If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 189: Mendes vs. McGregor

PandaPoo wrote: »
    Couldn't disagree more about Mendes looking nervous. The week leading up to the fight he seemed genuinely excited and calm. He was pumped up right before the fight, he's a really laid back fighter .

Conor can say what he likes about being calm and in control during the fight, he was losing up until he dropped him with the left. It wasn't just happiness when he won, there was definite relief. Mendes is a complete gent, came off really well in the post fight interview and press conference. I'd like to see Conor move up to 155 and have him take the belt at 145.

He was shaking right as he got in the ring. Visibly so. Agree about Conor though. He looked like it had taken its toll. And fully agree with Mendes being a gent. I think Conor shows a lot of respect to his opponents after the fact too, it's why I like it, because it's all a big act and purely for theatrics. As much as it looks rough as fcuk, there's respect between fighters.

He will move up, that's his plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

kippy wrote: »
    Just watched it there.
    Well played McGregor - set up for life now and a key player in UFC

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

it's all a big act and purely for theatrics...

It's WWE lite, all bombast and drama to whip up interest in the target audience, boys and young men who like violence. Boxing has gone down that road too, I see Tyson Fury threatening to rip out someone's heart...the gloves and the rules might make that tricky but it'll sell tickets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Jjiipp79

McGregor, so proud of you and to be Irish!

I really feel Edgar will be his toughest fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Brian2011

I watched the fight and I honestly thought McGregor was going to be beaten as he could not cope with Chad's wrestling takedowns, McGregor looked shaken and shocked. And then he lands a super knockout combo from nowhere, WTF!!

Well done to him but anyone else think he got lucky??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

Thanks. It has sound but no pic?

Brian2011 wrote: »
    I watched the fight and I honestly thought McGregor was going to be beaten as he could not cope with Chad's wrestling takedowns, McGregor looked shaken and shocked. And then he lands a super knockout combo from nowhere, WTF!!

Maybe a touch lucky, but in all sports you're going to be tested and not a champion alive did not ride their luck from time to time. He will learn from this and take it all on board and be a better fighter because of itz

C'mon McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

McGregor
    Jjiipp79 wrote: »
    McGregor, so proud of you and to be Irish!

One man beats up another..... and your brimming with patriotic pride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Well before professional sports patriotic pride was based on men killing each other.

Every other county is patriotic, are WE not allows to be patriotic?

And I love it... Again so proud of Conor and to be Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

One Irish sportsman shows himself to be among the best in his chosen sport so yeah, a bit of patriotic pride alright.....

Do you begrudge all sportspeople or just certain sports?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Gutted he won. Load mouth scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

His opponent seemed like a really nice guy in the interview. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

How can he be lucky

He knocked the man down and won.

Delighted he won especially to annoy people like yourself:)

Meh, maybe not particularly likeable in the persona he projects but he knows how much trash talk is worth to his career, profile and bank balance. He won't be the first or last sportsperson who sounds like an obnoxious dick as they thrash talk an opponent

It's WWE lite, all bombast and drama to whip up interest in the target audience, boys and young men who like violence. Boxing has gone down that road too, I see Tyson Fury threatening to rip out someone's heart...the gloves and the rules might make that tricky but it'll sell tickets.

Boxing went down that route with Ali, if not before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

The real victory here was getting to see Conor's two haunty sisters at the post-fight interview.

Very tasty indeed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Why someone would want to go to a ufc fight is beyond me, watching 2 lads rolling around on the floor, its laughable tbh, the irish must be more gullable then i thought if they are gonna fill croke park to watch that rubbish:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,990 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Didn't see the main fight, but I did see the one before hand. It was some KO by using his knee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,990 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Thanks. It has sound but no pic?

Working here on the laptop. Are you trying it on your phone?

Anyhow its poor quality. I think 3E is showing it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As a spectator sport it's pretty poor. Guess thats why they need all that waffley shìte talk and hype around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Not the result I was hoping for....will always be a paper champ unless he beats Aldo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

I thought he coped very well on the ground. After all Mendes couldn't get him out of full guard and when he did try a submission Conor got back up.

Round 2 was funny as Mendes kept laying in those elbows to Conor you could see Conor laugh after each one and he kept saying to Mendes I'm still here.

Conor didn't have to beat him on the ground just tire him out there and make sure he didn't let him pass his guard. He coped very well with a much superior ground fighter on other hand Mendes didn't have much to offer on the stand up game at all.
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    Not the result I was hoping for....will always be a paper champ unless he beats Aldo.

Well you heard Dana during the week about Aldos xrays and doctors report. Aldo for like 5th or 6th time backed off a fight seems like he is more a paper champ.

Turtyturd wrote: »

Awh that's nice:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭mikeym

Just saw the highlights on facebook.

Delighted for McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,871 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ah he's a harmless enough gobsh1te in fairness.
    It's obvious both he and the whole UFC racket are stage managed to the extreme.

I would be amazed if he's capable of forming an original opinion of his own without a blank sheet of paper and a box of crayons.

As for the supporters......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

I'd say if he had a different accent you'd simply be calling him loud.

Enjoy your mouthful of piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Could be a worse Could be a bitch