Likeable Irish Celebs

• 17-10-2014 10:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭

So we have a list of ones that we hate. Who are the ones you wouldn't hear a bad word against, or have very rarely heard anyone dislike?

Brendan Gleeson seems sound enough. Mary Kennedy has to be in there. Bob Geldoff seems like a grumpy oul bollix but he has done more for Africa than mostly anyone else alive.

Any others?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Andrew Quirke. Damo and Ivor. I lolled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Colm Meany looks friendly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Chris O'Dowd. Also, Moone Boy is great. Martin and Padraic are hilarious!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Aoibhinn Ni Sualaibhan(?)
    Utter babe and nice.Met her once.....swoon...
    Gemma Hayes...as above

David O Doherty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

This will be a very short thread.

FWIW though -

Rosanna Davison and Nadia Forde, Celia Holman Lee, there's a few alright who's heads haven't disappeared up their own arse holes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Jimmy Cricket always seemed very uncontroversial I thought. Just looked him up and he's not dead, fair play Jimmy.

Have you ever noticed how any Irish person described as 'genial' is invariably and cantankerous old so and so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Bill O' Herlihy. Top bloke.

/We'll leave it there so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

FWIW though -

Rosanna Davison and Nadia Forde, Celia Holman Lee, there's a few alright who's heads haven't disappeared up their own arse holes.

Rosanna who, in an interview when asked what her indulgence is replied 'A slice of bread but i feel so bloated after it'
    Yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Would Michael D Higgins count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Chocolate Lions

Fassbender is excellent in everything and seems like good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Would Michael D Higgins count?
    Depends how low to the ground the things are.

Passed Bill yesterday in the pissings of rain, legend of a man.... :)

Rosanna who, in an interview when asked what her indulgence is replied 'A slice of bread but i feel so bloated after it'
    Yeah!

Come on now, you ask Rosanna who, as if you don't know, and then you're able to give a quote from an interview she did?

So she's a little quirkey, but you'd forgive her for that as she's quite lovely in person, she didn't step on my tongue even once :p

The lad who plays Fran in Love/Hate strikes me as being a sound fella.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Dara O'Briain looks like he'd be decent to go for a few pints with.

Come on now, you ask Rosanna who, as if you don't know, and then you're able to give a quote from an interview she did?

So she's a little quirkey, but you'd forgive her for that as she's quite lovely in person, she didn't step on my tongue even once :p

No, He said Rosanna, who.... eats,shoots and leaves.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

The lad who plays Fran in Love/Hate strikes me as being a sound fella.

"He's a bit of a mad bastard" etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Pierce Brosnan.

Seems like a cool dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Aisling Bea seems pretty cool.

Ian Dempsey was lovely the few times I met him (used to work near the Today FM studios back in the day).

Depends how low to the ground the things are.

Poor Michael. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Brian O'Driscoll.

An outstanding individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

I wouldn't mind having a few pints with Bosco the puppet. He's a reputation of getting legless though.

Imelda May.

Actually now I think of them, a few years back I met Martin Sheen (Charlie's father, for those too young to remember him), visiting relatives in Tipperary, and Gabriel Byrne, two absolute gentlemen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

wrong thread

FWIW though -

You have got to be sh!tting me...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Graham Norton seems like a good larf too :)

Okey doke.

Birneybau wrote: »
    You have got to be sh!tting me...

Well that'd be just rude :pac: