Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Phoebas wrote: »
    He made some show of himself denying that there was any problem at all at the protest.

9% of the Dublin population marched in protest to water charges without there been a drop of violence. You will always get 1 or 2 idiots at these protests that take it too far with throwing as you say missiles, which was a water balloon in fact. This sort of behaviour from a tiny minority at protests is exactly want the government want so they can tar all protesters as violent thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

myshirt wrote: »
    As much as this issue angers people, it was not right to bounce a water balloon off a 65 year old woman's head, no matter what your politics.

That left a bitter taste to be fair.
    agree, that was out of order completely, a cowardly act

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    cisk wrote: »
    One of the graduates acount of what happened, totaly indefensible imo.

Can you at least provide a source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,935 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Gringo180 wrote: »
    9% of the Dublin population marched in protest to water charges without there been a drop of violence. You will always get 1 or 2 idiots at these protests that take it too far with throwing as you say missiles, which was a water balloon in fact. This sort of behaviour from a tiny minority at protests is exactly want the government want so they can tar all protesters as violent thugs.

Yeah and paul murphy denying there was anything wrong will just encourage more of this to happen next time. He's not doing the anti cause any favours by not condemning it and if he doesnt it will continue to escalate and make trouble for the larger cause of anti IW people who do want to protest peacefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,935 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    gladrags wrote: »
    Can you at least provide a source?

Id actually agree with this, too many third party stories are being thrown around by both sides, any accounts like this from either side really need to be proven as real going forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

VinLieger wrote: »
    Yeah and paul murphy denying there was anything wrong will just encourage more of this to happen next time. He's not doing the anti cause any favours by not condemning it and if he doesnt it will continue to escalate and make trouble for the larger cause of anti IW people who do want to protest peacefully.

This is true, The anti side do need to come out and condemn actions like this. Or it will only encourage people to act in a poor manor e.g bricks. If this issue is not resolved fairly quickly tbh I can see things getting violent and actually out of control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

NoelJ wrote: »
    It's a good tax that should have been implemented long ago as it will discourage water wastage and also people with lower disposable income will consider it more than higher disposable income in general so will be taxing the rich. I know that's generalising but I'm guessing that would be the case as higher disposable income users won't mind paying extra tax for using more water.

Stuff like this annoys me. All I'm getting from this is that people with money can use all the water they like because they will be able to afford it while poorer people will have to stress out about every drop they use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Stargate wrote: »
    Did i hear it right?

Enda on SixOne when asked about Tallaght protest said .

" It's nothing to do with water is it "

There's a man with his head firmly in the sand .

I can't wait for another election and see that smug git what he deserves .

Possibly he is right and it is nothing to do with water. There lots of issues frustrating people, water being one of them. This country is in a mess and anybody who says any different has their heads in the sand. All about jobs they say, Well what about health, housing, crime, funding cuts to vital services, cronyism FG you shower of patronising, lying ****wits.

My personal frustration, Im waiting to see a consultant with a chest complaint from last Christmas. Why do I slave away and bother paying my taxes eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

What do people expect to happen when they ignore questions in the dail dont answer a dam thing, make dreadful comments about the irish people, ignore debate, and the clear anger among people. Of course it will get violent. Thats what happens when everything is phobed of by these over paid liers. They act like they have the moral high ground when their attitude towards us and democracy is in the gutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

It's a good tax that should have been implemented long ago as it will discourage water wastage and also people with lower disposable income will consider it more than higher disposable income in general so will be taxing the rich. I know that's generalising but I'm guessing that would be the case as higher disposable income users won't mind paying extra tax for using more water. Hopefully they use the money towards providing a better water service as it has suffered considering there hasn't been a lot of investment in the water system. I believe that's why we don't have combi boilers as the pressure isn't that good in Ireland.

Leaving aside the reverse boston call " no representation without taxation" argument. perhaps you might understand the situation better and also bone up on plumbing standards and practice in ireland, before making such "erudite" comments

Lone Stone wrote: »
    What do people expect to happen when they ignore questions in the dail dont answer a dam thing, make dreadful comments about the irish people, ignore debate, and the clear anger among people. Of course it will get violent. Thats what happens when everything is phobed of by these over paid liers. They act like they have the moral high ground when their attitude towards us and democracy is in the gutter.

