If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 189: Mendes vs. McGregor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I'm kind of glad he won, even if it is all bull**** it is enjoyable to watch and McGregor is a likable enough guy.

When I see people talking about tactics in MMA I always laugh and remember that quote from the sage Mike Tyson: "Everyone's got a plan until they get punched in the mouth!" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Whilst I think this sport is rubbish, fair play to Conor, appears to walk the walk as well as talk it :)
    Would never sell anywhere near coke park capacity, 1/3 perhaps.

Back to ufc - not a patch on a good boxing match!
    Anyway, again, well done Conor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Whilst I think this sport is rubbish, fair play to Conor, appears to walk the walk as well as talk it :)

It would sell out in minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I see the Bono hating brigade are jumping on the lets hate another successful Irish band wagon here :rolleyes: Begrudgery at its best. Here's a tip lads, why don't ye put down the 2 ltr bottle of cola and 6 pack of mighty munch and do something more productive with yer lives. Like losing the man boobs for a start.

A fat bald irrelevant Country singer sold out Croker 5 times over. A hot topic athlete in his prime with an absolute bandwagon behind him in his hometown city will have zero bother doing it once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Omackeral wrote: »
    A fat bald irrelevant Country singer sold out Croker 5 times over. A hot topic athlete in his prime with an absolute bandwagon behind him in his hometown city will have zero bother doing it once.

It's woeful to watch, the build up is more exciting. What's his average fight - 2 rounds, of which, most of it, is boring!for say 50 quid??? You must be mad. Back in the day, after a while people complained Tyson fights were too short, but you would still pay the cash for Tyson, boxing is far better/entertaining to watch. Just saying, I don't care, the sport does nothing for me. I like McGregor, milking it royally - let the drunken fools pay, more cash in the bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

It's woeful to watch, the build up is more exciting. What's his average fight - 2 rounds, of which, most of it, is boring!for say 50 quid??? You must be mad. Back in the day, after a while people complained Tyson fights were too short, but you would still pay the cash for Tyson, boxing is far better/entertaining to watch. Just saying, I don't care, the sport does nothing for me. I like McGregor, milking it royally - let the drunken fools pay, more cash in the bank

You're arguing that Croke Park wouldn't sell-out based on nothing but your own subjective opinion of the sport. Even worse, you're saying that only 'drunken fools' will pay. Have you anything substantial to say or is this you at your best?

A fat bald irrelevant Country singer sold out Croker 5 times over.

If you read that sentence a few times the penny will drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭section4

I don't know who are more plentiful in numbers, the people on the bandwagon who probably don't know who the Gracie family are or the begrudgers hating this fella for making serious opportunity for himself. He said he was going to do it, he did it. Same as always. Whether you like him or not, it's time to admit he's the real deal.

I know well who the gracie family are
    and i know when some thing not right
    having watched how boxings works over 30 years
    I have watched this scenario played out many times
    I used to believe all the hype at the start
    then i grew up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd say if he had a different accent you'd simply be calling him loud.

Enjoy your mouthful of piss.
    You're the only one to bring up his "working class" accent which says more about the chip on your own shoulder than anything else. A lot of people don't like mouthy show offs, nothing unusual there. I'm not taking away from his achievements, fair play to him, but his well practiced persona will always be irritating to many...which is why he has adopted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,656 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm not one for jumping on bandwagons but fair play to McGregor. Genuinely delighted to see an Irish man enjoy a meteoric rise in a global sport. The flak he gets for being arrogant and brash annoys me too. It's all part of the show business side of his sport.

I tell you what. He is a damn sight more entertaining than most of the other sports stars we laud over (a certain Pinergy spokesman and snooze-inducing Irish out-half immediately spring to mind)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Always love the ohh but boxing is better when MMA is mentioned on here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Great gutsy performance but doesn't bode that well TBH against Aldo, who must think he can finish McGregor off from some of the positions Mendes got himself into.

You're the only one to bring up his "working class" accent which says more about the chip on your own shoulder than anything else. A lot of people don't like mouthy show offs, nothing unusual there. I'm not taking away from his achievements, fair play to him, but his well practiced persona will always be irritating to many...which is why he has adopted it.

I'm not from Dublin so I certainly don't have a chip on my shoulder about his accent. However, I suspect you do (you're the one that just labelled him working-class, not me).

Yes, he's a mouthy show-off, but has he done anything to be labelled a scumbag. What's that based on? I think I know. Perhaps I'm wrong, but I don't think I am.

