Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

pred racer wrote: »
    Oh well, too late now!

Early feedback on the Avons I've fitted is good. Nice and quiet, good grip etc etc but I haven't had them on long enough to know how well they are wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

A good whiskey. Something like green spot

I don't know if a good whiskey is a good motoring related present :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I don't know he doesn't drink so that might be a bit of a sh!t present :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Bpmull wrote: »
    I know it's extremely early to be talking about Christmas but my dad is particularly difficult to buy presents for. Anyone any good suggestions for unusual or decent motoring related Christmas presents. I can never think of anything decent he could be getting a topaz fuel voucher yet :D

a set of tailored mats/ boot protector or something like that for this new van he's ordering?

you could spec something onto it with the dealer and not tell him about it until the big day, parking sensors etc.

what's your budget?

I don't know he doesn't drink so that might be a bit of a sh!t present :pac:

Well I didn't know that! :p
    Any nice restaurants around you? Get a voucher for him and the mammy for a meal in one that they like.

a set of tailored mats/ boot protector or something like that for this new van he's ordering?

you could spec something onto it with the dealer and not tell him about it until the big day, parking sensors etc.

what's your budget?

Good suggestions there. It's coming with tailored mats. The van arrived today so won't be able to get any extras on it. I might ring the dealer parts department and see what you can get for them. My mothers getting him wind deflectors for it I think there 50 quid from dealer. It's really suggestion for her as I've found him a few small bits so far but she's struggling to think of anything. I suppose budget would be sub 100 euro but can be alot less and can be just a general motoring thing too like something out of halfords.

One thing I did think of was you the door sill protectors they mightened be called that but basically the strips of stainless steel that stick to the sills I was thinking of them. The dealer is putting on fitted mud flaps which apparently cost 150 quid I find that hard to believe tbh as most fitted genuine ones are less than 50 quid.
    Thanks for the suggestions so far.

Well I didn't know that! :p
    Any nice restaurants around you? Get a voucher for him and the mammy for a meal in one that they like.

Ah I know you didn't know. The meal idea might be a good idea I know there's a macdonalds very near us not sure what's the story with getting vouchers for there though :D :pac: ah no a decent restaurant voucher would be a good idea I must mention that to brother too as he never has anything got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ah I know you didn't know. The meal idea might be a good idea I know there's a macdonalds very near us not sure what's the story with getting vouchers for there though :D :pac: ah no a decent restaurant voucher would be a good idea I must mention that to brother too as he never has anything got.

Seeing as you're around kilkenny you might wana check out ripleys steakhouse, lovely ol place :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

scuff plates are what you are thinking of for the sills.

€150 wouldn't be too bad for the mud flaps, we got a set of genuine ones fitted to the astra before we picked it up, think it was around that price.

it was a leon in the end was it? the accessories booket is here, right down to personalised gear knobs and key covers :pac: http://www.seat.ie/content/ie/brand/en/models/new-leon/equipment-and-accessories.html

Seeing as you're around kilkenny you might wana check out ripleys steakhouse, lovely ol place :)

I've been there alright it's nice less than a two minute walk from my house too you wouldn't even need to drive :)

Ah well then, i went there once or twice and loved the place

scuff plates are what you are thinking of for the sills.

€150 wouldn't be too bad for the mud flaps, we got a set of genuine ones fitted to the astra before we picked it up, think it was around that price.

it was a leon in the end was it? the accessories booket is here, right down to personalised gear knobs and key covers :pac: http://www.seat.ie/content/ie/brand/en/models/new-leon/equipment-and-accessories.html

Nice one I'll have a look through that. Yep it's a Leon he went for in the end it's white se spec with 17 inch alloys, led lighting pack and convenience pack which all them extras are coming on them all in January. So he will hopefully have it 2nd January. I got a drive in one Saturday granted a car version but same engine spec and it's very noise loads of toys and gadgets on it too.

Your in Kilkenny? I'd get both of them a voucher for campagne, if you went in on it with your brother it'd be a cheap enough present and a dining experience they'd never forget. You don't have to worry about getting something for the mammy either.

What van has get bought? Dealers often have model cars/vans for customers so maybe something like that?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    What van has get bought? Dealers often have model cars/vans for customers so maybe something like that?

Could find out about that alright . See above for details on the van it's a Leon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I know it's extremely early to be talking about Christmas but my dad is particularly difficult to buy presents for. Anyone any good suggestions for unusual or decent motoring related Christmas presents. I can never think of anything decent he could be getting a topaz fuel voucher yet :D

I just bidded on and won a wheelnut from last years Mercedes f1 car :)
    Thought it was a cool gift for an f1 fan like the two of us are! Now i have to make myself give it to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I went to a nice place on I think the main street after the bridge, Italian and they give you Sambuca at the end!

