Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭stumblingblock

cork squad announced

http://gaacork.ie/news/360647/

Bringing Murphy back is a big gamble for them. I think cork are vulnerable.

If we kick on from the same level of intensity of the latter stages of the league weve a great chance. But it will be a different environment this game Cork will be the team coming out with a point to prove. I think weve had ample time to get over the Mahony loss. Plenty young talent in reserve will be mad to step up such is the hunger and belief within this young squad. Bring it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Bringing Murphy back is a big gamble for them. I think cork are vulnerable.

If we kick on from the same level of intensity of the latter stages of the league weve a great chance. But it will be a different environment this game Cork will be the team coming out with a point to prove. I think weve had ample time to get over the Mahony loss. Plenty young talent in reserve will be mad to step up such is the hunger and belief within this young squad. Bring it on

I am massively intrigued as going into the league final I was never as confident....but I do feel Mahoney is a massive lost....even all scores he set up/a lot of forwards moves went through him!!

Though I'd love to see wat win....but if cork don't at least perform they have valid grounds to call for jbm head.....who will perform mahonys role??

He is as big a loss to wat as shefflin was to kk (equal importance to the team)

I am massively intrigued as going into the league final I was never as confident....but I do feel Mahoney is a massive lost....even all scores he set up/a lot of forwards moves went through him!!

Though I'd love to see wat win....but if cork don't at least perform they have valid grounds to call for jbm head.....who will perform mahonys role??

He is as big a loss to wat as shefflin was to kk (equal importance to the team)

A bit of a drastic comparison given that at the end of the day hes had one excellent league campaign for us. The few years before that he was blighted with injury and loss of form. A massive loss no doubt given his form this year and hes the guy that McGrath tried to build the forward line around. But definitely not a detrimental loss by any stretch. As Ive said previously there are plenty of other lads that can step up in his absence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I may be wrong but surely with the cork team that was named Waterford must fancy their chances lot of weaknesses in that cork team to exploit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭deisedude

lim4ev wrote: »
    I may be wrong but surely with the cork team that was named Waterford must fancy their chances lot of weaknesses in that cork team to exploit

History has shown you can never write off Cork. However a few injuries to their panel has shown the dearth of quality on their bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Don't forget lads these boys are Munster Champions and were in an All Ireland Final a few years back. We had a good league but tbf we are still a young team.

I'd fancy Cork but think we have a good chance. Certainly wouldn't write off Cork looking at their team. If they click like they did in the replay it will be hard to hold their forwards. We just have to starve them of possession.

Cant wait til Sunday, Hon the Deise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Horseboxhead

I am usually fairly conservative about tipping Waterford, as i was at the games v cork in '82 ,'83 and '86 and even though i was young there was such a sence of hopelessness after all them games, you felt we'd never recover, and to some extent never compete, but those times are gone, and i don't think we will not return to them short term at least, and huge credit to that must go to the man who has shown great courage in lifting us again, and as the man himself said ,we are not there yet but its coming, but isn't it grand to be facing into a muster and All ireland campaign with a sense of hope and confidence.
    Derek McGrath has brought us out of a time when we were freewheeling towards mediocrity, by being intelligent enough to be able to evaluate what he had , and by deciding this is where we need to go, and i firmly believe that he did this with a purness of heart that has the love of Waterford hurling as its core value, and i thank him for it, and i hope he will be granted all the support he was never promised but now deserves, and i include myself in that group, and i am humbled by how wrong i was.

