Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Knex. wrote: »
    McGregor had 100% takedown defence before tonight. Interested to see what that figure is when updated tomorrow!

It'll be seriously harmed, but Mendes is a wrestler the best in the division id argue. So McGregor should get some leniency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eg4XBbyP2e8

JK in the locker room, chilling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Paully D wrote: »
    How do you put that into words? Where can you even start?

Knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Question to the MMA fans here, If Conor goes up to lightweight will he dominate that division or is it a different kettle of fish?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I hope he does. He always looked a bit ropey at weigh ins but came out ok on the night. Tonight was the first time I thought he didn't recover well from the cut.

Someone on my facebook said you know its bad when Sinead looks healthier than you :o

question for anyone here,
    what would be the usual gain from weigh in to the actual fight? (or their eating plan even) in them 24 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

What a card. Lawler, epic ****ing stuff. Gunni submitting Tatch....wow. Matt Brown, animal.

Conor....what can you say, he looked beat, he knew it after the fight...but he pulled it out, hats off, it cost me money but we still have the Aldo/Conor main event so i don't care. Just wish the UFC were willing to take a hit on the PPV and do it in Croke Park..Imagine.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

what would be the usual gain from weigh in to the actual fight? (or their eating plan even) in them 24 hours?

20 pounds or there abouts, mostly rehydration of fluids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Hard to believe people are suggesting the fight should have continued.

Mendes was floored and basically out on his hands and knees. Referee knew this. He couldn't stand there and allow McGregor a free for all.

3 seconds remaining in round is irrelevant. Only takes one shot to the head to me the whole night regrettable . This isn't boxing.

I felt it was a bit early, but in hindsight it was clear Mendes was done for, McGregor if given the chance would have kept battering him so the ref rightly stepped in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

you're a ****ing gob****e

Seriously how have some of these people found their way onto the mma board? You know there's a thread on after hours for this that might be more your speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I'd say around 15 to 20 pounds. Someone posted a great article about it in the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 lynchy

Here are my thoughts for anyone who is willing to read. I don't claim to be into mma. I was always into boxing. Never did it but I can appreciate good fighters and not am I very patriotic.

I was not able to catch the fight tonight but I have been reading the posts throughout. I do not like Conor's bravdo and lack of respect at times but I think it's brilliant that an island of under 4 million people can produce the likes of Conor, not to mention his coach John kavangh as well. I think it is a serious coup and it shows once again for our island we are punching well above our weight and we should be proud.

That is all and fair ****s to the travelling fans. Like the euros in poland they will be talking about us for ages to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭ronanc1000

I see on YT McGregor's Locker room was live streamed pre fight. Now post fight UFC were streaming the Mendes Locker room only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

nkay1985 wrote: »
    So fcuking annoying, my Internet went screwy just before the McGregor fight. I still saw most of it but it was in between buffering and changes in picture quality. Was perfect the rest of the night though and with the fights that were on, it was excellent value.

Was worried for McGregor there. Thought Mendes got him to ground easily enough. Once there, he didn't look to progress but was throwing some pretty heavy elbows. I'd imagine his plan was to continue that pattern for the following three rounds because he was obviously getting hurt in stand-up with McGregor.

Fair play to McGregor though. He was throw a punch (and a kick! ). I've been listening to friends of mine saying the next guy will be his first real test and then retracting that after Conor's beaten them. Will be interesting to see what they say now!

Exact same for me. Only came back for the last minute of the fight after resetting the modem. Bloody typical, was perfect up to that. Now I have to wait for the fight to be available on ufc.tv but the wifi is gone again. **** you Vodafone! Won't be streaming fight again unless this country gets its finger out and sorts out the interweb connection.

Saw the lawler fight tho. Still feeling a bit sick. Unbelievable stuff. Well done conor, did us proud. Now I have to watch that first round... If the wifi ever sorts itself out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

Put him against Aldo and it's a different story. Aldo's wrestling isn't chad's level. That into account McGregor wasn't training for Mendes either. Once he beats Aldo he'll move up weight, or at least he should once the IV bag is banned.

yep, he needs to move up. he's too skinny for the height.

don't think it was a fix, how can that go on ffs but just feel 4 seconds left and stop it? after been on top of the opponent delivering elbows for the entire round?with mendes having all the mat time, id say he's gutted. mcgregor could have lost it on the next round then again those punches would have suffered mendes more. look at mendes after the fight, not a bother on him! doesn't look like someone on the brink of collapse after 3 punches.

great to see him win it, but an iffy fight. the one before it with lawlor and mdonald, now that was a proper brawl. enjoyed that one.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Right im out, surprised I stuck it as long the amount of trolling and nonsense posts on here. Hopefully back to normality in a few days! Later people..War McGregor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Troll has been banned.
    Keep it civil lads.

It's a fair comment. If you've watched over 5 fights you should know that's a stoppage every day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

Axwell wrote: »
    Pretty sure downward is considered a direction in terms of the rule, doesnt matter if you on top or the bottom. The motion is still 12-6..a downward straight motion and if you do it and make contact its illegal regardless of position.

Correct it only matters that it is downward. The people on the panel creating the rules who were mostly boxing people I believe.. were influenced by demonstrations by martial artists who would break stacks of bricks and such with the downward elbow and felt they couldn't allow such a deadly technique be used.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Good ol' irish begrudgery when our own have success. Never ceases to amaze me.

Delighted for conor and everyone involved with him. Fully deserving.

Great card by the way, possibly best ever ufc card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

What an incredible photo. One of the best championship fights I've seen in the UFC, was uncomfortable viewing at times.

354985.jpg

youtube! wrote: »
    Question to the MMA fans here, If Conor goes up to lightweight will he dominate that division or is it a different kettle of fish?

No he won't.

I might be controversial here but Khabib Nurmagomedov if he stays injury free is going to dominate that division, and he would beat Conor. Well I think he would anyway. I'd like to see it happen. But Conor would lose his size advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Psychopaths the pair of them :pac:

Serious respect for that fight though. It was epic.

No he won't.

I might be controversial here but Khabib Nurmagomedov if he stays injury free is going to dominate that division, and he would beat Conor. Well I think he would anyway. I'd like to see it happen. But Conor would lose his size advantage

Agreed. Khabib would throw any lightweight around like a dead fish.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

20 pounds or there abouts, mostly rehydration of fluids.

i thought it would be a bit all-right, but i didn't think it;d be between a stone and a stone and a half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭harr

martyos121 wrote: »
    What an incredible photo. One of the best championship fights I've seen in the UFC, was uncomfortable viewing at times.

354985.jpg
    Two hardy fûckers, look at the state of that nose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

harr wrote: »

I'm not even sure it can be still classified as a nose.

harr wrote: »

If Rory went out tonight with the intention of making him resemble BJ Penn, he definitely succeeded! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

1wbakZz.jpg

Great picture.

Knex. wrote: »
    I'm not even sure it can be still classified as a nose.

Can't wait to hear Rogan calling Rory's next fight:

"MIKE! HE GOT HIT RIGHT IN THAT "FACIAL STUB"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

You dont wait for a fighter to be knocked out to stop a fight, and Mendes wasnt at all defending himself. Suggest you rewatch the end of the fight and also look up what involves a stoppage over a tko.

yea fine their rules etc but he looked in better shape talking to the ref than mcgregor. mcgregor wasn't doing much defending to the elbows either.
    mendes should fight him again.