form goes out window
    Could beat Cork yet loose tippeary

This will be close
    Galway were poor against second gear kk but cunningjham hand shake after say cody well meet again could be just bravdo but part me thinking did he really care about winning as winning meant Galway semi final and won't beat kk twice so better get more games quarter and if do meet kk better lost ist game as kerry proved kk also always learn most ist game

That would worry me in haven't seen real Galway and more in them
    Cork never loose all ireland final Galway as Galway don't have bottle beat Cork all ireland senior final but have great record all ireland qualifier etc

Murphy on canning with lorchan double sweeper

Ellis protect d all times as joe will drift in if joe drifts in no need lorchan or Lawton follow once Ellis hold line
    Very rarely will both man ball get past Ellis
    He usually stop one what full back should do

Mcdommell on mannion
    Walsh or cahalane should be able glynn with power and strength

Match up crucial
    No repeat tipp last year when jbm made shambles it
    You don't want Murphy on glynn cahalane on mannion and mcdommell on canning
    Would be absoultey disaster waiting to happen

Lehane not same altar boy innocenthurler that moore blew away shoulder three years ago
    He's man hurling now and really be excellent in work rate etc all year and it's helped at last being played in he's best positions
    Horgan was great need greatest v clare he needs be consistent now as skill was never problem

Donnellan good but Cork have players negate him

Kearney good and needs work hard and coughlan and o shea real option off bench as is Paudie and Luke on form type game could do it

One thing Cork have is power pace athletics and hurling and physically at last with system

Ellis cahalane Walsh copper Harnedy Cronin provide physics power while horgan lehane Kearney mcdommell Murphy cadogan are old style fast hands cork hurling

Cormac Murphy been revelation half back and growing every game

Worry is Cork don't get enough goals and Galway will play three men inside unlike clare cork will be tested

Collins is fit huge bonus to Galway
    Cooney is massive loss for them
    Holding Galway one goal would be okay
    Worry is system brought in too slow in two games huge improvement buy shame wasn't there all league as practice makes perfect but win or loose way forward cork hurling and always had been is the sweeper system

This system with Joyce back and if jbm goes new manager and not tomas mulchay but actually some one knows how to actually coach a team and mechanisms of real real coaching then cork have promise as limerick once Ryan stays unless change selector won't be going anyway fast clare might but lot division their but Kinnerk would help fans unite
    Tipperary's chance all ireland this year as o shea brilliant manager
    Only problem was got team too late in should been after Ryan
    But tough ask but anyone beat kk maybe he can
    Waterford will talk talk and all smoke and dagger but truth is while may come in time won't beat kk as should beat Dublin
    Should beat Dublin but then again flattering decieve in poor poor loss under twenty one means don't handle pressure well as even limerick eight years ago all ireland semi final proved

Still better hurlers over Dublin in transition
    Huge worry is Ryan dwyer could get sent off looking he's record and fourteen man Dublin make waterford look better are
    Tippeary as Tony considine said not full throttle never truly danger loosing and proved waterford yes made progress no doubt but certainly not arrived top table just yet

This will be close and cunningjham good manager these games and tactics wise good Galway against kk not always got it right and other games but as manager over all certainly not that bad as football hurling he's solid record and will have plan cork

Galway played sweeper three years ago and talk is will go orthodox
    Cork just can't go orthodox and back old ways as only way cork competitive v tippeary is by sweeper and waterford defence proved tipp struggled problem was waterford no cohesion to attack
    Cork attack has been good always defence was problem

Cork have to stay sweeper as beat Galway and that's if then means better chance v tipp with sweeper than orthodox
    If cork go orthodox and beat Galway one step forward ten step back as tippeary will hose cork orthodox and the win is meaning less in grand scheme things
    Cork can win ugly yes but have to have system that defines play like kerry football monaghan Donegal etc

Cork have players beat Galway but close game
    System has be better again and management have get match up right
    Cork love thurles so no excuse
    Getting fully fit squads more or less while could be stronger no excuse sunday in if loose will be because Galway are better and Cork system wasn't good should be and Sunday will be battle management