IN no way , do the actions, in a constitutional state, justify violence on the street. The cut and trust of the dail debate is NOT any justification for subversive mobs and yobs lobbing bricks.

You & me ( the people), we voted these politicians in, we can vote them out, while they are in Gov, they are our elected representatives

In my view, if more violence like this gets associated with the anti water issue, the whole campaign will fail and descend into a riot. The guards will baton charge the lot of you and the issue will die.

Your type of comment is getting close to promoting anarchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

I have to say i'm quite impressed with Murphy.

for someone of his background to have taken the political road he has requires a lot of guts. I'd say family members and former friends of his wouldn't dream of voting Socialist. He has had to endure chilidish jibes about his comfortable background from sneerers opposed to his stance on Water charges, questioning his right to represent the working class, who after all merely elected him in the first place.

he has proved that he is no champagne socialist unlike so many others from the "Left" and is genuinely committed to radical street politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

cisk wrote: »
    One of the graduates acount of what happened, totaly indefensible imo.

Well according to some people, who appear to be both blind and deaf, there was no interruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

NoelJ wrote: »
    I don't live in Ireland but have been following the rise of the water charges protests as it's very hard to miss. Paul Murphy really seems like he's just galvanized a community in order to intimidate the Tanaiste. His Facebook page is littered with requests for people to join protests to harass Joan. His definition of a peaceful process is far from peaceful considering his followers are imprisoning Joan in her car. I understand people don't agree with the governments policies but this is just an outrageous way to vent their anger.

I hope the government keep insisting with the water charges as I believe it's a tax that will benefit everyone. I pay for water over here and it genuinely makes me consider my water usage when it comes to everyday necessities like showering, washing dishes and washing clothes. Obviously the government aren't inserting this tax for their own benefit but because they need to raise revenue. It's a good tax that should have been implemented long ago as it will discourage water wastage and also people with lower disposable income will consider it more than higher disposable income in general so will be taxing the rich. I know that's generalising but I'm guessing that would be the case as higher disposable income users won't mind paying extra tax for using more water. Hopefully they use the money towards providing a better water service as it has suffered considering there hasn't been a lot of investment in the water system. I believe that's why we don't have combi boilers as the pressure isn't that good in Ireland.

What is your view on the cronyism and corruption in Irish Water?

Which is more to the point.

The cronyism and corruption is systemic.

It was in place well before Murphy or SF arrived.

BoatMad wrote: »
    IN no way , do the actions, in a constitutional state, justify violence on the street. The cut and trust of the dail debate is NOT any justification for subversive mobs and yobs lobbing bricks.

You & me ( the people), we voted these politicians in, we can vote them out, while they are in Gov, they are our elected representatives

In my view, if more violence like this gets associated with the anti water issue, the whole campaign will fail and descend into a riot. The guards will baton charge the lot of you and the issue will die.

Your type of comment is getting close to promoting anarchy.

will people look up that word maybe ? Or do they just spout what they read in the papers ?

he has proved that he is no champagne socialist unlike so many others from the "Left" and is genuinely committed to radical street politics.

Radical street politics, theres the issue that will damm the water debate, I get this really nervous feeling that a combination of lefties, looney socialists and shady republicans are jumping on this band-wagon

If this is so , its over , the vast majority of people want nothing to do with this agenda.

will people look up that word maybe ? Or do they just spout what they read in the papers ?

an·ar·chy noun \ˈa-nər-kē, -ˌnär-\
    : a situation of confusion and wild behavior in which the people in a country, group, organization, etc., are not controlled by rules or laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

Radical street politics, theres the issue that will damm the water debate, I get this really nervous feeling that a combination of lefties, looney socialists and shady republicans are jumping on this band-wagon

If this is so , its over , the vast majority of people want nothing to do with this agenda.

don't worry unfortunately most people are not as committed as those in Jobstown yesterday.

Your cuddly middle-class non-offensive protestors will make their voices heard too.

Lone Stone wrote: »

Lols, an answer given by the tanaiste in the dail is the trigger for that nonsense by thugs.

