If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Lads tis feckin' fierce mild. Happy I'm off the next two days :D

Tis! bloody grand drying weather out now so there is! The clothes would be like rocks tomorrow morning :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Tis! bloody grand drying weather out now so there is! The clothes would be like rocks tomorrow morning :P

I was moving the car so no one would potentially slide into it, rolled down the window, bad move.

Lap full of sneachta? Same here opening the door. I was soooo careful and all! :(

I destroyed the electric window switch in my old corolla because of snow falling on it. Lethal stuff altogether! :P

Lap full of sneachta? Same here opening the door. I was soooo careful and all! :(

I destroyed the electric window switch in my old corolla because of snow falling on it. Lethal stuff altogether! :P

I too felt the cold hand of the sneachta! Also it showed me that someone was walking around my car :o

No it wasn't me

Pretty much, could've done without it, like :P

I too felt the cold hand of the sneachta! Also it showed me that someone was walking around my car :o

No it wasn't me

Outside your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Volvo parked up outside sat for last three weeks, covered in snow, doors frozen shut.

Turn key, starts first time.

What a fupping baxtard :p

Outside your house?

aye! all over the grass and stuff too, i dunno bit im probably just being too paranoid

Volvo parked up outside sat for last three weeks, covered in snow, doors frozen shut.

justsweedishthings :pac::rolleyes:

aye! all over the grass and stuff too, i dunno bit im probably just being too paranoid

Probably one of those feckin' mad sheep out there!

Telling ya! They're well hidden now! :P

I think you should sleep in one of the cars tonight guarded with a wheelbrace. Get the thermals out n you'll be grand! :P

Just stick on the seats and away i go :P greet them with a 1/2" extension and a breaker bar

These wheels are definitely happening

Just stick on the seats and away i go :P greet them with a 1/2" extension and a breaker bar

Bought myself a 2ft breaker bar recently. Weapon n a half I tells ya! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Will probably work perfect and cause no issue now you don't need it.

As for snow there was a good bit fell at about 3.30 pm it got quite heavy we enjoyed staring out the window at it while we were in a 3 hour chemistry lab :pac:

Bought myself a 2ft breaker bar recently. Weapon n a half I tells ya! :P

Aw i love mine, it's my prybar, wheel brace, loads of things really :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Loads of snow over here. Traffic is crazy. 40 km/h on N5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Does that low mpg not cripple ye? I know ye sacrafice the mpg for quality cars/driving experience, but if ye're doing big miles, do ye even have a penny? I'm so used to 50 plus mpg at this stage, it would be so hard for me to drop to something in the teens :eek:

Nah you kinda learn to live with it, it is worth it for the most part though, I find anyway!

To give you an idea 80 euro would get me to and from cork city anf leave me enough to potter around locally for a day or two

Mines doing 18 average but I only drive around 120 - 150 miles a week. I also don't drink often and don't smoke so I put my money into my car/toys.

Does that low mpg not cripple ye? I know ye sacrafice the mpg for quality cars/driving experience, but if ye're doing big miles, do ye even have a penny? I'm so used to 50 plus mpg at this stage, it would be so hard for me to drop to something in the teens 

Sorry I was looking a few pages back, thought that it was recent chat :o Anyway aimed at Foxhole and YB :D

The noise/engine/spec and comfort of mine more than makes up for the crap economy. On a long run I can do around 35 Motorway so it's not too bad, my last trip to Dublin I used just over a quarter of a tank each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well I get horrible Mpg in scooby too, but it does not really bother me much. specially now when petrol prices got down so nicely.
    Sometimes I do think about finally become sensible and get something with better mpg and better tax/insurance and then I end up looking up 330ci or x5 3.0d or jag xj... I am fecking useless. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Seen a lovely Alfa 159 on a thread on a Uk forum.

Then I read up on the "rusty subframe" issue.

Is it (the rusty subframe issue) as bad as the internet makes out????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Due to the salt they UK puts on their roads you will hear of it happening more there than anywhere else.
    A quick check shows me that it's easily fixable with a wire brush, then Kurust followed by Hammerite followed by Waxoyl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Old diesel wrote: »

On UK ones yes. I haven't heard of it happening to Irish ones though.

User on here, tazio I think has begun stockpiling 159 sub frames for his fleet

Thanks guys - hard to ignore them (159s) when they look so stunning.

They are like biscuits - you know they mightn't be good for your health but they are NICE

Old diesel wrote:
    They are like biscuits - you know they mightn't be good for your health but they are NICE

Since when are biscuits not good for your health? :P