Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    Seriously? I am not saying that all protesters are thugs, far from it. I respect peoples right to protest and repect their rights to have a view. Everytime i have voiced my opinion on water charges ive been shouted down, insulted and now threatened with violence. How could i not think there is a thuggish element to it. Id also like to add that my view comes entirely from a water conservation and environmental standpoint.

My friend deleted the fb thread so there is now know record of it. Ive taken note of who he was though.

It did sound like you said thugs had taken over. Only possible if you count the majority of the people of Ireland as being thugs. You must be online in the wrong places. On Facebook just report and block. Then check your privacy settings. Easy.
    Anyway did you read a word of what I wrote about the true identify of troublemakers ?

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Ah I think you're been a tad bit sensitive here!

Sorry. I guess it appeared that way but after I typed answer after answer all I got in return was what appeared to be a ''sure they are all thugs'' - if they are all thugs then what am I .... jeebus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

3 ex county managers in the IW structure, what are they setting up?
    A water management company previously administered at county level.

I don't find it odd at all that some people who have experience running the system when it was administered at county level got jobs administering it at national level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Satriale wrote: »
    Stay off facebook, its sh1te anyway. Voice your opinion here, and we will listen to it, and duly tell you where you are going wrong;) (with absolutely no threats of violence).

By the way there are thugs on both sides of this argument, that's life such as it is, not a lot we can do about it.

I have Enda's mobile number,if that helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭flutered

Phoebas wrote: »

I don't find it odd at all that some people who have experience running the system when it was administered at county level got jobs administering it at national level.

were they not more proficent at wasting public funds than providing water services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    Seriously? I am not saying that all protesters are thugs, far from it. I respect peoples right to protest and repect their rights to have a view. Everytime i have voiced my opinion on water charges ive been shouted down, insulted and now threatened with violence. How could i not think there is a thuggish element to it. Id also like to add that my view comes entirely from a water conservation and environmental standpoint.

My friend deleted the fb thread so there is now know record of it. Ive taken note of who he was though.

I notice the same myself. I agree with the water charges - lived in the uk and Germany and paid charges there.

Few nut cases in fb have meted out personal abuse - got called a scab (that term is used by a certain type of person), a blue shirt and "blindly following the fascist government.". Some have asked me to pay their water charges.

At the end of the day there's differing opinions on all sort of topics - there's been much more going on in the country and I'm amazed it's taken 6 year for people to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    Anyway did you read a word of what I wrote about the true identify of troublemakers ?

I did, i have no doubt that companies/countries shill discussion forums, you only need to read the comment sections on articles on Israel or Russia to see that, i dont see how it is applicable in this case though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

After getting a €300,000 retirement payoff and a pension of €73k pa?
    You don't find that odd?
    I find it downright insulting.

It did sound like you said thugs had taken over.

The protests are clearly mostly peaceful and the protesters are mostly normal people. But there is a nasty element to it that risks undermining the whole thing.

The GRA are concerned for the safety of individual Gardai and the judge who issued the 20m injunction was obviously convinced by the evidence of threats to the safety of the workers installing the meters.

The presence of groups like Eirigi also risks putting ordinary people off - nobody wants to be walking side by side with that lot.
    The thugs haven't taken over, but there is a real possibility that the thuggish element will kick off some violence and alienate the vast majority who don't want anything to do with hat.
    GRA wrote:
    In several cases, members have been subjected to threats to their personal safety and property both directly and online from individuals opposed to the introduction of the water charges.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Look up their job history starting with Hubert Kearns who got this gig on the merit of leaving Sligo 80m in the red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

gladrags wrote: »
    I have Enda's mobile number,if that helps.

LoL
    Can ya drop him off an old text there gladrags and find out what''s happened Cllr. Laura McGonigle ???

Could't keep her off the radio , newspapers , TV last election here in Cork :eek:
    Banging on doors with all her leaflets " Working For You "
    She has disappeared without trace since Nov 3rd after her nasty snide comments re protesters marching in torrential rain.

RwsrHzO.jpg

You can PM me the reply , wouldn't want you to be in hot water over it Ha ;)

flutered wrote: »
    were they not more proficent at wasting public funds than providing water services
    If its your position that that's what they did before and that's what IW are doing now, then they are perfectly proficient.
    After getting a €300,000 retirement payoff and a pension of €73k pa?
    You don't find that odd?
    I find it downright insulting.