And more lols on your democracy comment.

an·ar·chy noun \ˈa-nər-kē, -ˌnär-\
    : a situation of confusion and wild behavior in which the people in a country, group, organization, etc., are not controlled by rules or laws

So you do then realise this has not happened even remotely ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

But aren't these the very types that should be fronting an anti-austerity gig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭AboutaWeekAgo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Well according to some people, who appear to be both blind and deaf, there was no interruption.

If you could back up that quote with a source it would be appreciated. I've seen many videos from yesterday and one of them included the graduates leaving the event getting a round of applause from those outside protesting, not the behaviour of people who would have been calling the same people traitors.

I just can't understand how they could have interrupted anything when they were not aloud inside the gates of the event?

HI,

I was one of the the graduates yesterday in Tallaght. What a ****ing disgrace a lot of the protesters were (some turned out in there PJ's). Firstly they high-jacked the educational ceremony, they then proceeded to scream traitor at a small group of us doing a trail run WTF.. Joan Burton was there as guest of honour and not to hand out any certificates.The president of the college a lady in her 70's was visibly shaken when she made her speech. The graduates and staff should not have being subjected to any type of abuse from the crowd. The graduates also had family's with them that had to endure this intimation.

I have marched against the water charges myself and will continue to do so, but the level of aggression and intimation i felt yesterday was disgusting. I am all for peaceful protest but this was anything but. Paul Murphy and Co you do not represent me.This is the type of protest that will divide people

Next time Tallaght you protest at least get dressed....Peace

It was a disgrace that this mob hijacked your day. I doubt that the organisers of this "peaceful" protest gave a thought to the hard work you and your mates have done over the last few years. I wish you all well in your future lives.

So you do then realise this has not happened even remotely ?

The debate is being hijacked by people who would use it to their own ends, We have had intimidation of meter installers, damage to their equipment, physical intimidation of Ministers including disgraceful intimidation of the Tanaiste.

This is a stepping stone to that anarchy. Its being promoted from the sidelines by subversives, looney lefties and assorted ner-do-wells.

We have a system of punishing political parties , its called the ballot box. Thats the correct place to carry on such a debate. Blockcading ministers is not the approbate way to get anything done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

Stargate wrote: »
    Did i hear it right?

Enda on SixOne when asked about Tallaght protest said .

" It's nothing to do with water is it "

There's a man with his head firmly in the sand .

I can't wait for another election and see that smug git get what he deserves .

Kenny is the class clown.
    What he says can be ignored for what it is. Waffle.

If you could back up that quote with a source it would be appreciated. I've seen many videos from yesterday and one of them included the graduates leaving the event getting a round of applause from those outside protesting, not the behaviour of people who would have been calling the same people traitors.

I just can't understand how they could have interrupted anything when they were not aloud inside the gates of the event?

You whinge about looking for sources while in the same post making lots of claims. The irony is brilliant.

It was a disgrace that this mob hijacked your day. I doubt that the organisers of this "peaceful" protest gave a thought to the hard work you and your mates have done over the last few years. I wish you all well in your future lives.

When did they get inside the venue ? I did not realised this, do you have a link to this ground breaking information ? As only reports I have see was protestors outside on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Presumably that's the person mentioned earlier that accepted her cert or whatever it was from Joan Bruton then headed out.

"About
    Worked at Sinn Féin Ireland"

So what?

Seems the new approach here is the pics or it didn't happen approach, but only for those that say anything against the "protestors".

The debate is being hijacked by people who would use it to their own ends, We have had intimidation of meter installers, damage to their equipment, physical intimidation of Ministers including disgraceful intimidation of the Tanaiste.

This is a stepping stone to that anarchy. Its being promoted from the sidelines by subversives, looney lefties and assorted ner-do-wells.

We have a system of punishing political parties , its called the ballot box. Thats the correct place to carry on such a debate. Blockcading ministers is not the approbate way to get anything done.

When did the Guards loose control of the rule of law ? has not every situation past off mostly peacefully. Stop exaggerating. And tbh in most other countries when a government is so corrupt the citizens remove them.