Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Cruise control module or break pedal sensor would be the most obvious. Although if there's no faults showing up it could be a damaged wire going to a sensor.

Yeah there's no lights staying on so the faults don't seem to be permanent, will give all the wires a good check today and have a look at the sensors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Could be ABS module either. All your traction and brake sh1t run through that. Known to give trouble too. The fact that no faults showing up for any of these is puzzling though.

I'm hoping it's not the module :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm hoping it's not the module :pac:

Ya can pick up modules in a scrappy. Just make sure it's the same code or it will have to be reprogrammed. ;)

Era yeah, I'd just rather not :pac:

Need to get I plugged in and see if that throws out anything obvious, anyone know a good BMW specialist in Cork?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

davycc wrote: »
    Good luck with the new 156 stentho :-) what colour is it and I'll keep an eye out for it?and an ear out for that busso magic .

Thanks it's dark grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Stheno wrote: »
    Thanks it's dark grey

Nice stealthy color I'll keep an eye out so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Picked up some shiny new OEM ugly winter rim's for the mr2 :-)
    One even has a new snow tire on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Finally got my paj running, god damn diesel bug sh1te in the tank though, keeps blocking everything and making it die at very inappropriate times. Found a decent sized hole in my tank pickup filter just now, definitely not helping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Today i was told by a customer im too young to be driving a bus. ...... eh thanks. .

That's why your the passenger :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Finally got my paj running, god damn diesel bug sh1te in the tank though, keeps blocking everything and making it die at very inappropriate times. Found a decent sized hole in my tank pickup filter just now, definitely not helping!

That bacteria stuff? You going to clean it all out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Today i was told by a customer im too young to be driving a bus. ...... eh thanks. .

That's why your the passenger :P

Isnt that like the 175th time since you started?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Isnt that like the 175th time since you started?? :pac:

Nope. The staff say I'm very young but not too young :P

First time a customer made a comment like that !

Interslice wrote: »
    That bacteria stuff? You going to clean it all out?

Gonna try I guess, don't really fancy dropping out the tank though, so Ill see what I can get from the access hatch. Any ideas on useful chemicals/liquids to flush/wash out the tank? Reading lots of different "advise" through google, all the way from jeyes fluid to petrol...

Nope. The staff say I'm very young but not too young :P

First time a customer made a comment like that !

Ah sure, could be worse! Could be yer man who drives like a loon

Gonna try I guess, don't really fancy dropping out the tank though, so Ill see what I can get from the access hatch. Any ideas on useful chemicals/liquids to flush/wash out the tank? Reading lots of different "advise" through google, all the way from jeyes fluid to petrol...

Would it be an idea to siphon out the diesel then dump in whatever to clean it and siphon that out? Or is that a stupid idea?

There's a drain plug there so probably be a good way of getting most out, plus whatever water will be in there after 24 years of neglect, green diesel and nomadic ownership. :pac:

:pac: hahaha lovely :P

Apologies, 22 years of neglect..

Think I've noticed from your posts you're from my neck of the woods, stalled out on the single lane bridge near sarsfields this afternoon, had to roll back down, thank fook there was noone behind me :eek:

Ah sure, could be worse! Could be yer man who drives like a loon

Ehhh

Apologies, 22 years of neglect..

Think I've noticed from your posts you're from my neck of the woods, stalled out on the single lane bridge near sarsfields this afternoon, had to roll back down, thank fook there was noone behind me :eek:

I do believe i am! I probably know that bridge too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'd imagine you want to get it all out and dead otherwise it will just grow back. Sounds like a dirty job. Read before that your supposed to regularly fill a diesel tank to stop it happening. Not sure about chemicals etc. but I'd probably use a load of concentrated bleach and then wash it out with a power hose, more bleach more power hose and then dry it.

Interslice wrote: »
    I'd imagine you want to get it all out and dead otherwise it will just grow back. Sounds like a dirty job. Read before that your supposed to regularly fill a diesel tank to stop it happening. Not sure about chemicals etc. but I'd probably use a load of concentrated bleach and then wash it out with a power hose, more bleach more power hose and then dry it.

:( I'll give it a bash tomorrow and see what I can do, i'll talk to the local fuel lads and see do they know of something that will kill/dissolve the stuff.

Yeah I usually keep any diesel yoke I'd have well above 1/4 tank all the time, but the sh1tehawks that had it before me were running it to empty and throwing diesel out of god-knows-what into it, filth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Just saw an ad TV for "Logbook Loans"
    http://www.loans2go.co.uk/

I just find it unbelievable that these services exist at all.. scary stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Just saw an ad TV for "Logbook Loans"
    http://www.loans2go.co.uk/

I just find it unbelievable that these services exist at all.. scary stuff

It's unreal paying the guts of 3k back on 850 absolute joke. Yet someone must be taking out these loans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's unreal paying the guts of 3k back on 850 absolute joke. Yet someone must be taking out these loans.

Got a bad credit rating?
    Got a friend you can drag down with you when you don't pay back this loan either?

Then you need Amigo loans!
    http://www.amigoloans.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone know of a decent ebay crowd that sell LED's? I'm after C5W 38mm Festoons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Not sure of any crowd but will you need canbus ones Noccy?

Just something that many miss. If your car can report a bulb gone then you need the canbus type, if not then any old ones will do :)

I've bought off many of them and never had any trouble, once they have sold loads and have decent feedback from them!

Guess what i have sitting in the glove box of the 900 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Nope tis only the old focus, doesn't tell me when anything is wrong! Super, I'll order a pair :)