Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

My brother finished work there at 1am. Had to drive between 25mph and 40mph the whole way from Raheen to Newcastle West which is roughly 25 miles of motorway and primary roads with a tumor of a village in between. Showed me his dashcam footage and the road is like this but dark out obviously. He had to rely on the cats eyes to judge his road positioning because he couldn't see the markings or grass verges. Crap buzz. He was like a bull when he got home. Spent 10 mins trying to think of someone to blame! :rolleyes: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Does that low mpg not cripple ye? I know ye sacrafice the mpg for quality cars/driving experience, but if ye're doing big miles, do ye even have a penny? I'm so used to 50 plus mpg at this stage, it would be so hard for me to drop to something in the teens :eek:

It's a little kick in the guts and really I'm stupid to be doing 350 miles a week in it but its easily the best car I've owned! Put your foot down once a day and listen to it and it doesn't matter anymore :)
    In my head anyway :)

It really does stretch well on the motorway as Foxhole said!

Don't ask me to justify it, I can't so leave me alone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Best drive to work ever!!!! Sideways all the way in town!

Late 30min to work, 15min of those checking carpark surface for "slippery" patches :pac:

I am in fantastic mood at work now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

aye! all over the grass and stuff too, i dunno bit im probably just being too paranoid
    Was just having a look so I was

Best drive to work ever!!!! Sideways all the way in town!

Late 30min to work, 15min of those checking carpark surface for "slippery" patches :pac:

I am in fantastic mood at work now!

Same :)

Beat morning ever, 90 mins to traverse 25 miles of mountain Road :)

Long may it last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Me? Hell no! Those were aliens!

DSC_0222_zpsucnynlya.jpg

Took better pics just now lol.
    DSC_0225_zpswwzoncyx.jpg

DSC_0226_zpstrs9mjad.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Pray tell,
    There was a lot of fun to be had outside nyyyyaaaaavvvvvaaan aswell. Great weather for it last night, especially when FWD cars handle almost like RWD.

Dartz wrote: »
    I'm slowly beginning to realise another thing, and I'm wondering if it's the same for other people. I've allowed far too much of my own self-esteem to get wrapped up into this car. There're times when I feel like it's the only thing I've achieved in life, even if it is, by all accounts, not tat remarkable. But it seems that I've got this cognate that, if people like the car, they also must vicariously somehow like me and think I'm a good person for buying it..... and I'm not so sure that's healthy. It doesn't help that most people do seem to genuinely like the thing when they sit in it. I've never met anyone who hated it.

In truth, it's the only small space in this world that's truly mine.

It's probably just the drink making me talk ****e out me hole.

It does sound like you've been drinking alright :P

But that said, I do see what you mean and I do agree to an extent. Although my cars were never high end or performance cars or anything like that (a Rav4 and 407 :rolleyes:) they have been what I would consider to be fairly nice cars , that people would remark on positively.

Even though I know, at the end of the day, no one, except me, really cares what I'm driving or what condition it's in, I still feel like I need to have a relatively nice car. If I had an old Micra for example, i'd be encouraged to walk everywhere :P

(not that there's anything wrong with the Micra, or anything, just not something that takes my taste at all).

At the same time, I'd like some cheap and cheerful motoring... But then things like the Pathfinder and Outlander catch my eye... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Totally worth it :D

20150114_143507_zpsurlw7qy1.jpg[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Looks good man.

What a classy upgrade man, great choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Looks amazing!

Thanks lads, I love it, has everything too Bluetooth, A2DP, Nav, Aug, SD, DVD, iPod and Saorview + parking cam if I get those modules.

Chinese can do some stuff right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Thanks lads, I love it, has everything too Bluetooth, A2DP, Nav, Aug, SD, Dan, iPod and Saorview + parking cam if I get those modules.

All this should be standard in most cars that deserve it !

Also saorview that isint connected to the handbrake ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Thanks lads, I love it, has everything too Bluetooth, A2DP, Nav, Aug, SD, Dan, iPod and Saorview + parking cam if I get those modules.

BCw0vo1CAAABzwW.jpg

What's Dan? Autocorrelation for DAB?
    Damn you autocorrect can't even spell autocorrect.

What's Dan? Autocorrelation for DAB?
    Damn you autocorrect can't even spell autocorrect.

DVD, apparently my phone doesn't think that's a thing anymore.

Got a new phone here, I may just about have it trained by the time it's due an upgrade. Samsung dictionary doesn't seem great out of the box. The Koreans, not such a great bunch of lads apparently...

I'm using SwiftKey pro on my Galaxy Note 2 and it's usually grand but sometimes can be very very shoite.

Really surprised - no one on yet with "omg I pressed my brakes and the pedal was stuck and there was a terrible noise and I couldn't stop are my brakes broken".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jesus lads, scary sh!t earlier on...omg I pressed my brakes and the pedal was stuck and there was a terrible noise and I couldn't stop are my brakes broken????

plz ansr sune!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Jesus lads, scary sh!t earlier on...omg I pressed my brakes and the pedal was stuck and there was a terrible noise and I couldn't stop are my brakes broken????

plz ansr sune!!!

OMG Hun r u ok? xoxo mail me

my guess is you need new calipers, disks, pads, master cylinder, steel & flexi lines and new pedal mechanism, drop it up to me, ill do it chape, and you wont even know the work has been done :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Every winter around this time i top up my brake fluid with anti freeze, improves my braking performance on ice immeasurably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Really surprised - no one on yet with "omg I pressed my brakes and the pedal was stuck and there was a terrible noise and I couldn't stop are my brakes broken".

Not braking related, but this morning I noticed some strange happenings when I pressed the loud pedal.. I've put together some clips, if anyone can figure out whats going wrong I'd really appreciate the help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I see a Pajero on its roof and a driver with a dazed head on him wondering "where did it all go wrong"
    Fortune-teller.jpg

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Not braking related, but this morning I noticed some strange happenings when I pressed the loud pedal.. I've put together some clips, if anyone can figure out whats going wrong I'd really appreciate the help.

9148130.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Cheensbo wrote: »

I like the bit where you lost it a bit and were laughing. Looked like good fun though.

So the new saabs getting it's nct tomorrow, my guesses are its gona fail on suspension bits, or i could be totally wrong and it pass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

It's amazing what faults some people will put up with in a car rather than fixing them. A friend has a mk5 golf 1.4 and was saying the coolant level sensor needed to be replaced as its faulty thinks the level is low all the time when it's fine. Anyway 6 months later I was in the car with him for the first time and it is a really really clean example spotless inside and theres 250 k km on it too you'd think there was 100k km on it.

Anyway he starts it up only to get beep beep beep. Stop!!! Stop!!! Flashing up on the computer coolant light flashing fast red all the time. I was only in the car twice and my head was wrecked looking at the light flash he's driving it like that for about 8 months at this stage. I just couldn't do it.

On DoneDeal, a private seller is a 'publisher'. For example, at the bottom of the ad, it says "Publisher's Details".

Can I ask.. what's the difference between a "Trader" and a "Dealer" according to DoneDeal?