Huge huge game for Cork hurling
    Indeed whatever happens i feeling October huge huge month and there after bigger picture cork hurling as likely jbm will go and absoultey vital absoultey vital cork get next management right as Cork can I'll afford take gamble any candidates as Cork hurling is still cross roads for all ireland and must take right path

No talk or even thought all ireland yer as Galway huge challenge then tipp
    Then kk course if we get over Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

i hope cork fans aren't getting carried away with themselves. we played well in 1st half against Wex then fell asleep in 2nd half. we played well in 2nd half the last day. from here on in nothing but a 70min performance will get us over the line. we have a good chance of a win but if galway hit form they could turn us over. i hope there is 1 change in the starting XV & Jamie comes in, then Cads can be used as a sub in the FF line where he'd be more effective than Moylan or Sully. it will be interesting to see how Cork will line up if galway go with 6 forwards. will Lawton drop deep & pull back Cooper who seems to thrive playing further from goals and links up better with the forwards especially Hoggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Orizio wrote:
    HARTY CUP GROUPS

Orizio wrote:
    Group A: Ardscoil Ris, Hamilton High School Bandon, De La Salle Waterford, Blackwater Colleges, Midleton CBS.

Orizio wrote:
    Group B: Rochestown College, Youghal, Charleville CBS, Templemore CBS, Gael Cholaiste Mhuire AG.

Orizio wrote:
    Group C: Thurles CBS, St Colmans Fermoy, Nenagh CBS, Scoil na Trionaide Doon.

Orizio wrote:
    Group D: Castletroy College, St Flannans, Ennis CBS, High School Clonmel.

Bit of a typo in Group D, Ennis CBS not in the Harty. So group D comprises Castletroy, Flannans, CBC (Cork) and HS Clonmel.
    Word is CBC taking it quite seriously and will have commenced their training well before school resumes in Sept.
    I reckon they will have a decent team and I'd fancy them to take one of the 2 last eight places available in that group.
    Of the other Cork schools, I'd be hopeful Youghal, Midleton, Rochestown and Colemans will do well. 5 Cork schools to make the knock out stages is probably hoping for too much but you never know.
    AG won't be as strong as last year and Charleville might find the going tough(long term injury to one key player isn't going to help them). Hard to know what Ham High will be like but have a habit of over achieving in Harty so here's hoping again. Looks like a very tough group though.
    Only seems like yesterday since Rochestown ended their epic campaigns in Harty and Ui Mhuri 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

There's validity to what you stay cork could be stale and lethargic after Saturday
    Kildare go behind early one one winners
    They get lead difficult cork but open spaces will suit Cork in Kildare defence poor
    Individuals will win this game as none two teams great effective system and Collins kelly doc hurley due huge game colm Brian Barry driscoll will flourish here in can attack all night long but won't get chance v Dublin attack so Cork imo too much

You pick strongest team but you have to keep mind your facing Dublin so changes have been made now

Ken
    Shields
    Sullivan or cadogan rest cadogan
    Cronin
    Loughrey
    Clancy
    Kevin Driscoll
    Deane
    O connor on basis rourke is out only
    Brian Driscoll
    Collins
    Kelly
    Donnacha
    Hurley
    Colm

Kelly sweeper
    Collins second one but further up field
    Donnacha role sheehan and sullivan played kerry last year
    Cork need watch monaghan football least ten times
    Just watch the game management need do
    Even short space ball nearly always kicked as ball moved faster kick than methodical slow laboured back pass

Cork have half forward line with Brian Driscoll real Brian dooher in can defend has engine run back allowed get forward more can score points could easily score three points play or running from deep get goal
    Much better than kerrigan in he's equal kerrigan pace better long distance kicker but won't run in cul de sacs

Picking pass fort yards vary angle attack with movement in kicking is he's special skills plus he's creative mind and decision making better kerrigan who bar goal great was ran traffic all day
    Kerrigan is runner and hand passes where Driscoll has every box ticked can do it all

