Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Putinovsky wrote: »
    The guards are ruining it, I was so annoyed when Fran got pulled, really spoilt what could have been a very exciting scene.

Blasted gards doing their job right!!!

Ah no I get ya, was shaping up to be a whopper scene alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

yipeeeee wrote: »
    Blasted gards doing their job right!!!

Ah no I get ya, was shaping up to be a whopper scene alright.

I read during last years season in one of the papers that the guards had kicked up a fuss about how they were presented in the previous seasons and that's why they became major players in the show last season.

Also, does anyone else notice that they've completely moved away from showing the glamorous side of being a drug dealer? And that there is much less drug use? I remember they're were loads of complaints about the show glamorizing drug use and it seems the shows screenwriters were told to reign it in a little. We're a long way away from wild cocaine parties full of models at John Boys lavish penthouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

The guards are ruining it, I was so annoyed when Fran got pulled, really spoilt what could have been a very exciting scene.

Totally agree. I was so pi**ed off when Fran got pulled over. I was hoping that there was going to be a scene when Nidge and Trish were picking up the son from school and one of them would be shot by Fran.

I am still convinced that Nidge's son is going to be killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

I don't think we will see Nidge and Fran killing each other. The whole aim is both of these remain alive. Longterm, Nidge and Fran will probably need each other again and some sort of a compromise will have to be implemented. I feel Paulie could become a major threat to both and will move from being a cocky minor nuisance to a major threat to both Nidge and Fran's turf. If Nidge and Fran will go to war with each other directly, I predict that would be the final episode of the definite final series. Until then, circumstances will intervene to keep both from killing each other: the gardai last night, the prison next week, a common enemy another night, etc. will make sure Nidge and Fran don't kill each other.

One thing may also happen. Noelie could nearly kill Fran. Nidge may then have someone to kill Noelie and save Fran's life. With Nidge, he may use Noelie to kill Fran as equally as he may kill Noelie to save Fran. Nidge could choose either but his conscience would lead me to believe he would attempt to redeem himself with Fran? But this may not be thanked by Fran?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Few people on twitter struggling as to why Paulie would only have a cheap Nokia. Think of it like this. He is not going to spend big money on something he might have to have to chuck into the river afterwards due to the fact it could be incriminating evidence.

It's not about cost, it's about risk. A smartphone can be tracked. It has GPS, and apps designed to be tracked. It adds risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,049 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Happyman42 wrote: »
    It's that fast and loose thing they do with character again, suddenly we get a shoehorned scene (Trish's and Nidge love and commitment scene)which changes motivations to suit the storyline, The Imminent Threat from Fran.
    It's sad because there was no real need for it, Nidge doing the school run as we seen Fran's breakdown would have been enough for the viewer to be uneasy about what might be about to happen.
    Same with Paddy last week, suddenly back as the fearless avenger having run away to suit the storyline. If you think about it, there was actually no need to see him running away.
    I'm all for dramatic licence but it doesn't really work.
    give up on the paddy story....you can read these things in the paper all the time, strange things can happen in real life...

gazzer wrote: »
    Totally agree. I was so pi**ed off when Fran got pulled over. I was hoping that there was going to be a scene when Nidge and Trish were picking up the son from school and one of them would be shot by Fran.

I think too that Warren or John (Nidge's sons) will be killed too. But by who is the question?

Obviously, Fran could attempt to kill them and Trish to get even. But perhaps that may be too obvious. Fran could in the meantime see Nidge save his life from the likes of Noelie making him less likely to kill Nidge or his family.

The travellers could also be a contender for this. Perhaps initially planned by Paddy and Fran with Fran loosing the nerve at the last moment. I am not as convinced anymore that Paddy will leave the series early. He is clever and resourceful and could well feature in season 6 too. If Nidge killed one of theirs, Paddy could seek revenge by killing one of Nidge's family.

Paulie I predict will become less and less friendly with Nidge. He is very close to Siobhan and Siobhan could end up using him as a hitman on Nidge in the coming episodes. Paulie as I said is going to not be content in role as mere enforcer for Terence and wants to replace Nidge. Siobhan could tell him to 'hurt Nidge as much as Nidge hurt her' and he could interpret it as hitting his children.

As well as the travellers, Paulie, the gardai, Siobhan and Fran, I also think there will be one other enemy of Nidge's to surface. Terence perhaps if Nidge does not pay him? Perhaps Elmo or Ado could fall out with Nidge too.

if you have google maps on your phone your every movement going back years is stored in google HQ and can be viewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

walshb wrote: »
    I reckon you could be...BTW, are you a gangster?;)

I'm getting paranoid now..... I saw a red van for the third time today, not sure if it's the same one though, I'm taking no chances either, I'm off to the local ballet dance group to hire me a twinkle toed bodyguard. :eek:

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

gazzer wrote: »

I think the writers do not have the balls to kill a kid on TV after the cat getting shot out cry.Maybe Fran Nidge and Frans enemy inside will all be season 6.If Tommy wakes up from his coma he will be going to jail for the tiger kidnap too.

if you have google maps on your phone your every movement going back years is stored in google HQ and can be viewed.
    that is why I strap- my phone to my cat to throw them off my scent.Also the reason gangsters change phone every now and then.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,519 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The whole killing kids sh!t is nonsense. It happens very rarely, and if it does it would be more due to collateral damage. Fran or anyone intentionally murdering young children does nothing for the show or realism of the story. Even Fran targeting Trish is way out of context and reality.

that is why I strap- my phone to my cat to throw them off my scent.Also the reason gangsters change phone every now and then.:eek:

That's the real reason why they shot the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

The whole killing kids sh!t is nonsense. It happens very rarely, and if it does it would be more due to collateral damage. Fran or anyone intentionally murdering young children does nothing for the show or realism of the story. Even Fran targeting Trish is way out of context and reality.