Now on to sunday, Cork side named looks piss poor, if i'm to be honest, the Only question for Waterford is Who is now the designated free taker, but Derek will have that sorted , a man who took his managemant future in his hands and did what he did, knowing he would be knocked and had the vision and judgement to stick with it, will have sundays free taker thinking he is better than Paudie is , so no worries there, and paudie also is a big loss from general play, as he has become a huge player in that system, and his work on and off the ball ,could only be described as very impressive, but the rest of it, is fairly straight forward, everybody knows their job, the team has been the same all year, and i don't think anyones heads are going to be turned by playing munster championship hurling, League final was a big game, and no one bottled it, won't happen, so really its all about whats on the field.
    Cork , as i said are poor, and everybody is expecting this bounce , and suddenly they are going to be world beaters, yeah they're better than the league final, But how much better?, I don't think that much better , not this side, also i am wondering how strong Cork are on the line with one notable member of the back room team , that jimmy barry usually seemed to be leaning on, no longer there, might be nothing, but when your winning it means nothing, but when things go bad , then a strong voice can mean an enourmous amount , and to the players , O Neill is not the same hurler he was 3 years ago, Murphy cannot be even up to speed[no matter how well he is going with Bride rovers], and McDonnell is the most solid of that group, Half line if they line out like this , are poor, all three are either poor hurlers and slow or just slow, and they also don't look to be the type of guys you would want to have the ball in hand and expect good delivery every time, Ellis is the pick , but he can be got at with a bit of trickery and pace, Murphy is a clone, and as for the footballer, would not be playing if they had anyone else, Midfield i initially liked Walsh when i saw him under 21 , but his hurling has gone to pot, i think kearney with enough time and space could be a danger , and he is a lovely hurler and good striker, but won't get the time to do any of the above , so if he broke even then it would be a plus, if Walsh was wing forward , then he might be a bigger danger , but recently at midfield game flows around him, and when he's on the ball decision making is poor.
    Forwards, I think Rob o shea is a plus for Cork and he's not even starting , nice hurler but thats about it, Harnedy i think is top top class, if we could bring anybody [and he is nearly a Waterford man], and improve our side espically where he plays then it would be him, the biggest compliment i cna give him, is he is a great bit of stuff , a great competitor, and will need constant watching, Cooper is a worker, and he links it quite well , but he is no world beater, good stuff in him too, but he can be held, Inside line , Jesus how does luke o farrell survive , what does he do?, does not score enough, does not play close enough to goal, does not throw it around enough, does not win enough ball, i don't get it, they say he's always dangerous, i don't know, i think shane fives will eat him up , or barry coughlan if he does not try and kill him would also fancy his chances, and P Horgan, the myth , the legend untill he runs into the best corner back in Ireland bar none over the last 3 years , and puff he's gone, Lehane is hit and miss, he's 100 miles per hour , and can tip a goal, and takes a few points, but again when he's hot he's good, but then fades out of games for long periods, i again would question his decision making, but can't deny his pace or hurling,and you'd have to question how fit Cadagan is, but he looked like aworld beater if given time and space, and had a good year last year, i just don't think he is fit, but again either shane or Barry will do ok, their bench Paudie sullivan , and and and ???, .

We will win this if we truly believe we can, its basically in our own hands if we perform [and we are getting very consistant,imagine saying that about a waterford side], well and Cork perform well, we have a better side, end of, i'd take a point , but would be confident enough is saying it could be more, bookies are Rarely wrong, but in this case it all points to a Waterford win, not being Cocky ,as its not in us, but bigger fish out there, and any other team in munster playing this cork side on Sunday would fancy their chances, and we're better than most.Let the Hurling world take notice, we're Coming , and we're getting better.

The Brick 18/1 to score a goal with PP.

Reckon it could be a game to test out the full back early and Brick or Maurice to test out Mcdonnell or Murphy.

Who do you reckon Cork will have in Full back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Would a big waterford crowd be expected for this? Hopefully they do because it's got the making of a big occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/3/0506150653-shanahan-unlikely-to-feature-says-connors/

Have a read of this article lads. The part about absentees, jesus wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Cornerstoner

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/3/0506150653-shanahan-unlikely-to-feature-says-connors/

Have a read of this article lads. The part about absentees, jesus wept!

First I've heard of Daniels and Barron being injured, I sense a bit of mind games here

I sense typically bad reporting by the GAA website. Between themselves and RTE constantly seeing things that would have me tearing my hair out.

Like the mentioned Molumphy for christ sake. Same reporters had articles on his retirement only 7 or 8 months ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,433 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Would a big waterford crowd be expected for this? Hopefully they do because it's got the making of a big occasion.

Hard to tell really. The last few years have seen some very poor Waterford turnouts. While some of this was down to the poor economic situation I believe we aren't the group of superfans we liked to believe in the 2000's but more like all other counties depend on success for a big turnout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

Nearly as bad as the CCC in this county. A young fella sent off in a football game and a letter back which stated that interfering with the helmet is a red card offence.

When will we have a team, I've to be in bed early tonight? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

When will we have a team, I've to be in bed early tonight? :pac:
    He'll name another dummy team, you'll have 1-9 same as league final. Then you can only say Brick, Jake Dillon and Colin Dunford are the definites for Sunday....Stephen Bennett more than likely to start also. He probably will name Tom Devine and won't name Maurice, Shane Bennett, Brian O'Halloran...but they could easily start on Sunday. Patrick Curran and Steven Daniels are the other 2 we have in contention too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,612 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Waterford Intermediate and Senior Hurling Teams to play Cork on Sunday in Semple Stadium in the Munster Semi-Final.
    Best of luck to all concerned.
    Hope to see large Deise support there!!!
    Waterford Intermediate Hurling Team.
    1. Eddie Lynch (Passage)
    2. Eoin Madigan (Roanmore)
    3. Jerome Maher (Geraldines)
    4. William Hahessy (Clonea)
    5. John Dee (Mount Sioin)
    6. Killian Fitzgerald (Passage)
    7. Eoin Madigan (De La Salle)
    8. Harley Barnes (Ballygunner)
    9. Pa Walsh (Passage) CAPTAIN
    10. Owen Connors (Passage)
    11. Thomas Connors (Passage)
    12. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
    13. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
    14. Tommy Waring (Erin’s Own)
    15. Martin F. O’Neill (Mount S ion)
    Waterford Senior Hurling Team
    1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
    2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
    3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
    4. Noel Connors (Passage)
    5. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
    6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
    7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
    8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
    21 Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
    10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle) CAPTAIN
    11. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
    12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
    13. Brian O’Halloran (Brian O’Halloran)
    14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
    15. Colin Dunford (Colligan)

That's a fine club Brian O Halloran plays for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Waterford Intermediate and Senior Hurling Teams to play Cork on Sunday in Semple Stadium in the Munster Semi-Final.
    1. Eddie Lynch (Passage)
    2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

Just two players from the West on the intermediate team. That is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

culbaire wrote: »
    Just two players from the West on the intermediate team. That is a joke.

You would have to ask the question if players from different clubs had been asked to play and declined the opportunity to do so? Thomas Ryan Aaron O Sullivan would definitely deserve to be starting but maybe they were asked and refused to play. That would have been the case over the years with the intermediate until the last few years when the u21 players were used along with the senior players that only make up the numbers during the year for the senior squad. Has there been anyone else from the west that stood out in this year's championships that are eligible to play? Remember if you played senior intercounty last year you're ineligible to play this year's intermediate.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

That's a fine club Brian O Halloran plays for

That isnt funny at all but I had to post about it because its so funny hahahahahaha Clashmore/Kinsalebeg renmed as a tribute to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Top drawer

archieknox wrote: »
    You would have to ask the question if players from different clubs had been asked to play and declined the opportunity to do so? Thomas Ryan Aaron O Sullivan would definitely deserve to be starting but maybe they were asked and refused to play. That would have been the case over the years with the intermediate until the last few years when the u21 players were used along with the senior players that only make up the numbers during the year for the senior squad. Has there been anyone else from the west that stood out in this year's championships that are eligible to play? Remember if you played senior intercounty last year you're ineligible to play this year's intermediate.

Thomas ryan is among the subs, aswell as jason roche (passage) colm burke (roanmore) paul murray (cappaquin) eamonn murphy (dunhill) shane ahearne (stradbally) david walsh (ballygunner) among a few others

Whose managing the intermediates? Dosent seem to like Passage much anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If we're being honest....that goalie from passage....id have him on the seniors ahead of regan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 hurlinbanter

I would have thought there would have been way more contenders for the intermediate selection obviously East v West crack is still alive and kicking....youd imagine cappoquin being intermediate champs that there would be more then paul murray present.. I actually thought he would be captain as it he is the only member of the cappoquin team ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Think Jimmy Meaney.

Those Passage Lads think everyone else is from the West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Here's to a great game of hurling on Sunday.There' s been talk about whether Cork were up for it for the league final or not but from my perspective there was a national trophy on offer and we haven't won too many of them at any level of hurling over the last decade.Waterford were outstanding on the day and they beat us emphatically and claimed a well deserved victory.I don't believe in holding back at all be it the all ireland munster the league or a game of snakes and ladders you go all out and try and win it and such talk is an insult to Waterford who were outstanding on the day.Whether Cork wanted it or not Waterford blew us out the gate and it's up to us to rectify that on Sunday.I think this year is too soon for them with regards the all ireland but Waterford will be a serious team over the next few years.People say that the league final was as good as it get' s for them but im not so sure i think Waterford will do very well in the championship this year and they will be very hard to beat on Sunday.I would certainly like to think that Cork will be well up for the game on Sunday after the league final.People are saying is there more pressure on this team or that team but this is championship hurling and the heat is on both ourselves and Waterford.Hopefully from my perspective come 5 pm on Sunday Cork will still be standing as Munster champions but we'll have to earn it and if Waterford win hopefully it will have been after one hell of a battle.

Oh and i was very critical of Derek McGrath after Waterford lost to Wexford in last years championship.I was very hurt and outraged over what happened to Michael Ryan but credit to Derek he has a national trophy under his belt and he has his team well organised and hard to beat and they have some fine hurlers as well.However it's still okay for those of you who felt hurt over what happened to Michael Ryan to still feel upset over what happened.Do not let the most biased of anti Michael Ryan elements of Waterfords support intimidate you into silence.Anyway enough of that hopefully we'll have a great game of hurling on Sunday.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

PTH2009 wrote: »
    1. Eddie Lynch (Passage)
    2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

Anyone have the list of subs for the Senior game?

Whos likely to see action

Top drawer wrote: »
    Thomas ryan is among the subs, aswell as jason roche (passage) colm burke (roanmore) paul murray (cappaquin) eamonn murphy (dunhill) shane ahearne (stradbally) david walsh (ballygunner) among a few others

Thanks for that.

If we're being honest....that goalie from passage....id have him on the seniors ahead of regan
    Was on it earlier in the year but wasn't up to the required standard apparently.