Kerrigan bring on game opens up
    Ist game drawn game Driscoll out corner boxed in four kerry lads
    Any other cork player hand passed
    He kicked sublime pass forty yards across field split open kerry lack numbers cork got point

Two things he had
    He had the vision and spatial awareness with the balls ruthless conviction with skill set pull it off

He had the accuracy and composure and ability see pass many wouldn't
    The Paul Scholes of cork with Paddy kelly
    He has be ten as game cried out him there in can't be on back foot as tracking half forward he can roam and defender has go with him

As holdings centre back he can't attack much he wants to
    Barry driscoll may seem harsh but good going forward not defender as proved replay
    So comes down to Barry as half forward and imo cork have better options not Barry is bad player just Brian ticks every box

Kevin would be ideal defender as works hard loved physical game but freedom not attack as not long scorer and play he's strength not he's weak ness

Kerry it should be remembered players have weak areas like o mahony is no pace sheehan too slow keane no guile Murphy not physically strong big man but unlike cork never exposed as always played in position that work to their strengths and negate their weak ness

I completely agree with your point about Cork looking at the video of Monaghan v Donegal game time and time again. As McGuinness pointed out, Monaghan knew exactly how Donegal would set up and drew up a perfect plan to counter this. The fact that Donegal started so well but Monaghan didn't panic and stuck to their plan - shows the confidence in O Rourke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

What are people's thoughts on the rebelog setup for the underage?

For me it's a complete farce. Attended a minor match last night between 2 clubs who would usually be in the same traditional division. Game had to be played in one teams home ground because no pitch could be got apparently?! Yet when the minor champ was under control of the old divisional board there would be a neutral ground. The ref was appointed on the day and he failed to bring any officials with him whereas when it was the old structure there would be officials with the refs.

The idea of playing new teams within the new structure is laudable but the logicistics in transporting 25 kids on a Wednesday evening across the county is unworkable

The joke is that the adult junior teams cannot play outside of their division and end up playing the same teams 3 to 4 times a year!!

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/friday-profile-malachy-orourke-up-on-the-highwire-getting-the-job-done-31383017.html

For anyone here that think I'm being too harsh cork I'll try explain I'm not being harsh football management in i look for reason belive truly i do but lacks records as management and be fair no one can put up valid counter debate as bar flangan none rest good management record in club scene etc and that's why I always doubted them

I always belive you just can't walk in to senior management
    You must have some line of progression and pedigree
    Look at this outstanding piece on rourke
    It's monaghan related but hugely significant here in shows o rourke has record
    He had a record and shows my point compare it to cork that's why doubts set in

Just like Kevin Walsh sligo didn't need win all ireland but like o rourke fermanagh made them better team than he took over

Cork management like Eammon Sweeney said in wonderful brutally honest independent article thing Cork management have is used old management cliches like Cork came up with do not surrender
    Fair enough good and I genuinely say fair play it creates circle trust and it's step forward but unlike o rourke with he's motto we want them cork dont back it up tactically or with system that monaghan do
    Words are absoultey useless unless actions precede them
    Talk is great with Cork though, root and branch review from league final yet we still play corner back who is half back, no midfield and attack ponderous and one dimensions
    Cork midfield dominated in maher moran had 55 possession twelve kick outs one to alan o connor twelve
    O connor was under estimated by kerry ist day, not second day, Dublin under Gavin won't either.
    Anyone think I'm harsh just look at the stats they stand out like a sore thumb in all fairness
    Christy o connor has famous line opinion is opinion but facts are facts and numbers usually tell the story
    Kerry midfield destroyed cork
    Cork midfield hasn't been fixed
    Like stoner said here o connor exposed lack pace two years ago v Dublin in Croke park what evidence have we he'll be better in two week
    Oh wait maybes he won't be at midfield he possibly will be full forward where pace won't be a problem but then he's lack football scoring will be shown up

