Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Detailing chat

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

vectra wrote: »
    You wont get much durability with Blacklight either.

Stick some 845 on it.

I'm just dicking about until I get my DA really. Swirls are bad, the glaze just gives it a nice finish, I'm not using it as lsp, I already have HD wax on it in the last couple of weeks for protection, the glaze leaves an awesome wet look on the jazz blue

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭cena

Any discount for detailing shed

• Registered Users Posts: 15,511 ✭✭✭✭vectra

cena wrote: »

Group buys normally get discounts.

Is there something in particular you need.?

vectra wrote: »
    Group buys normally get discounts.

Is there something in particular you need.?

Just snow foam

Yer man that owns it is a miserable sod So I hear

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Is there demand there for a group buy?

Seems to be a few new guys on the forum... what is there an appetite for?

Prewash, wash and dry kit?
    Claybar and decontamination kit?
    Protect and seal buy?

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Towel and microfibre specials? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Yer man that owns it is a miserable sod So I hear

:p

fast-four-3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Towel and microfibre specials? :P

That would be a good buy .. Good quality towles are always a want

• Registered Users Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭ratracer

myshirt wrote: »
    Is there demand there for a group buy?

Seems to be a few new guys on the forum... what is there an appetite for?

Prewash, wash and dry kit?
    Claybar and decontamination kit?
    Protect and seal buy?

I'd be interested in a claybar/ decon kit

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Came across a maintenance book from a 1990's opel we had years ago. There's a section on polishing. It states polishing is only necessary if the paint is gone faded? Eh. Load of other things in the manual that ye would go spa over, when washing form a lather on the car with soap and a sponge. Use aerosol cans for stone chips, remove tar spots with removal spray and a hard object. Oh it goes on.

How much of the 50cal foam would you put into the
    Lance

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

How much of the 50cal foam would you put into the
    Lance

About an inch, then top it off with water. That's what 50Cal recommend.

You'd want minimum of about 1/2" to get anything reasonable, but 3/4" to an 1" if you are looking for thick foam.
    Also, have you adjusted the air ratio mixture knob at the top of the lance all the way to the clockwise position - this will thicken the foam also.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Came across a maintenance book from a 1990's opel we had years ago. There's a section on polishing. It states polishing is only necessary if the paint is gone faded? Eh. Load of other things in the manual that ye would go spa over, when washing form a lather on the car with soap and a sponge. Use aerosol cans for stone chips, remove tar spots with removal spray and a hard object. Oh it goes on.

That was at a time when 2K paint was around and was very tough :pac:

I give the foam ago there. I seemed to go through the bottle very fast. Emptys very quick. Wasn't very thick but that is OK.

Don't want to use up all the 50cal first go

What lance do you have?

Curran wrote: »
    What lance do you have?
    The poker one. Brass fittings.

Poker? Or did you mean proper?

Got a picture of it?

feck auto correct. ya proper.

2015-04-03-1491.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭foxirl

Should have a snow foam lance during the week so want to get the car cleaned up.
    Have a few questions and hoping I could get an answer. Will probably order from Detailingshed.
    Looking at the following:
    50Cal Combat Neutral Snow Foam to foam the car.
    Microfiber Madness Incredimitt to wash it
    Microfiber Madness Dry Me Crazy to dry it.
    What kind of shampoo should I be using. Have 2 buckets so sorted for them.

Collinite 845 Liquid Insulator Wax for waxing after its cleaned. What do I apply the wax with? Is it with this (Chemical Guys Black Ultra Fine Applicator)

In relation to de-taring I was looking at CarPro TarX but its out of stock.
    For cleaning the wheels should I be using CarPro IronX. Any advice appreciated.
    For the tyres I see Wolfs Chemicals Black Out was recommended before but its out of stock.

Anything else I should know or need?
    Obviously price is important too so may not be able to get everything together.

I was filling up with some of Kuwaits finest today and was approached by a man admiring my car, only a Mk4 Golf, he asked what wax I used and I told him, he the called me an ejit and produces a bottle of wet wax that can be purchased in Dealz for 1.50. So lads we have it all wrong, into Dealz for your wax and fling it through a brush wash

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Codpeas

So lads we have it all wrong, into Dealz for your wax and fling it through a brush wash

Never mind the brush wash - I've an old bucket and set of sponges I used when grouting tiles - bit of Fairy liquid in the bucket and they'll be grand...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

I was filling up with some of Kuwaits finest today and was approached by a man admiring my car, only a Mk4 Golf, he asked what wax I used and I told him, he the called me an ejit and produces a bottle of wet wax that can be purchased in Dealz for 1.50. So lads we have it all wrong, into Dealz for your wax and fling it through a brush wash

I took the sponge from the kitchen and I normally use the green side for the stubborn dirt!!

Joking aside though I did pick up a bottle of Astonish Alloy wheel cleaner in the equivalent of Dealz. It was only €1.50 so I couldn't resist. I haven't tried it yet but it could be okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭lanno

what people suggest is the best apc to use?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,511 ✭✭✭✭vectra

lanno wrote: »

I use the LIDL stuff diluted.
    Tesco stuff is good as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

vectra wrote:
    I use the LIDL stuff diluted. Tesco stuff is good as well.

I see this mentioned few times, what's in LIDL is apc?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Must just be Lidl's in the Rebel County only :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

bbari wrote: »
    what's in LIDL is apc?

I'm sure a fair bit of their food could be classed as APC :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

lanno wrote:

Aldi's ocean breeze is what I use. I could spend all day sniffing it.