Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Ha ha i was very confused reading Patrick. ha ha
    paddy the pipe bomb maker!
    Nidge taking him on when there really was no need just shows how paranoid he really is.
    It all stems from Nidge seeing Fran and Paddy together. They are discussing Paddy getting a pup from Fran, but Nidge's mind is working double time. He's putting 2 and 2 together and coming out with 50!
    The three are connected in that
    Paddy made the pipe bomb,
    Nidge threw the pipe bomb,
    Fran's wife was the victim.
    We still aren't sure whether Fran is a traveller but he seems to have a lot of business with them if he isn't already one. This too would be adding to Nidge's paranoia.
    Although he made the bomb, would Fran forgive paddy and they both stick together against Nidge?
    He's so paranoid, Paddy could have sacrificed his own son and Nidge would still not believe him.
    Paddy had no beef with anyone, only in Nidge's head!

Really excited about season !!!!!
    any date for the first episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Even though series 4 was dissapointing (it started good but slowly went downhill, resulting in stuff such as killing off the most interesting newcomers like the dentist and cat killer Wayne instead of Kieth Duffy's character and the "Tommy in a coma" scenario being done again for the second time on the last episode), I'm still interested to see how series 5 turns out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Even though series 4 was dissapointing (it started good but slowly went downhill, resulting in stuff such as killing off the most interesting newcomers like the dentist and cat killer Wayne instead of Kieth Duffy's character and the "Tommy in a coma" scenario being done again for the second time on the last episode), I'm still interested to see how series 5 turns out.

I would have liked to have seen the dentist in it for longer too. He was an interesting character and a focus on where his loyalties lay (Nidge or the gardai) would have been interesting.

I liked season 4 and have the feeling that overall it is very much linked into season 5. Season 4's real conclusion was in episode 4 with the killing of Dano (episode 4 of season 4 being almost a remake of season 3's episode 6). Season 5 could conclude another story arc in its first two episodes (thus making series 4 and 5 a set of 3 by 4 episodes) such as the pipebomb maker.

I think Keith Duffy's character will be interesting. He will more than likely fulfil a role similar to the dentist.

I can't help but feel that a whole lot of these new, minor characters such as the dentist, Wayne, Guinea, Keith Duffy's character and Paddy the pipebomb maker are all created to provide some of the action and all will end up killed after falling foul of someone.

I can't see them dragging out the Tommy story for much longer. He will either recover, die or be killed perhaps recover and be killed. A lot of loose ends will be wrapped up in the first 2 episodes I would think.

deise08 wrote: »
    Ha ha i was very confused reading Patrick. ha ha
    paddy the pipe bomb maker!
    Nidge taking him on when there really was no need just shows how paranoid he really is.
    It all stems from Nidge seeing Fran and Paddy together. They are discussing Paddy getting a pup from Fran, but Nidge's mind is working double time. He's putting 2 and 2 together and coming out with 50!
    The three are connected in that
    Paddy made the pipe bomb,
    Nidge threw the pipe bomb,
    Fran's wife was the victim.
    We still aren't sure whether Fran is a traveller but he seems to have a lot of business with them if he isn't already one. This too would be adding to Nidge's paranoia.
    Although he made the bomb, would Fran forgive paddy and they both stick together against Nidge?
    He's so paranoid, Paddy could have sacrificed his own son and Nidge would still not believe him.
    Paddy had no beef with anyone, only in Nidge's head!

Really excited about season !!!!!
    any date for the first episode?

Paranoia is major theme of course in Love/Hate. We all know how paranoid John Boy got in the end but chose the wrong person to trust in Darren in the end! Nidge was not intending to be paranoid but things conspired against him. From the moment Git is killed, Nidge has a major problem. When the IRA find out it was Nidge's gang killed Git, Nidge is more or less on the run from Dano and is paranoid. Much of seasons 3 and 4 deal with this. Then just as things are ok with the IRA when Nidge and Tony meet up and Dano is killed, Paddy the pipebomb maker comes back and Nidge (fresh from his Dano paranoia) is ultra paranoid again. An attempted hit on the pipebomb man, the clipping of Wayne and a mistrust of Fran all result. With the gardai nearly catching him, Nidge circa season 5 is going to be ultra paranoid.