To judge management you always ask yourself three questions in you won't expect tippeary clare fermanagh with greatest greatest respect to them truth be told to win all Ireland etc if management is there so expectations set accordingly each county and you don't win all Ireland etc be deemed successful
    Every cloth is cut to a different measure in essence imo

Did management leave team better place when they started
    Did management on the level of talent available in the county take them as far as they good
    Are other teams doing better with less resources available
    Cork management there are the three questions should be asked by review board if cork loose Dublin

Before they took over while kerry always cork number cork under couninhan beat everyone else bar mayo injury depleted team in year after all ireland and Dublin following year

Cork had problems imo in couninhan in cork could been much better but he left cork football better place when he took over

Cork even losses kerry were competitive to point and even against mayo year after
    Cork imo have even loss players have fell down the ranks
    We are lucky were not playing them but monaghan Galway would beat cork
    Tyrone possibly
    Cork imo outside top four team
    Have cork talent to do better
    I think they do
    Joe brolly o se many others think cork do
    This isn't having a go merely bringing logic and reality that backed up when you look at the facts
    Again no cork or indeed any county man or woman like being cticsal their own county but you can only improve if you accept things are not right

Cork surely have resources compete with kerry and monaghan and even allowing for dual codes surely have more than monaghan and Donegal and that's not slight on those two counties who to be fair are credit to themselves and brought wonderful new life in to gaelic-games

When cork dont accept things are not right you can never truly evolve then or adapt
    Cork thought all was rosary in the garden after drawn game thus no change
    Kerry realised all wasn't well and had real problems so hence four changes one crucial change in positions with sheehan in the pirlo role like pirlo destroyed England midfield not once but twice lying deep and conducting play as and when he pleased and had England chasing around like rabbits dazzled in the head lights, didn't know whether to run hop skip or jump in pirlo was one step ahead
    Sheehan was kerry pirlo
    And he shouldn't been if cork had done their home work effectively imo

Stoner was right tomas o se critsed cork as wanted back lash for kerry
    Yes nearly bite him in the ass and some naive utterly fickle fans laughed mocked o se after game oh eat humble pie rubbishwhen you look facts yes it was harsh but he was correct what he said and until cork beat big team can't really say such views are wrong

They would do well remember he who laugh lads laugh the longest
    He was laughing after Saturday imo in everything he said no plan b leader less rudder less from management down came though
    Only think wrong o se was came game late

Kerry got game wanted and got more than fright
    O donughe said after kerry will be delighted two games
    There delighted this week
    I hear training tones down hugely this week and expect sloppy win v likely fermanagh
    They want fermanagh as blankets and good coaching McGrath test them but won't beat them

Westmeath won't do blanket v them so kerry don't want westmeath
    Kerry will have feet up players lounge drinking protein shakes and recovery watching cork Dublin play thinking we all ireland semi final more improve and saying well lads isn't this the life

Worry is Cork will loose Dublin and talk be were development poor ref width post etc and living off draw and talk be about player development with out actually seeing games as they were
    Eammon Murphy great credit due had courage conviction and honesty in the echo say what all real astute not naive cork fansprobably thought in he said in galvin coming on as a sub on kerry greatest insult to cork in not fully fit yet kerry knew game was over they had the luxury to bring him on, cork greatest foe half fit getting game time

That was kerry statement of intent imo how they rated cork and also changing warm weather camp to summer ist time history meant never truly rated cork challenge
    Yes course they will say they did but when fitzmaurice writes he's autobiography guaranteed imo ist chapter ist line when talks about this year will be one main true focus was Dublin
    They want revenge for last defeat Dublin and only other team truly enjoy beating outside cork is Dublin

This isn't negative it's just what any kerry fan tell you or astute fan kerry focus was Dublin was never ever truth be told cork yet cork will live off draw as brilliant achievement
    You couldn't actually make it up in fairness the way it beautifully played out for kerry
    Their neighbours got them off guard the ist day but the second day they well and truly had cork measure and like article independent said in the match report sunday cork ran out of ideas

SON is back Cads on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭ted2767

Cork Senior Hurling
    1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
    3. Brian Murphy (Bride Rovers)
    4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
    5. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
    6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
    7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    8. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    9. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
    10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    11. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
    12. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    13. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
    14. Seamus Harnedy (St. Ita’s)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

youngbob wrote: »
    SON is back Cads on the bench

Boom. Didn't see that coming. If this works jbm should be given keys of the city and county, made Lord Mayor and any choice of women he wants.

