Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Why cant the Gardai just hire the travellers or give them a billion euros contract to put trackers on cars.Saves man power and over time if they have Traveller tech.

I may be sick but I was hoping for a shoot out with Fran and the Gardai like at the end of the movie the Town.Seeing a Garda chase a man in a Citreon Berlingo and say his car is not fast enough to keep up with Frans banger old van was funny.That ex Garda is getting all the hero roles he must have the writers afraid of him.Probably intimidating them by asking if their car tax is up to date.

And the traveller who is the most peaceful bomb maker Fran knows (how many does he know) brings his young son to dog fights ffs.I hope he gets clipped whacked put down brown bread dead and hit real soon. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Why cant the Gardai just hire the travellers or give them a billion euros contract to put trackers on cars.Saves man power and over time if they have Traveller tech.

I may be sick but I was hoping for a shoot out with Fran and the Gardai like at the end of the movie the Town.Seeing a Garda chase a man in a Citreon Berlingo and say his car is not fast enough to keep up with Frans banger old van was funny.That ex Garda is getting all the hero roles he must have the writers afraid of him.Probably intimidating them by asking if their car tax is up to date.

And the traveller who is the most peaceful bomb maker Fran knows (how many does he know) brings his young son to dog fights ffs.I hope he gets clipped whacked put down brown bread dead and hit real soon. :pac:

What a post. :D

Birneybau wrote: »
    There are so many pages so I'm not sure if it's been said but isn't Paulie the "It wrecks the cheeyiz" bloke from the McDonalds ads from a few years ago?

In other news, did you hear the Dell Dude got arrested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I really appreciated how quickly Fran decided to act on the news about Nidge. Something tells me that if that revelation happened last season, we could have had about 6 scenes of Fran drinking outside his caravan spread across three episodes before anything actually happened.

They have set up a deadly rivalry between Fran and Nidge. I hope they don't waste the opportuntity by keeping Fran locked away for the rest of the season.

And I really could not care one bit if the detective and the dentist's wife have a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

season.

And I really could not care one bit if the detective and the dentist's wife have a thing.

You may when it is being used to blackmail him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

Putinovsky wrote: »
    I read during last years season in one of the papers that the guards had kicked up a fuss about how they were presented in the previous seasons and that's why they became major players in the show last season.

Also, does anyone else notice that they've completely moved away from showing the glamorous side of being a drug dealer? And that there is much less drug use? I remember they're were loads of complaints about the show glamorizing drug use and it seems the shows screenwriters were told to reign it in a little. We're a long way away from wild cocaine parties full of models at John Boys lavish penthouse.

I really hope the writers are not constrained by the possible Joe Duffy brigades outcry from controversial storylines, but indications are they have been

The show should be as entertaining as possible, it shouldn't be a moral compass for Irish society
    ..I wonder if the cop angle and lack of drug use/parties was the writers idea or came from above

I think the writers do not have the balls to kill a kid on TV after the cat getting shot out cry.Maybe Fran Nidge and Frans enemy inside will all be season 6.If Tommy wakes up from his coma he will be going to jail for the tiger kidnap too.
    Putinovsky wrote: »
    I read during last years season in one of the papers that the guards had kicked up a fuss about how they were presented in the previous seasons and that's why they became major players in the show last season.

Also, does anyone else notice that they've completely moved away from showing the glamorous side of being a drug dealer? And that there is much less drug use? I remember they're were loads of complaints about the show glamorizing drug use and it seems the shows screenwriters were told to reign it in a little. We're a long way away from wild cocaine parties full of models at John Boys lavish penthouse.

I'd like to think Carolan and the rest of the Love/Hate team have the balls not to be swayed in their creativity by whinging. Personally I reckon the reason they're not showing coke parties like in seasons 1 and 2 is simply because the drug business is falling apart for the gang and they don't have the cash anymore - I mean without the loan from Big Balls, Nidge was finished.

Would imagine Paulie wouldn't be too happy with the lads getting coked off their heads when they're supposed to be making back the cost of the loan.

They have set up a deadly rivalry between Fran and Nidge. I hope they don't waste the opportuntity by keeping Fran locked away for the rest of the season.