YbFocus wrote: »
    I just bidded in and won a wheelnut from last years 2013 Mercedes f1 car :)
    Thought it was a cool gift for an f1 fan like the two of us are! Now i have to make myself give it to him!

Now that's really ****ing cool! You should get it mounted in a glass case for him for his birthday :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Now that's really ****ing cool! You should get it mounted in a glass case for him for his birthday :pac:

Have a 3 inch deep box frame on the way for it to :)
    It's chewed up by the air gun and all, was raced and tested with.

Your in Kilkenny? I'd get both of them a voucher for campagne, if you went in on it with your brother it'd be a cheap enough present and a dining experience they'd never forget. You don't have to worry about getting something for the mammy either.

I've heard great things about that place too. I've never been to it either but that's about a 2 minute walk from are house too so would be a good one to get I'd say. It's seems everyone's wined and dined in kilkenny good to here :)

Kilkenny is one of my favorite towns to be honest, serious nightlife there!

Aye, I was in The Salt Yard and I'd highly recommend it. Went for a few pints in the Bank and the ended up in The Hole in The Wall (mental craic)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Good suggestions there. It's coming with tailored mats. The van arrived today so won't be able to get any extras on it. I might ring the dealer parts department and see what you can get for them. My mothers getting him wind deflectors for it I think there 50 quid from dealer. It's really suggestion for her as I've found him a few small bits so far but she's struggling to think of anything. I suppose budget would be sub 100 euro but can be alot less and can be just a general motoring thing too like something out of halfords.

One thing I did think of was you the door sill protectors they mightened be called that but basically the strips of stainless steel that stick to the sills I was thinking of them. The dealer is putting on fitted mud flaps which apparently cost 150 quid I find that hard to believe tbh as most fitted genuine ones are less than 50 quid.

Don't bother with wind deflectors, they're supposed to be mad noisy.

Mud guards are mad money on them, mine were 200 fitted on the FR! Nearly fell off the seat when they said that.

There's a few bits you can get for them though that I got. Boot protector for the back of the van is cheap. I got a lot of things coded in - needle sweep, parking sensor display, cornering lights, mirror folding without holding the button, killed the sound actuator :D - cheap to pay someone with vcds. If he's doing big miles you can get a disc to enable tiredness recognition. There's a boot net thing that's dead handy for stopping things flying around the boot.

If ye pooled funds though something like a new car details from MX Valeting or MM would be a great start.

Has it got a spare? I've a space saver I took out of mine you're welcome to as I've been trying to offload it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I spent enough time in Kilkenny, I went to school there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I dare you to say town in KK...go on...

In yer big cark accent :pac: :P

Well it is a town, like :pac: Our buddies from Kilkenny get endless abuse about it :D
    In yer big cark accent :pac: :P

Couldn't be doing that now, they all carry Hurls :pac:

Don't bother with wind deflectors, they're supposed to be mad noisy.

Mud guards are mad money on them, mine were 200 fitted on the FR! Nearly fell off the seat when they said that.

There's a few bits you can get for them though that I got. Boot protector for the back of the van is cheap. I got a lot of things coded in - needle sweep, parking sensor display, cornering lights, mirror folding without holding the button, killed the sound actuator :D - cheap to pay someone with vcds. If he's doing big miles you can get a disc to enable tiredness recognition. There's a boot net thing that's dead handy for stopping things flying around the boot.

If ye pooled funds though something like a new car details from MX Valeting or MM would be a great start.

Has it got a spare? I've a space saver I took out of mine you're welcome to as I've been trying to offload it.

Yep the dealer is throwing the in mud gaurds so it's not too bad. He wants the deflectors as he has this thing about driving with the window I'll mention it about the noise though. Just on the mirrors do they fold electrically as we couldn't see a button inside to do it maybe it's an fr feature. I'll look into the boot protector that would be a very good idea.

I'm afraid the detailing idea would be pointless as although he tried to keep his cars clean his definition of clean would be quite different to everyone's on here. Clean to him would be a power wash on the outside Hoover and give the dash a wipe. I'd imagine it will get a good bit of use it will spend to first few months over and back to the uk as he's working there and he does a good bit of driving over there. Same when he's in Ireland as he's on different projects all the time literally anywhere in Ireland. Thanks for the info :)

Ha ha this comes up everytime kilkenny is mentioned anywhere. I'm in my third year in college and me and another guy from kk in the class were still arguing with the rest of the class over the whole town situation it's not but we won't go there :)