Pos087 wrote: »
    Boom. Didn't see that coming. If this works jbm should be given keys of the city and county, made Lord Mayor and any choice of women he wants.

Brilliant but why stop at women he can have the fastest greyhound in the county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

The only thing I would say is why doesn't he wait till last min to name the team. Im sure Galway would have not expected this. Now they have time to discuss this change.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great to see SON back. Not sure of Walsh at midfield , much prefer him attacking the ball from the HB position. Lehane in the corner, presume he will roam. Like the look of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

But he would hardly take a Tipperary Greyhound!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Pos087 wrote: »
    The only thing I would say is why doesn't he wait till last min to name the team. Im sure Galway would have not expected this. Now they have time to discuss this change.

I'm sure Cork won't line out as named so Galway will have a fair idea how Cork will play.I sure Galway have their own gameplan & are not going to change just because Cork have gone with this team. If Walsh doesn't drop back HB after having his best game so far there, it will be crazy IMO. Cork will play with 7 backs & 5 forwards. IMO Galway will have to score goals to win & this is JBM way of stopping that. Is it wrong or right only time will tell. I'd have much preferred a swap between Cads & Jamie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Great to see SON back. Not sure of Walsh at midfield , much prefer him attacking the ball from the HB position. Lehane in the corner, presume he will roam. Like the look of the team.

Walsh done well wing back last day and Cooper midfield so suprised at shuffle really
    Didnt see Cadogan loosing out

Delited see Maguire named with footballers

Hope it will be a good weekend for Rebels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Bit surprised by both teams. Hard to know how exactly each team will line out and, when it comes to the footballers, if that's the actual 15 that will play.

Best of luck to both teams.

maybe SON is called back because galway will play with 3 inside forwards. Cork haven't come up against 3 nside forwards this season & JBM wants a tidy CB something that Calahane isn't. Damo when picked there was more of a roaming back with Ellis picking up any ball that went in there. I think Walsh will drop back into HB line with Ellis playing between FB & CB. The bench looks ok now with Lorcan cover for the defence & both Cads & Jamie cover for the forwards. We need Harnedy & Cooper to stay on the field for full match as injury to any of them will demise our aggression big time. If they play well & Kearney getting back to the way he was playing last year (not that he's poor this term)we will have a mighty engineroom

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-eamon-fitzmaurice-the-master-of-the-remote-control-31399926.html

Outstanding read by outstanding football mind and tough great great really really great players

He's bang on Cork were old cork
    Kerry learned much
    Only point he's wrong is say cork scrutiny the video drawn game as Christ above if they did it's a shocking poor reflection of their ability to read a game when most joe soaps could see cork needed new script yet management failed protect o connor failed bar enforced change make changes game twiddle their thumbs for nearly fifty minutes make sub threw o connor full forward with kerry having sweeper and Barry driscoll was well Marshall

If cork did do video analysis imo they need a root and branch review on who ever done it and need make sure looked right game as Cork as o se said were poor and kerry knew exactly what cork would do

He's right last chance saloon for Cork now with Dublin looming
    Bang on he was as sad it's to admit it cork old cork Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

To be honest I am sick and tired of reading what the " Kerry press" say its all great great Kerry and how Cork are so so bad all the time ...times you would think that Cork footballing people go out to play and do things always the wrong way like Billy Morgan said you don't listen to there propaganda. I have said here before that I have no faith in our management , but only for Padraigh Hughues we would be looking at an All-Ireland final place ....of course we still had chances to kill it out the first day but failed and we did go back to the bad old ways after they got the goal the last night ......time to move ahead ...the very best of luck to both Cork teams this weekend ...REBELS ABU !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

