Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

marvsins wrote: »
    I've never seen McGregor look so tired after a fight. He was absolutely drained.

Also for the people moaning about the stoppage, Mendes didn't !! Not when Herb Dean stopped it and not after in the interview. That says enough really.

I'm not saying it was, but you'd hardly expect him to moan if it was a fix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,874 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

If Jose retires, is Connor champion proper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

I'm delighted, but something about that was dodgy I have to be honest. Maybe it was the short notice but seeing Mendes tired 30 seconds in didn't add up.

Getting kicked repeatedly in the stomach and chest has that effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Knew his knee was in a bad way

Wonder what treatment he will get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

The_N4sir wrote: »
    First time I have ever stayed up for a UFC card. Hopefully loads more in the future

They aren't always worth it. It will be a long time before there's a night as incredible as this. Between the main and co main I thought I was going to pass out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭singlesnights

Yes but, while the body shots did damage, I also think the 2 week camp had a telling effect on Mendes.

Nobody is saying he shouldn't be tested but I think he was losing that fight till the stoppage, his wrestling defense wasn't up to much.

I assume the next fight will be with Aldo but personally I'd fancy Frankie Edgar against him.

Conor can only fight whoever they put in against him. Aldo pulled out after Conor had done all his fight preparation, the huge promotional tour and countless interviews. He has shown incredible mental strength to hold it all together, especially with the expectations of a whole country basically on his shoulders.

Mendes had nothing to lose because he could have always pointed to the fact that he had too little time to prepare for the fight (To his absolute credit, he did not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Knex. wrote: »
    Also, anyone see anything wrong with those elbows Chad was complaining about?

I thought they were illegal but Herb knows better than me. MMAFighting said they were grand as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Best MMA card I have ever witnessed, without a shadow of a doubt, and I've seen some good ones.

The fights just kept getting better and better as the night went on.

Lawler vs. Rory was up there as one of the best wars I've ever seen, along with Griffin vs. Bonnar and Shogun vs. Henderson II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

JT26 wrote: »
    The cringy comments in here tonight,McGregor showed the patience and resolve against a better wrestler tonight to come up top.well done McGregor!

Well done but the fight really could have gone either way. Another day could see another result.

Those saying he breezed through it are mental

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

Didn't look out of place to me.

I always wondered about those. The elbows Jones was disqualified for against Hamil ? Straight elbow down, are they not the same as when you're on your back throwing elbows straight down into an opponents head ? Which is what I took the Mendes complaint to be about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

I should've bet on the fight! :(

Also, Conor didn't get his hair did (unusual)... I bet he's growing it for an Arnie flick...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Well done but the fight really could have gone either way

Well obviously

But it didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

I'm still shaking like a leaf. Conor showed amazing resolve against an amazing opponent.

Both guys were a credit to themselves tonight. Should be absolute respect to both guys regardless of personal opinions.

I'll be honest, I though Chad was doing damage on the ground. I was extremely worried. Thankfully Conor's left hand is an absolute weapon. I'm pretty sure I woke my whole neighborhood up when he landed that left and hurt him.

Best card in UFC history? I'm not exaggerating. Top to bottom, I think it was. Absolutely insane. How are we meant to sleep tonight?

Congrats Conor. We have a champion people. Cannot wait for Conor/Aldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

As usual twitter is great...

"Somewhere tonight Steven Seagal is taking credit for that victory "#UFC189

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I always wondered about those. The elbows Jones was disqualified for against Hamil ? Straight elbow down, are they not the same as when you're on your back throwing elbows straight down into an opponents head ? Which is what I took the Mendes complaint to be about.

I noticed a slight angle on the elbows, which means they were fine. Only 12-6 elbows are outlawed, Conor threw his upwards and ever so slightly to the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I think it's funny how many people are commenting on how things seemed "fishy", or that he was lucky to win, or that his hair is too long, or that Mendes wasn't right...

