Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Lads tis feckin' fierce mild. Happy I'm off the next two days :D

Tis! bloody grand drying weather out now so there is! The clothes would be like rocks tomorrow morning :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Tis! bloody grand drying weather out now so there is! The clothes would be like rocks tomorrow morning :P

I was moving the car so no one would potentially slide into it, rolled down the window, bad move.

Lap full of sneachta? Same here opening the door. I was soooo careful and all! :(

I destroyed the electric window switch in my old corolla because of snow falling on it. Lethal stuff altogether! :P

Lap full of sneachta? Same here opening the door. I was soooo careful and all! :(

I destroyed the electric window switch in my old corolla because of snow falling on it. Lethal stuff altogether! :P

I too felt the cold hand of the sneachta! Also it showed me that someone was walking around my car :o

No it wasn't me

Pretty much, could've done without it, like :P

I too felt the cold hand of the sneachta! Also it showed me that someone was walking around my car :o

No it wasn't me

Outside your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Volvo parked up outside sat for last three weeks, covered in snow, doors frozen shut.

Turn key, starts first time.

What a fupping baxtard :p

Outside your house?

aye! all over the grass and stuff too, i dunno bit im probably just being too paranoid

Volvo parked up outside sat for last three weeks, covered in snow, doors frozen shut.

justsweedishthings :pac::rolleyes:

aye! all over the grass and stuff too, i dunno bit im probably just being too paranoid

Probably one of those feckin' mad sheep out there!

Telling ya! They're well hidden now! :P

I think you should sleep in one of the cars tonight guarded with a wheelbrace. Get the thermals out n you'll be grand! :P

Just stick on the seats and away i go :P greet them with a 1/2" extension and a breaker bar

These wheels are definitely happening

Just stick on the seats and away i go :P greet them with a 1/2" extension and a breaker bar

Bought myself a 2ft breaker bar recently. Weapon n a half I tells ya! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Will probably work perfect and cause no issue now you don't need it.

As for snow there was a good bit fell at about 3.30 pm it got quite heavy we enjoyed staring out the window at it while we were in a 3 hour chemistry lab :pac:

Bought myself a 2ft breaker bar recently. Weapon n a half I tells ya! :P

Aw i love mine, it's my prybar, wheel brace, loads of things really :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Loads of snow over here. Traffic is crazy. 40 km/h on N5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Does that low mpg not cripple ye? I know ye sacrafice the mpg for quality cars/driving experience, but if ye're doing big miles, do ye even have a penny? I'm so used to 50 plus mpg at this stage, it would be so hard for me to drop to something in the teens :eek:

Nah you kinda learn to live with it, it is worth it for the most part though, I find anyway!

To give you an idea 80 euro would get me to and from cork city anf leave me enough to potter around locally for a day or two

Mines doing 18 average but I only drive around 120 - 150 miles a week. I also don't drink often and don't smoke so I put my money into my car/toys.

Does that low mpg not cripple ye? I know ye sacrafice the mpg for quality cars/driving experience, but if ye're doing big miles, do ye even have a penny? I'm so used to 50 plus mpg at this stage, it would be so hard for me to drop to something in the teens 

Sorry I was looking a few pages back, thought that it was recent chat :o Anyway aimed at Foxhole and YB :D

The noise/engine/spec and comfort of mine more than makes up for the crap economy. On a long run I can do around 35 Motorway so it's not too bad, my last trip to Dublin I used just over a quarter of a tank each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well I get horrible Mpg in scooby too, but it does not really bother me much. specially now when petrol prices got down so nicely.
    Sometimes I do think about finally become sensible and get something with better mpg and better tax/insurance and then I end up looking up 330ci or x5 3.0d or jag xj... I am fecking useless. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Seen a lovely Alfa 159 on a thread on a Uk forum.

Then I read up on the "rusty subframe" issue.

Is it (the rusty subframe issue) as bad as the internet makes out????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Due to the salt they UK puts on their roads you will hear of it happening more there than anywhere else.
    A quick check shows me that it's easily fixable with a wire brush, then Kurust followed by Hammerite followed by Waxoyl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Old diesel wrote: »

On UK ones yes. I haven't heard of it happening to Irish ones though.

User on here, tazio I think has begun stockpiling 159 sub frames for his fleet

Thanks guys - hard to ignore them (159s) when they look so stunning.

They are like biscuits - you know they mightn't be good for your health but they are NICE

Old diesel wrote:
    They are like biscuits - you know they mightn't be good for your health but they are NICE

Since when are biscuits not good for your health? :P