That's a sickening read from a cork point of view, while there is an element of truth to it, theres a lovely slice of sewing it into cork also. Fitzmaurice is a fine manager but he has had some slices of luck - the penalty and his hail mary putting on donaghy vs mayo last year.
    Unfortunately cork are gone from the football over the next 10 days, whether its Saturday evening or sunday afternoon is the only question. Will Cuthbert look for another term I wonder? must have been a fairly battering 2 years and the next while wont get any better.
    One issue is the alan o connor 'nobbling' as ose puts it, oconnor played a different role on Saturday as excellent outlined by paudie kissane in the echo and it wasn't directly related to kerrys manager that he had a lesser role

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies football fixtures next weekend

Monday August 3 at 3pm, Cork v Meath in Thurles followed by Cork v Galway in the All Ireland minor final. a repeat of last years final which was one of the games of the year in any code

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    To be honest I am sick and tired of reading what the " Kerry press" say its all great great Kerry and how Cork are so so bad all the time ...times you would think that Cork footballing people go out to play and do things always the wrong way like Billy Morgan said you don't listen to there propaganda. I have said here before that I have no faith in our management , but only for Padraigh Hughues we would be looking at an All-Ireland final place ....of course we still had chances to kill it out the first day but failed and we did go back to the bad old ways after they got the goal the last night ......time to move ahead ...the very best of luck to both Cork teams this weekend ...REBELS ABU !

Nobody can dispute what o se said
    Forget he's from kerry he's right
    Seriously get realistic we were not an all ireland final place away beat kerry

I can't believe the naivety cork still Christ above its clear dawn break day kerry much weaker ist day four massive changes and position change and kerry warm weather camp and fact cork training since November

Have you ever actually considered cork weren't that good the ist day kerry were off peak as Dublin only team they want
    What your saying is were second best team ireland no logic back it up and is just nonsense imo in Galway possible beat Cork
    Donegal monaghan would beat cork
    Mayo possibly but Cork would be suited by their orthodox play and o shea full forward help cork midfield
    We were let's be brutally honest no where near all ireland final
    We had one game v kerry but kerry dominated us ist half drawn game
    Let's not paint a rosary pictures for sake it
    Nobody like be negative but the last thing Cork football needs is false dawns ffs haven't we had enough of them with greatest respect to know one at this stage

I was talking in terms of the draw if we had won ...Q final against Westmeath or Fermanagh ...semi final against Monaghan or Tyrone ..I for one would think we had a great chance in winning those games ...regardless of who is in charge winning against Kerry would have been a huge positive going forward.

sean mac wrote: »
    That's a sickening read from a cork point of view, while there is an element of truth to it, theres a lovely slice of sewing it into cork also. Fitzmaurice is a fine manager but he has had some slices of luck - the penalty and his hail mary putting on donaghy vs mayo last year.
    Unfortunately cork are gone from the football over the next 10 days, whether its Saturday evening or sunday afternoon is the only question. Will Cuthbert look for another term I wonder? must have been a fairly battering 2 years and the next while wont get any better.
    One issue is the alan o connor 'nobbling' as ose puts it, oconnor played a different role on Saturday as excellent outlined by paudie kissane in the echo and it wasn't directly related to kerrys manager that he had a lesser role
    I agree he's lucky but all great manager get ounce luck in fortune favours brave

Cuthbhertt may claim be unlucky fair enough refs but he's been lucky with two soft draws sligo and Kildare and you have feel Donegal come through a mine field ulster loose again good team in monaghan and then face upcoming Galway who real real team of future and Walsh back huge bonus
    Compared to Donegal cork are lucky they have Kildare

Cork also could be argued lucky kerry decided Dublin only team matters and put back warm weather camp til may and were complacent against cork the ist day

Monaghan mayo Tyrone all narrow victory he got luck those games in the league
    Kissane article was excellent but I think he doesn't want to be too harsh on team as playedwith a few

