Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sky Ireland Fibre Broadband

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brianeoc

Sounds like a Speedtest over Wifi have you tried with Ethernet? or logged onto the router to see your sync speed?
    brianeoc wrote: »
    So install went fine. Engineer came out as planned on Saturday and upgraded my socket. I was emailed that my broadband would be active the following Wednesday and lo and behold it was. Speeds aren't as hot as advertised but compared to what I was getting it's a massive improvement. Speeds are averaging around

Down 40mb
    Up 20mb

And this is with a PC cabled straight into the router.

I was on 4.5mb down and .7mb up with my previous DSL connection.

I'm going to leave it for a couple of weeks and keep testing. If it doesn't get any better I might contact Sky's support and get them to run a few tests.

Overall the switchover was painless and without any hassles. I'm a bit disappointed with the speeds but hopefully they'll get better. It's light years ahead of the speed I was on.

I seem to be getting similar'ish' results from wired and wireless connections. The time of day can have more than a 50% speed different to my connections though.

Yesterday evening at 7pm I was getting 18mb down and 17mb up.
    At 10pm I was getting 12mb down and 17mb up.
    At 12pm this was 26mb down and 19mb up
    And at 8:15am this morning I was getting 40mb down and 19mb up.

I checked my Router stats and they are the following

Connection Speed is Down = 92156 Kbps Up = 20478kbps
    Line Attenuation Down = 12.6 dB Up = 0
    Noise Margin Down = 20.6 dB Up = 12.12dB

If I put my down speed attenuation of 12.6 into the calculator on the web page below, then this would suggest that the max download speed I will get is 40mb. It's also says that I am 912 metres from my cabinet.

This ties in with the max results I have been achieving.

http://www.speedguide.net/dsl_speed_calc.php

I'm not sure if this is correct as it's the first time I've ever looked into line attenuation stats etc but if anyone else has any feedback I'd love to hear from ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭airuser

71679 kbps 18995 kbps
    Line Attenuation 18.8 dB 0.0 dB
    Noise Margin 13.7 dB 10.10 dB

Actually receiving 66500 Down. 191200 up.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭O'Prez

My speeds are back to normal tonight. Hopefully it was a temporary glitch.

O'Prez wrote: »
    My speeds are back to normal tonight. Hopefully it was a temporary glitch.

Good to hear

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭brianeoc

airuser wrote: »
    71679 kbps 18995 kbps
    Line Attenuation 18.8 dB 0.0 dB
    Noise Margin 13.7 dB 10.10 dB

Actually receiving 66500 Down. 191200 up.

Well that blows my theory outa the water. I think you added a digit to your actual Upload speed. I presume you meant to write closer to 19000.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/i/1124154511

One thing I have noticed is that the upload speed has dropped

I am not giving out about the speed or service I have got from Sky

• Registered Users Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

How long does it generally take for Eircom to do their thing after a Sky engineer has installed everything they need to do? A sky engineer called to our house yesterday so I'm itching to get fibre turned on by Eircom

He said it could be 5 working days but hopefully it could be sooner?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

How long does it generally take for Eircom to do their thing after a Sky engineer has installed everything they need to do? A sky engineer called to our house yesterday so I'm itching to get fibre turned on by Eircom

He said it could be 5 working days but hopefully it could be sooner?

I had engineer on a Monday and was switched on the Thursday

Sky installed mine on a Friday and was turn on mid day Tuesday.

On that basis, probably Monday with a bit of luck.

Sky engineer said 2 days

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ImARebel

Engineer was out Friday, still no efibre :-(

should I get it before the weekend would you think?
    The normal internet is gone apallingly slow only getting 4mps and we were getting 12. It's horrendous can't stream a movie or anything. This is the first time in 2 years we've ever had an issue with our service from Sky, they've been so reliable it's disappointing . Just hoping efibre will improve things

• Registered Users Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Sky installed mine on a Friday and was turn on mid day Tuesday.

On that basis, probably Monday with a bit of luck.

Sky engineer said 2 days

Do they contact you when Eircom turn it on?

