Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I can't believe I was there for what just happened.

I'm almost emotional...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Peist2007 wrote: »
    UFC needs McGregor winning. The stoppage was questionable. No need to get all pissy at 5.47am

I can't see how you say the stoppage was questionable? He got caught clean on the chin and went down in a heap. Few more of those on the ground and he's leaving in an ambulance.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

FYP

No need to fix it, it was correct the first time. Mendes wasnt defending himself and buckled under the first punch. Ref stepped in and stopped it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

Whole thing smacks of a fix. First sign of any trouble for Mendez and fight stopped. The fact there was so little time left in the round adds to the suspicion. Could be wrong but it looked dodgy

absolutely absurd
    Herb Dean is the best referee in MMA and was totally correct to stop it. The time left in the round is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I always love to see the mutual respect at the end of the fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I'm actually in tears.

Fcuking hero.

Haven't read any posts from the last half hour but anyone still begrudging can go fcuk themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

What?!?!

Conor has to prepare for a TOTALLY different opponent with just 2 weeks to go.

Mendes is absolutely elite as an MMA wrestler and Conor took some huge shots too.

Conor can't look like a God in every single fight - he is fighting the absolute best fighters in the world and beating them!

Yes but, while the body shots did damage, I also think the 2 week camp had a telling effect on Mendes.

Nobody is saying he shouldn't be tested but I think he was losing that fight till the stoppage, his wrestling defense wasn't up to much.

I assume the next fight will be with Aldo but personally I'd fancy Frankie Edgar against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭uptherebels

UFC needs McGregor winning. The stoppage was questionable. No need to get all pissy at 5.47am

when you turtle on the ground and dont fight back the ref stops the fight regardless of how much time is on the clock.
    Its his job to protect the fighters.
    If it had been conor on the ground would have expected the ref call it the exact same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭James74

Well gents, it's been an emotional exhilarating night. As usual the banter here is as much part of the entertainment as the card. Good night all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭clever user name

Totally justified stoppage. Doesn't matter how much time was left, Chad was stunned and was not defending himself. Whoever disagrees must not watch much MMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭James74

... holy god,it's very bright outside...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

He took some heavy shots to the chin too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭The_N4sir

First time I have ever stayed up for a UFC card. Hopefully loads more in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

For all Mendes dominance on the ground, on their feet you could see he was fading from the early body shots. That very first kick might have done some damage, we may hear more about it if it has.

The one thing I didn't like was all the cocky hands down bull****, he needs to cut that out because someone will tag him and lights out.

Also cut the fukin hair.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Tough fight for McGregor, a few early punches helped him at the end. Think he was very lucky to win.

Back to bed for me now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

Knex. wrote: »
    Ehhh?

13798405201964678969.GIF

Ah, fcuk..

I'd actually deleted that comment after posting it as on reflection it seemed a bit extreme; was hoping someone wouldn't quote it in the meantime.

Anyway, as a novice in watching this sport/someone who knows little about it, something didn't sit right with me about some of it, especially the finish.

It would make you wonder what role money plays in the outcome; and i'm aware this isn't the only sport you could say that about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭stealinhorses

anyone saying this looked fixed has obviously never seen an MMA fight before

thought conor handled himself well on the ground, good guard and nice guillotine reversal. another class on the feet ofc. deserved winner, despite acting the maggot all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Just watched it back and Mendes nearly broke Conor's neck on the ground with that pass! Completely twisted it around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭marvsins

I've never seen McGregor look so tired after a fight. He was absolutely drained.

Also for the people moaning about the stoppage, Mendes didn't !! Not when Herb Dean stopped it and not after in the interview. That says enough really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Tough fight for McGregor, a few early punches helped him at the end. Think he was very lucky to win.

Back to bed for me now!

Yeah lucky because he knocked someone down

Can't wait until this thread returns to normal and the clueless don't come back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

How many people from here are in Vegas right now? Cannot imagine the craic over there lmao

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

****ing beautiful. To be able to hit a knockout blow(s) after being pummeled on the ground for most of the round was unbelievable! Delighted. Talk the talk and walk the walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I lost my bet on Mendes, I learned tonight just how quickly a fight can turn, I was gettin ready to collect ha!

BUT anyone who reckons this was a fix after those 2 massive punches to Mendes face by Mcgregor must be pocket talking, he was GONE!

Ref was excellent. Fighter is safe from further damage. Well Done McGregor...

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

'course he was defending himself, i'd say connor would have got one more slap in before the round was over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,326 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

martyos121 wrote: »
    Just watched it back and Mendes nearly broke Conor's neck on the ground with that pass! Completely twisted it around!

That was some escape! He proved he wasn't in trouble even though I was ****ting it he couldn't get up and only so much gnp you can take. I'm calling it now, Aldo retires.

Great seeing him having a cuddle with Chad after and Frankie shaking his hand.

I love this sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

He has largely breezed through his opponents so far and that has allowed him to showcase his outrageous style.

What was most satisfying tonight was that he showed his grit too. He took some huge shots and some serious punishment on the mat. But to get up and still have enough pop in his punches to floor someone like Mendes, kudos.

I think his setup is obviously gonna be a bit better the next time he comes up against a wrestler. When he kept the fight at distance he looked in control. He let Chad in too often though, openend himself up to a few power shots and he was able to be taken down at will.

My nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Mendes was just exhausted. Body shots took their toll, and he put his all into that last guillotine attempt before McGregor wriggled loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

I was a bit tired coming into this, but I feel my eyes are staring wide like McGregors now. I just turned the light off and the room didnt get darker, thats how much light is coming through the curtains!

Im going to watch the Sligo Rally later this morning....bed between or not? My heart is beating so fast I dont think I will sleep, I feel like Ive been out drinking vodka redbull all night and Ive only had a cup of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Also, anyone see anything wrong with those elbows Chad was complaining about?

Didn't look out of place to me.