Try to see the goodness in other people, my young padwan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

the ole brigade have found their voices now. No doubt 95% of them were at the euros aswell in Poland

Wonder where the next event is? Katie Taylor in rio maybe

Ah, Andy Lee in Thomond Park is before that. The Munster rugby bandwagon will be in full voice for that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm always delighted to see any Irish sportsperson reaching the top of their sporting profession. Now I was only an amateur, but as a former boxer and martial artist myself, I can somewhat appreciate the extreme dedication and hard work McGregor has put into his craft. And to see McGregor taking all his opponent had, trash talking him all the way and coming back to land the killer blow. Is just the kind of true grit and mental & physical toughness real champions need. Even more impressive to see him overcome an elite wrestler and overcome his ground game. McGregor is a phenomenal talent and he exudes a natural charisma & showmanship inside and outside of the octagon, that's rare in his profession. Long may he stay successful and healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

McGregor
    Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Great gutsy performance but doesn't bode that well TBH against Aldo, who must think he can finish McGregor off from some of the positions Mendes got himself into.

I think it'll mean the opposite tbh....I think Aldo could very well retire now

Absolutely he will mendes held off aldo for 25 minutes depite two illegal blows after the bell went at the end of round one .
    Connor made short work of mendes yeah mendes supposed was the better wrestler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Possibly. Depends on whether he was really ducking this fight in the first place, which I don't really believe myself.

McGregor
    Gatling wrote: »
    Absolutely he will mendes held off aldo for 25 minutes depite two illegal blows after the bell went at the end of round one .
    Connor made short work of mendes yeah mendes supposed was the better wrestler

Simply not true...Conor got the job done, and got it done emphatically but he was losing that fight and taking a beating. I would have loved to have seen Mendes who was preparing for this fight for months fight Conor. I realise Conor had to adjust his training too, but he was obviously doing higher level training longer than Mendes was. If Aldo retires, I think a rematch with Mendes or a move up to Lightweight would be likely.

McGregor
    Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Possibly. Depends on whether he was really ducking this fight in the first place, which I don't really believe myself.

Passing old x-rays off as ones from a few weeks ago is a dead give away to me tbh. He was passed as fight fit by numerous doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Todd Toddington III

Dan_Solo wrote:

What? Mendes is probably the best wrestler in the division. Aldo has won twice by submission, no way aldo will do to mcgregor what Mendes did. Plus conor'll have until the fight (have my doubts it will happen tbh, expecting aldo to "retire" undefeated) to work on his takedown defence. Which needs work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

McGregor
    Boxing is so dull and sluggish compared to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Brian2011

Any idea roughly when a next fight could be announced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭amber2

Was 2nd of Jan '16 mentioned.

McGregor
    Saipanne wrote: »
    Boxing is so dull and sluggish compared to this.

How often do you watch Boxing?

Simply not true...Conor got the job done, and got it done emphatically but he was losing that fight and taking a beating. I would have loved to have seen Mendes who was preparing for this fight for months fight Conor. I realise Conor had to adjust his training too, but he was obviously doing higher level training longer than Mendes was. If Aldo retires, I think a rematch with Mendes or a move up to Lightweight would be likely.

Fights aren't over the the Final bell at the end of the 5th round .
    Could have ,would have doesn't count when you get knocked out does it
    aldo didn't knock mendes out despite his best efforts .
    Aldo doesn't want anything to do with mcgregor plain and simple .
    He's never come across a more driven fighter like mcgregor.
    He'll feint injuries and more to avoid the fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

McGregor
    How often do you watch Boxing?

Enough to know it's boring.

McGregor
    Gatling wrote: »
    Fights aren't over the the Final bell at the end of the 5th round .
    Could have ,would have doesn't count when you get knocked out does it
    aldo didn't knock mendes out despite his best efforts .
    Aldo doesn't want anything to do with mcgregor plain and simple .
    He's never come across a more driven fighter like mcgregor.
    He'll feint injuries and more to avoid the fight

Your post makes no sense. You said Conor breezed through Mendes...he didn't, not at all. Look at the two guys after the fight, Conor was in much worse condition. He won, yes of course and deservedly so but he was shaken badly last night, Chad was beating him up until those last seconds...of course Conor won out of nowhere, and that's what makes him special, it was kind of like Silva-Sonnen 1 in a way.

And Aldo could have finished Mendes. Mendes was floored and even Conor urged Aldo to finish him from the crowd but he didn't. Aldo is one of the greatest UFC fighters of all time. He has done it all at the age of 28...you're vastly underrating the guy. Sure he didn't act like a professional here but you're being very harsh and biased.

McGregor
    Saipanne wrote: »
    Enough to know it's boring.

How many fights have you seen in 2015?