Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Not really getting the love for the Paulie character. He just seems a little bit too cool for school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

It is a tv show based on real events to a great extent.

In fact - he has had to move away from real events - as they were too recognisable in the first few series.

There is a real social background to why the show was developed.

But yes only tv. But hard to forget reality - when it is literally outside your door here.

Well start getting worried when people en-masse are talking about what a lovely fella John Gilligan is or how they'd like to have the McCarthy-Dundons around for tea. They haven't started yet and the they've been making Love/Hate for five seasons now so you can relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,742 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Well start getting worried when people en-masse are talking about what a lovely fella John Gilligan is or how they'd like to have the McCarthy-Dundons around for tea. They haven't started yet and the they've been making Love/Hate for five seasons now so you can relax.

Thanks for clarification.

Just giving you actual real background to show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

shoot them for sport.
    I'm not liking Paulie at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

Blay wrote: »
    Well my source is the Dept. of Justice website so we'll go with that :pac:

If they can pin him for intent to endanger life it would be 10 minimum, I wouldn't say they'd have trouble convincing anyone of Fran's form on that score.

He would be charged with carrying a firearm with criminal intent. Minimum 5 years. I am 100% sure that would be the conviction at most

Not really getting the love for the Paulie character. He just seems a little bit too cool for school

an interesting sort of flaw to the show now is.

Who is the crime boss in Dublin.

Nidge seems too timid/fragile and everybody is trying to kill him. He just hasn't seemed to be in control at all for what, 3 seasons.

Aidan Gillen pulled that off very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭nc6000

Why didn't the motorbike fall over during the hijack when the guy had to get off it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,857 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

He doesnt trust Paulie. But I think Micha the bodyguard might bear a grudge too after the way he was just left to be butchered as Nidge ran off.

Was Micha not hired after the attack, after he came back from Spain, Micha is the guy who can stand on his head, is he not.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

nc6000 wrote: »
    Why didn't the motorbike fall over during the hijack when the guy had to get off it?

Thought exact same thing,!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

Felt a bit awkward when fran's character was having a cry in the van tbh, looked like he was actually laughing for most of it and they caught him between takes.

Trish's character didn't really sell her emotional scence either or maybe it just felt for me that it belonged to last season (her character was completely ignored last season).

Just remember the acting being a bit better in this show overall can't put my finger on it but since the heights of season 3 it's still on a a dip quality wise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Aidan Gillen was pure shíte in Love/Hate. Horrible over-acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I'll be crying if Fran is killed and Peter Coonan leaves the show

They have proved on many occasions that they're not afraid to kill off leading characters....... Anything could be on the cards now.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

Yeah but even the fact his name would pop up so often would be enough to put him on their radar .

Im not saying he wouldnt be well known. But as i said "hearsay" is irrelevant in a court of law. May effect judges leniency if he is aware of the character but a witness cant stand up and say "we think he done this and that" in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

nc6000 wrote: »

Who cares?
    :confused::rolleyes:

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Maybe - but the idea of a crime boss is sort of missing.

To be honest - nidges gang / mates - seem a bit pathetic and wouldn't last a night out in The Towers or The Blacker. :D

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Was good in queer as folk. but ya totally unsuitable as john boy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Too much crap with the cops, ok showing him looking through his telescope once is fair enough, but christ i thought i was watching a bloody show on astrology with 4he amount of times we had to look through that cops bloody telescope, also the cop giving out about his van and that he might lose fran, he was driving a feckin hi ace not a ferrari, that seat would be well able for frans van

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Too much crap with the cops, ok showing him looking through his telescope once is fair enough, but christ i thought i was watching a bloody show on astrology with 4he amount of times we had to look through that cops bloody telescope, also the cop giving out about his van and that he might lose fran, he was driving a feckin hi ace not a ferrari, that seat would be well able for frans van

lol - yes was silly the I might lose him , in a **** van. (lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,210 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Tommy needs to get back in the game, can't understand what Siobhan is doing messing around with Paulie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

an interesting sort of flaw to the show now is.

Who is the crime boss in Dublin.

Nidge seems too timid/fragile and everybody is trying to kill him. He just hasn't seemed to be in control at all for what, 3 seasons.

I think Nidge intended a smooth ride after taking over as leader. He, Fran, Darren and Tommy the best of friends and raking in the cash. But instead, Nidge is plunged into a war with the IRA followed up by a war with the travellers and now Fran has become an enemy. John Boy likewise tried to control things but first was reigning in Hughie and then got into a war with Fran and his paranoia ultimately got him killed. Ironic we see Nidge in late series 3 and also series 4 and 5 in the exact same place.

But gangs are hard to control. Yes, Nidge's (and John Boy's before that) positions are fragile and everyone wants to be top dog. BUT Nidge has so far anticipated all threats and was able to use important allies like Tony to his advantage. Tonight, he was ironically saved by the cops! Darren, Fran, Tommy and others all went against him with events like pipebombing the IRA's car, sleeping with an IRA man's wife and killing the dentist. But Nidge's gang are loyal not to Nidge but to themselves and Nidge knows this. Darren, Fran and Tommy were all loyal and genuine friends at one point to Nidge but Nidge alienated them all and for the first time, the biggest threats to him come from within his own circle rather than externally (yes, the IRA in the past and now the travellers are huge threats but Fran and Siobhan are in positions to do a lot more damage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,210 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Bit disappointed thought we were going to see Fran and Nidge get into a gang war.

Tommy needs to get back in the game, can't understand what Siobhan is doing messing around with Paulie.

And now Paulie knows that she doesn't like Nidge

seems to be at a dead end for Tommy ?

Funny how - we are moving with other characters this year - and Elmo and the older crew are sort of in background so far (early days I guess)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

mad for dick, always was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Tommy is annoying me so far. What can they do with his character though? They can't realistically have him going through a miraculous recovery so what's next for him.

deep Builder plumber.

I guess if you look at the real world (sorry this doesn't seem popular) - the lad at the top are respected for a few years and are untouchable. Well you know if you kill them it is an all out war.

There doesn't seems to be a character like that ?

seems to be at a dead end for Tommy ?

Funny how - we are moving with other characters this year - and Elmo and the older crew are sort of in background so far (early days I guess)

I think there is a huge development with Paulie. Paulie will become very egotistical and his role will go well beyond what Terence wanted. He could see himself wanting to take over things and become his own man. Perhaps, Terence may see this and Paulie's ambition could worry him much like Dano's obsession with killing Nidge went against Tony's plans. Paulie is probably seen by Nidge now as an annoying but harmless pest who can come in useful but eventually, both are going to clash and it will be all out war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Except when Git raped her

obviously

Was Micha not hired after the attack, after he came back from Spain, Micha is the guy who can stand on his head, is he not.

No Micha is the big Lithuanian whose leg was hacked off by the travellers last week in the attack on Nidge. The guy who can stand on his head is Micha's replacement.

Bit disappointed thought we were going to see Fran and Nidge get into a gang war.

This will still feature I am sure. But I think the aim will be to keep both alive.