Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 189: Mendes vs. McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

i'd imagine that this is what gay porn is like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

McGregor
    onlyme! wrote: »
    i'd imagine that this is what gay porn is like!

Unless there's is a fella hanging out of the back of him, and another sucking him off, otherwise no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I'm almost tempted to put €100 on McGregor to win. That's how much I want him to lose. Last time I backed a horse in the Grand National, it had to be shot immediately afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

I see McGregor called someone a f*****g q***r. What a really classy guy.

I'm delighted to have him represent Ireland on a world stage in sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Much like the WWE isn't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

RayM wrote: »
    I'm almost tempted to put €100 on McGregor to win. That's how much I want him to lose. Last time I backed a horse in the Grand National, it had to be shot immediately afterwards.

Keep the tonne Ray, he'll win :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Smidge wrote: »
    Keep the tonne Ray, he'll win :)

Too late. The odds were 8/13, so if he wins, I'll get €161.54. That €61.54 won't be enough to cushion the blow of him not being put to sleep, so I still hope he loses.

RayM wrote: »
    Too late. The odds were 8/13, so if he wins, I'll get €161.54. That €61.54 won't be enough to cushion the blow of him not being put to sleep, so I still hope he loses.

Will ya buy me a pint out of your winnings? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Only not as entertaining. Of course that's from someone with an unbiased opinion ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Bret Hart wrote: »
    I see McGregor called someone a f*****g q***r. What a really classy guy.

I'm delighted to have him represent Ireland on a world stage in sport.

Just a guy breaking balls, it wasn't wise to use the term in public granted but he's just being himself, terms like queer and fag are thrown around in a jokey fashion by lads. I think at times he forgets his audience now goes so far and beyond, not just his ball breaking mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

We have Sheamus in the WWE so that's enough.

KKkitty wrote: »
    We have Sheamus in the WWE so that's enough.

Ah but the WWE is girls dancing around pretending to do stuff :D

McGregor
    Seamus v McGregor! A ginger Off!

McGregor
    Winner fights the wan from Girls aloud

I have a shocking soft spot for gingers :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Smidge wrote: »
    Ah but the WWE is girls dancing around pretending to do stuff :D

WWE where the men shave and wax more than the women :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Sheamus as well as being a 2 time WWE champ and 1 time WHC champ is also starring as Rocksteady in the new Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles movie. Got to hand it to the guy, he's a made a real career for himself in showbiz Stateside.

i was joking in fairness(sligtly :D) about Sheamus.
    I love the trash talk and showbiz side of both the wwe and mma side of things.
    Folks who dont get that and see it as "serious" are missing out imo.
    Its all part of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

the ole brigade have found their voices now. No doubt 95% of them were at the euros aswell in Poland

Wonder where the next event is? Katie Taylor in rio maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭KungPao

Holy hell, that knee by Almeida! He looks the real deal.

I think it's a tough call between CMcG and CM, looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

What time is it on at? I've 50 on mcgregor

About 5am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

McGregor
    Who's still up? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

An unappealing sport, in my opinion.

And any good amateur boxer, let alone a professional, would waste these guys in seconds; again IMO.

But, hey, i'm watching; they must be doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

stretchdoe wrote: »

And any good amateur boxer, let alone a professional, would waste these guys in seconds; again IMO.

That's your opinion of course but it just happens to be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

stretchdoe wrote: »

I agree with the first sentence but the second is nonsense. MMA fighters have too many weapons in their arsenal. Knees, elbows, kicks and grappling.

A boxer couldn't hold all that off with fists and footwork alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,407 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Hopefully McGregor's face will look like a combination of Lawler's and MacDonald's after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

El Guapo! wrote: »
    That's your opinion of course but it just happens to be wrong.

It may well be.

Anyway, looking forward to the fight right now; Sinead O' Connor's got me fired up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭moneymad

Conor looks weight drained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,407 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

USA! USA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Todd Toddington III

moneymad wrote:
    Conor looks weight drained.

Yeah man. Hope its for show otherwise he's getting a whooping. Mendes is a quality fighter