Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

davycc wrote: »
    Those Looney japs and their engrish language love in lol

Full of Sport Mind & Luxury Feeling Super Potential In Winter Wheel Iver.

Just a roller skate grand touring. All over the physical ironic power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

davycc wrote: »
    Those Looney japs and their engrish language love in lol

I work for a japanese company, you should see some of the 'Janglish' instructions we recieve :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057317057/1/#post92815416

We know where they are due to congregate now and a time lads.
    Now's our chance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Get the smokey diesels out. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭e92335i

What do people make of these?

Yay/Nay? Too tacky on a Non-M car? As bad as a RS4 badge?

Yea too tacky. Although this is relatively subtle it takes very little to ruin a car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

A small strip on the front grill slats in the colour might work. Nice and subtle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Soooooo I got the car working again by revving it :o

I also have a few split pipes and a piece of my intercooler is missing :o the car still goes, but it wont go past 55mph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Which alloys do you prefer ?

16 inch 205/55/16
    7BE34C7C-B091-459F-B72A-AABB2E2850F5_zpsi8wabphz.jpg

17 inch
    F561C39D-0188-463C-B1D6-72560E12FB12_zpsqzcvdtoc.jpg

I think the 17 are nicer having seen both on the cars today. It's a Leon btw my dad is getting a van version in January it would be coming standard with the 17s but he's on about getting the garage to get them to put 16s on it but I think he'd be mad to get 16s. Also got a drive in one today they are very nice and surprisingly nippy too.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've to replace the battery in my key fob.
    Does anyone know will that deactivate the code or should it be fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Bpmull wrote: »

16 inch 205/55/16

17 inch

I think the 17 are nicer having seen both on the cars today. It's a Leon btw my dad is getting a van version in January it would be coming standard with the 17s but he's on about getting the garage to get them to put 16s on it but I think he'd be mad to get 16s. Also got a drive in one today they are very nice and surprisingly nippy too.

It's a matter for taste.

Also, the smaller wheels do offer better ride, which might be more important.

16 inch 205/55/16
    7BE34C7C-B091-459F-B72A-AABB2E2850F5_zpsi8wabphz.jpg

17 inch
    F561C39D-0188-463C-B1D6-72560E12FB12_zpsqzcvdtoc.jpg

Keep it on the 17s, they'll be 225/45 and are a very common size meaning tyres aren't too hard to get. The ride will be fine on them, mines on 18s and has firmer suspension and it's still more than comfortable.

I think I have him convinced to keep the 17's the car will look better on them. And the one we test drove this morning was on 17s and was very smooth and this was on bad country roads. The weirdest thing about the one we test drove was there was 1/4 of a tank of diesel in it I'd say it's the first time I ever got into a garage car where the light wasn't on :pac: muppetcheck what are the full LEDs like at night there nice looking during the day but do they actually improve vision over a standard 55w halogen.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Stheno wrote: »
    I've to replace the battery in my key fob.
    Does anyone know will that deactivate the code or should it be fine?

It was fine :)

INteresting factoid about Alfa 156's, if the car is locked with the fob, and the battery goes on the blink, opening the car manually sets off the alarm, and it will not switch off.

Made for a most unpleasant (short) drive home from where the battery went on the blink, with the alarm blaring the whole way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Having a really odd problem on the E39. Sometimes when the cruise control is activated it will start braking randomly and disengage the cruise because of this, this has twice made the Traction light appear along with a Yellow Handbrake light ((!)).

Tonight and a few nights ago it caused the Transmission to log a fault and transmission cog light to appear but this goes away and stops appearing until cruise is activated again and it starts to brake which I think is confusing the transmission and causing it to throw an error. The transmission shifts fine in all modes, D, DS and Manual.

I'm led to believe this is a brake switch problem as that would cause the random braking, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

17's would be my preference bp. Will look better on it.

