Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

awec wrote: »
    People design roads?

Bit of tarmac, goes from A to B. What more is there to it?

If anything we need people to work harder on designing the weird sculptures that they put beside the road. Whats that big sphere on the Naas Road. Or those random arms near Portlaois.

Statues of BOD everywhere will do nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

errlloyd wrote: »
    If anything we need people to work harder on designing the weird sculptures that they put beside the road. Whats that big sphere on the Naas Road. Or those random arms near Portlaois.

Statues of BOD everywhere will do nicely.

Rumour has it the Naas one is a time capsule.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,258 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Zzippy wrote: »
    So we've been going through the legal process involved in buying a house - contracts almost signed. Perfect house, outskirts of town, convenient for work, local schools etc. Quiet road, lovely view, great price. Best place we looked at by a long shot. Today we find out that the consultation process for a new outer bypass starts this week and they've published a draft plan with 5 alternate routes. The 2 most likely go within 25m of the house, so it would either be a CPO or have a dual carriageway out your back garden.... FML

treat this as a godsend.

if youd been quicker in your searches you could have purchased this property last month and youd be stuck with this forever.

ever cloud......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I live in an estate close to Dublin airport. When people arrived out first all they could comment on was the fact that planes were going overhead every couple of minutes. It took us all of a day or two to tune them out though. It just becomes part of the background noise that you get used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Rumour has it the Naas one is a time capsule.

True that....when you drive past naas you suddenly go back to 1983...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

lovinDublin has their new top 10 burgers up again. My mates burger made number 3, which reminds me there's a few burger lovers here.

http://lovindublin.com/best-of/the-top-10-burgers-to-eat-in-dublin-in-2015

Don't mind the pic, looks nothing like that! It's an old school job, amazing beef mix with just sauce. Cheddar and bacon optional!

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

How do you even get those in your mouth?

Here's his.

336664.jpg

The bun is custom made for his burger, and he makes all the sauces in house and smokes the bacon himself too.

At least that looks edible. Where is this establishment .ak?

.ak wrote: »
    Here's his.

336664.jpg

The bun is custom made for his burger, and he makes all the sauces in house and smokes the bacon himself too.

*looks at wife's bolognese and silently weeps*

Please Awec, we're trying to talk about burgers here.

Here's his.

336664.jpg

On the way home for quesadillas. Want to turn around and get one of those burgers now. Thanks a lot ak! :(

At least that looks edible. Where is this establishment .ak?

Generator hostel in Smithfield

molloyjh wrote: »
    On the way home for quesadillas. Want to turn around and get one of those burgers now. Thanks a lot ak! :(

Do it.

The chips you get with them are also awesome.

Generator hostel in Smithfield

A hostel? So it's a takeaway?

No you can eat in the bar

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,114 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Chips in a ****ing bucket. Declare to Jaysis!

Pretty common these days in hipster places.

Like serving ye a burger on a chopping board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

lovinDublin has their new top 10 burgers up again. My mates burger made number 3, which reminds me there's a few burger lovers here.

http://lovindublin.com/best-of/the-top-10-burgers-to-eat-in-dublin-in-2015

Don't mind the pic, looks nothing like that! It's an old school job, amazing beef mix with just sauce. Cheddar and bacon optional!

Ya boll1x, you're going to cause a row here! I get cranky when I'm hungry. I'm feckin' starving now after looking at that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Jayzus, you sound like my wife........

She tells me her ex was a big fella.

Buer wrote: »
    Jayzus, you sound like my wife........

She tells me her ex was a big fella.

Why would your wife say that to YOU? :confused:

Am I the only one going completely f-ing nuts over these new mortgage rules? I'm finally getting to a point where we are no longer in negative equity and can look to move and now it looks like that can't happen.

Having a single income based multiplier to set borrowings by is just downright bloody lazy. The more income you have the more disposable income you've got. So you can afford proportionally more the higher your salary. This doesn't take that into account. And based on average wage (35k) the way they have it set up the most a couple on the average wage could borrow would be €245k. Seeing as banks can only lend 80% of the property price that means a house of around €305k. How many houses are you going to get in Dublin for that? And how many couples on the average wage could possibly save €60k to pay that 20% of the house price? Especially when the rental market is going the way it is.

It could be said that this will drive house prices down, but that in itself will simply mean second hand house sales will plummet because current home owners won't be able to afford to sell. I honestly can't see who, if anyone, will benefit from these ridiculous measures. Landlords?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Am I the only one going completely f-ing nuts over these new mortgage rules? I'm finally getting to a point where we are no longer in negative equity and can look to move and now it looks like that can't happen.

Having a single income based multiplier to set borrowings by is just downright bloody lazy. The more income you have the more disposable income you've got. So you can afford proportionally more the higher your salary. This doesn't take that into account. And based on average wage (35k) the way they have it set up the most a couple on the average wage could borrow would be €245k. Seeing as banks can only lend 80% of the property price that means a house of around €305k. How many houses are you going to get in Dublin for that? And how many couples on the average wage could possibly save €60k to pay that 20% of the house price? Especially when the rental market is going the way it is.

It could be said that this will drive house prices down, but that in itself will simply mean second hand house sales will plummet because current home owners won't be able to afford to sell. I honestly can't see who, if anyone, will benefit from these ridiculous measures. Landlords?

I guarantee you none of the people involved in coming up with these rules have had to have any of these worries. It's utterly mental. Who the balls pays Dublin rents while being able to save 20% of the cost of the average Dublin house???

We will never save 20%.

How do you save that much and pay rent at the same time? It's impossible.

Annoying because me and the gf could afford mortgage payments no problem, it's just the deposit that's the killer.

Pretty common these days in hipster places.

Like serving ye a burger on a chopping board.

Yeah i'll see your burger on a chopping board and raise you a coffee on an ironing board...

http://lovindublin.com/dublin/dublin-pub-unlocks-maximum-hipster-level-with-new-table

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It's one of the reasons I'm looking to get out of Dublin, it's just too expensive to rent or buy.

I've heard it mention that the wages in Dublin are better so it compensates but in my experience that is definitely not the case.

I personally blame all the country people coming up and taking our homes.

Dey tuk r homes!!

CatFromHue wrote: »
    It's one of the reasons I'm looking to get out of Dublin, it's just too expensive to rent or buy.

I've heard it mention that the wages in Dublin are better so it compensates but in my experience that is definitely not the case.

I personally blame all the country people coming up and taking our homes.

Dey tuk r homes!!

Wages in Dublin are definitely higher but IMO they don't fully compensate for the higher costs of living.

My mates up home are buying brand new 3 bed houses for 80 grand, with an 8k deposit. Their mortgage each month is a fraction of my rent. :(

We should start the Irish arm of The Rent Is Too Damn High party.

I live in an estate close to Dublin airport. When people arrived out first all they could comment on was the fact that planes were going overhead every couple of minutes. It took us all of a day or two to tune them out though. It just becomes part of the background noise that you get used to.

Lived near the flight path out of Dublin from birth until finishing college. Could actually see the airport from my bedroom window. As you said I don't hear the planes at all.