I don't find it at all odd that people collect their accrued retirement benefits. My current (private) retirement plan has me retiring at age 60. No doubt I'll work on - but I'll be taking my retirement benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭sammy37

Are you telling me you dont find it odd that people who got huge payoffs and pensions and then walk straight back into another government job getting huge wages again while this country is up to its knees in debt. To me thats a scandal and why they were not transferred straight over to IW i dont know without all the payoffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Nice protest tonight in Waterford at Denis O'Brien owned Topaz(yes the camera view is that dreaded sideways again but still fair play to the protesters!). Notice how nearly every car going by beeps their horn in approval.

No sign of dissidents here Indo\Denis\Enda!
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=337328963095609&set=vb.331796056982233&type=2&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

The protests are clearly mostly peaceful and the protesters are mostly normal people. But there is a nasty element to it that risks undermining the whole thing.

The GRA are concerned for the safety of individual Gardai and the judge who issued the 20m injunction was obviously convinced by the evidence of threats to the safety of the workers installing the meters.

The presence of groups like Eirigi also risks putting ordinary people off - nobody wants to be walking side by side with that lot.
    The thugs haven't taken over, but there is a real possibility that the thuggish element will kick off some violence and alienate the vast majority who don't want anything to do with hat.

There is also a real possibility that the protests will grow.

The "thugs" you refer to reside in government buildings.

moxin wrote: »
    Nice protest tonight in Waterford at Denis O'Brien owned Topaz(yes the camera view is that dreaded sideways again but still fair play to the protesters!). Notice how nearly every car going by beeps their horn in approval.

No sign of dissidents here Indo\Denis\Enda!
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=337328963095609&set=vb.331796056982233&type=2&theater

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=337330436428795&set=vb.331796056982233&type=2&theater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Cuttlefish

If its your position that that's what they did before and that's what IW are doing now, then they are perfectly proficient.

I don't find it at all odd that people collect their accrued retirement benefits. My current (private) retirement plan has me retiring at age 60. No doubt I'll work on - but I'll be taking my retirement benefits.

I doubt if you will get anything as generous as that or even a golden handout either, closer you get to retirement age the less you get, stands to reason however not in the case of some people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Cuttlefish

Daith wrote: »
    Sounds like the issue is with the banks tbh?

Not twice. Pay more. Either a separate company or through increased taxation. I've no problem with either but IW now come across as a right entitled quango

Pay more, see now it will be fair and equitable, People don't be worried they say!!

So what was the idea of IW??

It is to provide a secure and steady taxation system, pretty soon with the low charges they are suggesting you will find IW unable to function unless their is government intervention and then…….???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

H Kearns, J Tierney and their ilk have left a trail of destruction in their previous jobs. Can any of the pro Irish Water camp tell me what qualifies them to run this start up company? Also why do they command the enormous salaries they get paid for in a company that hasn't really got of the ground.

They sure as hell seem to be playing fast and loose with taxpayers money. That is just one of the many reasons causing great anger towards IW.

God bless the Indo quoting there.

God bless social media as well, it means we do not rely on Denis O'Brien controlled Indo for our news.
    Have a look at the videos of what the protesters have, it clearly shows a contractor working for GMC falling to the ground Klinsmann style feigning injury when he walks beside a protester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

I find all the goodytwoshoes comments like "oh leave the poor workers out of it" tedious.

any hassle they encounter is acceptable collateral damage if the people defeat this government-imposed tax.

anyone complicit in the imposition of this unfair tax should feel the wrath of the people's anger and rage.

Whether its politicians, bigwigs or lads in hard-hats

they must be HARASSED.

HARUANGED.

CASTIGATED.

and BOYCOTTED.

The Gardai have batons and pepper spray and other means of intimidating the people.

We must do whatever necessary to destroy Irish Water.

Cuttlefish wrote: »
    I doubt if you will get anything as generous as that or even a golden handout either, closer you get to retirement age the less you get, stands to reason however not in the case of some people

I dunno about that. I see it all of the time in large companies trying to restructure; they pay expensive senior people big money to get rid of them and then hire them back, usually on contract but often permanent.
    I'm not saying its a good thing; I'm just saying that its quite common.

I just don't find it odd that people who ran water systems in the past get hired to run water systems again and I don't think that the HR people in IW care a jot about the financial arrangements that exist between their employees and their previous employers.

moxin wrote: »
    God bless the Indo quoting there.

What are you on about?
    I quoted something that the GRA said. Do you dispute its accuracy?

flutered wrote: »

They will have more to waste now since May .

http://www.businessworld.ie/livenews.htm?a=3164247

I dunno about that. I see it all of the time in large companies trying to restructure; they pay expensive senior people big money to get rid of them and then hire them back, usually on contract but often permanent.
    I'm not saying its a good thing; I'm just saying that its quite common.

I just don't find it odd that people who ran water systems in the past get hired to run water systems again and I don't think that the HR people in IW care a jot about the financial arrangements that exist between their employees and their previous employers.
    If you were terrible at your job and caused massive losses but got rewarded for it would that be something you'd find odd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    freddiek wrote: »
    I find all the goodytwoshoes comments like "oh leave the poor workers out of it" tedious.

any hassle they encounter is acceptable collateral damage if the people defeat this government-imposed tax.

anyone complicit in the imposition of this unfair tax should feel the wrath of the people's anger and rage.

Whether its politicians, bigwigs or lads in hard-hats

they must be HARASSED.

HARUANGED.

CASTIGATED.

and BOYCOTTED.

The Gardai have batons and pepper spray and other means of intimidating the people.

We must do whatever necessary to destroy Irish Water.

Is this applicable to people that dont share the same view as you?

If you were terrible at your job and caused massive losses but got rewarded for it would that be something you'd find odd?

That would depend on whether I was really terrible at my job or if it was just some internet crank with an agenda saying I was bad at my job.

What are you on about?
    I quoted something that the GRA said. Do you dispute its accuracy?

Yes, the rep quoted Santry. They knocked over a pensioner in the protest there. How do I and thousands like me know this? Social media like youtube\Facebook shows the video quite clearly.

You are funny but not in a haha sort of way....

Hubert Kearns -

His 17 years at the helm of the worst performing council in the State cost the taxpayer €4.7 million for each year he served as the office holder charged with steering the county through financial and developmental success which would leave a legacy that generations to come would be proud of.

Instead he has left Sligo County Council on the tipping edge of bankruptcy where it cannot even obtain a required bank overdraft to ensure the continuance of vital services such as road maintenance, grants for upgrading the homes of the elderly and infirmed, verge and hedge cutting and a host of other standard day-to-day management duties of the council.

He has single-handedly left the moribund Borough Council powerless after 400 years of existence by his dictatorial stance of continued refusal to acknowledge his duties by convening the legally required monthly meetings with the elected representatives of the Borough.

A litany of shameful episodes, including the hiring of a monitor, at €1,000 for each meeting, to record the deliberations of the borough councillors was widely reported in the national media and ensured that Sligo was again ridiculed in the eyes of the Irish public.

When asked earlier by the media about the massive €80m debt incurred under his stewardship his reply was 'Nobody died'. This could change as more county roads have become a dangerous hazard because of negligible maintenance or necessary upgrades to housing stock, especially those occupied by the elderly, infirmed or disabled, being abandoned due to lack of funding.

On another occasion in his office when told he was earning more than the Spanish Prime Minister his response was, "I didn't realise the prime minister was earning so little".

Finally the most memorable indictment of Sligo's Local Authority came from the Minister of the Environment, Phil Hogan when last month he stated live on RTÉ's Prime Time that "Sligo is certainly one of the reasons we are reforming local authorities.''

http://www.sligotoday.ie/details.php?id=28328

Really Pheobas, do you honestly believe this man was right for a position in Irish Water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

That would depend on whether I was really terrible at my job or if it was just some internet crank with an agenda saying I was bad at my job.

The facts and the court cases point to how poor said people where in their previous employment .

So I haven't the faintest what you are on about ....

Hubert kearns and John Tierney s past performances are well documented as is Coleman Shanleys total lack of any qualification. Look what a wonderful job they continue to do.