It would be in the context of Linda being (indirectly) killed by a pipe bomb, which isn't something that has ever happened in real life to the best of my knowledge. It wouldn't be to far fetched given Fran's mental state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

There are so many pages so I'm not sure if it's been said but isn't Paulie the "It wrecks the cheeyiz" bloke from the McDonalds ads from a few years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

BMJD wrote: »
    It would be in the context of Linda being (indirectly) killed by a pipe bomb, which isn't something that has ever happened in real life to the best of my knowledge. It wouldn't be to far fetched given Fran's mental state.

And wasn't there a kid shot recently in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

Did anyone notice Nadine giving the young fella the eye in the pub when Aido was playing darts ? Looks like Aido might be back single by the end of this season !!!

I think John Boy targeted Linda due to Fran being in hiding/away. John Boy got a reluctant Nidge to do it so as to get Fran out in the open. Linda happened to be a pawn in this but no question who John Boy was really after. Clearly, at the moment, I think Fran is 100% intending to kill Nidge and blames Nidge alone. He does not blame Paddy (who he could have killed if he wanted to at the site) and obviously blames Nidge and John Boy 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Username exists

Birneybau wrote: »
    There are so many pages so I'm not sure if it's been said but isn't Paulie the "It wrecks the cheeyiz" bloke from the McDonalds ads from a few years ago?

Is he the same fella that's in the lyons tea ad as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭Corvo

Firstly, what a great episode. I'm not one to ever be too shocked by what I see in television bar perhaps the needless and gruesome gore that dominates shows like The Walking Dead but last night I was genuinely shocked by Paulie.

His straight faced icy glare when he spoke to Nidge where he both threatened and reassured him with regards Patrick's death in one calculated speech really was a brilliantly written moment - "I'm not one of your bum boys" and "I'm only here to make sure you pay Terence back and after that I don't give a ****" being the two highlights. Nidge looked genuinely shaken after it.

Pair that up with his confidence in his planning of the assassination and I think that as a character, Paulie deserves much more respect and he is really someone to be feared within Nidge's organisation. He wants to get his hands dirty and will happily take part in hits - and I don't think it is because he "wants to stay sharp" as he mentioned - I think he enjoys it.

He is as much a dangerous character to Nidge as Fran and thats because unlike Fran, his emotions don't really come to the fore. He seems totally focused on his "mission" within Nidge's group and to Terence and has little or no respect for anything else outside of that. I agree with the other posters, he could very easily look to take over all of Nidge's turf.

Im delighted he is part of the show and hope he remains for quite some time - he brings a real unknown menace to the whole situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Is he the same fella that's in the lyons tea ad as well?

He sure is:

http://maureenvwardtalentagencyireland.com/index.php/menu-clients/men/item/17-johnnyward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Corvo wrote: »

Im delighted he is part of the show and hope he remains for quite some time - he brings a real unknown menace to the whole situation.

I reckon he will be dead by the end of this season.
    He will try to put Siobhan down, but he will be put down himself.

Birneybau wrote: »

Great name for a lad who's out shooting Travellers.

I think John Boy targeted Linda due to Fran being in hiding/away. John Boy got a reluctant Nidge to do it so as to get Fran out in the open. Linda happened to be a pawn in this but no question who John Boy was really after. Clearly, at the moment, I think Fran is 100% intending to kill Nidge and blames Nidge alone. He does not blame Paddy (who he could have killed if he wanted to at the site) and obviously blames Nidge and John Boy 100%.
    it's probably more to do with all the things nidge has done to cover it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

EyeSight wrote: »
    Fran told Nidge about it and how it was cause he was banging his wife and she wasn't worth it.
    Anyone notice how even though the hit on Paddy went wrong, Nidge is still paying the hitmen? Remember when Darren killed Elmos cousin(?) and didn't kill Elmo. How Nidge tried not to pay him for it. Goes to show who Nidge fears

BTW: nice to see the regulars picking apart every single tiny detail in this fictional tv show

I really dont get this last point! Its a discussion thread. All tv shoes have them and they all comprise of critical analysis as well as appreciation. Delving in to the fine details of such shows is why these threads exist. Its only atv show but whats the point of it if you dont discuss it! Ifwe all came on here and merely said it was good or bad or stated obvious observations it would be pretty boringthread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

possession is 10 years.....you could get the defendant to turn rat easy enough, especially in frans state.

5 years minimum ( criminal intent )

s8n wrote: »
    Did anyone notice Nadine giving the young fella the eye in the pub when Aido was playing darts ? Looks like Aido might be back single by the end of this season !!!

Poor aul Aido will have no excuse to go see the monkeys then :pac:

0008ad2f-630.jpg Is Johnny Ward AKA Paulie the guy who was in the this comedy show far left of picture.

RainyDay wrote: »
    It's not about cost, it's about risk. A smartphone can be tracked. It has GPS, and apps designed to be tracked. It adds risk.

Fair point too.

Is Johnny Ward AKA Paulie the guy who was in the this comedy show far left of picture.

Let that be the last word spoken of that abortion of a comedy :pac: