Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

mzungu wrote: »
    Great episode tonight, tour de force from Peter Coonan.

Fran being in jail must mean we see Noelie again. This made me wonder about the final scene of the last series with Nidge in the cell. Maybe Fran gets out on bail and for his own protection Nidge goes into prison. Although id expect such questions to be answers at the business end of this season.

Loving this so far.

I'm sure we will be seeing Noelie very very soon. It was not explained formally if Nidge knew the details about the Fran v Noelie fights but I'm pretty sure he did. It was not said directly but was implied. So, Nidge could arrange a meeting with Noelie to get him to do in Fran - something he would not need convincing of. However, I'd be inclined to think Fran will win this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

Yeah but were not talking about a court of law. You coudl be well known to guards without ever receiving a conviction. Obviously given that the guy is clearly unhinged and the Gardai know this we can assume that Fran has had form in the past.

Eh the gusrds don't hand out the sentence......

In real world, he would be charged with holding a fitearm with criminal intent. 5 to 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

Is there a link to next weeks trailer? Couldn't see it on the rte site but maybe in looking in the wrong place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I have a feeling a side story may be a relationship between detective Moynihan and the dentist's wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I'm sure we will be seeing Noelie very very soon. It was not explained formally if Nidge knew the details about the Fran v Noelie fights but I'm pretty sure he did. It was not said directly but was implied. So, Nidge could arrange a meeting with Noelie to get him to do in Fran - something he would not need convincing of. However, I'd be inclined to think Fran will win this one!

Fran told Nidge about it and how it was cause he was banging his wife and she wasn't worth it.
    Anyone notice how even though the hit on Paddy went wrong, Nidge is still paying the hitmen? Remember when Darren killed Elmos cousin(?) and didn't kill Elmo. How Nidge tried not to pay him for it. Goes to show who Nidge fears

BTW: nice to see the regulars picking apart every single tiny detail in this fictional tv show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

I have a feeling a side story may be a relationship between detective Moynihan and the dentist's wife?

Hopefully not.

This will just demonstrate the show is running out of ideas.

I'd rather see it ended than go down that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,758 ✭✭✭Bacchus

EyeSight wrote: »
    BTW: nice to see the regulars picking apart every single tiny detail in this fictional tv show

You say that like people might mistake it for a documentary.

Its always funny when people defend a shows flaws by saying "but sure it's fiction" :D

There's not much nitpicking about last night's episode anyway. Seems to be universally accepted as a fantastic episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

twig? he asked her a direct question.

Ah yes, he asked her a direct question after he twigged it from her facial expression.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Ah yes, he asked her a direct question after he twigged it from her facial expression.

Yeah, there was a definite drop in her expression when he mentioned Nidge. He noticed and put two and two together, outright asking her to confirm. It's a very tangled web there. Not only might Nidge and Paulie come to blows over Siobhan but what will happen when they both find out she's a rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Fran dug up his mothers grave and did a pee on her so I think we will see Fran attacked in jail.If Nidge goes in he jail be clever enough to go on protection and stay away from Fran.Nidge worked for John Boy and he was at war with Fran so did he not know Nidge was the right hand man of John Boy.Did he really think he did not know about the pipe bomb.It as Tommy that ran at the bookies office to shoot Fran too.It was a war.

I would not like to share a cell with Fran in his mood but he will have calmed down in 5-10 years and Nidge will be dead by then so maybe some day we will see season 7.

You would think Fran would have sourced a blade in jail or something before meeting nidge, do him properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Little bit let down by the unrealism of the Garda firing shots into the van. Defo be done on a disciplinary for that one, not being patted on the back.

They have Fran for possession and nothing more, no proof that he was on his way to kill anyone or who he was going to kill. At the end of the next episode Fran will be out on the streets awaiting his court date and the rest of the season will be focussed on Fran's plot to get Nidge.

I actually suspect Trish will get it, in retaliation for Linda.

yipeeeee wrote: »
    You would think Fran would have sourced a blade in jail or something before meeting nidge, do him properly.

It'd be found when they searched him on the way in.

Bacchus wrote: »
    It'd be found when they searched him on the way in.

True true my bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,521 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Frans mental state was in turmoil after Paddy told him about the Nidge Linda link, I'd say you could have driven a double decker bus full of ERU officers along side him at that point and in his rage of disbelief he wouldn't have noticed.

