Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

05 Avensis diesel in trouble. High revs and very low speed. It wouldn't go anywhere this morning. Nothing comes up on display. A quick look on google says it's the fuel injectors.
    Anyone any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

MJ23 wrote: »
    05 Avensis diesel in trouble. High revs and very low speed. It wouldn't go anywhere this morning. Nothing comes up on display. A quick look on google says it's the fuel injectors.
    Anyone any ideas?

Sounds more like the clutch is gone.

Are the revs shooting up as though your foot is still on the clutch pedal?

It goes into gear but goes very slow. It wouldn't go over 60kph yesterday.

Interslice wrote: »
    Sounds more like the clutch is gone.

Are the revs shooting up as though your foot is still on the clutch pedal?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

MJ23 wrote: »
    Yes.

Very likely your clutch is failing then or more commonly known as slipping.
    If you want to be 100% sure then go onto the road and at a low speed (say 60ish) pop it into 5th gear and floor it. If the revs climb faster than the speed then you need a new clutch I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'd use whatevers left of the clutch to get it too a mechanic. It will leave you stranded at the bottom of a hill eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

:o

I got done there once. My first car, my second week driving and my first 2 points. Although I was doing 112 and that was before that stretch was upgraded to a motorway. The car I was driving wouldn't do anywhere near 186 if you drove it off a cliff.

Since then I don't think I've ever gone over the limit around that area. The paranoia is still the 7 years later plus I've seen countless amounts of people done there too.

The Gardai are like ninjas on that stretch alright. Robocop used to hide in the central median quite often but haven't seen him around in a while.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

h3000 wrote: »
    The Gardai are like ninjas on that stretch alright. Robocop used to hide in the central median quite often but haven't seen him around in a while.

I've heard he's no longer a garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OSI wrote: »
    Frank Keane have a VW XL1 over for a promo. Passed me by earlier on Wexford St. God it looks ****. Looks like an 80s Sci Fi movie car.

HkVvpIF.jpg

back to the future style!

That being said, I don't think the VW looks that bad in the press shots I've seen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

That looks better than the vee dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭rubin_spitfire

OSI wrote: »
    Yeah, it looks different, and I usually like different. But it looks ****. Even compared to the pictures, in the flesh it looked like one of those flimsy solar powered cars they test in the deserts. Looked like a fart would dent it, and it's got those ridiculous half height windows you got in the McLaren F1.

Also, no door mirrors, tiny cameras on each door instead.

Registration by any chance WOB XL 119? Have driven this one in VW training centre in Milton Keynes recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Also, no door mirrors, tiny cameras on each door instead.

Registration by any chance WOB XL 119? Have driven this one in VW training centre in Milton Keynes recently.

That's the one here alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭rubin_spitfire

That's the one here alright.

Will be sure to see it around.

It is a very weird car to drive. Visibility is very bad from all angles, and reversing with no door mirrors is very difficult. Even on the road, not very special...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads if any of yis are going for the car specials in aldi this week there is a voucher in the indo on sunday for 10 of any spend over 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

There's nothing car related in Aldi next week though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Now nearing 136k miles, just about 50 short as of this evening. I like driving my car :)

I feel a trip to Leitrim tomorrow though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

192hp = :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

130bhp = :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

tossy wrote: »
    130bhp = :(

Did you sell the s3?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Was stuck behind a tractor on the way to new Ross. I was first behind it and about 15 plus cars behind me really bad roads so very few opportunities to overtake. You think he'd pull in as there is a few spots to do so oh no. Then when I did get an opportunity to overtake him he turned around and started to speed up was doing 45 upto the guts of 60kmh when passing him. It was a 142 tractor so the cab was probably on air or something hence why he was capable of going so fast. Can't understand why people who are moving slow can't just pull in when the traffic builds upto that extend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Had to drop herself to the airport this morning at 5am, half an hour there, half an hour back, getting back into bed and staying there, priceless :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Had to drop herself to the airport this morning at 5am, half an hour there, half an hour back, getting back into bed and staying there, priceless :cool:

The mammy? :p

Nope :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

170hp = :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

400bhp = :D:pac::mad::mad::D:P:D:eek:

3200bhp = public transport :pac:

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Did you sell the s3?

I did aye. Have a loan of a 130pd passat for tipping around in for the moment. Half the horse power - twice the mpg, minus 400 times the fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Passant has more lift though.

Have you any specific replacement in mind?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Passant has more lift though.

Have you any specific replacement in mind?

Something with even less horses than the Pissrat. :D but with more driveshafts