Fran knows that there were only 4 people who could have thrown the pipe bomb: John Boy, Nidge, Tommy or Darren. He more or less knows John Boy got someone else to do it so that leaves Darren, Tommy and Nidge. I assume Fran would think Darren as he was the hitman. But if Nidge killed the Paddy pipebomb, the immediate blame would go on Nidge (Tommy is too sick to give the order) and Fran would realise Nidge threw the pipebomb. So, Nidge's paranoia would actually provide the opposite to what he would intend.

Fran would assume John Boy gave the order and Darren threw it. Darren threw a pipebomb at the IRA's car as well so there is no reason for Fran to believe anyone other than Darren did it. Nidge is clearly not suspected of this at all by Fran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Fran is seen praying to a statue of the virgin mary and crying in the recent promo so maybe its something to do with his wifes killing.

Also in the promo nidge says to fran 'its a good day to be alive' would it be good if fran turned around to him and said something about the killing.

This season is going to be good

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Fran is seen praying to a statue of the virgin mary and crying in the recent promo so maybe its something to do with his wifes killing.

Also in the promo nidge says to fran 'its a good day to be alive' would it be good if fran turned around to him and said something about the killing.

This season is going to be good

Yes, this will be a very interesting season. The relationship between Fran and Nidge will be centre stage I'd say plus Fran's conscience will be explored and a lot of the other issues will be tied into the Nidge/Fran situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Yes, this will be a very interesting season. The relationship between Fran and Nidge will be centre stage I'd say plus Fran's conscience will be explored and a lot of the other issues will be tied into the Nidge/Fran situation.

Any news on when it will start?

Paranoia is major theme of course in Love/Hate. We all know how paranoid John Boy got in the end but chose the wrong person to trust in Darren in the end! Nidge was not intending to be paranoid but things conspired against him. From the moment Git is killed, Nidge has a major problem. When the IRA find out it was Nidge's gang killed Git, Nidge is more or less on the run from Dano and is paranoid. Much of seasons 3 and 4 deal with this. Then just as things are ok with the IRA when Nidge and Tony meet up and Dano is killed, Paddy the pipebomb maker comes back and Nidge (fresh from his Dano paranoia) is ultra paranoid again. An attempted hit on the pipebomb man, the clipping of Wayne and a mistrust of Fran all result. With the gardai nearly catching him, Nidge circa season 5 is going to be ultra paranoid.

Fran knows that there were only 4 people who could have thrown the pipe bomb: John Boy, Nidge, Tommy or Darren. He more or less knows John Boy got someone else to do it so that leaves Darren, Tommy and Nidge. I assume Fran would think Darren as he was the hitman. But if Nidge killed the Paddy pipebomb, the immediate blame would go on Nidge (Tommy is too sick to give the order) and Fran would realise Nidge threw the pipebomb. So, Nidge's paranoia would actually provide the opposite to what he would intend.

Fran would assume John Boy gave the order and Darren threw it. Darren threw a pipebomb at the IRA's car as well so there is no reason for Fran to believe anyone other than Darren did it. Nidge is clearly not suspected of this at all by Fran.

In fairness I think people have been too much emphasis on who threw the pipe bomb, Fran is a psycho and I can't see him being overly bothered at this stage, as nidge was acting on John boy's orders.

Perhaps as their relationship becomes more frayed it could play a part. I reckon one thing this season for sure is Nidge's chickens will come home to roost as he gets mixed up with the big boys.

Anybody else hear it won't start til November???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Anybody else hear it won't start til November???

I havent heard that but reckon it is accurate.

That Immelda May show is starting this Sunday 9.30pm (Love/Hate time slot) and I am guessing that has a at least 6-8 weeks, so that would push L/H back until end October/Start November

Still in time to get the box set out for the xmas market

lufties wrote: »
    Any news on when it will start?

My guess is Sunday 2nd November.

bazermc wrote: »

That Immelda May show is starting this Sunday 9.30pm (Love/Hate time slot) and I am guessing that has a at least 6-8 weeks, so that would push L/H back until end October/Start November

Imelda May Show would be I'd say 5 weeks and then the Haughey programme 3 weeks and then Love/Hate 5 for the 2nd November.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

bazermc wrote: »

Yeah it being out on DVD in time for the Xmas market is the safest bet anyway, they won't miss out on that opportunity. Similar to last year so I'd imagine and just count the weeks and the no. of episodes and we'll have a rough idea.

As a matter of interest is this the final season? I've watched the series over twice now but have yet to but it, waiting 'til it's finished completely so I can buy the full box set.

Darren is still alive and set for a huge comeback.

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Yeah it being out on DVD in time for the Xmas market is the safest bet anyway, they won't miss out on that opportunity. Similar to last year so I'd imagine and just count the weeks and the no. of episodes and we'll have a rough idea.

As a matter of interest is this the final season? I've watched the series over twice now but have yet to but it, waiting 'til it's finished completely so I can buy the full box set.

Darren is still alive and set for a huge comeback

Absolute nonsense. We seen him on the slab. He is brown bread man

lufties wrote: »
    In fairness I think people have been too much emphasis on who threw the pipe bomb, Fran is a psycho and I can't see him being overly bothered at this stage, as nidge was acting on John boy's orders.

Perhaps as their relationship becomes more frayed it could play a part. I reckon one thing this season for sure is Nidge's chickens will come home to roost as he gets mixed up with the big boys.

Fran is more than a mere psycho. He has a pragmatic side too and he is capable of thinking before he acts and he is a survivor. We have seen him as a violent psycho as well as a loyal friend and an intense alcohol-fueled person as well as a lighthearted calm person across the 3 series so far. I think we will see more of Fran's conscience this year: hence he praying, etc. This is what makes Love/Hate's characters so interesting: all are complex individuals who are capable of a lot of evil but they also lead normal lives too where we see they have consciences and are capable of kindness and genuine friendship too. I think that's the hint in the very name: Love/Hate. The 2 sides of the characters.

I think Nidge has over-exaggerated the importance of the pipebomb incident. Fran obviously has moved on and is happy John Boy is dead and clearly blames him and probably knows Darren was more than likely the thrower. If he suspects anyone else, it would be more than likely Tommy (to date, Fran and Tommy have had poor relations: although this could change drastically!). But fresh from the Dano situation, Nidge's paranoia knows no rationality. He will end up making Fran suspicious and I have a feeling we will see a very different Fran this season: not the happy go lucky coola boola man or not an emotionless psycho either. Fran always talks about the universe and karma and inside him is an intense, deep thinking individual who has bottled up a lot of hurt and pain for so long. Fran will explode and will be caught between feelings of revenge and guilt.

Nidge is going in very deep with the Spanish based drug dealer. Fran could well align himself with enemies of Nidge should they fall out.

Does anyone know is Lizzie in it this time? I've heard some say she definitely is.

Absolute nonsense. We seen him on the slab. He is brown bread man

:) it was a joke. It was probably the most guessed storyline there for a while, was always rubbish even back then.

Next you'll be saying Wayne is still alive :)

They both are. They're living together in Spain with the cat.

Is it a bad sign when nidge is popping up in your dreams?
    ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

ha ha

Sounds like a waste of a dream to me. ... Tommy is the main player in my dreams :)

Lisha wrote: »
    Sounds like a waste of a dream to me. ... Tommy is the main player in my dreams :)

Going on the last few episodes if you remember as well as I do I doubt Tommy could do much for ya now to be fair. He tends to look after himself and himself only ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

DVDM93 wrote: »
    Going on the last few episodes if you remember as well as I do I doubt Tommy could do much for ya now to be fair. He tends to look after himself and himself only ;):D

Ahh but tommy at his best is worth remembering to be fair

Lisha wrote: »
    Ahh but tommy at his best is worth remembering to be fair

Hmmmmm well I'm a lad so...

still would :P :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

ha ha

Nidge in dream = nightmare

Nidges missus in dream = Certain type of dream

I woke up in a cold sweat the last night after having a nightmare about Nidge, thank God Siobhan was there to calm me down ;) :P :D

:) I didn't choose Nidge. :(
    Damn subconscious!
    Tommy's the guy for me. :)
    Ha ha although, it was a good dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Seems as if Tommy has decided to settle for the "quiet" life.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

That's brilliant - I remember the ad but I'd no idea Tommy was the guy in it!

Tommy was also in Single Handed along with Siobhan and Debbie and he also appeared in Jack Taylor
    He was wearing his Galway jersey and was shot in the end of it.....guy just cant catch a break

Tommy was also in Single Handed along with Siobhan and Debbie and he also appeared in Jack Taylor
    He was wearing his Galway jersey and was shot in the end of it.....guy just cant catch a break

Ah lads will ye shut up about tommy.