Jesus guys, can't people just enjoy it for what it is? An Irish guy lifting the belt? I'm not even a massive mcgregor fan but the guy went through the mill on the deck, slipped out of two submission holds, got up and still put the #1 guy down in the 2nd fair n square. Nothing lucky about that, the guy is the real deal. It was a good scrap, he's very technical and clever in the ring despite the showboating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

So fcuking annoying, my Internet went screwy just before the McGregor fight. I still saw most of it but it was in between buffering and changes in picture quality. Was perfect the rest of the night though and with the fights that were on, it was excellent value.

Was worried for McGregor there. Thought Mendes got him to ground easily enough. Once there, he didn't look to progress but was throwing some pretty heavy elbows. I'd imagine his plan was to continue that pattern for the following three rounds because he was obviously getting hurt in stand-up with McGregor.

Fair play to McGregor though. He was throw a punch (and a kick! ). I've been listening to friends of mine saying the next guy will be his first real test and then retracting that after Conor's beaten them. Will be interesting to see what they say now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Luckyfran

what happend was it a set up or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I'm not a fan of his persona (especially the personal comments) and it can be so cringey but it was nice to see the real McGregor at the end showing respect to Chad. And Chad is a class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Well obviously

But it didn't.

Those saying it was easy are mental, he took loads of punishment and showed great resilience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Prelims were poor, but HANDS DOWN the BEST main card i have ever seen..... UFC have stacked that card so fecking good. I feel privileged to have stayed up for it honestly unreal, not even because of the McGregor win, i would have been happy if the McGregor fight wasnt even on that card it was just unreal! Gotta be hard for Dana and the Fertitas to call bonuses on that card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Panic E

Wow, Mendes brought it anyway. Much respect and always have done.

He was out after the punch. May have recovered but, that is the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭singlesnights

.ak wrote: »
    I think it's funny how many people are commenting on how things seemed "fishy", or that he was lucky to win, or that his hair is too long, or that Mendes wasn't right...

Jesus guys, can't people just enjoy it for what it is? An Irish guy lifting the belt?

If begrudgery was an Olympic sport, Ireland would win gold every single time.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

sheehy83 wrote: »
    I thought they were illegal but Herb knows better than me. MMAFighting said they were grand as well.

12-6 straight down are illegal, 11-5 legal or any other similar motion are legal. Also a 12-6 downward elbow that arcs..legal. Its only a direct straight down 12-6 that is illegal, all others are fine. Conors looked 11-5 and arced to me, would have to review it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

How do you put that into words? Where can you even start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

Didn't look out of place to me.

It's the straight up to downwards with the point that are illegal. It's a ridiculous rule created by people who didn't really have a clue.
    It would be weird if Mendes, as a veteran, thought the ones Conor was throwing were illegal. Perhaps he felt they were going to the back of the head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

All it took to make McGregor humble was 18 takedowns.

Seriously though congrats to all the Irish MMA hardcores on here. Been reading what seems like the same names since Lesnar's debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Mendes is a class act, fair play to him. Mcgregor is compelling, love him or hate him you've got to watch him! I think he's great, and that was a beauty to drop Mendes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Thelomen Toblackai

Worrying thing for McGregor though is that he was caught with some good punches, taken down and controlled pretty easily by Mendes who was clearly banjaxed from the body shots.

He's well able to inflict damage but he seem pretty open and vulnerable when there's pressure put on him. I'd say Aldo would take a bit of confidence from that fight seeing Conor dominated like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

mfceiling wrote: »
    I can't see how you say the stoppage was questionable? He got caught clean on the chin and went down in a heap. Few more of those on the ground and he's leaving in an ambulance.

i thought it should have went another round, so close to the end of that one and mendes wasn't knockedout, he was in his knees defending himself but that ref just stopped it. i didn't see mendes asking for it to be stopped and he wasn't at all cut up, winded, tired but mcgregor looked a wreck in all fairness like he just woke up.

mcgregor was very lucky to escape this one.

not a great fight, the one before was proper hard lol