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Bazideluxe

Guys can anyone with broadband from Sky do me a traceroute to these IPs pls? (when your broadband is not used for downloading porn etc pls)

simply open command line and type:

tracert 37.48.83.219

and

tracert 5.196.228.54

Thank you!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Bazideluxe wrote: »
    Guys can anyone with broadband from Sky do me a traceroute to these IPs pls? (when your broadband is not used for downloading porn etc pls)

simply open command line and type:

tracert 37.48.83.219

and

tracert 5.196.228.54

Thank you!

what does that do and what as your reference to porn got to do with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Bazideluxe

Seve OB wrote: »
    what does that do and what as your reference to porn got to do with it?

it was a joke with porn (just wanted to say to not heavy use the broadband while doing the test)

it shows route - the way the data goes between your home connection and destination (IP)

Do they contact you when Eircom turn it on?

When Sky finished,they inform Eircom to switch over usually within two working
    days.

I was also informed by Sky the date it would go live.

ImARebel wrote: »
    Engineer was out Friday, still no efibre :-(

should I get it before the weekend would you think?
    The normal internet is gone apallingly slow only getting 4mps and we were getting 12. It's horrendous can't stream a movie or anything. This is the first time in 2 years we've ever had an issue with our service from Sky, they've been so reliable it's disappointing . Just hoping efibre will improve things

Before you get fibre, make sure there is nothing wrong with you line.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭alanhiggyno1

Already having trouble with sky.. Seems they put the cart before the horse. Supposed to get the router first and then switch u over but they have done the opposite and now my broadband is active and have no hub.. Rang sky and said a batch of them to be sent out soon... Wtf sky. I'll be getting money off my bill I'll tell u that for sure

Ok, the Hub is on the way.

I have been dealing with Sky both for TV and Broadband and have found their Service excellent.

Yes, things go out of Sync now and again. Getting mad only increases your blood pressure.

Did have a problem with the Fibre Hub within a couple of days and this was replaced within 24 hours.

Well happy with the Service and Speeds

Ok, the Hub is on the way.

I have been dealing with Sky both for TV and Broadband and have found their Service excellent.

Yes, things go out of Sync now and again. Getting mad only increases your blood pressure.

Did have a problem with the Fibre Hub within a couple of days and this was replaced within 24 hours.

Well happy with the Service and Speeds

Haven't even got the router yet. Rang eircom and he said they should give u their details to setup on the eircom router. Anyone care to share sky fibre details so I can setup

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Haven't even got the router yet. Rang eircom and he said they should give u their details to setup on the eircom router. Anyone care to share sky fibre details so I can setup

They're unique and sky don't give them out over the phone. Gotta wait.

There is a Sky forum on here.

Type in Sky Ireland in the search, Sky Ireland have 4 monitors there

Could somebody helpful maybe give me I'm badly stuck

Sorry to say.

Sky will not give one any details of their Hub.

One cannot use an other routers with Sky Fibre

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭Zack Morris

Ask the lads on the Unofficial Sky Forum how to extract the username and password for the SR102.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Ask the lads on the Unofficial Sky Forum how to extract the username and password for the SR102.

As above the problem is he doesnt have the hub yet, nothing to extract em from.

ED E wrote: »
    As above the problem is he doesnt have the hub yet, nothing to extract em from.

Are these sky modem sent out from Ireland. Guy on phone seems to think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Sky Ireland: Sam

Could somebody helpful maybe give me I'm badly stuck

Hi alanhiggyno1,

I'm sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing while moving your broadband & phone services to Sky.

If you would like to post your query on our Talk to... site here, we will be happy to help.

Thanks,
    Sam

• Registered Users Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭flexcon

So we got Sky into our home a few days ago.

The most easiest switch ever, rang them and they gave aprox 80Mb per second speed and was all very friendly and easy to put through.

They guy even rang beforehand to make sure we were home so he could install the new box. tested everything before leaving.

This is the speeds test as of today. We are approx 200meteres from the cabinet and the difference is noticeable now, especially the lower ping time.

For us the Sky experience was genuinely awesome and wish they could offer this to everyone!

4120093287.png

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

flexcon wrote: »
    For us the Sky experience was genuinely awesome and wish they could offer this to everyone!

Just to point out that Sky are simply reselling Eircoms VDSL product. Depending on when the cabinet was installed, you could have signed up to and experienced these high speeds from Eircom, Vodafone, Magnet or Digiweb any time in the past two years!

Sky aren't doing anything special here and in fact are VERY late to the game, which has resulted in them doing a dis-service to their customers!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Interesting to note that in the UK, Sky has done a deal with o2 UK to become a Mobile Virtual Operator (MVNO) so they will be able to sell quad play bundles in the UK (TV + broadband + phone + mobile).

I wonder will we see them do the same here in Ireland?