This is basically my only fear about how this season could go. They previously stated several times that a lot of it takes place behind bars, which now presumably means Fran. I would hope that either Fran gets out soon enough so the drama between himself and Nidge can continue, or else Nidge somehow gets locked up with him so they can have their war in prison, although personally I wouldn't find that quite as exciting.

Bacon Cabbage what a name for a Garda lol basically calling him a cabbage head pig and its the Gardai calling him it lol.

Hang on Nidge would not be allowed visit Fran in Jail as a con cant visit a con.Is that not the rules of prisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

The scene with the fuzz celebrating in the pub after nicking Fran was lifted straight from 'The Wire'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Hitchens wrote: »
    The scene with the fuzz celebrating in the pub after nicking Fran was lifted straight from 'The Wire'

I have seen a lot of similar scenes on cop dramas, from The Bill to The Wire. bit of a cliche now.

Yeah Gardai are always in the pub.That is why you usually see a Garda station beside a pub down the sticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,671 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Bacon Cabbage what a name for a Garda lol basically calling him a cabbage head pig and its the Gardai calling him it lol.

Hang on Nidge would not be allowed visit Fran in Jail as a con cant visit a con.Is that not the rules of prisons.

Don't think he has ever been convicted of anything.

Jesus lads its TV show why does everything have to be dissected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

possession is 10 years.....you could get the defendant to turn rat easy enough, especially in frans state.
    It might be ten years, but he could easily be walking the streets again waiting for his day in court.
    He didn't just fire shots into a van willy nilly. He fired in the full knowledge that the occupant was armed and a confirmed nut job, there is a bid difference.
    That's not really enough in Ireland. We don't loose shots like you see in US shows. Look at the John Carthy incident; the guy was given ample time and opportunity to drop the weapon, had actually fired at Gardai, yet they didn't just riddle him with bullets.
    And people are *still* talking about it. If a Garda opened fire on an unarmed suspect at a toll booth in the middle of the day with lots of people around, he'd be instantly suspended and it would be a matter of Dail debate for weeks.
    I know things need to be made exciting, but you can't completely remove the realism and expect people to swallow it.
    Heroes did an episode or two in Ireland where they go to rob a cash in transit van, and a security guard runs out with a revolver and starts firing at people. It instantly shows off sloppy writing when they can't even get basic localisation right. This is an even worse lapse because everyone involved should know better; the Garda doing the shooting should have pointed out how ridiculous it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Fran had to be pulled over. The Seat loosing a van argument was not about speed. They were heading into heavy rush hour traffic. A couple of lights going either way could have meant Fran getting away from our gallant cop. Add to that the fact that Fran was definitely carrying, is a known psycho and in an erratic state he had to be pulled over. The fact that Nidge was on the schoolrun might even have sparked an image in our cop of Fran chasing Nidge around a crowded school playground.

Btw...they're calling the inspector "cig" (phonetically "kig"). Short for cigire which means inspector in Irish. I only know that because I've see signs on buses saying "tickets must be shown to the inspector" or similar and the Irish translation. Given that they're using a real ex-drugs squad copper in the show I'll take their word for its authentic usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

So now Nidge has to get Fran in prison. Hughie isn't a threat.

I would go with one of the garda lads being murdered and Nidge pulling a fast one on the Spanish bosses son Paulie after he helps him get Patrick which sets him up for a show down with his dad in season 5 and with Fran's release hanging over him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,049 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

seamus wrote: »
    It might be ten years, but he could easily be walking the streets again waiting for his day in court.
    That's not really enough in Ireland. We don't loose shots like you see in US shows. Look at the John Carthy incident; the guy was given ample time and opportunity to drop the weapon, had actually fired at Gardai, yet they didn't just riddle him with bullets.
    And people are *still* talking about it. If a Garda opened fire on an unarmed suspect at a toll booth in the middle of the day with lots of people around, he'd be instantly suspended and it would be a matter of Dail debate for weeks.
    I know things need to be made exciting, but you can't completely remove the realism and expect people to swallow it.
    Heroes did an episode or two in Ireland where they go to rob a cash in transit van, and a security guard runs out with a revolver and starts firing at people. It instantly shows off sloppy writing when they can't even get basic localisation right. This is an even worse lapse because everyone involved should know better; the Garda doing the shooting should have pointed out how ridiculous it was.
    john carthy was a civilian with mental health issues, fran was an armed psycho....nobody would give a toss if fran was killed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,049 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    I really hope the writers are not constrained by the possible Joe Duffy brigades outcry from controversial storylines, but indications are they have been

The show should be as entertaining as possible, it shouldn't be a moral compass for Irish society
    ..I wonder if the cop angle and lack of drug use/parties was the writers idea or came from above
    i think the "the good ole days" of season 2 are shown as the short term benefits of being in a gang....s4 and s5 are showing the end results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

bacon and cabbage is a meal, think it was intended as that and not the other.

it's also a lot tastier than it sounds, kind of like coddle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Is it Paulie or Pauley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

bazermc wrote: »
    Is it Paulie or Pauley?

I'm just calling him bumboy from now on. He's the only one of the crew that looks like a male prosser after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

cloudatlas wrote: »
    So now Nidge has to get Fran in prison. Hughie isn't a threat.

I would go with one of the garda lads being murdered and Nidge pulling a fast one on the Spanish bosses son Paulie after he helps him get Patrick which sets him up for a show down with his dad in season 5 and with Fran's release hanging over him.

Hughie? :confused: Paulie is Terence's nephew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Hitchens wrote: »

Sure where do Irish people go to celebrate anything? The pub.

The Wire didn't invent that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Dont remember the guards calling the inspector "Cig" last season at all, theyve just randomly decided to drop it in this season as far as I can tell. The guard stuff takes me out of it tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

walshb wrote: »
    We seriously meant to believe that Fran and the travellers didn't notice the white van? It was all over the scenes, yet Fran, this criminal, saw nothing. It was so obvious that he'd get nabbed before he went to kill Nidge.

He had tunnel vision after hearing about Linda, he wouldn't have even noticed what was right in front of him.
    walshb wrote: »
    Before he knew about Linda the white van was tailing him and pulled up in full view of the traveller camp. The travellers and Nidge noticed nothing. He then left the camp, the van trailed him; he pulled in and the van pulls in right after him, again in full view. He then heads back to the camp to retrieve the gun with the van trailing him and in full view of the camp. Then retrieves the gun and nothing noticed until the toll booth scene. Not at all realistic.

Was a different camp, it just so happened he pulled up outside the one in Cappagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

LaGlisse wrote: »
    Dont remember the guards calling the inspector "Cig" last season at all, theyve just randomly decided to drop it in this season as far as I can tell. The guard stuff takes me out of it tbh

nothing wrong with some more authenticity imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

LaGlisse wrote: »

No they definitely called him that last season as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Ya it sounded more like Keith :)
    Which is what I thought they were calling him :)
    They've been calling him it all along :) that and gaffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

shamrock55 wrote: »
    that seat would be well able for frans van

It was in ****e, you could hear him struggling to get it into gear.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I'm sure we will be seeing Noelie very very soon. It was not explained formally if Nidge knew the details about the Fran v Noelie fights but I'm pretty sure he did. It was not said directly but was implied. So, Nidge could arrange a meeting with Noelie to get him to do in Fran - something he would not need convincing of. However, I'd be inclined to think Fran will win this one!

I would suspect that if that were to happen, Noelie would need to either outsource the job to professional hit men inside the prison, or at least get a semi decent crew behind him to attack Fran. He failed in his one on one in the pub toilets, and failed to kill an unarmed Fran who was stuck at a red light. Noelie, for all his intentions....is terrible at carrying out hits, from what we have seen so far anyways.
    seamus wrote: »
    Heroes did an episode or two in Ireland where they go to rob a cash in transit van, and a security guard runs out with a revolver and starts firing at people.It instantly shows off sloppy writing when they can't even get basic localisation right. This is an even worse lapse because everyone involved should know better; the Garda doing the shooting should have pointed out how ridiculous it was.

Heh Just remembered that scene, got a good laugh off that.

Something that just struck me there, and apologies if this has been mentioned already. When Nidge, Paulie and Aido were in the zoo, Aidos story about the chimpanzees drawing the monkeys into a trap and then ambushing them was mirrored in Paulies attempted hit on Patrick where he himself was drawn into a trap. I fully expected Paulie to be killed in that ambush. Glad to see that both him and Patrick survived, great characters.