Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

awec wrote: »
    I'm going and looking forward to it, though I really hope it isn't wet and muddy as I can't be arsed with that crap. I've never been to Slane before though.

Personally I am not really bothered about seeing any of the support acts.

It's good craic, overall.

Poor venue in terms of sound and access though. If you're not there for the support acts be prepared to stand 50m back.

The biggest clusterf*ck is access though. Slane is a very small town, never designed to host any event of this scale. If you're getting the bus then get out at the end without hanging around too long or you could miss the buses and have to wait until they return. I recall one year the buses had all gone and we were there until 2.30am before they came back for us.

Hope for sun but prepare for rain.

• Administrators Posts: 55,144 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We're not getting the bus, she has organised us to stay with a friend of hers who lives in Meath and will be picking us up.

Standing 50m back wouldn't annoy me either, I'd probably prefer it. I'm more of a stand with a pint and relax and enjoy it person rather than wanting to be up at the front bouncing around.

Buer wrote: »
    After multiple trips to Slane in days gone by, the thought of going at 31 years old in a wet May gives me a rash.

Ha!

This.

I don't know at what point this happened, I was never a particularly big concert goer. But I wouldn't even go to the Point now, I just couldn't even remotely be arsed.

Maybe you become naturally more agoraphobic as you get older, but even the Cinema is a bit of a struggle at this point, rather watch a movie on a widescreen in the comfort of my own home.

Couple of Slanes I missed along the way that I'd like to have gone to, worst one I went to was when the Verve headlined. They. were. ****.

I'm not a big concert goer either. Only been to a handful. All the fuss and mess around it usually doesn't appeal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I went to U2 in Slane and the sound was perfect. One of the best gigs I was ever at. The venue is great with the sloping hill. As people said though, it's a disaster for access, especially getting out after the gig

Ha!

This.

I don't know at what point this happened, I was never a particularly big concert goer. But I wouldn't even go to the Point now, I just couldn't even remotely be arsed.

I still enjoy going out and about but the outdoor concerts just fill me with dread. I've gone to a fair few along with the likes of Oxegen and Witnness festivals but the idea of them seems pretty rubbish to me now. Have been there and done it. No enthusiasm for it now.

If it's a choice between heading at 11am to Slane and getting back at 1am for the cost of about €150 or having a lazy Saturday, pint in the pub for whatever match is on, out for dinner with herself and home for a nightcap and bed....it's not really a tricky one.

I think the outdoor gigs have started to fade a little bit and generally aren't as popular (even allowing for the multiple festivals available now). Music and tastes don't really support stadium sized rock. The Foo Fighters are beyond their best. RHCP, U2, REM, Metallica, Oasis....the bands that used fill these venues are gone and music has moved on. ACDC are playing Lansdowne this summer but I suspect it will be a bit cringey and a money making racket.

Ed Sheeran and The Script are playing Croke Park...I'll open my windows on those evenings if I've trouble sleeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

Went to Glastonbury last year and it was frankly the best weekend of my life, no interest in going Slane though. Lollapalooza in Berlin in September is definitely on the cards though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Myself and the OH are going to Electric Picnic this year. Haven't been since 2008. We ended up getting one of the boutique camping tents as I don't think I could handle the madness of the normal campsite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Hard to beat the experience of a good live gig, I'd almost prefer outdoors at times at least you can breath properly. I'd go to loads of gigs if I had the choice but tbh the cost is inhibitive so you pick and choose, I tend to condense a lot into EP every year but would definitely have gone to see the Foo's in Dublin even if it meant going alone but Slane is such a nightmare, getting in or getting out and the sound is really hit and miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Buer wrote: »
    I still enjoy going out and about but the outdoor concerts just fill me with dread. I've gone to a fair few along with the likes of Oxegen and Witnness festivals but the idea of them seems pretty rubbish to me now. Have been there and done it. No enthusiasm for it now.