Before he knew about Linda the white van was tailing him and pulled up in full view of the traveller camp. The travellers and Nidge noticed nothing. He then left the camp, the van trailed him; he pulled in and the van pulls in right after him, again in full view. He then heads back to the camp to retrieve the gun with the van trailing him and in full view of the camp. Then retrieves the gun and nothing noticed until the toll booth scene. Not at all realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Hopefully not.

This will just demonstrate the show is running out of ideas.

I'd rather see it ended than go down that route.

they're clearly lining up this plot (and its being done in a really obvious way like everything else to do with the cops). His wife doesn't understand him, he's making eyes at the widow after the funeral etc.

seamus wrote: »
    Little bit let down by the unrealism of the Garda firing shots into the van. Defo be done on a disciplinary for that one, not being patted on the back.

I don't think so. He gave multiple warnings and Fran ducked. The copper either shot first or faced being shot. Add this to the fact that Fran was seen retrieving a firearm in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

walshb wrote: »
    Before he knew about Linda the white van was tailing him and pulled up in full view of the traveller camp. The travellers and Nidge noticed nothing. He then left the camp, the van trailed him; he pulled in and the van pulls in right after him, again in full view. He then heads back to the camp to retrieve the gun with the van trailing him and in full view of the camp. Then retrieves the gun and nothing noticed until the toll booth scene. Not at all realistic.

I think it's fair enough that he noticed nothing in the scenes after Patrick dropped the Linda bombshell, Fran was obviously distraught and in a bad place, it's not unbelievable that he'd be inside his own head and not minding anything else.

On the other hand, the travellers seem to have a pretty sophisticated camera and monitoring system - both when they were tracking Paulie on the bike when he was trying to whack Patrick, in fact they even noticed the bike scoping out the halting site, and then the camera on the site entrance that Patrick was able to vouch for Fran, it's not really believable that neither the Travellers nor Fran noticed the detective in that timeframe when Fran was driving to, and going into the site.

He didn't just fire shots into a van willy nilly. He fired in the full knowledge that the occupant was armed and a confirmed nut job, there is a bid difference.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

They have Fran for possession and nothing more, no proof that he was on his way to kill anyone or who he was going to kill. At the end of the next episode Fran will be out on the streets awaiting his court date and the rest of the season will be focussed on Fran's plot to get Nidge.

possession is 10 years.....you could get the defendant to turn rat easy enough, especially in frans state.

Oh my God!!! I saw a red van twice this morning...... I wonder if I'm being tailed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Oh my God!!! I saw a red van twice this morning...... I wonder if I'm being tailed?
    ha ha i swear to f** i saw a red motorbike heading towards me as i got out of the car this morning.....sh1t meself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Wonder if any of the lads are boardsies?

I reckon you could be...BTW, are you a gangster?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,092 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I liked the term clipped more than whacked.

I don't think so. He gave multiple warnings and Fran ducked. The copper either shot first or faced being shot. Add this to the fact that Fran was seen retrieving a firearm in the first place.

If he was mistaken and there was no gun he would have been fcuked alright but he knew there was a gun so he probably (I'm no Garda or lawyer) had reasonable cause to open fire. You could see to, he immediately looked for the gun. I got the sense that he was relieved to confirm Fran actually had a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

The white van isn't that conspicuous though, he kept his distance (hence the telescope). No shortage of vans hanging around that area either. The motorbike would be a lot more noticeable, though I did think they were only doing it to intimidate Patrick. Bit of an amateur attempt at the hit in my professional hitman opinion.

I reckon Siobhan will let slip to Paulie that she's informing on Nidge, then he's gonna have to kill her, Nidge will save her and send her packing to Australia or somewhere very far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

It's that fast and loose thing they do with character again, suddenly we get a shoehorned scene (Trish's and Nidge love and commitment scene)which changes motivations to suit the storyline, The Imminent Threat from Fran.
    It's sad because there was no real need for it, Nidge doing the school run as we seen Fran's breakdown would have been enough for the viewer to be uneasy about what might be about to happen.
    Same with Paddy last week, suddenly back as the fearless avenger having run away to suit the storyline. If you think about it, there was actually no need to see him running away.
    I'm all for dramatic licence but it doesn't really work.

I never got the impression that Trish would be in danger. Fran is now hell bent on Nidge.

There needs to be some cleaning up of the bogey accents from Paulie and Fran. They're all over the shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

The guards are ruining it, I was so annoyed when Fran got pulled, really spoilt what could have been a very exciting scene.