On another note, Ford's distance to empty gauge is rubbish. Start the car, it says 46 miles to empty, then decreases a mile every 2 seconds or so, until it reaches 0. Stop the car, start it again and the dial moves well out of the red zone and it goes back to the mid 40's until empty. That process has repeated itself three times so far. I wonder how long that will keep going :P

I think I have him convinced to keep the 17's the car will look better on them. And the one we test drove this morning was on 17s and was very smooth and this was on bad country roads. The weirdest thing about the one we test drove was there was 1/4 of a tank of diesel in it I'd say it's the first time I ever got into a garage car where the light wasn't on :pac: muppetcheck what are the full LEDs like at night there nice looking during the day but do they actually improve vision over a standard 55w halogen.

They're in a different league to halogens, on a par with other cars I had with xenons. It's a nice pack they're throwing on that model to be able to get decent headlights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

This evening I drove a....
    1932423_323780734473650_6071848350899459530_n.jpg?oh=aa106b960bdbde18e444faf69be6fc0a&oe=551E8342&__gda__=1428042812_183d04fb12d64b28b05fd78fbf913f20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Saw someone in a 98 750i... wonder who that might have been :D

I flashed my high beams but you either didn't notice or ignored me :pac:

They're in a different league to halogens, on a par with other cars I had with xenons. It's a nice pack they're throwing on that model to be able to get decent headlights.

The next biggest issue is actually getting one. Seat are in trouble with revenue in terms of converting theses vans and vrt even though they pay vrt on them there's still some issue with them. So revenue have suspended the sale and conversion of all vans until it's sorted. Now seat are going to have to sort it and hopefully that will be done in the next week or two. The actual van that my dad is getting is arriving into Dublin port tomorrow as the garage had order a few weeks ago. But his one will have to sit in Dublin and can't be converted until revenue approve of it.

Hopefully it will be all sorted as he really needs it for second of February as he's going to uk on the forth for 3 weeks and if he doesn't have it by then he will be taking my golf. Although on the other side of things if it comes a few days late I'm sure I could force myself to go out and collect it and drive it for a few weeks :pac: I'm getting insured on it and all he tells me today as it won't cost much to put me on the policy when he inquired :)

In other news, the remains of the catalyst on my Rx-8 have finally been removed.

The difference is like adding a brand new engine to the thing.... it rev's so much happier and freer. I hadn't realised just how bad it had actually gotten. And while it does now smell like a burning petrol station going down the road, that's not especially my problem.

Hehehe...... Brrrrrraaaapppp... Pop-Pop-Pop.... Brrrrrrraaaaaapppp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

They're mad yokes for spitting flames on a grand change.
    Was chasing one down in the MX5 one evening, (not me driving, a mate of mine with a trade policy) and the flames out the back were unreal. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Interslice wrote: »
    I've a towbar alright. Just need to get the trailer and track car. Me and two mates have plans to do get one on the go for next summer.

Car is got and in the shed. We stripped the whole thing down last night to start getting it ready. Battery in the boot and air con out.

2z8qmav.jpg

Ooh whats the car? :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    They're mad yokes for spitting flames on a grand change.
    Was chasing one down in the MX5 one evening, (not me driving, a mate of mine with a trade policy) and the flames out the back were unreal. :D

Supposedly, you could run a hybrid on what comes out the exhaust :p

It's otherwise stock, too.

They really are a weirdly addictive car to drive. They make you do irrational things just to keep them running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Car is got and in the shed. We stripped the whole thing down last night to start getting it ready. Battery in the boot and air con out.

2z8qmav.jpg

You've got my attention :)
    What you got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Looks like a Bentley Arnage from the 80's to me.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Looks like a Bentley Arnage from the 80's to me.

As a track car?! :confused:

Also was flicking through haynes manual today. Why did I not get one before now there very good so many facts and figure too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

YbFocus wrote: »
    You've got my attention :)
    What you got?

It's a mirage asti rx lightweight edition. Even lighter now:pac:. It's no oil painting but has around 170hp and only weighs about 900kg. Not much to do on it, only a few bits like the timing belt. Only mods for the moment will be coil overs and EVO IV front brakes are going in. The brakes and shocks need replaced anyway. Just going to run it on the 1.6 mivec until we get used to driving on a track, then stick a gsr engine, probably when the engine or box in it dies. Bit of craic anyway, something to do in the winter evenings.

Its one thing i've always wanted to do, is build a track car, sadly though I've nowhere to work on them :(