If it's a choice between heading at 11am to Slane and getting back at 1am for the cost of about €150 or having a lazy Saturday, pint in the pub for whatever match is on, out for dinner with herself and home for a nightcap and bed....it's not really a tricky one.

I think the outdoor gigs have started to fade a little bit and generally aren't as popular (even allowing for the multiple festivals available now). Music and tastes don't really support stadium sized rock. The Foo Fighters are beyond their best. RHCP, U2, REM, Metallica, Oasis....the bands that used fill these venues are gone and music has moved on. ACDC are playing Lansdowne this summer but I suspect it will be a bit cringey and a money making racket.

Ed Sheeran and The Script are playing Croke Park...I'll open my windows on those evenings if I've trouble sleeping.

While an intimate indoor gig is nearly always going to be better than a stadium gig, I guess there is still an appeal in seeing a lot of really good bands in one day or over a weekend at a festival, for a relatively cheap price. You mightn't see the bands at their absolute best but there is value there.

As for Slane this year, I'd never have been a massive Foo Fighters fan. I mean they are decent, but even stuff like the Colour of the Shape isn't as great as some of their fans make it out to be. That said, they are supposed to be excellent live and are suited to playing that type of venue. The rest of those bands are alright at best... I'd never listen to Kaiser Chiefs studio stuff really, but again are good live. Not sure what Hozier would be like in a stadium, or the Strypes; I haven't really listened to them enough. Ash are decent.

I'd still love to see someone like Blur or Pearl Jam in that kind of setting (although I'd prefer something more intimate).

But I wouldn't slag outdoor gigs in general, I saw the National in Iveagh Gardens last summer and it was unbelievable. I'd never been there before, it is an amazing venue, it was so sunny; it was just perfection and they were brilliant.

Fireball07 wrote: »

As for Slane this year, I'd never have been a massive Foo Fighters fan. I mean they are decent, but even stuff like the Colour of the Shape isn't as great as some of their fans make it out to be. That said, they are supposed to be excellent live and are suited to playing that type of venue. The rest of those bands are alright at best... I'd never listen to Kaiser Chiefs studio stuff really, but again are good live. Not sure what Hozier would be like in a stadium, or the Strypes; I haven't really listened to them enough. Ash are decent.

Saw the Strypes at the picnic two years ago and they are amazingly good live for such a young band, very impressive and very tight, Hozier the exact opposite, amazing voice that even live sounds brilliant but absolutely no stage presence at all

We were at Longitude last year and Hozier played. He's a bit dull tbh.

I enjoyed Longitude last year, but a lot of that was because it turned out to be a nice sunny day. We left before the headline act though (think it was Disclosure) - had enough by that stage and wasn't that interested anyway.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Not a great line-up. Foo Fighters are the height of mediocrity. I can't understand their sustained popularity. Kaiser Chiefs? They had that one album with that one song in around 2005. Didn't even know Ash were still going.

The Strypes and Hozier are great though.

You cannot diss ANY artist and then turn around and call this bilgepump great!

Would go for Strypes and Ash alone. Foo Fighters put on a great show and since Dave was in Nirvana, he could record himself sucking a **** through a sweaty sock and I'd still think it was AMAZEYBALLS :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Ha!

This.

Maybe you become naturally more agoraphobic as you get older, but even the Cinema is a bit of a struggle at this point, rather watch a movie on a widescreen in the comfort of my own home.

Couple of Slanes I missed along the way that I'd like to have gone to, worst one I went to was when the Verve headlined. They. were. ****.

The Manics and Robbie Williams were great though, both of them were better than The Verve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,989 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

mfceiling wrote: »
    Order placed!!

Bound to be terribly uncomfortable? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I have my body n soul tickets purchased. Can't wait! Hoping to do longitude and castlepaloza also if I have the cash.

Really can't be bothered with Slane or the bigger festivals. I just find the there's too much of a crappy element at them.

Longitude is for music hipsters I found.

Loads of acts that I've never even heard of and people who say things like "yea man I saw them four years ago when they played a gig in my uncle's living room. Their new stuff is awful, I prefer their old album recorded in their garage!".

