Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

That Kid Koala seems alright...i like this one from him...

This is also nice and easy to listen to...sort of the same style as Mr Scruff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

b.gud wrote: »
    Here's a couple of ones that you might like that have a bit more complex beats and no lyrics

<YOUTUBE CLIPS>

None of that is rap or hiphop though, it's breaks and house. All top tracks though! Some of my favourite artists there. RJD2 is amazing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,815 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

You're all weird.

I'll stick to this thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

.ak wrote: »
    None of that is rap or hiphop though, it's breaks and house. All top tracks though! Some of my favourite artists there. RJD2 is amazing.

They're not rap records but they can most definitely be called Hip Hop records. All of them are created by DJs who are from a Hip Hop background but are more based around the DJ aspect of Hip Hop rather than the rap side of Hip Hop.

I definitely wouldn't consider them house records which I personally consider to have more syncopated electronic drums with a four on the floor beat pattern. I would class them as breaks records which I consider an extension of Hip Hop, possibly a truer representation of where Hip Hop started than a lot of what get lumped into the Hip Hop genre.

Having said all that I'm not a big fan in general of bucketing music into different genres and think there should only be 2 genres good music and bad music, which is obviously quite subjective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

This thread makes me feel old today!

Zzippy wrote: »
    This thread makes me feel old today!

Do you still use one of these? Actually now that I see it, that probably ultimate Hipster credibility :)

gramophone_2242.jpg

• Subscribers Posts: 43,253 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

cant believe youve all gone 3 pages of rap without anyone mentioning the king himself

b.gud wrote: »
    Do you still use one of these? Actually now that I see it, that probably ultimate Hipster credibility :)

gramophone_2242.jpg

Certainly not! Those newfangled contraptions will never match the sound of my orchestra rehearsing for the hunt ball I'm hosting next week...

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Rap is rubbish.

awec wrote: »
    Rap is rubbish.

Careful now, you don't want one of these gangstas poppin' a cap in yo' ass.

Did I do it right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Most rap is rubbish. But there's a few songs and albums that are great. Doggystyle by Snoop is one of my all time favourite albums

Rap is rubbish.

It's ok awec no one will ever take away your nathan carter tapes!!

Rap is rubbish.

Try listening to some Hip Hop instead ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Rap is rubbish.

I'm pretty sure this is representative of at least 50% of the posters over the last page:

wigger8912128.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Synode wrote: »
    Most rap is rubbish.

The majority of most genres are rubbish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Buer wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure this is representative of at least 50% of the posters over the last page:

wigger8912128.jpg

piss off, I've a full beard at this stage. Also I'm old school, I still wear a clock around my neck.

The majority of most genres are rubbish though.

Spoken like a true old man.

Synode wrote: »
    Doggystyle by Snoop is one of my all time favourite albums

You're not the only one:

749629246-230x150.jpg

Hahha, jesus.

You're not the only one:

749629246-230x150.jpg

That dog clearly has no pashun - casual attitude and showing disrespect wearing those headphones...

mfceiling wrote: »
    It's ok awec no one will ever take away your nathan carter tapes!!

I don't even know who Nathan Carter is!

mfceiling is a northern culchie which pretty much guarantees he owns the entire Daniel O'Donnell collection.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Is this not the definition of a Northern culchie in the first scene???

Vodafone must be the most annoying company in the world to phone up and try and sell me stuff.

They phone me every month or two trying to sell me their poxy internet and tv. Does my head in having to listen to them drone on.

Vodafone must be the most annoying company in the world to phone up and try and sell me stuff.

They phone me every month or two trying to sell me their poxy internet and tv. Does my head in having to listen to them drone on.

Are you voda customer? Just ring them and opt out of any over the phone contact.

.ak wrote: »
    Are you voda customer? Just ring them and opt out of any over the phone contact.

Yes, have a phone contract. I keep telling them I'm in a contract with UPC til June but they phone anyway!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Specifically tell them not to call again.

Yes, have a phone contract. I keep telling them I'm in a contract with UPC til June but they phone anyway!

You need to tell them you don't want to be contacted over the phone at all. They just have you marked for phone contact so any team looking to churn non-tv/phone customers onto the network will ring you.

Just realised I could do that online. Happy days.

I don't even know who Nathan Carter is!

mfceiling is a northern culchie which pretty much guarantees he owns the entire Daniel O'Donnell collection.

Hey hey i'm a derek ryan or robert mizzell man i'll have you know!!

Feck the rap - i'm back in action

Someone posted fresh prince a while back