Do you read outstanding Barry o Donovan echo

Headline was something like forward need better supply and it's difficult see cork winning games here on one scoring average go up croke park
    He's right

Sean your normally bang on and very astute no nonsense call spade spade
    How would you evaluate management in terms to o rourke fitzmaurice Gavin
    Would you give them more time
    What's there strongest asset and weakest asset
    Would you think cork improved stayed same or went back two years
    Would you give them new term and if not who would you like in there

Regarding the minor football who would you like in there and would you give Donal sullivan new term

What do you make of the hurling sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

The only worry I have with the hurlers ttm is this changing every line of a successful team to accommodate shane, whose form has been poor for a while now. I think the system we have developed is a great advantage and heopfully they leave walsh half back and brian murpht to follow canning BUT they must retain their shape in defence.
    As for minor football, thanks donal but its someone new now, time for someone like paudie kissane as coach is needed big time.
    Cuthbert is neither lucky or unlucky he is simply not good enough despite the effort he puts in. I would have huge questions about the squad make up, the current system is not good enough against a top team. If Kelly, Maguire and john o rourke were fit and selected vs the dubs we would have a really strong team but I can only see Dublin destroying cork, the team has a glass jaw under Cuthbert. We should be good enough for Kildare who have an equal over rated manager in Jason ryan........sad to see a really good bunch of palyers like Kelly, shields, goulding, cadogan playing out their last few years of top class football being laughed at and not been given every chance of winning, very sad. Fitzmaurice has had huge slices of luck, his selection the first day vs cork was a disgrace and showed a total misunderstanding of what was required, he was haunted the ref got him a replay, as there is NO way Kerry would beat Dublin, Donegal and mayo/monaghan. Better managers like orourke, gavin or Gallagher will exploit the lack of pace inkerrys middle third or donaghys lack of form for example. Either way 2015 is another write off for cork football, while the hurlers may win on sunday but they wont win an all ireland

God post sean well thought out no nonsense given

I'd agree with some of it there
    Kissane Derek kavanagh James McCarthy be wonderful minor set up absoultey awesome

I agree with all bar kerry in fitzmaurice didn't get it wrong so much way off more look at the reason he played b team
    Dublin building a squad and he knows needs build squad and more wanted learn b team be up it and took calculated risk in knew cork wouldn't take advantage of it
    I'm convinced even with out penalty kerry would still found way goal or points as Cork were on back foot
    Think complacent out fitzmaurice more anything with trying new lads
    Sign great manager who he brings in and does learn from mistake
    He brought in o Neill and learned drawn game and limited defence getting everything out kerry

As monaghan it's important remember where they are at
    Outstanding well coached team who awesome win ulster but mcguimness right in monaghan focus day one Donegal
    When you surmounted that challenge next point is can you push on further
    I don't think monaghan can in that's limit team and that's no slight on o rourke but croke park expose lack pace Clerkin and kerry no where near full peak
    Kerry just eight five per cent I guess
    Full training I'm led belive is from end July august on kerry and there's more them

Would monaghan beat kerry
    No as it be close but Mcmanus would be marked and outside that or off day Monaghan no other forwards
    Kerry with Gooch donughe geaney Donagh too much for them
    Kerry Donegal be close
    Donegal have more improve and system they have is outstanding and it would be close game and Donegal have more than Murphy now
    Dublin are danger but kerry would relish them and it be tough

One thing I learned growing up
    Clock strikes twelve at night it's midnight
    It always rains more in ireland than it dry
    Kk and kerry treat hurling and football seriously
    Longer kerry remain in championship harder they are to beat as seven goals three games conceded kerry huge worry and shows defence poor but kerry get all ireland final Yes have problems but almost guaranteed kerry find way as like o se said he'll have remote control button on all day night and he'll have plan stop defence
    Whether there good enough win it again remains be seen but fitzmaurice is outstanding management in every team wins all ireland is stale year after and lethargic