But it's fun anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Longitude is for music hipsters I found.

Loads of acts that I've never even heard of and people who say things like "yea man I saw them four years ago when they played a gig in my uncle's living room. Their new stuff is awful, I prefer their old album recorded in their garage!".

But it's fun anyway.

Ha! I remember you telling me you had never really heard of any of the acts...

No, longitude would be another fairly mainstream festival compared to castlepaloza or the like.

But I imagine if you go to any festival and don't know the acts it would seem very different or hipsterish etc

Thee vast majority of the top acts for Longitude would be fairly mainstream, obviously there'd be lesser-known acts but that's just the nature of the lineup.

It's not a particularly special lineup this year. Electric Picnic, on the other hand, has an excellent lineup (I know it usually does).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I wouldn't say EP has an excellent picnic. Florence and the Machine, The Manics, and Underworld would be excellent, Blur would be good, I'd go see The Riptide Movement for that song of theirs, the rest though I dunno.

Sam Smith is he the guy from X factor....of The Sunday Times columnist :P

.ak wrote: »
    But I imagine if you go to any festival and don't know the acts it would seem very different or hipsterish etc

I was with it once. And then they changed what it was. And now what I'm with isn't it and what's it seems weird and scary to me. And it'll happen to you!

The Simpsons pretty much hits the nail on the head for me and music currently. 10 years ago I'd spend hours planning out my festival trips trying to get from one stage to another to see as many acts as possible. Now I'd be the guy who shows up at 7pm, just in time to catch that song by FATM that I like before singing along with Blur and getting the hell out of there to beat the traffic.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,360 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Been to groove last year and going again this year. Line up not as strong but still good.

Going to the sunday of longitude.

Generally get to vicar street or the ambassador or Whelans few times a year too.

Was at a whipping boy gig a few years ago where every member of the audiences got a hug from fergal, mad altogether Ted.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I wouldn't say EP has an excellent picnic. Florence and the Machine, The Manics, and Underworld would be excellent, Blur would be good, I'd go see The Riptide Movement for that song of theirs, the rest though I dunno.

Sam Smith is he the guy from X factor....of The Sunday Times columnist :P

Tame Impala alone makes it a fantastic lineup, I won't hear a word against it.

I'd love to see Blur live too- and the War on Drugs, they are fantastic.

Hot Chip/Ride/Viet Cong/Battles, would be pretty excited to see all of them; Belle and Sebastian too.

Wouldn't bother with Sam Smith, wouldn't be crazy about Florence and the Machine but I'd probably see them; Underworld are class live too.

What I thought as I clicked on the link:

"ah... an external link on boards rugby, should be satirical, racy but wholesome and entertaining"

What actually happened:
    "no love, I wasn't looking at this - someone else linked this as a joke."

"who?" ... "eh, awec." "he... he's a"... "look someone posted it as a funny rugby thing, I'm not into anything like this"

Haven't had to explain myself this much since the Jennifer Lawrence leak.

I saw Blur live when they were at the height of their fame and I didn't think they were great.

Back then they didn't have many concert songs, they've a few more now but still would be just goodish.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Thee vast majority of the top acts for Longitude would be fairly mainstream, obviously there'd be lesser-known acts but that's just the nature of the lineup.

It's not a particularly special lineup this year. Electric Picnic, on the other hand, has an excellent lineup (I know it usually does).

I'm not pushed about EP's line up this year at all, until they added Blur it was quite disappointing after last years. I think they knew the lineup would be no where near as good this year and that's why the sold the early birds straight after the festival finished last year. Having said that last year involved a lot of planning and missing some acts because they clashed, I prefer to just wander around, you get some nice surprises that way.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I could only dream of any of the bands from EP coming to play around my way. It's years since I was at a gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Haven't had to explain myself this much since the Jennifer Lawrence leak.

I had a few "leaks" over those Jennifer Lawrence pics and all !
    :):)