But picked b team ist day v Cork and draw like rocket up their holes now so kerry have focus now and draw best thing happened kerry now
    Also he took huge risk putting warm weather camp from April to summer
    He knew he couldn't go with the status quo last year had make players belive team got better last year and only way you can do that is by giving reason to believe and kerry winning munster about month behind real training with warm weather camp players know come September they will be rearing to go

Don't be fooled by kerry yet yes lot work do but there more in them
    Kerry know marathon was never won over a hundred yards or the grand national rarely won by horse leading at the ist fence, kerry are in for the long haul

One common denominator from Saturday was kerry have ability grind out a win, dog a result, management that learn from mistake and hunger was there
    Right them off at your peril imo

As for donaghy he's not just a big man he's wonderful vision movement and balance and can score and from basket ball learned an appreciation for space with awesome hands

Donegal couldn't break kerry last year or in the league so kerry won't fear them

Mayo won't beat kerry absoultey no way
    Mayo have beaten no one yet and joint coaching won't work and I'm remain convinced by management as imo bit naive with orthodox role and Donegal if get over tricky Galway would beat mayo

Mayo are they better coached than when Horam coughlan were there
    I don't think so
    Buckley is yes outstanding coach gives them hope but o shea at full forward deprives them midfield
    Mayo were on ropes v in expirenced Galway and I saw enough in defence say their poor and can be beaten
    Connaught has with respect been piss poor
    In fact mayo are the one team this cork team could beat that says it all imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭MfMan

Mayo are they better coached than when Horam coughlan were there
    I don't think so
    Buckley is yes outstanding coach gives them hope but o shea at full forward deprives them midfield
    Mayo were on ropes v in expirenced Galway and I saw enough in defence say their poor and can be beaten
    Connaught has with respect been piss poor
    In fact mayo are the one team this cork team could beat that says it all imo

Mayo would run through Cork like a dose of salts and would beat Kerry also IMHO. O'Se has added a new dimension to the forwards and Parsons can cover quite adequately for him in midfield. Connacht has been no more 'piss poor' than any other province and very few counties get a beating like Mayo inflicted on Sligo last Sunday. Dublin and Mayo are by a long way the best 2 teams at the moment, Kerry with a brittle defence lag back in third at least, Donegal are slipping and wouldn't be surprised of they fall to Galway next week.

Conor whelan starts for Galway sunday

Young forward but Cork need be wary just out of minor
    He's got two goals two intermediate team v Kilkenny intermediate final last week and against limerick last year minor two goals plus got goal year before
    Outstanding minor two years and Cian lynch out minor good season shows your good enough youth not always problem
    Needs be watched

Got great goal last year v limerick
    Fast and pacey
    Huge ask for him to start but Cork need have o Neill on him and expirence should tell

Cork were right pick physics team as Galway half forward line is built strong with Donnellan glynn and forde

Murphy on forde
    Walsh on Donnellan
    Cahalane on glynn

Murphy on canning with Lawton covering
    Mcdommell on mannion
    Match up crucial
    Cork got them wrong v tipp last year and jbm was totally blame
    He admitted it after
    Sunday is chance get it right

Harnedy should cause Hanbury problem and horgan huge battle with coen like Noel connor

Horgan needs drift out
    Tannin at centre back can be got at for pace and Cronin should go in with lehane on him and run at him as he's lacking pace

Strong Galway team physical wise and tough centre and has pace with whelan
    This will be tough and huge huge pressure both teams
    Jbm probably go himself cork loose and cunningjham could be forced out Galway loose with Liam o doughue imo real contention get it and outstanding coach and not sure but was tipp senior last year think he still is
    Cork set up to sweeper
    This will be physically sunday

Conor McCarthy on UTV sport tonight and talking about tactics etc. rightfully said only for two major blunders that handed Kerry the All-Ireland last year Donegal could have been Champions...Fitzmaurice very lucky against Mayo last year in semi final ...and very lucky against Cork in drawn game only ref bailed him out ...to say that Kerry picked B team v. Cork first day is not right ...